Suspicious Telephone Calls on CC matters, Report here & Read this if you got a CC

afiqms
post Jun 3 2011, 10:49 AM

260 posts

my experience with Wawasan Takaful:

a call was made by a fixed line number (i don't remember but from selangor with prefix 03) to my hp

skip the long intro>>>

-call ended-

realizing that I have been cheated, I call the Maybank hotline right away to cancel my card. I also filed a fraud case report to them telling my card info had been compromised. Following that, my card was cancelled by the bank but yet it is still charged under new card. I call Maybank again and they are investigating this matter. I also called Wawasan Takaful (WT) to cancel my subscription telling that their agent is persuading me to subscribe to the insurance policy in the wrong way. At first they were hesitating and try con me that this cannot be cancelled as the charge has been made. Then I went furious over the phone and they will cancel the subscription. And I told them I had lodged a report to Maybank telling their company is trying to fraud me. Just now I received call from WT telling that my subscription had been cancelled and the charged will be credited back into my account.

So guys, lesson learnt from here is never give any information for verification or 'pengesahan' or confirmation before you know that you want their service. In the simplest word, never give any information or subscribe to any service via phone. Thank you.

afiqms
post Jun 3 2011, 02:12 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(milentechie @ Jun 3 2011, 01:46 PM)
A good lesson indeed. As for my case, at first the caller (spoke to me in Malay) asked for my card expiry date. I see no harm letting him know since the caller was helping to stop an authorized transaction.

But, I became suspicious when he asked for my card no. next. From that point, I started questioning him to verify the authenticity of his identity. He was getting fed up and threatened to let the transaction went through if I didn''t co-operate with him. I told him off. If he did that, I will complain to BNM. Then, he hung up.

One question playing on my mind now is how he could have got my full name and mobile number information? Who leaked it to him?  hmm.gif
insider's job~ I wish those dishonest bank staffs will rot in hell for selling customer's information~
afiqms
post Jun 30 2011, 03:21 PM

260 posts

just received two calls today:

1) from 0166263397, today @ 10:50 AM - I do not really entertain the caller when I heard the word "Maybank Credit Card" and "Encik, kami mau buat pengesahan" - refer to my post in this thread

2) from 0166263949, today @ 02:56 PM - this time, I just entertained her a bit (introducing herself as Amanda, her accent is like Indian - not intending to spark racial issue here) and ask me to verify my IC number for security reasons. WTF? I replied that if there is any issue with my card, the bank will call me and I said I am working right now. The suddenly she said "Ooooo, so u ni menteri besarlah? Bodoh punya orang!" and she hung up. Damn that women! I'm very furious right now!

But from these two calls, none of my personal details are given (I bet they already have mine, but need to verify)~ damn la these scammers!
afiqms
post Jul 5 2011, 04:49 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(ubuntu @ Jul 5 2011, 04:27 PM)
Hi everyone, i received a scam email request me to activate my account. Just to share with all, please beware of this kind of scam.

If you click the link in the email, it will redirect you to the following, please do not click the below link.

Rule of thumb: banks will never send email to you. Even facebook do not send email to their users. smile.gif
afiqms
post Aug 25 2011, 02:38 PM

260 posts

got another call from Wawasan Takaful, the caller introduced himself as Chandra~

tel. no. : 0132134220

damn, they never tired huh?
afiqms
post Oct 7 2011, 03:24 PM

260 posts

got another number calling me from Warisan Takaful : 0132134196

eventhough I've lodged fraud report to Maybank abt this company, yet they still call me~ WTF!
afiqms
post Oct 18 2011, 11:31 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(shoden @ Oct 18 2011, 11:27 AM)
Got a call from this number 0193202731 regarding to Maybank 499 lifetime discount card a few minute ago. I dont understand why they need 3 digit atm card number at the back.
so that they can charge you~ i bet they must have said "this is for verification purpose only"~
afiqms
post Sep 3 2012, 04:17 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(ftptwistedclown @ Sep 3 2012, 03:26 PM)
OMG 2nd call today!

- Unkown caller ID
- She call me and said she from Maybank Berhad. Then she ask me whether I have activated my card yet or not. I replied I still havent activate. Then asking me when I want to activate. I say I have no time to activate. Then she asked me expiry date of my card. I replied I left my cc at house. Then she say ok she will call again tomorrow.

Possible scam?
Yes indeed~

0.0328sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:06 AM