Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!
vivakarna
Nov 7 2009, 07:36 PM
hye everyone!
cn anyone suggest me what are the best for entry level hifi stereo system? my usage is 100% music.
expectation:2 bookshelf speakers,cd player and amp.
budget:rm5k
vivakarna
Nov 8 2009, 12:19 PM
all kind of music..looking for all rounder hifi..
vivakarna
Nov 8 2009, 10:18 PM
yes, but i need ur guys recommendation what type of product or brands that suites me well according to my budget or is it enough for me juz to buy aego m n pair with high end cd player that cost around 1.5k?
vivakarna
Nov 10 2009, 08:59 AM
@dlyz: thank u!
Added on November 10, 2009, 9:15 am@runemastertan: thank u!
This post has been edited by vivakarna: Nov 10 2009, 09:15 AM
vivakarna
May 7 2012, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(dlyz @ Apr 18 2012, 12:33 PM) i mean, what you trying to ask? price, performance, sound character? Bro dlyz, can suggest me power conditioner below rm200? TQ.
vivakarna
May 7 2012, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(dlyz @ May 7 2012, 09:29 AM) I am not sure if any exist below Rm200. Maybe other sifu can help. The cheapest i seen is my Tacima. It does well to clean up noise from power line. On my system, i notice better clarity, reduced noise and reduced sibilance. But u also lose a bit of dynamics and bass slam but i think its a good trade cos i hate sibilance a lot. With better powercord, i brought back some dynamics and slam. My friend also having tacima also observe same as me, at first he missed the slam and revert back to direct wall power, but in the end he, like me, chose clarity over power. Last 6 mth i just bought a VDH powercord, yet to test that direct to wall.. wondering more expensive powercord have better power noise filtering ka. Anyway, got my tacima from futureshop.co.uk, that time i think below RM220-240, but now i think GBP is up.. might cost more. ok thanks for the info, one more thing thou..does the power conditioner will stabilize the currents? because my room, the electricity seems not very stable at night. So what i need is, surge protector, power conditioner and power stabilizer? haha! so confuse here.
vivakarna
May 7 2012, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(dlyz @ May 7 2012, 01:21 PM) iszit like when u turn on the lights, ur speaker makes some sort of popping sound? i think conditioner will prevent that. i am not 100% sure, but i think power conditioner is a power stabilizer and surge protector and a noise filter all in one. however i am sure tacima has surge protection built in. ok, now i know my solution.. i just need to buy the automatic voltage regulator:hyper: This post has been edited by vivakarna: May 8 2012, 01:26 AM
vivakarna
May 28 2012, 05:41 PM
does a expensive power chord make a noticeable difference in your setup?
vivakarna
May 31 2012, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(dlyz @ May 30 2012, 12:26 PM) Best if you can test it out. Perhaps someone can borrow you or if you have the pleasure of go for audition at a hifi store, can ask the ppl to demo to you. To me, yes they make a difference when you compare branded vs generic. Expensive doesnt mean good. You have to synergy with your gear. And i feel they make more difference for the amp side. Source side i cant say they work or not as i have never try. I have a Supra which is Rm2xx cable vs a Mainstream which is a Rm8xx cable, the mainstream is just a teeny tiny bit better  but for my friend in his marantz amp, it made a lot of difference (he also own the same powercords) to him. Anyway, best if you can try, dont take my word 100%, you may experience something different. I see, thanks bro. One more thing, i'm looking for to replace my speaker cable but i'm not sure whether the length can be below 3m. Because, in the manual of my aktimate mini.. it said the cable cant below 3m as it can damage the speaker..is it true? Already email to them regarding this matter, not yet replied.
vivakarna
Jun 4 2012, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 2 2012, 08:00 AM) A shorter than 3m cable will damage the speaker? First time hearing this. Curious to know what is the reason behind it. they replied, "its absolutely fine to use less than 3m. Just so long as the cable has no joins". So It means i can hunt for a speaker cable now
vivakarna
Jul 1 2012, 09:02 PM
what do you guys think about QED Silver Anniversary XT Speaker Cable with airloc. Is it value for money?
vivakarna
Jul 1 2012, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 1 2012, 10:36 PM) It is quite good in retrieving bass, high treble and not suitable for bright sounding loudspeakers. i see. thanks
vivakarna
Jul 4 2012, 04:45 PM
is it normal for banana plug has a little gap like this? The stock one also have a same gap like this. I already push all the way in.
vivakarna
Jul 5 2012, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(dlyz @ Jul 5 2012, 09:57 AM) not all banana plug leave such a big gap but for Airloc i think they do. and i recall they are very tight plugs. more importantly, hows the sound with the new cablesĀ  while listening to diana krall - Temptation, her lushness of her voices reaches out and touch you in personal way, the solo guitar, bass, piano and drums are well refined but the soundstage not so spacious, more to foward sounding. At first i'm kinda scared because you guys told me that the qed makes ur setup brighter but now it seems turns out well This post has been edited by vivakarna: Jul 5 2012, 10:58 AM
vivakarna
Oct 26 2012, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(illuminarias @ Oct 25 2012, 06:17 PM) Is 1.5k for a hifi system for my computer considered under budget? Can anyone recommend me one? I'm planning on using it with my xonar essence STX. aktimate micro
vivakarna
Oct 26 2012, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(illuminarias @ Oct 26 2012, 06:32 AM) How much is it and where can I get it? 1.5k at digital audio studio.
vivakarna
Feb 26 2013, 11:25 PM
Does a resonator makes a difference in your setup?
vivakarna
Jun 23 2013, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 22 2013, 05:31 PM) hi all Sifus, I am new to HIFI, I have a set of HiVi Swans M200MKII and M50W, but one is not good at bass and one is not good at mid/high. So I plan to buy a set of decent bookshelf speakers, budget around MYR1000, I intend to use a T-amp, Lepai 2020A to drive it. Can sifus gives some suggestion to me? Thanks  xls encore at www.curveacoustics.com
vivakarna
Jun 23 2013, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 23 2013, 01:45 PM) So poison, look delicious, do you think it's gona work great if pair with Lepai 2020A?  i'm using it now with lepai 202A.. yeah it works great. here's my setup audirvana (music playback software for mac)>centrance dacport lx>lepai 2020A>xls encore
vivakarna
Jun 23 2013, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 23 2013, 02:29 PM) oh really, sound great. Recently I have facing some issues with my powerful active speakers, in some environment there is resonance weewangwang problem, very strong in some tracks, maybe will need your help to justify using the e-ls encore + lepai amp? what is the name of the song that having resonance prob? maybe i can try with my setup QUOTE(Emiya Shirou @ Jun 23 2013, 03:48 PM) nice DAC and setup u got there. i never try lepai or xls encore b4. saw tat u hav aktimate in ur sig. hav u tried compare centrance > aktimate vs centrance > lepai + xls encore? will like to hear ur experience.  Later i'll do some review