Supplementation discussion and review thread, Anything legal!

free_enuf
post May 17 2011, 05:19 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 17 2011, 05:03 PM)
whey is whey. no different than any other brands. if you're buying muscletech for the 'propriety blend' then by all means, go ahead.
I beg to differ, not all whey are created equally. Disregarding additional ingredients they put in, some brands stood out among other. Having said that Nitrotech is all bout hype and marketing.
free_enuf
post May 17 2011, 07:31 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 17 2011, 06:22 PM)
oh, really? mind explaining? im not being sarcastic or anything, mind you, i would like to know if you're willing to share.

oh, and heard from my friend that nitrotech hardcore now comes in 4.8lbs with the same price. not sure if its true or not.
Not sure bout the 4.8lbs packaging but if price is concerned it is quite competitive compared to other brands on certain website store. I think its not the price that I m against, its just that NT is simply not the best whey.

Btw back to whey, many variances of preparation and the percentage of them in any brands makes difference in the rate they are digested and absorbed, eg being hydrolyzed to smaller chains of peptide or not, does make a big difference in absorption during the PWO window. Addition of digestive enzymes in certain brands is another advantage in this sense. Imagine lactase in ON's for the lactose-intolerant, its one hella savior. Easiest way, will you think Holley's whey is equivalent to Nutrex's, gram to gram? smile.gif My 2cent.

Added on May 17, 2011, 7:42 pm
QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ May 17 2011, 07:03 PM)
yeah... I personally use a mixture of myofusion/on whey/on casein and a separate tub of creapure micro... its the most basic solid combination for me, been using it for few years...

never tried any hydro stuff from them, it is still pricey ever since launched, but good to know that they are introducing another good product in.
By hydro if you are referring to hydrolyzed whey, no they are not pricey. ON's 100% whey is partially hydrolyzed, and its the one of the cheapest whey out there. I do think ON's product esp its 100% whey are value for money. You can easily get 10lb-er for RM295 shipped.

This post has been edited by free_enuf: May 17 2011, 07:42 PM
free_enuf
post May 17 2011, 08:22 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ May 17 2011, 08:18 PM)
actually it's not just their protein that's expensive...
MT is general is an expensive brand.

and gnc takes advantage of that fact to hike up the price, just saying.
Nobody sane will go to GNC
free_enuf
post May 17 2011, 11:59 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 17 2011, 11:09 PM)
well, in the end, the main ingredient is still whey isnt it? regardless of digestive enzymes etc etc. personally for me i still think price is the main factor for me choosing any particular brand. but then again, i am not the type that would blame the protein shake if i dont make decent progress. its -still- a supplement for me, after all.

ON has the platinum series, if i remember the name correctly, which is more expensive than your regular whey. thats the hydrolyzed whey..
Yes you are correct, the main ingredient is still whey. But as I have mentioned, even whey has grades eg percentage of WPI/WPC, pre-hydrolyzed etc. Thats why my argument of one brand of whey being better than others. And you are correct that we dont blame supplement for plateau, but again who doesnt want the best supp out there, price wise and quality wise.

And btw, this is the description for ON's 100% whey:

It is partially hydrolyzed as I have mentioned in earlier post. Platinum has got higher percentage of hydrolyzed whey/WPI.

Cheers

Added on May 18, 2011, 12:01 am
QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 17 2011, 11:57 PM)
Quite correct unless they have a buy 2 get 1 free offer. Then you'll see me go berserk in there.
There was once even better promo: buy one free one. I still remember stocking up on them. Nowadays the price cant compare to the webstores even after 50% discount.

This post has been edited by free_enuf: May 18 2011, 12:01 AM
free_enuf
post May 24 2011, 09:12 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ May 24 2011, 09:05 PM)
Hey peeps, I've recently started taking xtend blue raspberry flavour and I swear each time I take it, be it intra workout or sipping throughout the day I would get terrible headaches. Only taking 2 scoops each time, with approx 0.75 to 1L . Any sifus here having that experience?... I just feel like selling that tub away now.......Thx!

*How does your blue raspberry taste? Did it taste like asam boi juice -__-" ?
Have tried watermelon and apple before. Did not have such headache, am usually taking 4-6 scoops each go. Watermelon tastes the best btw.
free_enuf
post May 24 2011, 10:16 PM

1,020 posts

I usually make 4 scoops into bout 500-600cc. Tried adding ice cubes to make it real chilled, taste less awful.
free_enuf
post Jun 14 2011, 11:00 AM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(oren_studio @ Jun 14 2011, 08:28 AM)
just got my first xtend, raspberry flavor. mixed 2 scoops with 1 liter of water at first, too sweet and soury for me. so i reduced it to 1 scoop and the thing tastes great. also, the powder is so fine and light that it flew everywhere the first time im trying to get the scoop out. even everytime i scoop also some will fly here fly there. sad.gif
Hmmm... 1 scoop to one litre isnt it too diluted? Am making 4 scoops to 600cc, and yes its a little too concentrated to my liking though.
free_enuf
post Jun 14 2011, 12:25 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(lionshamlan @ Jun 14 2011, 12:03 PM)
need your help about the pre-workout formula that carries more strength and burnt more fat simultaneously.

scivation xtend or naNO vapor hardcore pro-series better? thx for d help!
Nano vapor tastes like vomitus seriously, and Xtend is not for preWO.
Am using NOXplode, served me pretty well with 2-3 scoops preWO.
free_enuf
post Jun 14 2011, 07:52 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(lionshamlan @ Jun 14 2011, 07:48 PM)
thats why i need ur help.coz i see many people out there consume xtend since before workout and finish it till end of the workout. anyway thanks for the explanation bro.

and one more, is that also enhance d fat burning?
If you are talking bout thermogenic, most preWO preparation has got stimulants so yes they do contribute to certain extent of fat loss, not much though. People taking Xtend throughout their WO not as a preWO shake, but to provide a constant supply of BCAA, serves different purpose. For preWO shake u want sth that gives u alertness, pump and preferably some creatine in it.

free_enuf
post Jun 18 2011, 10:31 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Jun 18 2011, 10:17 PM)
So far the cheapest one is from ON otherwise u can check out binabadan.com, they have casein from protein factory which is a little more expensive.

It works better than whey alone thou, have feeling that whey passes through our system so fast that our body can hardly absorb it in 100% what more to say if u consume 40g of protein in one go. Thats why sometime protein blend seems to be a better choice, all the fast, medium slow protein that make sure ur body absorb it nicely :3
If u ask for my opinion i would opt for casein or u can cook some egg and drink casein, since protein blend often has whey, feels like i m going to waste it for prebed... If u r rich u can go for cottage cheese lol. Most of the time i m taking whole eggs or chicken. My casein is just for mixture mostly. biggrin.gif
I read an article in t-nation, he said "chew the protein shake" to take advantage of the enzyme (amylase) in ur saliva to promote the digestion rate, but i think it would be fine... since even if we didn't "Chew" properly, our doudenum is capable of producing amylase for digestion so... up to u. For me i dont really gulp down in a go, i sip bit by bit (close to chew it lol). The article also explained, if u didnt digest properly u will often burp or produce flatulence. XD
A bit of misconception here. When you are talking bout whey and casein protein, the absorption rate is actually in reverse to what you have mentioned. Casein is a slower-absorbed protein. Whey will have no problem being absorbed to a greater extent in comparison to casein. Problem with whey at bedtime is that its rapid absorption causes a sudden surge in blood amino acid level which is not sustained enough for the long night. Thats why you need casein protein, it is being absorbed slowly, maybe less than whey but it ensure a constant supply of amino acid to the blood stream.

Another thing, Amylase has nothing to do with protein digestion/absorption.

Cheers!
free_enuf
post Jun 21 2011, 05:43 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Jun 21 2011, 05:19 PM)
Hahahha! I've got Xtend orange flavour but never noticed my breath though.
Xtend watermelon and apple are fine too, with the breath thingy. One thing I dun like bout Xtend the powder becomes moist, you know like reacting damm easily with the vapor in the air, even if it's closed tightly.

Damm everywhere has run out of Watermelon 90serv....
free_enuf
post Jun 21 2011, 05:59 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Jun 21 2011, 05:52 PM)
What does watermelon flavour actually taste like?
I've been reading lots of good taste reviews on many watermelon flavoured supplements.

I'm not so much of a fan of the real watermelon fruit, so I quite doubt the taste reviews lol.
OMG this is a tricky question..... Ermmmmmmmmm.... Watermelon flavor tastes like... watermelon? I hope I dint screw up this question.
free_enuf
post Jun 24 2011, 07:04 PM

1,020 posts

Just realized caffein can inhibit mTor pathway WTF
free_enuf
post Jun 27 2011, 11:12 PM

1,020 posts

Tried Superpump Max today, comparing the Gaspari Superpump Max Fruit Punch (1.5serving) to NO-Xplode Lemon Lime (2servings).
SPM tastes literally like syrup Paracetamol if you know what I mean. If I have to give NOX an 8 for the taste I will give 3 to SPM.
Sympathetic activation is stronger with SPM, with the stronger jitteriness and restlessness, even for the fact that I have not deloaded the stimulant effect of NOX before switching to SPM. This translates to better alertness and focus for me but some other ppl take that as a side effect.
Pump wise feels similar, I got the skin stretching feeling after the first few sets.
Strength has gone up the roof with SPM. I added 10kg in total to my last sets of flat BB BP. Previous failure sets feel easy, reaching 10 without support. Third exercise, Hammerstrength Incline Press has got new PR of 5kg per side as well. This might be partially attributed to my weekly gain of strength but it has never leaped so much.
free_enuf
post Jul 7 2011, 08:20 PM

1,020 posts

Anyone tried Ajipure iBCAA? Some Mr Penang is recommending that over Xtend. Leucine:Isoleucine:Valine 2.5gm:1.25gm:1.25gm, 200servs rm290. Packaging looks like some local made product, damm simple. Any idea?
free_enuf
post Jul 8 2011, 12:37 PM

1,020 posts

To claim your 3D glasses
free_enuf
post Jul 8 2011, 02:59 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Jul 8 2011, 02:53 PM)
May be good, I don't know. But what I do know is unflavoured BCAAs will destroy your taste buds.  doh.gif
Ya he did warn me bout it being "slightly" bitter. I have a feeling it will taste like ass. Anyway I have ordered a 1kg/200servs tub so I m stuck with it for a month, will see biggrin.gif
free_enuf
post Jul 8 2011, 03:32 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jul 8 2011, 03:24 PM)
but without glutamine.. worth the price?
Thats what I thought also gram by gram minus the glutamine/citruline it's more expensive than Eji's Xtend but too bad Eji will take sometime to restock Xtend so... Gotta compromise for this time.
free_enuf
post Jul 8 2011, 08:19 PM

1,020 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Jul 8 2011, 08:17 PM)
I bought primaforce's BCAAs before, without realizing that unflavoured BCAAs taste like crap. I never managed to finish even half the tub and it's still sitting in my cupboard.  sweat.gif
Oh crap... its the texture or the taste? Am usually taking 3 servings per go, twice a day. Thats gonna really kill my tongue man...
free_enuf
post Jul 8 2011, 11:25 PM

1,020 posts

Now I freaking regret ordering that shit

0.0431sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:09 AM