9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

GI Jie
post May 10 2014, 12:47 AM

722 posts

OK. I already have a hi fi system but am thinking of really upgrading the setup. What I have now is the Marantz P6004 Integrated Amp, the Marantz CD6004, Dynaudio DM2/7 speakers, QED Performance Audio Interconnects & QWD XTC Speaker Wires. Got the lot new under RM8,000. With these I added my old BMB Subwoofer.

I have been seriously looking at the Primare A32 power amp/PRE32 preamp and the Krell S-550i integrated amp for starters. Can anyone recommend which is better?

As for the loudspeakers, I am auditioning the ProAc Response D28. Care to recommend?
GI Jie
post May 23 2014, 11:01 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 20 2014, 05:32 PM)
What's wrong with your current setup?

If your system is very new....suggest you give it a 400hour run.....
judging from your comment, can i assume you find the bass is lacking since you put in a sub?
The current setup is for the sitting room and yes, I find the bass lacking. Now I need something for the man cave. I have already booked the Krell S-550i integrated amp and the Krell S-350a CD player from Norman Audio. All I need now is a pair of loudspeakers and Ivan from Norman Audio says to keep away from ATC, ProArc & Dynaudio as these are a bit "slow". I intend to get the new loudspeakers below 15 grand. Any recommendations?
GI Jie
post May 25 2014, 02:37 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 24 2014, 03:38 PM)
i'm going to be brutal in this....so i hope you don't get offended

you took a wrong amp to drive the speakers

1. marantz may not be powerful enough to drive your dm 2/7.......ur dynas are 86db and you need at least a 200watts 'min sine' wave to drive your dynas. you also need to understand that the role off frequency for d dyna is 50hz....naturally you will find the 40hz range and below lacking. a full 3way would be better.....although if you look at high end bookshelves like SF Guaneri...those r different level of playing
2. your speaker positioning might be wrong. how do you position your speakers from the rear wall and side walls?
3. your speaker stands, the spikes and foot and might be setup wrongly. how tight you tighten up your spikes and shoes?
4. your speakers need 200hours run in....especially the mids
5. your power feed might not be clean or filtered too much or might even be not enough

i'm very familiar with dynaudio because i have been using them for many years and even have them in my car now...dynaudio is well known for its punchy mids and bass.....so if you are not getting such sound....something wrong with the setup
yes.....i have the dynaudio 240mk2 installed in my car.....and the only amp that can make it really sing is a macintosh....you are welcome to audition it in my car

krell S-550i in my opinion is not the full picture.....albeit it is a better amp compared to the marantz...driving the dynaudio with it is the right thing to do
without the right setup....your sound is still shitty...so you need to understand what went wrong with your current setup

next issue is going to be your power supply for the Krells....really power hungry
i hope you have dedicated power cable from your fuse to your wall socket.....and you have to have a high current cable like 10mm to 14mm otherwise it might make your amp sound limped

and your krells have XLRs....naturally they will sound more meat and louder.....which also means good XLR interconnects come into the picture

with such budget......you may want to look at Audio Research or Mcintosh

personally i'm running Audio Research cd and amps, Sonus Faber speakers, transparent Reference mm2 and Ultra interconnects and speaker cables, nordost power cables, quantum resonant power stuffs and harmonix tuning feets

at this level, even the damn rack makes a difference
a platform for the power makes another improvement

my final journey is the ultimate room dimension setup with the right power factor, floorings, sound proofing and the entire works

as to answer your question about which speaker is right...there is no right or wrong
focus on the very basic fundamentals and right setup

you can find my setup in the Sonus Faber tread.....some many post back
Thanks a lot for the advice. Really appreciate it. Be brutal, at least someone is telling me something I don't know.

1) Does this mean that I do not need new loudspeakers as the Dynaudio that I have now is sufficient?
2) Ya. Those Krells are power suckers. That is why I am having TNB come around to alter my incoming juice from 1 phase to 3 phase. I am already seeing my bill shoot up. Am cabling two dedicated power lines directly from the fuse box to the wall sockets.
3) Haven't put in the spikes yet. Been busy at work. Just can't get good help these days. Kakakakakakaka.
4) If I don't have to dig into my retirement savings for the loudspeakers, maybe I will get some power conditioners for it. Those buggers cost a pretty penny too.
5) Yep. I am using balanced Nordost XLR for the new setup.
6) No sound proofing. My missus will kill me (again) if I had that installed. Somehow my man cave is also an alternative store room for her stuff whenever she needs it. Maybe I should invest in a good door lock as well.

Cheers!

GI Jie
post May 25 2014, 02:59 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ May 24 2014, 04:26 PM)
Krell S-550i is a fine amp.

IMO, ATC is overrated to my ears. The only good one is those more expensive ATC 100, which is huge and have big sound. But at RM100k, its high still lost to Focal Utopia Scalar, which is much more airy.

Dynaudio speaker on the other hand, is okay (general freq response across 3 range are acceptable, but never great. It lack of excitement. The price and performance ratio is no good.

I can suggest you to get Focal Electra 1038 BE, which truly impreseds as the cheapest realistic sound speakers that I had heard.

Anyway, it is just my ears.  cool2.gif
Those Focal Utopia Scalar are humungously massive speakers and I can't have that. The missus equates large speakers with large price tags and the only way I can get away with purchasing good expensive speakers is if they are small in size. Cost is not the pertinent point here, size is. I auditioned the Dali loudspeakers at A&L in Bangsar today. Not too shabby indeed. Still uncertain if I should get another pair of loudspeakers to fit the new setup with the Krell(s) or for the old Marantz setup.

Ya, those ATC are way overrated. Good with the slow vocals but can't keep up with the head swingers (and bangers).

I heard the Xavian loudspeakers before somewhere a few years ago but can't remember exactly where. Anyone out there knows where I can audition it?

This post has been edited by GI Jie: May 25 2014, 02:55 PM
GI Jie
post May 25 2014, 03:11 AM

722 posts

Oh yes, hushymushy, I would like to audition your Macintosh ICE as I only have some crappy Nakamichi in mine and most of the time it is off cos I am on the phone yelling instructions to my people or yelling at other drivers cos they are like either driving in the middle of both lanes or doing 50km/h on the fast lane.
GI Jie
post May 25 2014, 02:51 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(yooifeng @ Aug 2 2005, 05:38 PM)

I have set my mind to below budget stereo system:

stereo amp: NAD C352
cd player  : NAD C542
speaker    : B&W 602 S3 or Paradigm Studio 20 or Monitor Audio Bronze B2
interconnect : Van den hul the name or QED QUNEX 2
speaker cable : Chord Carnival Silver Plus Biwire

The question is how can i find these item in KL or Johor?

Any KL  people can help?

In additoin, how is the system sounds like?

I haven't decide the speaker yet and need go for more audition recently. Any recon show room in KL as i will wen to KL next week for holiday? Any reconmendation on speaker in that price range? (<RM1500)

Thanks in advance.
NAD equipment is distributed by AUDIOGATES (MALAYSIA) SDN BHD (Tel: 03-7957 1999), 8 Jalan 13/2, 46200 Petaling Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan / e-mail: dlr@pd.jaring.my

B&W loudspeakers are distributed by MONSOON HOME THEATRE ENTERTAINMENT (Tel: 03-2282 0118) but you can find them almost everywhere.

QED interconnects can be obtained from CMY Audio & Visual

Chord Carnival Silver Plus Biwire from AV World in Pavilion KL

GI Jie
post May 28 2014, 11:13 PM

722 posts

hushymushy, are you Atven from A&L?
GI Jie
post May 28 2014, 11:25 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 25 2014, 03:09 PM)
1. since you have ordered your Krells.....use them to drive your current dynaudios......let the system run in, then find the right spots and tuning.....understand where are your limitations....then only start to find things to compliment. buying a higher end speaker does not mean you get better sound. the more high end the equipment means the more precise and accurate; less tolerance for errors; in reproducing music.
that also means if you setup it up wrongly or put it in your current spot for example; it may amplify the wrong things and become worse

2. 2 dedicated power lines.....can i assume one for amp and the other for cd? if yes, make sure the cd power line is not too thick, otherwise it might get too coarse. power conditioner will help but becareful in choosing one.
try to use wattgate gold for your sockets.

3. spikes are resonance grounding......your sound will be impacted by it. your current issue might be due to resonance deadening too fast
there are many good bookshelves out there

those bookshelves that impresses me (not in sequence order)

1. Sonus Faber Guaneri
2. Sonus Faber Cremona M Auditor
3. Opera Callas
4. Dynaudio Confidence C1 Signature
5. Focus Audio FS6 SE
6. Focal Electra (can't remember the model)
7. B&W 805s
Yep, I ordered the Krells from Norman Audio but Ivan Cheng seems disinterested to sell them to me. I first contacted him more than three weeks ago and till today (and after I have requested the invoice from him time and time again) I have yet to get it from him. Perhaps he deems a MYR30,000 sale not quite up to his standard. Been extremely patient but enough is enough. How hard is it to issue an invoice? I didn't even asked him about the exact price as I was more than willing to pay whatever he asked for but the excuses and alibis for the delays are rather unacceptable. I have a MYR50,000 budget but if I can't get what I want i.e. the Krells, I might just as well keep my Marantz system.
GI Jie
post May 29 2014, 12:20 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 28 2014, 11:32 PM)
For that budget I can set you up with a full 5.1 DALI Mentor Series setup, and then some. sweat.gif

Maybe Krell has not been able to send him units? Did he say it was ready stock when your ordered?
Yep. He said he had it in his warehouse. He assured me that.
I had always wanted a Krell but couldn't afford it until recently.
I once had a Mark Levinson No,7 when I was in Australia but still fancied the Krells.

I enquired from Hiway Laser a week ago. Guess what? Still no response.
What is it with these hifi vendors anyway?

This post has been edited by GI Jie: May 29 2014, 12:25 AM
GI Jie
post May 29 2014, 01:00 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 29 2014, 12:39 AM)
Well, I honestly am sorry for you not being able to get the setup you want. Those are awesome speakers. Is there anyone else you could contact for the Krells?

I usually only recommend stuff that's available in store. I forgot how many times I have to say no because we didn't have that model in hand. I'm also doing this part time , there is sometimes regrettable delay on my part for not being in store all the time, and I owe some people here replies too, but for them to delay up to three weeks I can't explain.

I wish you well in hunting for those fav speakers of yours.  thumbup.gif
Thank you. I wish myself well too but I know it ain't gonna happen.
Anyone out there know of any "non-snobbish" vendors that sells Krell equipment?
Perhaps I should wear my Patek this time around instead of my cheap Rolex. Kakakakakakaka
GI Jie
post May 29 2014, 04:59 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ May 29 2014, 02:38 PM)
I have auditioned your 2/7 before, i loved it. I heard it with Audio Research gears at the time. Hope you dont mind me chime in a bit. i do agree with the other bros that Marantz 6004 is under powered to drive a 2/7 properly. However, done correctly, it can be fantastic.

Different people have different taste, to some people, Dynaudio is considered slow, but to others, its just right  nod.gif Personally i like Dynaudio Contour S1.4 the best over Confidence series. I am fortunate enuf to have audited many Dyns own by my fren.

Hope you can get your gear soon. I know the feeling of meeting sellers who are disinterested in me despite cash in hand and ready to spend.
Thanks. Yep, the Marantz 6004 is a wee bit under powered which is why I am getting new equipment to drive it. I think nobody wants to sell me those Krells so I might look for something else. Macintosh or maybe Audio Research. Not in a real hurry though...
GI Jie
post May 30 2014, 02:57 AM

722 posts

Hi all, Ivan called back to inform me that he will courier the Krell units to me on Monday and that I can expect them on Tuesday. FINALLY. I will be connecting them to my Dynaudio loudspeakers once I set the system up to check out the sound (after my biz trip to China this weekend). If it sounds ok, I'll skip looking at a pair of new loudspeakers but if not....the Sonus Faber Guarneri looks yummy. How much do they cost anyway?
GI Jie
post May 30 2014, 11:49 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 30 2014, 11:44 AM)
The Guaneri is top of the range....expect top of range price...hehehehe

Dlyz..go for audio research d.

I think there's a set of audio research sp7(or is it ls7, cant remeber) pre and vs100 power going on used market

I had that combo driving my domus grand piano last time
It was crazy!!!!!
I was discreetly informed that the Guarneri are in excess of RM60K. That is without the corresponding stands. Boo hoo hoo

GI Jie
post Jul 18 2014, 01:52 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(junsuke @ Jul 15 2014, 09:26 PM)
Thanks for the feedback. After going to CMY today, I got poisoned by the dynaudio dm2/6. I have revised my budget to 6k for speakers, amp and cd with USB player. However I read that even marantz pm5004 is not enough to power up these speakers. Do you sifus have any suggestion on other amps and CD players to pair with the dynaudio dm2/6 within my 6k budget? Thanks for your help.
Try the dm2/7 (which I purchased but now put into cold storage). Sounds better than the dm2/6.
Don't know about pairing it with the Marantz pm5004 as I used to pair mine with the pm6004 and it sounded okay (which is also in cold storage).
GI Jie
post Jul 18 2014, 01:05 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jul 18 2014, 12:09 PM)
GI Jie, why not sell your system away since its sort of new
Still undecided cos I might move the Marantz & Dynaudio into my daughter's room and put her Bose system into cold storage or give it away.
My sister in law is already eyeing both. Either that or I move the Krell & Dynaudio into my daughter's room...I am kinda interested in the Passlabs now.
Itchy fingers... BTW, I will be getting the Nordost Vahalla speaker cables. Going to see Alvin at MPL tomorrow.

GI Jie
post Jul 18 2014, 01:14 PM

722 posts

Oops! Just found out that the Nordost cables cost RM40,000. The Vahalla 2 costs RM60,000 for a 3m pair. CRAZY!!!
GI Jie
post Jul 18 2014, 07:59 PM

722 posts

Ya lor... the cables alone are gonna kill you. Stuff the Hiway Laser package deals lah. Get a Marantz. Beautiful sound at low cost. However, I reckon it's gonna still exceed your budget. Even entry level stuff commands somewhat big budgets. My entry level Marantz PM6004 int amp and CD6004 cost RM3,680 and that's without interconnects, speakers and speaker cables.
GI Jie
post Jul 19 2014, 12:21 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jul 18 2014, 09:45 PM)
GI Jie.......after my renovation complete and tuning complete....time for poison eh

fyi....Alvin will be tuning with me in my new room.....

now in design, planning and material selection stage

stay tuned
I envy you. rclxms.gif
Wait till I get my Passlabs XS300 monoblocks & preamp.
Should set me back 300+

This post has been edited by GI Jie: Jul 19 2014, 12:42 AM
GI Jie
post Jul 19 2014, 06:47 PM

722 posts

Hushymushy....I got the vahalla 2
GI Jie
post Jul 19 2014, 11:01 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jul 19 2014, 10:28 PM)
wah lau eh.....hushymushy truly salute and respect GI JIE......
this is like the king of cables and one of the high high end stuffs

ur cable can buy half my system d
hahahahahahahaha
Blame Alvin lah...this one no good, that one no good...must buy vahalla 2. He even tried to sell me Odin but those cables are truly priced off the planet.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:29 AM