Anybody knows what the import taxes are for bringing hifi from Kiasuland back here to Bolehland?
Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!
May 12 2015, 12:26 PM
722 posts Joined: May 2014 |
Anybody knows what the import taxes are for bringing hifi from Kiasuland back here to Bolehland?
May 12 2015, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 12 2015, 04:11 PM) Can or not ler these days (after the YouTube video showing our custom officers makan like hell)?The reason why I am asking is because I might drive to Kiasuland to buy the Esoteric K-05X CD Player instead of ordering it here in KL. I have in fact ordered it but cancelled the order before posting the 50% deposit. The reason is because the price here in Bolehland is MYR27,560 (no discount given) whilst the price in Singapore is SGD8,500 (inclusive of GST & still can nego). SGD8,500 at prevailing exchange rates of 2.70 equates MYR22,950. A savings of at least MYR4,610 (perhaps more after nego). I thing 4K+ is worth the trip to Kiasuland/Kiasiland where BAD FOOD assaults our tastebuds |
May 12 2015, 06:22 PM
May 13 2015, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 12 2015, 06:51 PM) Place CD player in passenger seat. Make sure box is open and the inside is empty except for player, say transferring CD player from old house to new house. Done. That's what my friend did once. However I think not so easy these days after the GST. I flew back from Europe last month and my bag was scanned for the 1st time. Never happened to me before...I usually just waltz past customs. Lucky, as a precautionary measure, I didn't exceed my quota of 1 carton of fags + 1 bottle of the yummy stuff. Usually I go to my "favourite" duty free shop and whack about 6 or 7 cartons of smokes (on 1 passport) and a few bottles of the holy water. |
May 13 2015, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 13 2015, 01:36 AM) Nah they scanned only. This one is massive CD player. Can say it's old one from collection. Using new slim blu ray player. This one for parents old house to use. Hahaha...if I told them that it is an "old" CD player and if they believe what I said, these guys need their eyes examined.Kaotim. If it works you owe me lunch. I think the best way is through kopi money and these people are so hard up that I think MYR300 might just do it. Saves me a bundle anyway. Lunch on me is no problem whatsoever, whether kowtim or not.... Maybe we'll rope Hushymushy in as well. |
May 14 2015, 09:12 AM
May 14 2015, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(wim1983 @ May 13 2015, 05:29 PM) Anybody got hear the Grand Teton Gen2? I plan to get a reference bookshelf speakers, though it's pretty expensive everywhere. The Gen2 looks like a joke, but very tempted to try since got lots of positive reviews, and more friendly price I think only sold in America. Go to Alex Yoon's blog - http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?PHPSE...&topic=126118.0 |
May 14 2015, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(wim1983 @ May 14 2015, 08:43 PM) The non-intercept and less reflection bouncing sound concept, kinda attractive to me, it seem that's the idea of great sound, instead of traditional directional and 5.1 surround effect, to me that's an innovative technology to begin with, but the look is a downside to me, what do you think? Basically, it is a horn cum a dust collector cum satellite dish. Ya, looks weird but some of the others in the market looks far weirder. Good reviews though but one can never believe what the reviewers say. Best I think is for you to listen to it but I think it is kinda hard to find one to audition here. From what I read of it, it is "super-position-critical". For me, I like speakers to sound great wherever I place it. Just because it will sound better if placed two feet from the back wall doesn't mean I will do so (sorry hushymushy) cos I like things in order and speakers should be heard and seldom seen as an obstruction. From the GT Gen2's many reviews, these speakers need space at the rear to bring out the bass - not my cup of tea. Another thing, it depends on what kind of source you are hooking it up to. Regardless of how good your speakers are, a lousy source will mean a lousy sound. Garbage in, Garbage out. Bro, this GT Gen2 is a garage project from a messy warehouse in downtown LA. You look at how they packed this stuff? If you ask me, I'd rather stick to the mainstream brands. At least there is such a thing as after sales service (unless you buy speakers from Alvin from Perfect Hifi). For the kind of moolah you would expect to pay for the GT Gen2, you might as well look somewhere else and at speakers you can actually touch, feel, smell, look and listen to here in Malaysia. At least if it doesn't sound as good after you have hooked it up at home, there is no one to put the blame on (hahahaha). |
May 15 2015, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 15 2015, 12:14 AM) There are idiots out there who compare the over priced JH Layla IEM having bigger soundstage than the obviously miles better HD800 full sized headphone. Don't buy into the hype man. Try the damn things first, then only decide if you wanna buy it. Ya...trust your own ears, not someone else's ears.For that price you might be better off with the DALI Rubicon bookshelves. |
May 15 2015, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 15 2015, 12:38 AM) next month i might be travelling to Bangkok....if i have the time...i might go HiFi Plaza again.... |
May 15 2015, 09:06 AM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 14 2015, 11:53 PM) taikor...one can't have best of every thing ler.... Eh...take picture of your newly renovated sound room and show us a bit lah.and i do agree with you about speaker positioning..... but if you can achieve best position and still look nice....that would perfect world.... my recent audio room....haiyah.....messed up abit...the screen forced my cremonas out abit......but ok lar....sound not much impacted What you mean by the screen forcing your Cremonas out a bit ler? |
May 15 2015, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 15 2015, 09:20 AM) Enuf juice meh? How many dedicated power points you ran into the room?My new place got 5 at the place I am setting up my tv & existing system but I haven't checked if they are dedicated or parallel wiring The new setup will be in my study and I am sure I gotta run a few more dedicated lines to it. Minimum 4 I think. Existing only 2 and at different corners of the room. Will be partitioning it up. Trouble is it is about 30 feet away from my junction box. This post has been edited by GI Jie: May 15 2015, 10:22 AM |
May 15 2015, 10:52 AM
May 15 2015, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 15 2015, 11:32 AM) based on Cardas recommendation....your room is slider wider....but nevertheless....having a room is better than none.... Mine not dedicated music room like yours lah...it is actually my study but I will probably move the primary setup in there. Gonna be hot as Hell as those Passlabs produces quite a bit of heat and packed like mad as I do have quite a few books & files. My secondary system (Krell+SF Guarneri) will be moved into my sitting room whereas my kid's Bose system will move into my bedroom. She will inherit my Marantz+Dynaudio system in her bedroom. That is my current plan unless I get itchy fingers between now until the reno is ready. Might move the Bose (small footprint) into the dry kitchen and setup another system for my bedroom...poison setting in again. Maybe I will go for tubes this time and get some AR components (just kidding). More likely I will setup a purely phono system. Most probably either Thorens or Rega matched to a phono preamp (Rega or Aesthetix) link to an integrated amp (to minimize footprint) plus the speakers (desktop). Probably get a headphone amp as well.can't wait to see your room!!! OR maybe I'll move the Passlabs out into the living area, move the phono system into my study & the Krell into my bedroom. This post has been edited by GI Jie: May 15 2015, 12:30 PM |
May 15 2015, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 15 2015, 11:33 AM) actually for my setup.....the cremonas should be 7.3" apart, but if i do that...my side and rear viewers would have a blocked image on the bottom edge....so have to push them to 8" apart Aiyah...you got so much space, just move them apart a bit more lah....Don't think it will affect the sound at all. |
May 15 2015, 12:55 PM
Hahahaha...I just found out that I still have my old JVC minicomponent with me. Must be all of 12 years old. I'll also be calling up my sis in Melbourne to see if she is still keeping my old old Mark Levinson No.9 power amps & No.7 preamp in her storeroom. I think I left it there since 1988/90. Massive buggers. Weighs a ton. Probably cost more to ship it back than its actual worth now.
May 16 2015, 01:01 AM
May 16 2015, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(carcrazy @ May 16 2015, 10:05 AM) ![]() Gi jie i knew somebody will say that..lol The following will be reaching our shores soon.. Dual chasis, total weight of 36kg Max gain at 70db handmade by frederich schaffer, germany enuf tua liap cap boh? Will be on time for KLAV hifi show Chia tua liap lor |
May 26 2015, 08:35 AM
Bros, I just checked out the Dynaudio Evidence speakers at CMY in Gurney Plaza and these are not small speakers ler but stand up over 6 feet in height and heavy as shit (over 110 kg). Didn't get to sample it as the salesgirl there thought someone wearing slippers was not capable of footing the MYR200K bill so she should not waste her precious time serving me. Maybe I'll get John from CMY Sg. Wang to set it up for me.
The one at Gurney was hooked up to a couple of Jeff Rowland amps. |
May 26 2015, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 26 2015, 10:27 AM) The gambar on the website looks so kicit maiyong ler...I tot maybe only 3 foot speakers, 4 foot tops but walanei...tall ones lerLagi, I dunno what speaker cables they running thru but those monsters looks thicker than my power cords!!! |
| Change to: | 0.0443sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:54 PM |