U-mobile prepaid internet *NEW*, Enjoy UNLIMITED Mobile Internet

TSlarrytty
post Sep 9 2011, 10:44 PM

422 posts

that is very true!
i was wondering... cause when i read the news saying that it will be an addiotional RM.6 from the customer's pocket... then i was thinking... RM10.60? then reload agents need to keep coins already!
bryant601
post Sep 10 2011, 05:12 PM

grrrrrrrrr
1,066 posts

hey guys how can i port to this package? currently i on digi 50 plan.. wat should i do?
digilife
post Sep 10 2011, 05:59 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

go BTS or Sunway Pyramid and MNP from there if you wan to save rm5.00 on the new sim and rm3.00 on pos ekspress

thumbup.gif
dasonyeoh
post Sep 10 2011, 06:53 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Sep 10 2011, 05:59 PM)
go BTS or Sunway Pyramid and MNP from there if you wan to save rm5.00 on the new sim and rm3.00 on pos ekspress

thumbup.gif
Hi would like to confirm, if i would like to do MNP from Maxis to UM, where is the nearest center located at?

Would Prefer Seri Kembangan, SS2, Kota Damansara, OUG, Midvalley, 1 U, Ikea, Mines. Any of these Places that we can do MNP?

How much does it cost for it?

This post has been edited by dasonyeoh: Sep 10 2011, 06:53 PM
digilife
post Sep 10 2011, 07:03 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

its FOC and u also get rm5.00 credit, go to your nearest SC or do via me which u hav to pay rm5 for the sim and rm3 pos ekspress

i hav to buy the new sim fr UM at cost rm5, (SC got subsidise by UM) rm3 is postage and you save on parking,petrol and time going to SC too

and users tat got MNP-ed by me hav faster activation as i email directly to the MNP person in charge directly thumbup.gif
u can ask around this thread icon_idea.gif
dasonyeoh
post Sep 10 2011, 07:18 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Sep 10 2011, 07:03 PM)
its FOC and u also get rm5.00 credit, go to your nearest SC or do via me which u hav to pay rm5 for the sim and rm3 pos ekspress

i hav to buy the new sim fr UM at cost rm5, (SC got subsidise by UM) rm3 is postage and you save on parking,petrol and time going to SC too

and users tat got MNP-ed by me hav faster activation as i email directly to the MNP person in charge directly  thumbup.gif
u can ask around this thread icon_idea.gif
oh...ok...thanks for replying..

Actually my hotlink data plan is going to expire on November, Thats y surveying for cheapest plan.

So far UM i can say is cheapest from what i know, but not sure how is the line reception and data connection speed is. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif .

Hopefully the Line reception is not that bad as DIGi, coz i'm using Digi -company line = sucks to max- Phone calls can be ended anytime.

Reading the thread, some say has good connection, same say sucks hmm.gif hmm.gif ...reli confusing.

1 more q. Can i subscribe the RM28/500mb plan together with broadband RM48/5GB plan simultaneously?

TQ

This post has been edited by dasonyeoh: Sep 10 2011, 07:18 PM
hebe87
post Sep 10 2011, 07:48 PM

935 posts

Can. In this case, the RM48/5GB data will be used first. When it is finished, RM28/500MB data will be consumed
dasonyeoh
post Sep 10 2011, 08:02 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Sep 10 2011, 07:48 PM)
Can. In this case, the RM48/5GB data will be used first. When it is finished, RM28/500MB data will be consumed
All in 1 Sim card?

If balik Kampung should be very convenient d... rclxms.gif

But i'm using my phone as a modem, which mean the most also can get around 14.4 instead of 42mbps?

hebe87
post Sep 10 2011, 08:52 PM

935 posts

ya.. all in one sim card. about the speed, u need to check at u.com.my for the coverage.. if you can get 4mbps and above, it shud be good d..

for 42mbps, you need to be in the coverage area and your phone/modem must be able to support the speed also
TSlarrytty
post Sep 11 2011, 05:26 AM

422 posts

do note that if u were to use the phone as a modem... the RM28 plan will not work. u need to apply for the broadband plans as listen on the website.
RM68 if im not wrong.
and depending on which phone u using... but speeds will not be 14.4mbps
as phones these days dun support till 14.4 yet!
14.4mb can be reached provided
1-modem is the 14.4mb modem
2-coverage is within the 3g network and good receiption

radi0head
post Sep 11 2011, 08:05 AM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

QUOTE(dasonyeoh @ Sep 10 2011, 07:18 PM)
Hopefully the Line reception is not that bad as DIGi, coz i'm using Digi -company line = sucks to max- Phone calls can be ended anytime.

Reading the thread, some say has good connection, same say sucks hmm.gif  hmm.gif ...reli confusing.
I totally agree wif u on digi... abt the connection some say good n some say bad, it's very well area dependent... if ur area is good, de speed u'll b getting will be good as well...

so if u ask me, I wud say try to test out in ur area that u'll b using ur bb most of de time, if de signal is good... u'll b getting good speed 4 sure... no worries...

wink.gif

Quantum_thinking
post Sep 11 2011, 12:53 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Sep 11 2011, 08:05 AM)
I totally agree wif u on digi... abt the connection some say good n some say bad, it's very well area dependent... if ur area is good, de speed u'll b getting will be good as well...

so if u ask me, I wud say try to test out in ur area that u'll b using ur bb most of de time, if de signal is good... u'll b getting good speed 4 sure... no worries...

wink.gif
Indeed. nod.gif

Digi's internet performs well in cities mostly and not suitable for surfing while traveling.
oneeleven
post Sep 11 2011, 02:20 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(larrytty @ Sep 11 2011, 05:26 AM)
do note that if u were to use the phone as a modem... the RM28 plan will not work. u need to apply for the broadband plans as listen on the website.
Do you mean Android Hotspot tethering doesn't work?

TSlarrytty
post Sep 11 2011, 02:36 PM

422 posts

RM28 if im not wrong doesn't include tethering.
if can be done. maybe limited to 500mb only.
atfter that its 5cents/mb
tat im still not very sure... cause RM28 is written mobile internet.
its not a prepaid broadband plan. so usually cnt tethering
yujin86
post Sep 11 2011, 02:52 PM

1,736 posts

if i wanna roam in singapore do u need to register at um centre? or can directly use like hotlink?
TSlarrytty
post Sep 11 2011, 05:02 PM

422 posts

theres a feature on the *118# there where u shud be able to say u wanna roam
dasonyeoh
post Sep 11 2011, 06:18 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(larrytty @ Sep 11 2011, 05:26 AM)
RM68 if im not wrong.
and depending on which phone u using... but speeds will not be 14.4mbps
as phones these days dun support till 14.4 yet!
14.4mb can be reached provided
1-modem is the 14.4mb modem
2-coverage is within the 3g network and good receiption
Correct me if i'm wrong, as i'm still exploring to switch to UM.

Think Tethering should able to do so, as i'm using Hotlink Mobile Internet 500MB plan, still able to share connection to others eg. pc, laptop, phone devices and etc.

Android nowadays has included WiFi Hotspot to share internet connection. Easy and fast rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

As for reaching 14.4mbps, if phone specification eg. HTC IS- now has ad equipped with 3G-HSDPA, 14.4 Mbps; HSUPA, 5.76 Mbps.

I c no reason y it cant connect till that speed, unless i finish up the 500MB, or at area with bad coverage???

yanhui95
post Sep 11 2011, 06:45 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

QUOTE(dasonyeoh @ Sep 11 2011, 06:18 PM)

Think Tethering should able to do so, as i'm using Hotlink Mobile Internet 500MB plan, still able to share connection to others eg. pc, laptop, phone devices and etc.

Android nowadays has included WiFi Hotspot to share internet connection. Easy and fast rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

As for reaching 14.4mbps, if phone specification eg. HTC IS-  now has ad equipped with 3G-HSDPA, 14.4 Mbps; HSUPA, 5.76 Mbps.

I c no reason y it cant connect till that speed, unless i finish up the 500MB, or at area with bad coverage???
can't tether with the unlimited plan on umobile, tried joikuspot doesn't work.
TSlarrytty
post Sep 11 2011, 06:46 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(dasonyeoh @ Sep 11 2011, 06:18 PM)

Android nowadays has included WiFi Hotspot to share internet connection. Easy and fast rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

As for reaching 14.4mbps, if phone specification eg. HTC IS-  now has ad equipped with 3G-HSDPA, 14.4 Mbps; HSUPA, 5.76 Mbps.

Good answers there bro.
If thet's the case... Um will be good for those sharing hot spot programs as afteer exceeding 500mb the plan still goes on unlike hotlink the plan deactivates itself after the quota.
As for the question of speed... If u were to go thru the hotspt configuration the speed shud be avg 2to4mb. My fren tested for me at KL centra with his galaxy ace in KL central mcd where got lots of walls and roof packed above! Still 2.5mbps speed. The speed shouldn't be an issue if you're juz on your smart phone. 14.4mbps speeds now I'm quite sure is not available on smartphnes. Htc most also 5mb now.. Cause UM themselves said that to achieve the 14mb speedd
1. U need the. 14mb modem
2. Area another issue.as usual for advertising purposes. They show their highest achevable speed. Maybe the test was done right beside the 3g towers giving it lowest possible data loss resulting in 14.4mb
dasonyeoh
post Sep 11 2011, 08:26 PM

282 posts

I begin to love this Thread, as the User here is very friendly and giving many constructive answers. Make me more ooommmm to reply tongue.gif

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Sep 11 2011, 06:45 PM)
can't tether with the unlimited plan on umobile, tried joikuspot doesn't work.
Yanhui95, can i double confirm what phone you are currently using? Coz previously, i was been Using Nokia N900 and using joikuspot to share internet connection.

I find the application itself a bit buggy. Sometimes i can share out n sometimes cant. Not sure is because of the apps itself or the phone?? hmm.gif

But after switching to HTC IS, using the same plan, same sim card i able to share internet using WiFi Hotspot and it is very stable so far.

QUOTE(larrytty @ Sep 11 2011, 06:46 PM)
As for the question of speed... If u were to go thru the hotspt configuration the speed shud be avg 2to4mb. My fren tested for me at KL centra with his galaxy ace in KL central mcd where got lots of walls and roof packed above! Still 2.5mbps speed. The speed shouldn't be an issue if you're juz on your smart phone. 14.4mbps speeds now I'm quite sure is not available on smartphnes. Htc most also 5mb now.. Cause UM themselves said that to achieve the 14mb speedd
1. U need the. 14mb modem
2. Area another issue.as usual for advertising purposes. They show their highest achevable speed. Maybe the test was done right beside the 3g towers giving it lowest possible data loss resulting in 14.4mb
Not sure about other model But HTC actually has 3G:

Up to 14.4 Mbps download speed
Up to 5.76 Mbps upload speed

But i'm not sure how true it is, as i seldom test connection speed, as Hotlink Data Plan coverage and speed is very satisfying.

Can refer to link below for the download speed of HTC using 3G

http://www.htc.com/europe/product/incredib...cification.html

Hotlink Data Plan Speed Test on Phone

Unifi Speed Test on Phone

For Reaching 14.4mbps, i think should be more towards advertisement tongue.gif tongue.gif Read through this thread got 2mbps consider very good d. cant complaint so much d.

This post has been edited by dasonyeoh: Sep 11 2011, 08:26 PM

151 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0282sec    1.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:59 AM