Tripod advice pls, Monfrotto, Benro, Jusino

fruitie
post Apr 29 2011, 08:49 AM

Rise and Shine
72,866 posts

My current tripod Fancier a.k.a WeiFeng WF-531 is quite OK (keyword: quite) but when I wanna shoot in portrait position, it seems the tripod is swaying to the left side. Is it normal for all tripods or my tripod is not sturdy enough to support the weight of my camera?

My usual setup will be 550D+Tamron 1750 f/2.8VC+580EXII+battery grip.

I think I gotta save for a better tripod that could last me for years. Anything for me that is light, compact and sturdy? Budget, let's say RM 500 or lower? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Apr 29 2011, 08:50 AM
Cynox
post Apr 29 2011, 09:40 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 29 2011, 08:23 AM)
I'm also looking to get this one. Any chance you could give a short of review of it in terms of build quality, sturdiness, design, etc. Can't seem to find any reviews or report on this brand.
can you read chinese? here are 2 reviews: Fotopro C4i review Fotopro C5i review

C5i is the same model which i got (MGC-584N), only it is aluminium and anodized coloured.

I lazy to give review lah.. tonight if too free nothing to do I will give some comments. laugh.gif

EDIT: There is a youtube review too.....

This post has been edited by Cynox: Apr 29 2011, 09:42 AM
kakulukia
post Apr 29 2011, 01:58 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 29 2011, 09:40 AM)
can you read chinese?  here are 2 reviews: Fotopro C4i review  Fotopro C5i review

C5i is the same model which i got (MGC-584N), only it is aluminium and anodized coloured. 

I lazy to give review lah.. tonight if too free nothing to do I will give some comments.  laugh.gif
Thank you, but cant read chinese. Just your personal observation on the device suitability/functions, etc. Simple stuff will do lah. I more or less already made up my mind, just want a bit more assurance, thats all??LOL
gnome
post Apr 29 2011, 02:03 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Read somewhere that fotopro tripod is recommended for beginner dslr+lens? not for those with full frame body and lens. Izzit true? unsure.gif
kakulukia
post Apr 29 2011, 02:26 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Apr 29 2011, 02:03 PM)
Read somewhere that fotopro tripod is recommended for beginner dslr+lens? not for those with full frame body and lens. Izzit true? unsure.gif
It'll be Good to know where you got that from. I think Full frame or APC sensor nor relevant relevant. As long as the tripod can support the weight of the equiptment you have , is sturdy and functions well then it shouldn't be a problem. Just because it's made in China and relatively new in the market doesn't mean it's for beginner.

If you use a tipod for traveling, weight is of importance. Then again you pay for what you get, so price performance will govern my decisions most of the time. If $$ is not an issue then go for the most expensive ones which almost always mean better stuff, but I believe you can still get good shots with a decent tripod, which is what I'm aiming for.

This post has been edited by kakulukia: Apr 29 2011, 02:31 PM
Cynox
post Apr 29 2011, 02:51 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 29 2011, 01:58 PM)
Thank you, but cant read chinese. Just your personal observation on the device suitability/functions, etc. Simple stuff will do lah. I more or less already made up my mind, just want a bit more assurance, thats all??LOL
the youtube video demo quite extensively the features of the tripod - low angles, upside down shooting, etc. The build quality is good and the ball head is smooth. I never use a better tripod - my previous tripod is a cheapo 3 way pan head alum Slik tripod. This Fotopro has everything i need - low angle, ballhead, lightweight, small when folded, nice padded bag, height that suited me (without the need to extend center column) - all at a price i can afford.

where are you located actually? If in JB, I dun mind meeting you somewhere to let you have a feel of it. laugh.gif

QUOTE(gnome @ Apr 29 2011, 02:03 PM)
I think it is not about beginner or full frame - it should be more relevant to the weight of the setup. Of course normally the full frame body is heavier. Thus, they will need a tripod that can handle the weight.

For me, the Fotopro (or the Jusino) is great as they are not so bulky and can mount my Canon 60D with 18-200mm lens comfortably since they are only 1.35kg. Fotopro claim the MGC-584N can hold up to 8kg, so i think mine should be quite safe. I am not a pro or even enthusiast/kaki. I just need a better camera (than P&S) to take photos whenever I go on a trip, so reasonable specs gadgets at affordable price is more important than the ultimate specs.

Just before I bought the Fotopro, I went to Melaka with my family, so I borrowed a tripod from my friend. He gave me 2 choices - a generic no-brand alum cheapo lightweight (about 1kg) 3-way pan tripod and a "gigantic" Manfrotto (i din check which model) which is HUGE (really) and HEAVY (3-4kg at least)!! As you can guess easily, I took the lightweight option. But I do take extra care when using the cheapo tripod as it seems will topple easily if not balance properly when my 60D mounted on it. sweat.gif I immediately go Spore to get the Fotopro after back from Melaka. laugh.gif
kakulukia
post Apr 29 2011, 03:04 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 29 2011, 02:51 PM)
the youtube video demo quite extensively the features of the tripod - low angles, upside down shooting, etc.  The build quality is good and the ball head is smooth.  I never use a better tripod - my previous tripod is a cheapo 3 way pan head alum Slik tripod.  This Fotopro has everything i need - low angle, ballhead, lightweight, small when folded, nice padded bag, height that suited me (without the need to extend center column) - all at a price i can afford.

where are you located actually?  If in JB, I dun mind meeting you somewhere to let you have a feel of it.  laugh.gif
I think it is not about beginner or full frame - it should be more relevant to the weight of the setup.  Of course normally the full frame body is heavier.  Thus, they will need a tripod that can handle the weight.

For me, the Fotopro (or the Jusino) is great as they are not so bulky and can mount my Canon 60D with 18-200mm lens comfortably since they are only 1.35kg.  Fotopro claim the MGC-584N can hold up to 8kg, so i think mine should be quite safe.  I am not a pro or even enthusiast/kaki.  I just need a better camera (than P&S) to take photos whenever I go on a trip, so reasonable specs gadgets at affordable price is more important than the ultimate specs. 

Just before I bought the Fotopro, I went to Melaka with my family, so I borrowed a tripod from my friend.  He gave me 2 choices - a generic no-brand alum cheapo lightweight (about 1kg) 3-way pan tripod and a "gigantic" Manfrotto (i din check which model) which is HUGE (really) and HEAVY (3-4kg at least)!!   As you can guess easily, I took the lightweight option.  But I do take extra care when using the cheapo tripod as it seems will topple easily if not balance properly when my 60D mounted on it.  sweat.gif   I immediately go Spore to get the Fotopro after back from Melaka.  laugh.gif
Yes I had a look at the video, tq. I'm from kl so no chance of meeting up, but I have actually demo(c5i) it at the shop premises, so I know it's very good value for money. The guy at the shop also swears by it although he had so many other more expensive models. Just wanted to know from someone whose actually used it in the field. I'm also using the 60d so I think I'll get the mgc-584n too, just to save a little bit of weight and furthermore only rm200 extra. It's retailing for Rm 750 here.

This post has been edited by kakulukia: Apr 29 2011, 03:06 PM
Cynox
post Apr 29 2011, 03:32 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 29 2011, 03:04 PM)
Yes I had a look at the video, tq. I'm from kl so no chance of meeting up, but I have actually demo(c5i) it at the shop premises, so I know it's very good value for money. The guy at the shop also swears by it although he had so many other more expensive models.  Just wanted to know from someone whose actually used it in the field. I'm also using the 60d so I think I'll get the mgc-584n too, just to save a little bit of weight and furthermore only rm200 extra.  It's retailing for Rm 750 here.
wow.. you are more "fortunate" than me. I can only rely on that youtube videos and the 2 review articles to make my decision - not possible to play with it before I go all the way to Spore to buy it. The Spore dealer demo it to me and folded both the CF and alum (C5i) to let me have a feel of the difference of weight. Although it is only 200 gram difference (the dealer said about weight of a can drink) but you can really feel it when holding them in both hands.

yes, i think more worth to get the CF version with just RM200 extra - the looks and feels of carbon fibre is just irresistible. RM750 is a great price consider I paid about RM732 and need to go all the way to Spore. I did check malaysia distro web site and find out that a well known JB camera shop is their dealer but when i call the JB camera shop, they said they are not selling it. rclxub.gif

btw, i haven't got chance to use it on the field. Just play with it at home. laugh.gif
kakulukia
post Apr 29 2011, 04:35 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 29 2011, 03:32 PM)
wow.. you are more "fortunate" than me.  I can only rely on that youtube videos and the 2 review articles to make my decision - not possible to play with it before I go all the way to Spore to buy it.  The Spore dealer demo it to me and folded both the CF and alum (C5i) to let me have a feel of the difference of weight.  Although it is only 200 gram difference (the dealer said about weight of a can drink) but you can really feel it when holding them in both hands.

yes, i think more worth to get the CF version with just RM200 extra - the looks and feels of carbon fibre is just irresistible.  RM750 is a great price consider I paid about RM732 and need to go all the way to Spore.  I did check malaysia distro web site and find out that a well known JB camera shop is their dealer but when i call the JB camera shop, they said they are not selling it.  rclxub.gif

btw, i haven't got chance to use it on the field.  Just play with it at home.  laugh.gif
Its going for RM750 for the carbon fibre one and Rm550 for the C5i. Thats the best price I got from vendor at Digital Mall anyway.

ieR
post Apr 30 2011, 09:18 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

for that price, i rather settle with benro with given better ballhead then fotopro, and the CF claim by them, is just simple weaving CF, compare to other branded CF (hence expensive)... there is higher chance of the fotopro cf will break tongue.gif but still, if you are just a family shooter, by all mean, spend the money wisely, family comes first.

many ppl would think rm300 tripod is sufficient, yes it is. but i would always advise people, settle for the best, not the 2nd, else u find yourself looking again. but then, also learn to be contented with what you can afford.

some may say, aiyo, this rm500, that better one is rm800... rm300 is not hard to save if u smoke less, mamak less, eat properly, etc, most a month save 100, 3 month can get u to the rm800 pod, and never look back. (but the rm800 is for people who are really serious in photography la)

my above writing may be very contracting on every point, but its how every people see it here too. those brought the good expensive one will advise the latter one, while people who manage to get their hand on cheap bargain good tripod will be the early advise... its up to how you guys see it. i am a owner of benro travel angle CF269-1, and i am planing to get one more CF 069-1 for even lighter travel uses
Cynox
post Apr 30 2011, 12:18 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

with RM750, can get a lightweight benro tripod at 1.5kg with ballhead? For ppl like us, mid end tripod is good enough - we just buy the best within our budget. There are more than thousand ringgit carbon fiber tripod out there but what's the point spending so much for 3 sticks of metal. laugh.gif and how you know the cheaper one is "simple weaving", hence lower quality? and why you buy the benro not gitzo which is much pricier (hence better?) ? hmm.gif dun forget benro is also make in china. So i dun see the cf tripod produced by benro is much difference with cf tripod produced by fotopro/jusino.

I take care of my gear carefully so for me few hundred ringgit tripod is as good as a thousand ringgit CF - as long as it can mount my camera safely and steadily. I believe the quality for mid range tripods are not that far away from top end tripods but the higher price tripods are definitely more durable. For casual user like us, the durability of our RM700+ tripod may be as durable as the thousand ringgit tripod used by professional as the frequency of our usage is lower.

So getting a suitable (price and features) tripod for us is more appropriate than getting a high end one.
Everdying
post Apr 30 2011, 03:45 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

finally found a decent table top tripod.
fotopro m-5 mini...its a copy of the slightly more expensive velbon ultra max mini...

kakulukia
post Apr 30 2011, 04:32 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 30 2011, 12:18 PM)
with RM750, can get a lightweight benro tripod at 1.5kg with ballhead?  For ppl like us, mid end tripod is good enough - we just buy the best within our budget.  There are more than thousand ringgit carbon fiber tripod out there but what's the point spending so much for 3 sticks of metal.  laugh.gif  and how you know the cheaper one is "simple weaving", hence lower quality?  and why you buy the benro not gitzo which is much pricier (hence better?) ?  hmm.gif  dun forget benro is also make in china.  So i dun see the cf tripod produced by benro is much difference with cf tripod produced by fotopro/jusino. 

I take care of my gear carefully so for me few hundred ringgit tripod is as good as a thousand ringgit CF - as long as it can mount my camera safely and steadily.  I believe the quality for mid range tripods are not that far away from top end tripods but the higher price tripods are definitely more durable.  For casual user like us, the durability of our RM700+ tripod may be as durable as the thousand ringgit tripod used by professional as the frequency of our usage is lower. 

So getting a suitable (price and features) tripod for us is more appropriate than getting a high end one.
Actually, i tend to agree with you. Benro is also china made and quality the same as fotopro. Just bcause its been around longer doesnt mean its better. Afterall benro stuff is pretty cheap also and not like the continental stuff which i have to admit are well built but always heavier. I guess everyone is entitled to buy what he or she feels will best suit their needs. Expensive tripods need not translate to better pics so spend wisely.

Added on April 30, 2011, 6:00 pm
QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 30 2011, 03:45 PM)
finally found a decent table top tripod.
fotopro m-5 mini...its a copy of the slightly more expensive velbon ultra max mini...

Do you mind telling us how much this item cost and where it was purchased?

This post has been edited by kakulukia: Apr 30 2011, 06:00 PM
Cynox
post Apr 30 2011, 08:35 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 30 2011, 04:32 PM)
Actually, i tend to agree with you. Benro is also china made and quality the same as fotopro. Just bcause its been around longer doesnt mean its better. Afterall benro stuff is pretty cheap  also and not like the continental stuff which i have to admit are  well built but always heavier. I guess everyone is entitled to buy what he or she feels will best suit their needs. Expensive tripods  need not translate to better pics so spend wisely.

exactly what my thoughts are.... thumbup.gif

for the fotopro M5mini - Spore is selling at S$98 (about RM240) at the shop i got my MGC-584N. I think Malaysia price should be slightly cheaper. I m also thinking to get one for travelling but the price is quite expensive.
Everdying
post Apr 30 2011, 09:18 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 30 2011, 04:32 PM)

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 30 2011, 08:35 PM)
exactly what my thoughts are....  thumbup.gif

for the fotopro M5mini - Spore is selling at S$98 (about RM240) at the shop i got my MGC-584N.  I think Malaysia price should be slightly cheaper.  I m also thinking to get one for travelling but the price is quite expensive.
i guess malaysia must have missed that notice, cos i got mine for rm250 from mitmivec.
kakulukia
post Apr 30 2011, 09:45 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 30 2011, 08:35 PM)
exactly what my thoughts are....  thumbup.gif

for the fotopro M5mini - Spore is selling at S$98 (about RM240) at the shop i got my MGC-584N.  I think Malaysia price should be slightly cheaper.  I m also thinking to get one for travelling but the price is quite expensive.
Hmmm, Rm240 sounds about what I thought it would cost. Surprised to see from the pic that it can take the weight of a dslr. I'll have to investigate this one and see if this can serve as a spare "on the go" kinda tripod for when you can prop it up on table/ledges. Must say it looks kinda dodgy as far as stability goes. Perhaps Everdying can give some feedback? hmm.gif
Everdying
post Apr 30 2011, 09:57 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 30 2011, 09:45 PM)
Hmmm, Rm240 sounds about what I thought it would cost. Surprised to see from the pic that it can take the weight of a dslr. I'll have to investigate this one and see if this can serve as a spare "on the go" kinda tripod for when you can prop it up on table/ledges. Must say it looks kinda dodgy as far as stability goes. Perhaps Everdying can give some feedback?  hmm.gif
umm its meant to take the weight of a DSLR.
the ballhead has a max load of 3kg...its a very simple design ballhead...obviously not as nice as a manfrotto...
and thats basically the only thing dissapointing about the tripod so far...the head to tripod attachment uses a smaller diameter screw...so i cant attach my manfrotto head on it sad.gif

but its actually made for usages such as shown in their ad.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Apr 30 2011, 10:09 PM
kakulukia
post Apr 30 2011, 10:43 PM

187 posts

Wow great info. This may be just what I need...small and mobile.
onijoseph
post May 1 2011, 02:52 AM

Photography Guru
835 posts

i just tested a few tripods today at penang.
the photopro m-5mini is nice for entry dslr and good support for videography. price for dslr and photo accessories always is cheaper here in penang, as i got quoted rm220 for it.
1 thing i didn't like about the mini is the leg design. although it is easy to twist and unlock all the joints in one shot, i must also twist it hard so that it can lock properly. and the warranty the shop give me is only 3 months.
swt.
then i go to another shop to check out the jusino 255. before this, i heard from many retailers saying the jusino is not good as it claimed.
but to my surprise, after some weight testing using my body weight, the ballhead still not move a bit. the whole design is rather normal, and the monopod is rather short for normal usage.

kakulukia
post May 1 2011, 08:10 AM

187 posts

Thought so. I guess from the name itself, the Fotopro mini shouldnbe judged by its purpose and that is for a quick and light tripod that can be used for short term stability. I don't think it was designed to replace the conventional tripods. I also had a try at the Jusino's and I agree they are very good value for money, although the Otopro 5Ci felt a bit more sturdier and also a bit more expensive. Nice to have so many choices with tripods that we can pick and choose to suit out budget and needs.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:06 AM