Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

runemastertan
post Oct 28 2009, 10:15 AM

1,221 posts

Hi sifus,

I am currently looking for a speaker pair, and struggling with these questions:

1. Floodstand vs bookshelf - i know this has been around for decades, but can anyone please offer me your opinions?

2. Sonus Faber Concertino Domus floorstander vs KEF iQ50- how is it?
3. KEF XQ20 vs KEF iQ30

What about Monitor Audio speakers? My budget is around 6k+

Please help

Thank you very much
runemastertan
post Oct 28 2009, 02:32 PM

1,221 posts

Sorry to say, but it seems that I had a hard time looking for place to audit them. I stay in PG. Do you know any place where I can do some audition?

Dynaudio.......I am sorry but I haven;t heard of it before...... so I don;t know anything about them.

Can you tell me more about them, dlyz?

Oh ya, how much is Dynaudio and where can I buy them? Sorry for the noob questions.

This post has been edited by runemastertan: Oct 28 2009, 02:59 PM
runemastertan
post Oct 28 2009, 04:39 PM

1,221 posts

Wow!! I didn;t know that Dynaudio is so great!! I like voice more than bass, but music without bass where it should have has no meaning either. I like musics, but i wouldn;t mind the bass tongue.gif

I'll go to Lowyat Plaza next week and audition them. You meant Tong Lee right?

Any one have other brand to recommend?
runemastertan
post Oct 28 2009, 10:17 PM

1,221 posts

Oh? Does CMY and A&L sell cheaper than Tong Lee? I hear that Tong Lee is kinda expensive on it's stuffs.

dlyz, is your speaker still available for sale? It seems that Dynaudio isn;t there in the official website.
runemastertan
post Oct 29 2009, 10:18 AM

1,221 posts

Yes, I saw the reviews and it is seem impressive.

This post has been edited by runemastertan: Nov 2 2009, 05:39 PM
runemastertan
post Nov 9 2009, 02:18 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Nov 9 2009, 11:53 AM)
I'm funding for Sonus Faber Toy paired with NAD3020A modded (amp already purchased). Haven't opt for a pair of stands yet, and will be getting a CDP next year. smile.gif
Tested the Toy a couple times over, and I strongly prefer it over the Concertino and other bookshelves around the same price range. Heard the Toy with a nearly RM40k+ setup as well, and I can say that the Toy really really can go far. laugh.gif
Enigmatic, what is the aspect that you prefer for Toy over the Concertino? As i didn;t have the actual real chance to hear the Concertino, for me, Toy have nice details but not overly bright. Bass is somewhat lacking for the bookshelf. For a 4k ish speaker, I was caught by the Toy (shop owner let me audition KEF iQ70 at 3k ish but I don;t feel anything special, and yes, taht is a tower). I tried mezza as well, but i got headache quite fast, even my dad who was with me got headache. The owner insisted that I try toy (i was there for KEF and Monitor Audio) and set the toy bookshelf up. I was sinking in poison!!! Toy totally kick opera and kef's in the ass. The toy owner become cruel and poison me even more with Toy tower and I could not be saved. I sink deep with a steel chain hooked at my leg. The tower has all the characteristic of the bookshelf, but better. Better bass too. The shop owner caused me to save more money for the tower so now I am without a speaker...........

Anyway, any of you guys heard or audition Paradigm speaker before? I was recommended a Paradigm Signature (not sure which model, but the actual price is over 13k, after discount become 7-8k) bookshelf. Can anyone tell me how is it? Compared to SF Toy Tower, if possible? The Paradigm shop was undergoing some renovation, so he couldn't let me test the speaker.

Your advice is greatly appreciated.
runemastertan
post Nov 9 2009, 11:26 PM

1,221 posts

No...... I didn;t get to try any speaker over at Tong Lee. There was a Dynaudio bookshelf going for 4k ish, but someone was auditioning an opera speaker/amp, and they are taking their time...so i just left. I'll be going to KL later this month, I hope. Hoping to get the chance to try out Dynaudio and Paradigm.

Added on November 9, 2009, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(vivakarna @ Nov 7 2009, 07:36 PM)
hye everyone!

cn anyone suggest me what are the best for entry level hifi stereo system? my usage is 100% music.

expectation:2 bookshelf speakers,cd player and amp.

budget:rm5k
You like tube? You can get this config - Mission speaker / AE speaker / Tannoy (1k ish), Marantz or NAD CD player (1k ish), Tube amp around 2k ish (can't remember the brand, but seem like china brand). This should not be over 5k.

YOu might wanna try second hand since you are going for entry level, might as well buy a better system, although stuffs are older.

This post has been edited by runemastertan: Nov 9 2009, 11:33 PM
runemastertan
post Nov 11 2009, 11:29 AM

1,221 posts

Yes, I have been there. it's CMY right? He seems very busy that day so I didn;t get to hear anything

This post has been edited by runemastertan: Nov 11 2009, 11:39 AM
runemastertan
post Nov 14 2009, 12:06 PM

1,221 posts

Ya, but no worries. Surely there is a chance to go and have an audition again, since now I know where is it already
runemastertan
post Nov 24 2009, 01:21 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Nov 23 2009, 05:53 PM)
My mom wants to upgrade her 'hi-fi' system. Current system are a ciplak Tecknik amplifier, a JVC cheapest DVD player, and a pair of speakers my uncle made 15 years ago. LOL!

Please recommend a system
CD (or a CD player that plays DVD movies) + amplifier + a pair of speakers (how is the Tannoy Mercury F1 Customs?).
Wouldn't mind a micro all-in-one player (something like the Arcam Solo) too.

Total budget 2.7k

Music: Mainly orchestra music, some vocal/ballads, and some movies.

I'm not that well informed about the ohms and impedence and sensitivity stuff. I might have heard of a few well-known brands out there (B&W, Warfedale, KEF, Arcam, NAD, Marantz), and that's all.

What's important is that:
- it is simple to set up and very easy to maintain;
- will last for years without upgrading; &
- sounds good and clear for orchestra and vocals.
Would you look at 2nd hand stuffs? Try looking at hifi4sale.net
runemastertan
post Nov 24 2009, 07:27 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(toda6866 @ Nov 17 2009, 11:24 AM)
hi dlyz,

seems u're quite frequent around here

anyway, I think our hifi taste quite similiar, coz i like more bass and hate anything too bright  cool.gif . Now that im planning to replace my Tannoy mercury Bs with MS 906i, can you recommend me to audition some good Fs around the same price range before i make purchase?

listen more of R&Bs, hip hops and watch movies, play games so bass is a must but not too much (small room).

thks a bunch!
No good BS or FS is good enough for bass. I recommend getting a subwoofer. The difference with and without subwoofer for those boom boom music is enormous
runemastertan
post Nov 25 2009, 02:50 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(toda6866 @ Nov 25 2009, 10:12 AM)
thks for the feedbacks runemastertan& dlyz,

i really cant accommodate a sub in my small room, plus my budget vvv limited so i hope to live with whatever bass my front speakers can managed to squeeze out....

recently, i audited the B&W 684....whoa its so sweet n musical, deep bass with wide of soundstage but reality check - 1stly, I dont hav budget for it (>RM4k) 2ndly, its power hungry so again I dont hav budget for a powerful amp.... anyway, not being a sour grape here n no offence to B&W owners, my ears felt the bass was a bit boomy, overpowering the treble at times....

ProAc...no chance to audit them but its too far from my reach anyway

anybody has experience with missions?
There is a B&W speaker going for around RM1+++. It's a BS. Look around. Tanny M4 is a FS, and is also around Rm1+++.
The B&W speaker is a bit boomy? Maybe it;s located too near the wall. I haven't heard B&W, so I can;t really comment about it, but I have heard ProAc, a Tablette 8 Reference 8 signature. It;s a BS. It has nice clarity, dynamic range, mild bass, bright. I can;t take bright, make me headache, so I pass on the speakers heheh.

Oh this is what I learn - if you have a small room, then you need not really match the speaker's requirement, except for the impedance. Like if the speakers say it need 20W to 100W, you can still use a SET 5wpc to drive it, unless your definition of small room is different....

Because speakers SPL, like it's <no spam links>/1m/1w, you can get quite a loud speaker at 1m within your room, or 2 m is no problem. I have found out that SET amp does not necessary need a very high SPL speaker to be able to drive it if your room is small.

Just my 2 cent. If I am wrong, someone please correct me
runemastertan
post Nov 25 2009, 07:38 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Nov 25 2009, 04:02 PM)
Ya, they are pricey for ppl on budget.

Mission and wharfedale i have tested. Both i like. But i didnt like the new Diamond 10 bookshelf. Was boomy to me, perhaps not burn in? I not sure.

But Diamond 9 and Mission are nice. I have tried Diamond 8.3, Diamond 9.5, Mission M31i and Mission M34i. I like them all. At first i was going either for 9.5 or M34i, i nearly got 9.5 for the looks cos i cant tell them both apart. Back then i have not listen to many speakers yet, but in future i wanna listen again see if i can detect the difference.

What my fren told me, is he prefer mission cos they are more dynamic. He bought a lot of M31i for various locations. Also the cabinet for Mission is bigger and he teach me tat is good for bass quantity. Wharfedale are more warm. Both are easy to drive.

ProAc i always felt warm, not really bright.
Really? Well, it differs between people I guess. For me, Sonus Faber and AE speakers are warm.
runemastertan
post Nov 26 2009, 02:25 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(toda6866 @ Nov 26 2009, 11:38 AM)
hmmm.... i hav yet the chance to audit mission & wharfy, but yes they're in my want-to-do-list

if not my busy schedule i will sure go to these places to try out diff speakers jz to find the sound i like....

places like:
1. Desa Home
2. Amcorp mall
3. City Square

so in meantime, gathering some expert infos b4 i walk into the shops or ppl will treat me like a newbie

Added on November 26, 2009, 11:45 am
I'll pass the M4 FS (these are 2nd hand right?) coz im on M2 BS now, since spending, might as well make a turnover....

B&Ws, as i said, i dunno how 2 appreciate la hehe

how come i sensed that u r very pro to SET amp? anyway, its not bout just how loud i want to play it, but i like to hear bass where it should have, otherwise its a bit uninteresting to me.... but i definitely dont like bright sounds....it makes me uncomfortable
Huh? Why you say so biggrin.gif ? If you got the chance, try to get an audition between push pull and set. You'll notice that PP is easier to match speaker with than set. Sound wise.....it's up to your judgement. Some people say set has lower distortion due to lower power output while others say pp with high output but can have low distortion too. Anyhow, set is aimed toward midrange, so bass can be lacking in set. Just my 2 cent

0.0392sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:49 AM