4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Astro B.yond Episode III (Version 8.0), NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

RAMChYLD
post Apr 30 2011, 01:02 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Apr 30 2011, 11:09 AM)
If the rented satellite is not in the same place as MEASAT satellite is, we have to realign our dish...

I give Astro two choices:
1. Change the codec and decoder
2. Pressure MEASAT to launch another satellite or give existing transponder to Astro.
Bro, I think they are indeed changing codec. No other reason for them to force subscribers to switch to B.yond box otherwise (in case you missed out on the news- now it's mandatory for everyone to get a B.yond decoder. They're going house to house changing decoder and dish if necessary).

Although, the full codec switch would most likely come shortly only after all the decoders have been switched. That would still be months away....

There's a third option for them: make IPTV mode work over all broadband links like DETV and deliver at least on-demand content over that. If need allow device to piggyback over Maxis 3G (free 3G dongle that plugs into front USB port and only connects to special AP for Astro use over Maxis airwave). That way they can free out at least two dozen channels of the satellite. Or switch to IPTV completely with Maxis 3G dongle (or Maxis LTE once that launched). HSPA+ can do 14.4Mbps, enough for one HDTV stream. LTE can fly at 100Mbps. And if they use UDP Multicast, hardly any bandwidth will be used. Again, this will require that their B.yond switch plan is complete. Which is still months away.

I hope they regret selling off MEASAT 1 to South Africa and completely phasing out MEASAT 2.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 30 2011, 01:18 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 30 2011, 10:12 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 30 2011, 02:03 PM)
Not enough set to go round or they have miss my house?
They have a list of people who still haven't upgraded to B.yond and is calling one by one. My aunt called them and they confirm that the switch must take place, and her name is still further down on the list and they will eventually get to her if she hadn't call them first.

Yeah, I unsub oredi, but my few of my aunts and uncles still subscribe to Astro.

QUOTE(aliffdelta @ Apr 30 2011, 05:51 PM)
got my astro byond(the normal one, not pvr) installed today and the installer guy said that i shouldn't pull off the power supply at all cost, even during thunderstorm??? is it true??? only standby mode???
Never heard of this. I call bull. Especially since you can force FW upgrade from front panel.

QUOTE(aliffdelta @ Apr 30 2011, 05:51 PM)
and it seems that everyone have to change to the byond decoder or you will be charged for the decoder if your current service(old decoder) is cut off... deng~
Not sure about the penalty if you change decoder only after the change window is over, but yes, already confirm with Astro CS that must change decoder. Hopefully it's to facilitate Azrin Kiko's wish of codec+transport change.

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Apr 30 2011, 11:09 AM)
If the rented satellite is not in the same place as MEASAT satellite is, we have to realign our dish...
Or they could just start deploying a superdish...

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 1 2011, 01:05 AM
RAMChYLD
post May 1 2011, 12:48 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ May 1 2011, 02:23 AM)
Hi neb, do you have any experience whether if I switch off the PVR set at night then switch on the next morning, will my scheduled recording will be lost?  sweat.gif
I always wanted to turn if off at night because I find it is too hot!
Ah, correct, that's another reason to leave the decoder on 24/7. If you turn off the decoder, then recording cannot take place for late night shows tongue.gif

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ May 1 2011, 10:34 AM)
QUOTE(G K Lai @ May 1 2011, 02:23 AM)

Hi RAMChYLD, can you tell us how to do "force FW upgrade"?  tongue.gif
I believe this will come in handy when we need to do this in future...  blush.gif
From my memories, you'll just have to press the power button -> ch+ -> ch- in sequence in fast pace, the decoder will reboots and checks for sw update
Kiko's advice is about right, although I remember that you need to reboot the decoder first and quickly press that while it's starting up instead. And I think it was power button -> ch- -> ch+ instead. I'm not 100% sure either. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 1 2011, 12:55 PM
RAMChYLD
post May 1 2011, 09:37 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ May 1 2011, 08:32 PM)
Well, some companies disputes astro about the dish...
Agreed. But then Maspro is a reputable company...
RAMChYLD
post May 2 2011, 01:51 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ May 2 2011, 01:36 PM)
Damn. I use to be able to watch SkyNews HD but no longer.
No point whining to us, as all the Astro personnel that is stalking the board will only grin and call you a loser quietly. What you must do is call Astro customer service and whine to them.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 2 2011, 02:04 PM
RAMChYLD
post May 2 2011, 08:29 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ May 2 2011, 05:59 PM)
I think they have discontinued SkyNews HD. Couldn't find it even if you subscribe to it?
The thing is, we make noise at them until they bring it back.

It's not discontinued. Otherwise even Singapore and Hong Kong won't have the service.

Astro drop it from their lineup because of Supersport 3D.

Hmmm, I wonder how many people have 3D TV out there...
RAMChYLD
post May 3 2011, 02:18 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 2 2011, 08:57 PM)
Would it be better for Astro to include Channel NewsAsia too? icon_idea.gif
HyppTV, TM IPTV and DeTV has this channel. Maybe they're not on Astro because they refuse to bow to Asstro's monopoly demand. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(MoonRider @ May 2 2011, 09:15 PM)
i am one of them watching 3D sports  ..  i hope astro can list out more HD channel espcially disney hd ... there is one stupid hd channel FX HD ..  i wonder how many watching this stupid channel
Your priority is 3DTV, so you can afford. I still feel that 3DTV still too expensive. Plus because I already wear glasses I prefer autostereoscopic, but that kind of TV not available outside Japan yet.

Disney HD may come when Playhouse Disney Asia switch over to Disney Jr, which is supposedly HD.

As for FX HD... My dad love the channel before I cancel Astro. He's a big fan of Seinfeld and Frasier (yes, he is a die-hard fan of Cheers) - all on that channel...

QUOTE(dxjb @ May 2 2011, 11:13 PM)
It was only a preview channel that was intended for the coverage of the Royal Wedding from 25-29 April..
Which is dumb. Singapore and Hong Kong PayTV all have that channel as part of their package.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 3 2011, 02:30 AM
RAMChYLD
post May 3 2011, 10:40 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ May 3 2011, 10:18 AM)
I think some consumers are mute not dumb!
I agree. No one dare to call Astro and demand for a channel when it gets removed. If people dare to call and voice out their concerns then Astro will surely be more careful. Instead i notice people are more likely to just whine on the forum. It's not like calling Astro customer care will get you ISA...
RAMChYLD
post May 3 2011, 01:25 PM

1,715 posts

As predicted, all Sukan programming only, if not Chinese drama channel. They might as well drop everything not sports related and rebrand as "CINSU".

Asstro's current programming director reminds me of Bernie Stolar. In more ways than one.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 3 2011, 01:32 PM
RAMChYLD
post May 3 2011, 05:33 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(neb @ May 3 2011, 04:30 PM)
SkyNews HD feed is still active on-board measat 3A, astro only took the feed for live broadcasting the UK's royal wedding
[attachmentid=2192258]
Well, where do you think Singapore and Hong Kong get their feed from hmm.gif
RAMChYLD
post May 6 2011, 01:56 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ May 6 2011, 12:15 AM)
NEW CHANNEL ON ASTRO..BABY TV - CHANNEL 614
Hah! I predicted this will happen sooner or later. This one was predicted using logical sense (BabyTV = Fox owned = News Corp = Astro). And TM has the competing BabyFirst TV in their lineup.

Wtf? What package is that gonna be in? Dont tell me the channel alone costs RM5 per month?
I don't see why not. Dish (Fox owned US provider) is charging US$5 a month for the channel. Although it's listed under Fun package on Astro...

More channels to come along? Or is this a direct replacement for Playhouse Disney?
If more channel is coming, I hope Boomerang is next. Latest Strawberry Shortcake and Care Bears episodes are on that channel. Not happy about how the 2003/2007 Strawberry Shortcake kena screw by TV9 after Season 3- Season 4 and the 2009 episodes are no-shows on that channel. Comparatively I was in JB last year and Season 4 was already showing on TCS Okto. Yes, it was on Disney, but Disney lost the rights to Cartoon Network who then put it on their sister network Boomerang.

As for replacement for Playhouse Disney/Disney Jr, well, if they have the guts to take Chuggington and Thomas away from the kids. I predict they'll only bring in HD version of the channel to "encourage" parents to get B.yond. That's pretty much the only HD Kids channel available in Asia at the moment.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 6 2011, 02:35 AM
RAMChYLD
post May 6 2011, 09:38 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ May 6 2011, 04:40 AM)
What I ws trying to say was that since Playhouse Disney is on the way to be changed to Disney Jr, maybe Astro think its not worth it to bring out a HD channel for the kids especially Disney Jr..maybe thats why they decided, 'we gonna do away with Disney Jr/Playhouse and put another channel to replace it without needing it to be HD..? Or u could be right that they want the parents to get HD for their kids..wait and see.. smile.gif
Well, you're right when it comes to that. We'll see what happen lah. Although Asstro better be prepared for backlash if they chose to not switch to Disney Jr as well. Dish tried to replace BabyFirst TV with Baby TV and they kena hentam teruk by thousands of irate parents. Trust me, kids are not as simple minded as they look. When they grow to like a character, and you take it away, they will throw a nonstop tantrum. And if there's one thing parents hate, it's nonstop tantrum. Especially in the US, if you even so pukul the budak to threaten them to shut up, and nosy neighbors or teacher find out, they will call social services who will decide that you are not worthy of having children and rampas the kid to be given to rumah anak yatim. In the end Dish not only have to put back BabyFirst TV, but they make it permanently a free channel. Especially after losing a few customers to local cable.

QUOTE(khairulnizam @ May 6 2011, 09:18 AM)
boleh terangkan baby tv masuk kat pakej apa? fun ke? saya x faham bermula 1 oktober its available at rm5/month...bukan ikut pakej ke
Afaik, Astro list it as Fun package. But mungkin they will separate it into own ala-carte channel.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 6 2011, 11:21 AM
RAMChYLD
post May 6 2011, 11:22 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ May 6 2011, 10:27 AM)
i think rm5 for 1 standalone channel la....like Unifi, rm3 for 1 extra channel mostly! ya la, baby tv is about for todler...not everybody want the channel rite!
Two words: Periphery Demographic.
RAMChYLD
post May 6 2011, 07:38 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 6 2011, 12:28 PM)
But there is no DISH or other local credible cable company competitive enough to rampas ASStro.
Good point...

QUOTE(victorwan @ May 6 2011, 03:18 PM)
Censorship on HOW to make a baby, what action when making a baby, what position and style when making a baby etc etc etc.

tongue.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif
Wow, you must be getting a different BabyTV. Which dimension are you from bro laugh.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 6 2011, 07:49 PM
RAMChYLD
post May 7 2011, 01:54 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ May 7 2011, 12:46 AM)
Can rely on this info?
I still believe the Disney Jr info because it was given to me by a friend who's quite knowledgeable of Disney TV programming. And given the current circumstances.

Everything else, I call bull, unless Astro pulls the nonexistent channels (Disney HD, Nick HD) out of their ass like they did with AXN Beyond HD.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 7 2011, 01:57 AM
RAMChYLD
post May 7 2011, 12:19 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ May 7 2011, 02:10 AM)
That info better be right..it says Sky News is coming back in both SD and HD..if that proves to be false, i'll hunt and track down the wacko who put that on the list and slap the living hell out of him for raising unquestionable expectations.. vmad.gif
Might as well do it now. That kind of vandalism happens so often that I don't often update Wikipedia anymore.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 7 2011, 12:23 PM
RAMChYLD
post May 8 2011, 12:04 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ May 7 2011, 06:05 PM)
Wiki is NOT a reliable source,let not take it too  seriously! Even NGC wild and discovery HD is coming soon though astro has said discovery HD  is not in the pipeline. !!
Agreed. mad.gif vmad.gif

RAMChYLD
post May 9 2011, 09:31 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ May 9 2011, 05:06 AM)
I think this device is illegal in Malaysia bro, since it allow reception of satellite TV other than Astro's...
RAMChYLD
post May 9 2011, 03:56 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 9 2011, 12:34 PM)
illegal in Malaysia? You meant in West Malaysia?
Ur right. My mistake. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 9 2011, 03:56 PM
RAMChYLD
post May 10 2011, 01:44 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ May 9 2011, 10:41 PM)
Means we can receive non astro channel using that thingy?

Where to buy?  wink.gif
Only non-encrypted ones. Dunno how many are there out there...

(And I think you can only get Thai, Indonesian and China channels with this...)

Internet got sell. Good luck getting it past ketam if you're in West Malaysia tho.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 10 2011, 11:58 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0514sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:22 PM