Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V10, FREE Installation Fee & SAVE RM200!!!

iipohbee
post Apr 14 2011, 06:40 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 13 2011, 07:39 PM)
wow 3 times in a month? dlink? i got mine replaced once. y not u request for better model instead ?
Suggest Zyxel VDSL2 modems.

They have been supplying VDSL2 modems for the whole of CHT's Taiwan NGBN for the past 4 years.
This is referring to VDSL2 DSLAM/switches, bridging equipments so don't get mixed up with wireless routers.

Added on April 14, 2011, 6:56 pm
QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Apr 13 2011, 08:05 PM)
VDSL Standard is open not like GPON which are propriety. Maybe you can try if u have any
GPON technology hass somewhat stalled with an uncertain future.
It does not have a good future direction to upgrade to 2nd generation 10gbps NG-PON as they have yet to settle with any standardization yet for it.

The experts at Google(they're Americans) are also discussing this and whether to choose to implement GPON as they found it more difficult to implement an open network with its complicated switching.They're looking more towards 2nd generation PON technologies and might consider going 10GE-PON.

The Japanese, Koreans, Chinese, Taiwanese have chosen to go the easier and simpler route of sticking purely with ethernet with GE-PON.
They already have 10GEPON now which is already a published standard - IEEE 802.3av

Malaysia, Singapore, India, Australia have all been sold to American's smart marketing of adopting GPON.
Now TM is stucked with GPON while having to pay more for it.

On average, GPON equipments cost more, requires higher transmit power and is more more difficult to maintain.

Added on April 14, 2011, 7:01 pm
QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Apr 14 2011, 09:52 AM)
eventhough standard are openly, u never heard that Huawei ONU equipment being used with ALU OLT right, yes in the future they might be compatible each other.

but for now, they can't be used together,
TM has banned ALU from tendering for future projects recently after the corruption scandal case.

As we know, they were the ones who supplied the GPON equipment in Putrajaya and Cyberjaya. Another white elephant project which flushed money right down the drain.

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...icle/index_html

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Apr 14 2011, 07:01 PM
iipohbee
post Apr 16 2011, 05:43 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(lumixman @ Apr 16 2011, 05:27 PM)
1. Very irritating even from channel to channel oso NO volume normalization! They shud do sumthing abt this!

2. No idea....!
1. Business men tactics for advertising and cronies get away all the time.
Louder volume to get your attention.

2. If the old telephone is important to you, do not cancel your service and retain it.
Unifi's VoIP service is inferior to POTs. It gets cut off in the event of blackout, does not allow conventional fax, dial out and retaining of your old number.
If the telephone is important to you where you need to make emergency or receive urgent calls, PAY for your basic telephone service.
iipohbee
post Apr 18 2011, 06:31 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(owc @ Apr 18 2011, 10:12 AM)
The TM installer also Malay youngster, is about age 18 to 20.
All just graduate SPM, some more, they are not very expert on wiring.
They are simply do, messy work, look urgry, need to rewiring on my own.
They need to call their head on how to do, how to connect.
Some more funny question they ask their head is:
"They had done everything they could, why still cannot connect"
They ask to their Head in the phone.
Then their head must teach them on phone, it cost extra 4 hour to install.
4 person come install....2 do the work, another 2 learn, but the person who teach also need to ask their head on phone.
Hence, I had to order nasi lemak, kuih & 100 plus to treat them for their hard work effort.
Normally took 1 hour on condominium, due to existing  copper cable.
Finally, they have done Install my unifi. It's took 5 hour on Installing unifi on existing copper wired condominium.
Lastly, they ask for their salary for RM240.00, they say they had work long time at my house.
Come 4 people, so 1 person need paid RM60.00 x 4 Person = RM240.00
I be nice, I just paid them... They say they are just flesh school leaver. Just Worked.
So, Malaysia new generation youngster had very brightness future on their job.
You should have save the money to buy high quality phone wiring and extend the wiring yourself. Only leave the wiring to the termination box untouched for TM to hook it up.

QUOTE(owc @ Apr 18 2011, 10:12 AM)
So, One Malaysia, earn One Money, One Bangsa Only, One Untung Only, One Professional......
Of course la. This is to help the 1 race to make a living so that they won't end up jobless and commit crimes.

The whole HSBB project and Unifi was meant to provide job openings and opportunities to certain people for the country.
From the main contractor to the subcontrators and site installs.

iipohbee
post Apr 25 2011, 11:06 PM

603 posts

VDSL2 Vs FTTH By ITU-T

iipohbee
post Apr 25 2011, 11:36 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(ppfoong @ Apr 25 2011, 11:31 PM)
If you off the STB, IPTV will be off.
If you off the Dlink router, internet and IPTV will be off.
If you off the Huawei BTU, internet, IPTV and phone will be off.
If power cut?
iipohbee
post May 18 2011, 11:46 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ May 18 2011, 11:41 PM)
Bloody hell.. I am in charge of networking at this place and around 10 users (out of 20) managed to cripple a VIP20 line with their goddamn PPS. And all of them are girls.

When they start their PPS party the WDS router that I setup would also crash after a while, and needs to be rebooted.

Anyone had a similar experience?

I know how to block it, but before that I'm gonna try the 'educate them' method.
PPS the bandwidth eater..

FUH.. that day at McD saw a girl sat down and turn on her laptop.Straight away launch PPS to watch drama...

Looks like wimminz are also big consumers of bandwidth today.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: May 18 2011, 11:47 PM
iipohbee
post May 28 2011, 04:54 PM

603 posts

Most recently GPON news have came to a standstill. It's unknown what will be of Unifi's FTTH network fate will be in the next few years.

1st quarter report for telecom wired news mentioned that both DSL and PON technologies saw a market decline.

While passive optical networks sales are still going strong as reported by both Huawei and ZTE, they are fueled by demands mostly in China's domestic market as infrastructures are still new over there. In China, the telcos are government owned and they keep their national interest by buying their own products to keep their local companies alive.

Even so, all the far east asian countries China, Japan and South Korea favors EPON(GEPON) over GPON which TM uses. The decision is due to its cost effectiveness and less complicated ethernet transport.

Here's the summary of the report:

1.The DSL, PON, and Ethernet FTTH equipment market reversed its small fourth quarter gain with a 2% decline in 1Q11, dipping to $1.96 billion worldwide.

2.The overall market's decline was led by a double-digit sequential drop in DSL infrastructure spending in all regions.

3.Despite the sequential declines, the DSL equipment market is up 36% year-over-year (1Q11 vs. 1Q10)

The worldwide PON market jumped 20% in 1Q11 over 4Q10, surpassing the $1.0 billion threshold for the first time ever.

4.Driven by the Chinese operators and sustained growth in Japan and Korea, worldwide EPON spending was up a whopping 46% in 1Q11 over 4Q10.

5.The North American GPON market should regain its momentum over the next few quarters, as Verizon re-initiates its FiOS buildout and Broadband Stimulus deployments continue. GPON tech dying?

Huawei and ZTE benefited the most from the Chinese operators' spending spree on EPON and GPON equipment this quarter, despite being equally hammered by the decline in spending on DSL equipment.
http://www.eeherald.com/section/news/nws201105257.html
iipohbee
post Jun 8 2011, 05:44 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jun 7 2011, 08:32 PM)
Yes... I think my area are capable for Unifi via VDSL....
As you see in UK, their ISP (British Telecom) recently launched a new next generation broadband called BT INFINITY...
They just lay a fiber from the exchange into the nearest "green" cabinet at the residential areas... That technology are called as FTTC (Fiber to the Curb) and it is delivered via VDSL.
Same case goes to Unifi, but VDSL technology will are just used in the high rise building where the fiber will be terminated at the small exchange in the basement of the building.
For the BT Infinity VDSL, BT said that there are no speed cap... Your speed will be totally depends on the quality of your copper cable from the "green" cabinet into your house. Maximum speed that can be achieved is about 40Mb/s for download but slightly lower upload speed which is about 16-19Mb/s...

I think it's really possible for TM to implement Unifi for the not-so-called "high economic impact" areas via VDSL technology....

Just my 2 cents....  notworthy.gif
VDSL2 could operate in 3 different modes.

The first being fiber to the building's basement(FTTB). This allows upto 100mbps in replacement of ethernet cables but uses a full wide 30MHz spectrum.
When VDSL2 is deployed with this method, usually POTs are disabled meaning it becomes a full digital data line.Requires very short distances.

Then like you said fiber to the cabinet(FTTC) which they install in every few row of houses along the road. This allows upto 50mbps/10mbps in theoretical but BT chose to offer 40mbps/10mbps upload with it. This uses the 17a/b profile which is similarly associated with ADSL's Annex A/B modulation.

The 3rd option would be VDSL2 from exchange. Premises within 1.5-2km will only benefit from this as they'll be able to access higher speed packages upto 20mbps if they live just around 1km away. This method is rarely used because the benefits are substantial.

In summary VDSL2 have 3 options:

1)FTTB - Taiwan, Japan, HK, Finland, Sweden
2)FTTC - UK, Germany, USA, Australia, NZ, Europe, Thailand, Canada
3)Exchange based.

0.0205sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:29 PM