(M)otorola DEFY Official Thread V2, A tough phone for Android

kysham
post Jun 24 2011, 09:17 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Jun 24 2011, 09:08 AM)
*Appear from the mist encodes from world of M-Atrix and saw Defy Jones ship in the distance*

Ahoy mateys, matrix codes finally unlock bootloader of Atrix tongue.gif rclxm9.gif
laugh.gif Ahoy there, from the deck of the Flying Dutchman! How's ya Black Pearl doing?
kysham
post Jun 24 2011, 09:28 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jun 24 2011, 12:12 AM)
Wt* .. 6 Weeks!!!
Ya lah.... I go round the world (China & the Philippines) and back already, the phone also not yet repaired. WTF..... but i do give them the benefit of doubt lah, since i am in Kota Kinabalu so shipping might be taking a longer time. But 6 weeks! WTF....... 6 blardy weeks!!! doh.gif
kysham
post Jun 24 2011, 11:57 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(iamKiet @ Jun 24 2011, 11:42 AM)
Defect as in crackling sound from earpiece  doh.gif
You good already lor... mine lansung no sound man! doh.gif
kysham
post Jun 24 2011, 07:36 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 24 2011, 06:25 PM)
oh well then...
i think i will grab mine asap  brows.gif
thx guys  laugh.gif
defy all the way  thumbup.gif

edit:btw, is it 2.2 better than 2.1???
i heard theres i many problem after updating to 2.2
correct me if im wrong  wub.gif
I was on Eclair 2.1 for a long time before I flashed to the official SEA Froyo 2.2..... for about 1 week. laugh.gif After that I switched to custom ROM - cynogen mod 7, beta 6. Nothing wrong with the official Froyo, just that custom ROM is.... better. tongue.gif
kysham
post Jun 24 2011, 10:11 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

I'm testing MIUI 1.16.17 at the moment. Just flashed. Feasting my eyes on the eye-candy now. tongue.gif
kysham
post Jun 25 2011, 09:26 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Jun 25 2011, 02:33 AM)
bro, now is 1.16.20 lah..with 1.16.24 coming soon. outdated lah you!! tongue.gif getting addicted to custom ROMs now right?? remember when you were using official ROM?? what on earth are you thinking right??

http://miuiandroid.com/roms/
Ooppsss.... sorry, I am using MIUI Build Number 1.6.24. Hahaha.... weird leh because when I download that time, the download link says 1.6.17, after download and now I checked, it is 1.6.24 pulak. But to be honest, I think the MIUI has a lot of eye candy, but it hampers the performance somewhat vs. CM7. Can feel that it is not as smooth as CM7 when scrolling menus and when launching apps. But hell, the eye candy is sure delicious and sweet! tongue.gif

Thanks to bro blackwhitechipsKL for pushing me overboard. laugh.gif
kysham
post Jun 25 2011, 10:27 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jun 25 2011, 10:15 AM)
wow.. 1.6.24 already..
so fast meh..
i stil stuck @ 1.6.17..
so busy this week..

how bout if we test quadrant score and post it here..
new thing to share what.  thumbup.gif
Holy shit..... my Quadrant Standard score is 1953.... blink.gif My previous score with CM7 Beta 6 was 1874. So it is true that MIUI has a higher Quadrant score than CM7, which is kinda weird for me because I can really notice that CM7 is smoother than MIUI.... rclxub.gif
kysham
post Jun 25 2011, 10:53 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

yeah, yeah, yeah..... like me. i used the stock eclair ROM for a few months before kena fast tracked to SEA Froyo ROM, CM7 Beta6 & now MIUI 1.6.24 liao.... tongue.gif
kysham
post Jun 25 2011, 11:02 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Jun 25 2011, 10:55 PM)
but it's after using stock ROM so long, you appreciate the work done with CM7 or MIUI
oh yes.... that is why i enjoyed CM7 & MIUI that much.... so the morale of the story is suffer before you enjoy. because through the suffering, you learn to appreciate the enjoyment. laugh.gif

p/s: redid my Quadrant Score. It went up to 2044.... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by kysham: Jun 25 2011, 11:08 PM
kysham
post Jun 27 2011, 04:29 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 27 2011, 04:22 PM)
oh...im on 2.1 now...shud i follow the first page step by step upgrade to 2.2
or i just use motorola update??? rclxub.gif

+im new to android...defy is my first android fone sad.gif
The custom ROMs will only work with 2.2 (I think), so better flash to 2.2 ROM first before going further. Must note that the custom ROMs are like patches or modification to a stock ROM (you can see that the custom ROM's file size is smaller than an official ROM) so you need the correct stock ROM to work it. correct me if i am wrong... sweat.gif
kysham
post Jun 28 2011, 04:01 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(cientoo @ Jun 28 2011, 03:53 PM)
my battery can only last like 1 day and a half under normal usage on MIUI 1.6.24

anybody experienced anything?
I consider that as good (depending on your usage pattern also). on my Defy, I vividly recalls that I was getting less than 1 day's battery life when I was on stock 2.1 eclair.... sweat.gif this is a full touchscreen smartphone, not a symbian keypad phone.... laugh.gif on MIUI 1.6.24 (now), I'm getting 1 day plus also. but i charge my phone every night anyway, so no issue. it has grown to be a habit of mine already.... tongue.gif
kysham
post Jun 28 2011, 09:47 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 28 2011, 09:43 PM)
nearly bricked my fone during updating using motrola update!
after downloaded the required files i click next to update my fone
then i see theres"bootloader" display on my fone then my pc display conenction failed!!!
wtf is dat its freak me out
luckily i pull off my fone form pc and luckily i still get it working!!!
wad shud i do so that my pc can detect my fone is bootloader mode???? rclxub.gif
ermm... if you are trying to use RSD Lite to flash a new firmware into your phone, you should be getting into bootloader mode before connecting it to your pc.... i had not used the motorola software update portal to do this before.
kysham
post Jun 28 2011, 10:14 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 28 2011, 09:54 PM)
can i use the 1st page step by syep to upgrade to 2.2?
using motrola update edi freak me out  cry.gif
yeah, better use the guide in the first page. safer since the whole file is already downloaded into your pc so you will not kena lost connection when downloading the important files or something like that. it freaks me out too! sweat.gif
kysham
post Jun 29 2011, 08:22 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 28 2011, 11:41 PM)
wait bro
the front page 2.2 froyo is uk version
that means no chinese lang/malay lang etc loh?
coem someone tell me???
your final aim is MIUI / CM7 right? the froyo 2.2 is only a stepping stone to your final destination. tongue.gif
kysham
post Jun 29 2011, 09:17 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jun 29 2011, 09:05 AM)
TS should update front page with latest guide and latest link to required files. smile.gif
Support! nod.gif
kysham
post Jun 29 2011, 12:59 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 29 2011, 12:52 PM)
1. Download FULL SBF
SBF is the 200 mb files rite? smile.gif

btw how to backup my apps?titanium pro require rooted fone yawn.gif
well, root it than. use superoneclick. kautim. cool2.gif
kysham
post Jun 29 2011, 02:58 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(kevraul @ Jun 29 2011, 02:00 PM)
hi, i just followed the steps on the first to update to froyo....

i am the flashing stage now with rsdlite

the status says, "please manually power up this phone" executed 100%
but my phone cannot power on while the "M" logo keeps appearing and disappearing and the white LED light is on and off alternatingly with the M logo

anyone knows what's happening?

tried to power up, cant do. tried removing the usb, cant do. tried remove the battery too, cant do.
erm.... go back to bootloader moder and reflash again using RSD Lite?
kysham
post Jul 1 2011, 09:40 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

dem.... i flashed my defy back to froyo 2.2 (because i wanted to go back to CM7).... now it is stuck in the android boot-up screen! Help! sweat.gif

ah....! forget it. i just realized i forget to wipe the phone before flashing.... doh.gif done it. now on stock froyo. going towards CM7 now.... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kysham: Jul 1 2011, 10:01 AM
kysham
post Jul 1 2011, 12:10 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Jul 1 2011, 10:44 AM)
why can't you just wipe and install cm7? you're from MIUI right??
I thought you must start from stock froyo? you mean can wipe data / cache and then just install CM7 from MIUI? The last time I tried going from CM7 direct to MIUI after wipe data & cache, it hanged on me.... shakehead.gif
kysham
post Jul 1 2011, 02:33 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(kennethbta @ Jul 1 2011, 02:13 PM)
yes u can  biggrin.gif
go into CW then full wipe and flash CM7  biggrin.gif
oh i see..... maybe i try again next time. i guess i am more comfortable with CM7 than with MIUI. somehow MIUI is too.... apple-ish. laugh.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0437sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:06 PM