9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

GI Jie
post Sep 23 2014, 07:02 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Sep 23 2014, 12:10 PM)
Gi Jie.....your sort fut should be used primarily for your cd, amp and rack.

for your speakers....i highly recommend you use back the stands and use harmonix rf909x-mk2 or top end RF-999M

you need some vibration and synergy to bring the bass out for your speakers
Ya. I have in fact decided to use it for my amp and my CD player. The height separates the components quite a bit so better air circulation & hence more heat dissipation.
GI Jie
post Sep 24 2014, 01:27 AM

722 posts

I got one premium package which included the laser thingamijig & the height adjuster (which is basically a thin metal rod) plus a set of 4 of the sort fut and another four sort futs for HKD19,840.
GI Jie
post Oct 1 2014, 07:34 AM

722 posts

I have a pair of pristine "almost" vintage Kenwood speakers with me...about 20 years old. Almost zero scratches and certainly no dings. Yes, humidity is a killer here but I reckon the main reason why our used products here are nearly all fit for the bin is the matter of fact that we do not take care of them once we purchase newer items.

I also inherited a pair of B&W speakers from my dad which is from the 70s. It is somewhere in my Ipoh house all wrapped up. Maybe I should bring it in from the cold and test the bugger. Hope the speaker cone doesn't drop off the cabinet. Maybe I should start recording it before I blast it.
GI Jie
post Oct 1 2014, 12:55 PM

722 posts

Can't remember what color it is. Am heading home end month for a wedding dinner so perhaps will locate and drag it out.

Maybe I will even find a few bullion of gold behind it. Hahahahaha.
GI Jie
post Oct 2 2014, 09:46 AM

722 posts

My dilemma exactly
GI Jie
post Oct 12 2014, 09:30 PM

722 posts

Krell has a preamp that has a headphone jack hole. U think it'll work?
GI Jie
post Oct 15 2014, 05:20 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Oct 14 2014, 11:02 AM)
yup....if there's already headphone jack...generally all heapdhones can be powered up
I just bought the Krell Phantom III preamp with the headphones jack output. SGD7,600. Now awaiting delivery.
GI Jie
post Oct 15 2014, 09:43 PM

722 posts

HD800 with upgraded Cardas wires. 4.5m in length. The Cardas alone costs USD600.

This post has been edited by GI Jie: Oct 16 2014, 12:44 AM
GI Jie
post Oct 17 2014, 12:48 PM

722 posts

Ori wires lacks bass. That is why I changed the cables.
GI Jie
post Oct 22 2014, 09:45 PM

722 posts

Anyone seen an equaliser these days?
GI Jie
post Nov 1 2014, 01:36 AM

722 posts

Newest Purchase
http://s1381.photobucket.com/user/josephhk...253596.jpg.html

Don't ask me how much it cost because I don't really want to remember...

This post has been edited by GI Jie: Nov 1 2014, 01:42 AM
GI Jie
post Nov 1 2014, 11:47 PM

722 posts

No...no...no more equipment upgrades until I run in my current setup. Sheeesh... now I have to run in the interconnects as well.
GI Jie
post Nov 5 2014, 01:09 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Nov 4 2014, 04:38 PM)
i plan to visit SG to view the speaker but if i like the speaker, i dont think i will be able to bring it back to malaysia due tot he size. Anyone have any experience importing speaker from SG or oversea? any tax involved?
7% GST is unavoidable but you can claim it back if you are either flying out of Singapore OR shipping the item out BUT you must first register with the Kiasu Customs when you first land there. Secondly, the Malaysian Customs might hit you with an import tax when you get back. My advice is for you to get a forwarding agent to do everything for you. No hassles. Either that or mail it back. The SG post office is actually quite efficient.

This post has been edited by GI Jie: Nov 5 2014, 01:10 AM
GI Jie
post Nov 9 2014, 06:03 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 9 2014, 05:29 PM)
if your TV has HDMI ARC, then you can try out many sound bars like Sony, JBL, Yamaha and etc
Ya lor...a sound bar would be ideal cos you are not allocating moolah to your system.
GI Jie
post Nov 16 2014, 02:35 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(bryanyz @ Nov 15 2014, 12:14 AM)
Hi all, i'm looking for bookshelf speaker to pair with Marantz PM6005.
Acoustic Energy 301 vs Kef Q300 which is more suitable?
i mostly listening to indie, electronic music.

budget below rm3000, or any others speaker you guys can suggest?
If size is a problem, get the Dynaudio DM2/7 speakers. About RM3,300. Great sound connected to the PM6005. I know...I got both.
GI Jie
post Nov 19 2014, 10:57 PM

722 posts

And I thought the cables behind my system is a mess. Now I have a very good reason not to tidy up my "mess". Thank you.
GI Jie
post Jan 9 2015, 12:07 AM

722 posts

Marantz paired with Dynaudio speakers. Add in a subwoofer and you"ll have a great setup. I know cos I set up the Marantz PM6005, Marantz CD6005, Dynaudio DM2/7 Speakers and BMB Subwoofer in my study and it can challenge the setup in my sitting room which comprises a Krell S550i, Krell S350a, Krell Phantom III and Sonus Faber Guarneri. No joke.
GI Jie
post Jan 16 2015, 12:13 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jan 12 2015, 10:56 AM)
hah taikor.....tot u went MIA travelling dunno where d....

honestly speaking....ur hall setup not yet fully maximize......

plus you tambah BMB subwoofer with dynaudio.......of coz for bass heads this is a good setup ler...
hehehehehehe

wait till you hentam Pass Labs with ur Guarneri.....

ok...back to bookshelves setup...

the comparisons are not accurate per se as the room conditions, power and many other factors defer....

proper setup is required to achieve the best sound

take wharfedale for example.....i've help my friend setup the diamond 10.3 (not sure if the model is right...but its the floor stander)....with an AV....music streaming and via USB....albeit not the audiophile standard but he wanted decent music sound....

his hall was L shaped.....with dining attached on the right and balcony with sliding glass door on the left

the sound naturally skewed to the left and right was more empty.....

left speaker was repositioned  to zero toe and heavy curtains were used as damping
right speaker had to toe in a little to balance the sound

he had a subwoofer on the left side and we shifted it to the right to create more mass and reflection

the entire pair of speakers was moved from 6" from the wall to 1 meter from the wall....

results....well at least the left and right balance was there....

his was a very budget setup....at the end....he said he was satisfied with the results....
Not MIA lah but busy bee lah
No new purchases except for the Shure 846 earphones for my kid
She likes it so I am pleased

Bro, positioning the speakers 1m from the wall will only invite XXXXX from the missus
Not a very good advise ler
GI Jie
post Jan 16 2015, 12:17 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jan 9 2015, 06:36 PM)
hmm, Dynaudio DM2/7 really good? What's the price? Where can I get it? Also recently I found a speaker brand from Dennmark called System Audio, heard a lot ppl said that it can sound filling the room even the size of bookshelf is small, but then the price is like XXXX sweat.gif , will Dynaudio sound sth like that? Filling and more airy, tight and controlled bass? Is this coloration to the sound? Surround  sound speakers? I'm pretty confuse about them now rclxub.gif
I bought it new for MYR3,320
GI Jie
post Jan 16 2015, 01:35 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jan 16 2015, 12:54 AM)
wow, well price a bit high as usual for dynaudio hmm.gif , the Wharfedale Denton I bought really good price, just because there is minor crack on the wood egge thumbup.gif , so lucky rclxm9.gif

Between, how's the Dynaudio sound signature? Warm? 3D? Room filling airy sound? Tight and controlled bass? drool.gif
oooooooo don't ask me cos it isn't run in yet but what I can say is that the subwoofer helped a lot. Warm? Not quite but then again I listen to Deep Purple, Linkin Park and Swedish House Mafia (so warm isn't what I look for in a speaker). Tight, yes...controlled bass, I prefer the setup hooked to a subwoofer. You want bass, get a bassy amp instead (like Krell) or hook up a subwoofer. The thumping will get your missus (if you are married) onto you in less than a second.

Price was a wee bit high cos I bought it quite a while ago and I know it has dropped now.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0814sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:13 AM