8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V2 °°, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome !

infinitium
post Apr 8 2011, 03:24 PM

312 posts

yeah we should close V1, folks. else hard to track w/two forum links open...

Added on April 8, 2011, 3:25 pmBTW, in Penang... white seems to be the "hot" color. followed by black. i yet to see blue/silver on our PG roads...

This post has been edited by infinitium: Apr 8 2011, 03:25 PM
infinitium
post Apr 9 2011, 06:10 PM

312 posts

anyone fitted daytime running LED lights (white) to their Insight? I saw one being fitted to a Merc today.

No need drill holes... the LED lights strip just need to 'clamp' on the bottom front grille area.... quite nice... (pity i didn't take a photo show u guys).

Got such thing as a LED lamp clamp?
infinitium
post Apr 10 2011, 10:17 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(limbryan @ Apr 10 2011, 12:21 AM)
Nice, look like this insight comes with panoramic roof!!!  thumbup.gif
agree. NICE dude! how did u do it?

Added on April 10, 2011, 10:25 amconfirmation that the Insight orders are all stopped from Japan as of today:

After Mazda announced last week that it would halt orders on U.S. deliveries of all Japan-made cars, Honda has now decided to follow a similar action. Informing dealers that they can no longer order Japan-build cars, retailers will be forced to move only what is on their lot until the Japanese supply chain can be mended.

Vehicles affected by the order include hybrid models like the CR-Z, Insight and Civic Hybrid, as well as some CR-V models (many of which are also build in North America). The Acura luxury division has also been affected, with the TSX and RL also made in Japan.

With current dealer inventories, this shouldn’t pose a product shortage unless the delay is lengthy.

Other Japanese automakers, including Mitsubishi, Nissan and Toyota, have yet to announce any such supply chain issues.

http://www.autoguide.com/auto-news/2011/03...built-cars.html

This post has been edited by infinitium: Apr 10 2011, 10:25 AM
infinitium
post Apr 12 2011, 07:53 AM

312 posts

my car booked in mid-march is arriving in 1-2 days... then will start thinking of making the mods... headlights/AV/DRLs... haha smile.gif
infinitium
post Apr 12 2011, 03:54 PM

312 posts

An update to all folks looking to book Insight now: i spoke to my SA few hrs ago, and yes, the reports are right - Honda Japan has stopped production.

Most Honda MYS are no longer taking orders BUT there are some smaller outlets in the small towns (like where I got mine from - Kulim, Kedah).. that have some "extra unassigned" Insights up for grabs.

Apparently, my SA says that he can still take a few orders, with delivery in July. After Apr 22, he too will fill his quota and have to stop taking orders completely.

So, fingers crossed for my car delivered next 2 days! smile.gif
infinitium
post Apr 12 2011, 06:40 PM

312 posts

yeah man... kena hostile takeover by bodykit fans! tongue.gif
infinitium
post Apr 13 2011, 11:45 PM

312 posts

anyone used PPS Shine N Shield on their Insight already? is it worth the $$ spent?

http://www.shinenshield.com/
infinitium
post Apr 14 2011, 08:39 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(Tmnet @ Apr 13 2011, 11:24 PM)
Planning to get an insight soon... can anyone recommend me SA who can give good offer?
If you are in Penang/Kedah, i can give you my SA contact. Ordered white in March, got the car 4 weeks later.
infinitium
post Apr 14 2011, 02:32 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(eltaria @ Apr 14 2011, 01:50 PM)
Any news on your cars for those for booked??... I booked early march, still no news.
May even have to wait until June July... this is so frustrating, no point in cancelling it now, just have to wait...

Should've bought it from those ulu ulu places where the SA is allocated cars, but with minimum buyers..
Instead, went with a reputable dealer, and ended up wait wait wait....
I booked in March, car arrives Apr 15. So waited for about 4 weeks only. quite good smile.gif

Then again, my dealer is in mainland penang. latest news now seems to be for folks booking now, wait until june to get. if you want to check w/my dealer (assuming you're in penang), then PM me for SA contact.
infinitium
post Apr 15 2011, 03:45 PM

312 posts

getting my white Insight nxt Mon. immediately going to make the flwg changes:

1. Replace stock projector H11 bulbs w/HIDs (4300k).
2. For the high beams, replace w/Philips XXXPower (20% longer beam)
3. Get my mechanic to install a beeper, so when I lock, got BEEP-BEEP sound (easier to tell if you locked your car)
4. Get my mechanic rewire the side mirrors... so that when I stop engine, the mirros auto fold-in, and auto-fold out when I start engine.
5. Put in PPS (Sierra Glow not very popular in PG).
6. Replace stock tweeters & 2-ways with my own speakers. Add in 4-channel amp, but keep the HU.

Itu saja. For now. hehe. any comments? (yes I know some of these stuff will void certain warranty parts).
infinitium
post Apr 17 2011, 11:42 PM

312 posts

I'm going to put PPS on my car... white Insight. getting tmrw biggrin.gif

RM880 for the PPS. one-time deal, 5 yr guarantee.
infinitium
post Apr 18 2011, 10:55 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 18 2011, 12:25 AM)
what is pps?

wah, congrates, mine is 2 days later than urs. also looking forward to it. tongue.gif
it's a paint protection coating (teflon layer)... to protect new paint. http://www.shinenshield.com/
infinitium
post Apr 18 2011, 03:12 PM

312 posts

has anyone installed a door visor (piece of plastic above the door to stop rain)... on their Insight?

my SA told me that the OEM door visor from Honda not out yet.
infinitium
post Apr 18 2011, 08:29 PM

312 posts

Just got keys to my Insight today... now playing w/the menu and customizations smile.gif

Qs to other INS owners - can we change the auto door lock setting so that it auto locks when the car starts/when it drives above XX km/h?

I checked the manual - this "auto door lock" function only seems available w/the "south africa" Insight model. The instructions to enable auto door lock doesn't work for me...

anyone know?
infinitium
post Apr 18 2011, 08:38 PM

312 posts

mine is white... got it tinted (LLumar T4-50... charcoal black, 90% IR rejection) already. this wkend gonna get it PPS-ed smile.gif

so far so good. lots of stuff to modify... (i will get my mechanic to enable the door auto-lock for me - he's a master technician @ rewiring stuff), will do that after 1st service smile.gif
infinitium
post Apr 18 2011, 10:24 PM

312 posts

i guess if they find out mah void lor... if u ask a good accessory shop to config for you w/out messing up the wires, shd be less obvious quah...

Added on April 18, 2011, 10:26 pmBTW, i had a good chat w/my SA today over lunch, while waiting for my tinting to finish. i asked him point blank how much commission he gets per Insight.

Apparently, Honda SAs will get RM1k or so, for every Insight sold. Same comm level as selling City. But my SA said after deduct the freebies they give you... stuff like free mats, free tinting etc, then their comm is less.

Their basic pay is RM400/mth only. So sometimes I understand why they push us so hard to make their sale. It's their ricebowl smile.gif

This post has been edited by infinitium: Apr 18 2011, 10:26 PM
infinitium
post Apr 19 2011, 08:05 AM

312 posts

where do you get nitrogen gas to fill tyres? am sure most 'normal' shops won't have it...

Added on April 19, 2011, 8:07 am
QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 19 2011, 06:25 AM)
So do u manage to get any discount from ur SA?

the rm1k commission is not included the commission they get from the loan u apply also rite? Heard they will earn minimum rm600 for the loan also
didn't really get a cash discount off the car. but yeah, it doesn't include the comm they get from elsewhere (like the tinting shop if they recommend you to put, and the bank if you take from his recc bank).

also, if you decide to go outside accessories shop per his recommendation to add on more stuff to your car, then i'm sure he will get a small comm also from them.

This post has been edited by infinitium: Apr 19 2011, 08:07 AM
infinitium
post Apr 19 2011, 09:09 AM

312 posts

LED daytime running lamp. will be made standard across all European cars in Europe from 2012 onwards (safety feature).

This range from Philips we can order/ship here for around RM450.

http://www.philips.co.uk/c/daylight/183195...areView%3Dfalse
infinitium
post Apr 19 2011, 09:26 PM

312 posts

now in Penang i see a few insights... starting to get more... mostly with PKA/PKB number plate... mostly white n black ...
infinitium
post Apr 19 2011, 11:33 PM

312 posts

the low beam headlights seem to be still quite low, even though @ highest auto-adjust setting lever.

anyone know how to manually adjust the headlamps to be higher? (in other cars, i know you have to bring a screwdriver and manually adjust the screw directly behind the lamp housing - don't see a screw option for the INS... )

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0383sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:14 PM