Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc OFFICIAL THREAD V1, Most stunning and beautiful Android

Davird
post Apr 13 2011, 04:56 AM

159 posts

Bro derrick. sent you pm as well.
i need 3 of the soft black. is it too late for order?
Davird
post Apr 13 2011, 04:08 PM

159 posts

matte protector out for the phone yet? my finger is starting to get painful from all the scrolling.

can't seem to be able to put the phone down now.
Davird
post Apr 13 2011, 06:17 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Apr 13 2011, 05:16 PM)
benny... how ar? is there anyway can root the arc or not? i want to buy the spb very much... something good like this.. i want to buy original.. smile.gif
Absolute system root tool v1.6.5 works on rooting the arc.

Trying out SPB for 2 days now. so far it's a bit lagged. Overall, it's great!

p.s - i used Droidwall to block Market

Added on April 13, 2011, 6:24 pmAnyone knows why some contacts has pictures and some don't?

This post has been edited by Davird: Apr 13 2011, 06:40 PM
Davird
post Apr 14 2011, 02:02 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Apr 13 2011, 07:18 PM)
how u can use absolute system root tool as it needs ur phone to b root first?
oops. forgot to mention.
I used the root for x10. superoneclick.
Davird
post Apr 19 2011, 12:47 AM

159 posts

just wanna know why u guys wanna get 32gb memory for?
unless u like to take movies and pics a lot then ok la. otherwise i think 16gb is more than enuff for arc.

Android needs internal memory to run. arc only has 320mb. Not all apps are movable to HD, and even if the apps/games are movable, a portion of it is still left on internal memory.

I've installed lots of stuff on mine. HD games, apps, etc etc. now left with only 40mb internal memory. i will soon run out of internal memory if i installed another 4 HD game.

I'm using a 16gb memory card by the way and still have 9gb to go.

Added on April 19, 2011, 12:48 am
QUOTE(jackdante22 @ Apr 19 2011, 12:46 AM)
Just got my Xperia Arc Midnight Blue Thorus Set today. I've everything that worth RM 429 except MicroSD. Is it right?
u should have a 8gb microsd. if you don't, go slap the dude at the shop for removing it.

This post has been edited by Davird: Apr 19 2011, 01:04 AM
Davird
post Apr 19 2011, 01:01 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(jackdante22 @ Apr 19 2011, 12:49 AM)
Thx bro. Will ask them tomoro.
your welcome
better check your device first before going over. The microsd card is already placed in the phone.
Just check the memory slot if there is a card sitting there. It's next to your sim card slot.
If really dun have, then go over to the shop and ask for it.

8gb microsd memory cost around rm50

This post has been edited by Davird: Apr 19 2011, 01:02 AM
Davird
post Apr 19 2011, 11:45 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(stevenX @ Apr 19 2011, 09:43 AM)
this is all my app in my device and i still have 150mb free internal disk space .. so i think is enaugh ..

Missing apps just to name a few.
Papago X5, Car Locator, app 2 sd, astro file manager. droidwall. winamp.

The HD games are the culprit in reducing internal memory space.

Davird
post Apr 19 2011, 12:15 PM

159 posts

Astro seems the better choice.
I like the outlook better.
Davird
post Apr 19 2011, 12:17 PM

159 posts

Found a dude on lowyat with super nice/cheapest price. PM me for his contact if you want to get sd card. Just sharing.

SanDisk 16GB (Class 4) + SD Adapter = RM90
SanDisk 16GB (Class 4) With packing = RM95
Kingmax 16GB With packing (Class 6) = RM110
DNA 16GB Micro SDHC + SD Adapter ( Class 10 )= RM95
Kingmax 16GB With packing (Class 10) = RM 139
Davird
post Apr 19 2011, 11:04 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(atih007 @ Apr 19 2011, 10:52 PM)
i also want know. just copy, or have to clone it?
im not suprise at all. LG always struggle to keep up with SE, HTC, NOKIA..

yeah, mine also smooth. but still on stock launcher..
Just copy it. make sure u copy everything from mem card to pc. then pc to new mem card.
Insert it on phone. all should work.

oh. dun forget to format new mem card first. very important.
Davird
post Apr 19 2011, 11:13 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(stevenX @ Apr 19 2011, 01:15 PM)
for es wifi transfer .. arent it need 3rd party app to create the ip ?

Added on April 19, 2011, 1:16 pm
how bout 32gb class 10 ?

Added on April 19, 2011, 1:19 pmany nice wifi transfer app intro ?
easy to copy out and copy in sd ..

am using mobilego recommend by atih007 ..
its good to copy thing outta sd ..
but i found no way to copy thing into sd. ..
The price i think can nego somemore. I don't know, must check with seller.

SanDisk 32GB (Class 2) = RM250
Kingmax 32GB With packing (Class 4) = RM 270
DNA 32GB Micro SDHC + SD Adapter ( Class 10 )= RM250

For memory transfer, i just used my pc to copy mem card then copy back to new mem card.
Used Sdformater to format new mem card first.
Davird
post Apr 19 2011, 11:25 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(atih007 @ Apr 19 2011, 11:16 PM)
DNA 32GB Micro SDHC + SD Adapter ( Class 10 )= RM250

purdy fair. lets bulk to get discount. which seller davird?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1657983&hl=

It's off the shelf price on the thread. pm him to get a better price. The best part of this seller is: it's ori, with receipt, with warranty and free poslaju.
for my second ARC, I just bought another 16gb from him 1 day back and received it today. Damn fast.
Davird
post Apr 20 2011, 01:02 AM

159 posts

Anybody knows how to turn off the alarm when it rings without going in to the menu settings?

Added on April 20, 2011, 1:19 amJust to share bout battery life.

I tried this on 3 of my ARC and seems to work.
Turn off media server.
Settings>Applications>Running services>
go to the "ALL" tab
Select "Media Server" from the list
Click on "Force Stop"

It seems like my ARC's have better battery life now.

This post has been edited by Davird: Apr 20 2011, 08:16 AM
Davird
post Apr 20 2011, 07:36 AM

159 posts

I'm buying it already

edit: i mean ordering it from him today. hopefully can cod.

This post has been edited by Davird: Apr 20 2011, 07:38 AM
Davird
post Apr 20 2011, 08:15 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(eone @ Apr 20 2011, 07:56 AM)
I think you cant just stop the process from there, it will automatically run again
yeah, u need to do a force stop.
Settings>Applications>Running services>
go to the "ALL" tab
Select "Media Server" from the list
Click on "Force Stop"

edited previous post.

This post has been edited by Davird: Apr 20 2011, 08:17 AM
Davird
post Apr 20 2011, 09:43 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(stevenX @ Apr 20 2011, 08:58 AM)
i saw some other system app running .. can stop or not ?

Added on April 20, 2011, 8:59 am
matte sp is the anti finger print type ?
Dun simply stop ler. some apps are needed by the phone to work properly.
Just stop the ones that have little use. Just Google the app to see the function of it before you stop it.
You only need to stop the "running process". The rest in the "all" folder are not running, so no need to stop.
For me, i only stop two. media server and setup guide.

Matte SP is the anti finger print type.
It will reduce screen quality by 3% the most. Not to worry, since our ARC is Bravia engine, still better than Iphone display. rclxm9.gif
A small price to pay compared to the messy oily surface and finger getting jam on the screen while scrolling. rofl. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Davird: Apr 20 2011, 09:48 AM
Davird
post Apr 20 2011, 10:57 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(stevenX @ Apr 20 2011, 10:28 AM)
i feel some different about the brightness ..

if i didnt touch my phone but just put on the table to slide and touch .. it brightness seem abit dark ..
if i hold on the phone and unlock to touch ... its more bright ...

anyone feel this before ?
Auto Brightness. There is a sensor somewhere on the arc that adjust the light at different angles and such.
See the comparison below.
Arc vs Iphone vs Galaxy
Davird
post Apr 20 2011, 11:01 AM

159 posts

For me, loosing a bit of quality by using matte is worth it.
simply because i do not want to see my friends "ear oil" chop on my screen when he borrows my phone to make a call. yucks!

another plus about matte is that your fingers dun get stuck to the screen while using it.
Just my point of view.
Davird
post Apr 20 2011, 11:11 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Apr 20 2011, 10:40 AM)
Ladies and Gentlemen...

Scheduled Delivery:
    Thursday, 21/04/2011, By End of Day

Last Location:
    Arrived - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Wednesday, 20/04/2011

This is the status by UPS... Waiting for them to deliver to me now.. smile.gif

Back to the Matte SP.. personally... those not so exp matte SP will reduce the clarity of the screen and in a same time it will give u those blurish effect which i think will spoil the clarity and the colorful screen.
Dun forget to fast fast poslaju le. I wanna take my phone and casing to langkawi this weekend.
Show off my sexy ARC to white chicks! thumbup.gif
Davird
post Apr 21 2011, 08:32 AM

159 posts

for image lag,
Since I changed mem card. no problems. The one that comes with the phone is class 2. I changed mine to class 4 16gb and no issues so far for video lag.

For changing sd cards.
I've done it (copy to pc then pc to new mem card) for 3 of my arcs, no issues. Just remember to format the new card before anything else.

For Gps Software.
Forget about google and get Papago X5 for android. It's much much much better. Free one is available but I can't discuss it here due to forum rules.

For pre-applied SP.
I'm gonna give SE a call today to find out the main purpose of the SP. Then only will decide if I wanna remove it or keep it.

For home button menu light.
The lights are always there. you just can't see it during the day, but when it's dark, you see the nice looking white lights at the side of the buttons.

This post has been edited by Davird: Apr 21 2011, 08:38 AM

0.0518sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:34 PM