Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!
GI Jie
Apr 15 2015, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Apr 14 2015, 10:53 PM) 3k budget..... here's my thoughts: amp: go for a used amp....something like Audiolabs 8000A MK2....should set you back around 1k speaker: agree with XLS Encore i'd ditch the subs and go for a proper speaker stands speaker cable....if no budget, strip the network cable and use it first.... little budget....you can try Canare, Belden and plenty more.....you can search for Black Octagon...he does a number of DIY cables at affordable price hardware is just the start....having the right setup and tuning is second part.....and more to come i'd suggest you start with this kind of setup and slowly work your way into it Uncle, people said their main source is the laptop lah.
GI Jie
Apr 16 2015, 02:35 AM
QUOTE(naughty11 @ Apr 15 2015, 07:55 PM) How about FLAC, is it comparable to CD? LOL at the piercing stare and poison bid. Dynaudio is out of my budget bro. -.-" I read somewhere that recommend to get a receiver with pre-out so that I can add a proper amp at later stage. Is that necessary? If so, how to check it the receiver has pre-out? Thanks man. Like what ktek explained, flac is entirely dependent on whom doing the encoding. Yes, flac is lossless but do remember the saying "Garbage In Garage Out". If the audio is encoded 120khz as compared to a CD quality of 44100khz, you will get 120khz. Playing the CD on your laptop is one option but if you are doing so, might as well get a CD player as your source (which is what hushymushy is trying to get you to do instead of relying on the laptop as the source). I am also a bass-head so I agreed with you on getting the subwoofer but a lot of purist here are against the subwoofer because what a sub does is actually accentuating the bass and the overall sound is not what the musician is trying to impress to the listeners but what we want to hear. Yes, getting a good stand for the speakers will tighten the bass up a lot but a subwoofer will pump it up to levels which any speaker stand can never achieve. In fact, certain amps can reproduce music/sound with a heavier and lower bass than others...Krell for instance. Nice, tight and way way low bass which vibrates other furniture in the same room (my kind of music).
GI Jie
Apr 20 2015, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(naughty11 @ Apr 20 2015, 03:04 AM) In the end I bought Monitor Audio Bronze BX2 and Marantz PM6005 Stereo Amp after audition. This speaker plus the yamaha woofer really rocks for movie, I literally dropped my jaw when re-watching some of the movie I have. Music wise somehow it is not as detail as what I listen at shop, most probably due to the source (laptop). =( Yes...welcome to the Marantz family circle. When I first bought my Marantz PM & CD6005 and coupled it with the BMB sub, the sound really rocks. Very surprising as I expected less from a budget system. Anyway, congrats!!!
GI Jie
Apr 21 2015, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(Topet @ Apr 20 2015, 04:18 PM) i pair my pm6005 with floorstand, should i paired with bookshelf speaker? Floorstanders are perfectly okay. Which speakers?
GI Jie
Apr 21 2015, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(Topet @ Apr 21 2015, 08:59 PM) Paradigm monitor 7 v6..too bassy...bass knob i put at 9 o'clock only... You could try using some spike on your speakers (or does your speakers already have them)? That usually tighten up the bass a bit. Speaker wires also affects the sound coming out from the speakers. Maybe you could borrow a few and test them with your speakers. Also, what amp are you using? Could you have accidentally engaged your "Loudness" button?
GI Jie
Apr 22 2015, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 21 2015, 11:26 PM) The pm6005. Perhaps adjust the distance to rear wall Ah ha! The PM6005 "HAS" a loudness button. Could that button had been mistakenly depressed? As far as I know, the Paradigm Monitor 7 v.6 is not bass oriented. In fact I auditioned it for my first hifi and found the bass lacking which is why I opted for the Dynaudio DM2/7 and then hooked it up to a BMB subwoofer cos the PM6005 has a dedicated sub-out.
GI Jie
Apr 22 2015, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(Topet @ Apr 22 2015, 10:10 AM) don't have spikes..about the cable, if you're in Sabah so hard to get good cables here. I settled for cable talk, never engaged in loudness, maybe I just felt the speakers too bassy for me. bass know will turn to zero after this You sure you did not accidentally engage the Loudness button? https://www.dropbox.com/s/910eo11nzm69ayy/U...tled-1.jpg?dl=0This post has been edited by GI Jie: Apr 22 2015, 11:07 PM
GI Jie
Apr 23 2015, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(Topet @ Apr 22 2015, 11:21 PM) Yes sir, never touch that thing. just ignore it.. I want to talk about your future setup. its damn interesting. i pray and wish that you will have it this year so that I could come and enjoy a song or two.. Ya...still on hold now until my new place is ready, maybe in September after the renovations. By the time I get it (imported) it will be in November and it will take a few months to burn that monster in, which means that it will be ready for listening sometime next year...hahahahahaha
GI Jie
May 2 2015, 02:32 AM
QUOTE(Topet @ Apr 23 2015, 01:29 PM) I'm a patience man..i could wait...just want to hear aida sings... Might not get Aida though...perhaps the Magico M5 (frigging huge) or the Dynaudio Evidence Master (nice and slender) or the Evidence Platinum. Most probably the Dynaudio cos I can get CMY to import it in for me (and I DO like Dynaudio). This post has been edited by GI Jie: May 2 2015, 02:33 AM
GI Jie
May 2 2015, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 2 2015, 09:36 AM) i'd go for magico!!!! then only dynaudio.... but if you ask my number 1 speaker....Wilson Audio Alexandra........ Terlalu besarlah bro...I like small unobtrusive speakers that deliver a big sound. Leaning towards the Dynaudio instead of Magico even though these 2 are priced in "almost" the same range. So it will be between Aida and Evidence Master This post has been edited by GI Jie: May 2 2015, 01:38 PM
GI Jie
May 5 2015, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 2 2015, 05:01 PM) When Aida comes into the picture...it should br either Aida or Alexandra Bro, I don't have a BIG house like yours lah... that's why my preference is leaning towards the Dynaudio Evidence Master. Secondly, I REALLY am NOT looking forward to dealing with our friend from Perfect Hifi at Wisma MPL again. Thirdly, I REALLY like Dynaudio. Maybe my Guarneri will sound better on its stands (hee..hee... I have not collected it yet) or after I have finally burned it in. Or after I have burned in all my components and connectors but the Marantz + Dynaudio seems to sound better than Krell + Guarneri. QUOTE(Topet @ May 2 2015, 07:21 PM) Aiyah...all you SF fans ah...
GI Jie
May 5 2015, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 5 2015, 07:38 PM) So excited for this. Proud to present the new PS Audio BHK Signature Stereo and Monoblock amplifiers.  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Zero-loss vacuum tube input stage Differentially coupled balanced MOSFET output stage All through hole construction (no surface mount parts) RCA Single ended input XLR balanced input 250 watts per channel 8Ω Signature 250 stereo 500 watts per channel 4Ω Signature 250 stereo 2Ω stable Signature 250 stereo 300 watts 8Ω Signature 300 mono 600 watts 4Ω Signature 300 mono 1000 watts 2Ω Signature 300 mono Less than 0.1% thd 20Hz to 20kHz at rated power Damping factor 100 for excellent loudspeaker control Front panel standby button for vacuum tube input -3dB greater than 200kHz Dual, custom, solid copper, gold plated output binding posts Fully balanced from input to output 83 pounds Input 12 volt trigger Easy access for tubes Both are on the way. The Stereo is Rm35K, while the mono is Rm70K. Walanei!!! Looks exactly like my HP printer!!!
GI Jie
May 5 2015, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 5 2015, 07:54 PM) HHAHAHA. Standard PS Audio Design lol. Really hope to pair it with their DirectStream and watch it drive the Epicon 8's. Tube input...MOSFET output...interesting. Class AB?
GI Jie
May 5 2015, 08:33 PM
Another thing, I just sold my soul and in exchange got the Sharp LC-80LE960X tv and looking for a good sound bar. Any recommendations? I have auditioned the Sonos and the Sharp. Not much choice here in KL ler... Oh, the monster will be in Harvey Norman as I am only taking delivery in end August. Takes 3 weeks to order it in together with the mounting bracket (sold separately) if I am lucky (4-5 weeks if I am not) which means that I still got quite a few months to make my choice. Have to have a sound bar cos the tv output is only 2.1ch (10W + 10W + 15W subwoofer).
GI Jie
May 5 2015, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 5 2015, 10:19 PM) honestly.....SF has its own fans.... recently had chats with a few friends....few of them commented a full Goldmund setup.....price estimates to be roughly 800k....apparently damn good!! Goldmund too clinical lah...no life of its own. As for sound bars...yeah, I gotta check out the JBL. Utopia? By Focal? Where can audition ler? BTW where can get Esoteric CD player here? This post has been edited by GI Jie: May 5 2015, 11:38 PM
GI Jie
May 6 2015, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(carcrazy @ May 6 2015, 12:43 AM) Focal is now under absolute sound. esoteric too Ya. Contacted them oredy. No stocks for all models. K-01 about 60K+. I prefer the K-05 (about 25K). They are checking if there are stocks in Kiasuland. Takes 3 weeks to bring it in. These are the older models. The new models have an "x" behind its model numbers i.e. K-01x etc. Same audio circuitry except the new one have more connections
GI Jie
May 6 2015, 06:33 PM
Just got a call from them. No stocks in Kiasuland as well. Takes 2 months to order it in. Ordering the K-05 model.
GI Jie
May 7 2015, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(carcrazy @ May 7 2015, 09:19 AM) Gi jie go for d newer models unless u dun mind the following character: Slightly on d cold side very neutral till lacks of harmonics * some prefer d above some not Ya, did some research last nite and I am ordering the newer K-05X model. Full price 27,560 including GST. 50% deposit. Minimum 2 months to get in (if I am lucky) cos the K-05X is the newest model from the new "X" series. Model not even up on the US Esoteric website yet. Spoke to Lim of Absolute Sound and he told me that TEAC Japan only produces 1 model every month due to lack of production line for the Esoteric products, alternating between models every month. Oh yes, the K-01X retails for over 75K ( excluding GST). The base model K-07 (old model) sells for just under 3K (excluding GST).
GI Jie
May 7 2015, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ May 6 2015, 10:59 PM) M5 (the Monster)...not Q5. Retails for over quarter mil. Crazy. Aida also not cheap ler.... This post has been edited by GI Jie: May 7 2015, 12:03 PM
GI Jie
May 8 2015, 01:09 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ May 7 2015, 11:23 PM) The M5 isno longer available. It has Q and S series now. OIC...thanks for the heads up but not considering Magico as an option