> Ikan Empurau Sarawak, 1kg RM600!, PM Najib umum R&D RM4.5 JUTA empurau News

Tigerr
post May 25 2012, 10:37 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Relentless @ Apr 13 2011, 01:29 AM)
i think it's kelah.This particular species of the carp family do indeed fetch a high price in market reasoned by it's taste and sport fishing.
but the main problem promoting it as an aquaculture is that it grows 1 inch or less annually
that mean's you got to wait for a long time to harvest fish weighing kgs.except you intend to catch it wild.
it does look good and sell good,but how many consumer readily eat this fish regularly.would you?nah too expensive
i think is like with ikan ketutu but this fish grow in size readily.
but it's expensive and is serve as one of the delicacy among chinese people.
again,chinese people don't consume this fish daily,well only occasionally
.general chinese population prefer saltwater fish over freshwater fish , as it doesn't smell bad.
that's all then.hope this help.
may be what you dont know about this fish is they really got the market for the rich. You can get it in few fish shops in KL like the one in Sri Petaling. When the shop got the wild empurau stocks, they will let those datuk datuk tan sri tan sri knows and all kena sapu/booked. Even those hong kong people will make trips to malaysia shopping, jalan jalan and makan ikan empurau.

There are some fish shops now start selling breeded empurau at cheaper price but the taste is not as good as the wild empurau. Those rich people will not like the breeded empurau. They can afford to pay the money, so, they not going to settle for a lower quality empurau.

I went to sibu few months ago and we look for the wild empurau high and low also cannot get one for our dinner to treat our customers. The price in Sarawak is lower if compare to those shipped to KL.
Tigerr
post May 25 2012, 10:52 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Relentless @ May 25 2012, 10:47 AM)
Even if you want to do venture into this business, i think you need to have sustainable flow of Kelah fish.Which I seriously doubt so as it's easier to catch them in the wild than to rear them up to the size you want.
for that, i will have you understand that their number is dwindling down fast.What with people masak ikan bakar right after fishing them.
The days for this fish are numbered given that they took such a long time to grow to the size to feed few adults.think of Koi fish if you like as both of them are carps.koi fish have a poor growth rate.
not only that, what make this empurau special and feel tasty is the food the fish eat. The wild one eat the fruits (cant remember what the fruit name) dropped on the tree along the river band. Understand that the fruit now is also fetching good price to be export.

Those breeded one cannot afford to feed the fruit as the cost will be too high. Hence, the breeded one will lose out in terms of tastiness.
Tigerr
post May 25 2012, 10:53 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(eugene90 @ May 25 2012, 10:50 AM)
nothing taste better than salmon and cod fish.
have you tasted a wild empurau before you qualify your above statement? hmm.gif
Tigerr
post May 25 2012, 11:01 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(eugene90 @ May 25 2012, 10:59 AM)
erm.. what makes you think that i never tried it before?
pardon me, i didnt say you taste or not before, I only ask whether you taste before you make your statement.
Tigerr
post May 25 2012, 11:17 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(slimfox @ May 25 2012, 11:12 AM)
Empurau is a lot of hype, and the price... hence the Chinese name "wang pu liau". After makan, money fly away wink.gif

Seriously our semenanjung Kelah way better taste and texture, also cheaper too (RM300/kg). Oh Kelah is also protected too. Sad cause such a tasty fish. Some one should breed this too!
there are quite a number of species of river fish and price is not that expensive. Those found in Pahang River is also very good and we always find time to drive up there to Karak, Mentakap, Termeloh to taste those river fish.
Tigerr
post May 25 2012, 11:26 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ May 25 2012, 11:20 AM)
pernah makan satu kali kat Sarawak, ikan stim gila RM3k.

Di sana
Kelah = empurau
Sebarau = Sigma
Haruan = Haruan
Haruan Besar = Toman rclxms.gif
and those giant Patin.....
Tigerr
post May 25 2012, 11:29 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(slimfox @ May 25 2012, 11:25 AM)
Never drive that far for fish b4 must try one day. Only thing I can say is the prices of river fish in Gohtong Jaya is more expansive than in Sri Petaling. There is also a type of patin from Sibu call "Wong Tai Patin", really gooding but price also very high (300/kg), sadly for the past few months no stock.

My usual river fish restaurant is in Sri Petaling (fast food fish head). How bout you guys? Care to share?
Sri Petaling got one fish shop, cannot remember the name.....they got many fresh water fish....Sudan fish, Hong Kat Lor, Ting Ka lang, Patin, etc etc.....

Dengkil also got 2 now, Kuchai lama there got one......the rest not sure.

The Wong Tai Patin, some place they called it Patin Wong and some mentioned about Patin Fu Yung....i also confuse and the price is roughly 300/kg.
Tigerr
post May 25 2012, 11:50 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ May 25 2012, 11:49 AM)
ikan bela besaq2 ni selalunya isi tak manis dan sesedap mana pun...
not totally right, there are some fish where the meat is not nice if too big size but there are lots of fish, the bigger the better.

Example the grouper, those giant size one, is very expensive in the market.
Tigerr
post May 25 2012, 01:28 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(RoyMcAvoy @ May 25 2012, 12:20 PM)
Empurau = Kelah (West Malaysia name)
even kelah in west malaysia also got many species.....
Tigerr
post May 25 2012, 02:14 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ May 25 2012, 01:59 PM)
NFC2?

Sarawak no condo, I wonder what will the 4.5 millions being used at... hmm.gif
may be rumah panjang.... laugh.gif

0.0157sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled