°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V2 °°, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome !
iphone
May 16 2011, 01:26 AM

QUOTE(is2rck @ May 15 2011, 11:22 PM) My front tyre tear on the front left with just 2 weeks of driving. Sent to sc for check and end up saying I hit something which I do not think so. No stock on the original tyre and have to go out around to find which I end up upsizing all my tyres to 205/50/r16. OMG..because of 1 have to upgrade all 4 pcs. How much those 205/50/16 cost?
is2rck
May 16 2011, 08:10 AM
QUOTE(iphone @ May 16 2011, 01:26 AM) OMG..because of 1 have to upgrade all 4 pcs. How much those 205/50/16 cost? Total damage was RM1800 Brand: Michelin Primacy LC. The feeling for this tyre is total comfort and quiet though. Felt much much better than my stocked. Besides they say I hit something on the road, the other reason they said was someone cutted my tyre. And they don't even keep stock on the tyres and need to book. I can't drive the temp. tyre on the raod, it's just too ugly and dangerous if another Dunlop tyre crack the hell out of me.
infinitium
May 16 2011, 08:12 AM
QUOTE(is2rck @ May 16 2011, 08:10 AM) Total damage was RM1800 Brand: Michelin Primacy LC. The feeling for this tyre is total comfort and quiet though. Felt much much better than my stocked. Besides they say I hit something on the road, the other reason they said was someone cutted my tyre. And they don't even keep stock on the tyres and need to book. I can't drive the temp. tyre on the raod, it's just too ugly and dangerous if another Dunlop tyre crack the hell out of me. Michelins are great for grip/low noise, but I feel they're super soft, and wear out fast. anyway, sorry to hear you had to change yr tyres dude.
kapultek
May 16 2011, 08:23 AM
Do update the fc with your new michelin tyres....at my place the michelin around rm400++
is2rck
May 16 2011, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(kapultek @ May 16 2011, 08:23 AM) Do update the fc with your new michelin tyres....at my place the michelin around rm400++ Will try after reset to full tank. The tyres are cheaper down central Msia. I would give thumbs up to my new sets of tyres because it took off all the rattling sound from the car. Breaking are still the same feeling, hope it does not have any effect on my ABS because of the overall dia. increased by roughly 0.1~0.2mm. The speedometer may be slightly 0.44% slower which means if I run at 100km/h, the correct speed would be somewhere 102km/h. Previously my tyres vibrate so badly that my rear view mirror are making me headache because I can't focus to see the cars behind of its rattling. Now no more issue with it.
infinitium
May 16 2011, 10:13 AM
already 100 pages for this topic... time to shut this thread down, and move to V3?
psyeo
May 16 2011, 10:37 AM
normally a new thread will be created once this thread reaches 2500 post. now only 1987
infinitium
May 16 2011, 10:48 AM
BTW, for all you guys from Penang... got a bad impression of Honda SC @ Sungai Pinang. I went for 1st service on May 7, discovered my headlamp housing got problem, and SC said they'll check w/Honda Malaysia for a FOC headlamp swap/replacement.
Fast forward to today, no update from them, I called up SC to ask WTF is going on, discovered they haven't even opened a complaint ticket to follow-up for me.
Really pissed off now. Their customer service wasn't that good in the first place (when I went for 1st service). Then discovered they never even lodge a proper complaint report w/Honda MYS.
The SC quickly apologized and said he'll followup w/the technician who serviced my car. Gonna give the fella another chance - if he screw up again, am never going back to this SC, and will try another SC in PG.
If you guys ever got other experiences w/Honda SC @ Sg Pinang/Jelutong, pls share.... curious to know what your service was like... or if it's just me unlucky bugger kena like this...
This post has been edited by infinitium: May 16 2011, 11:17 AM
watonk
May 16 2011, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(is2rck @ May 16 2011, 08:10 AM) Total damage was RM1800 Brand: Michelin Primacy LC. The feeling for this tyre is total comfort and quiet though. Felt much much better than my stocked. Besides they say I hit something on the road, the other reason they said was someone cutted my tyre. And they don't even keep stock on the tyres and need to book. I can't drive the temp. tyre on the raod, it's just too ugly and dangerous if another Dunlop tyre crack the hell out of me. Besides improvement in damping, i think the new wider tyres should also improve your straight line stability and gives better grip at the expense of FC and pick-up (slightly). At least thats the theory. I'm keen to swap my tyres with Brigdestone Turanza ER30 195/55/16. Good tyres but worn faster.
KALAI WHITE INSIGHT JB
May 16 2011, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(iphone @ May 13 2011, 04:54 PM) Bro, same exact feeling here. It just feels so satisfied each time seeing 'Made in Japan' on the Insight components while cleaning her. Even the bottom tiny red reflector on the rear bumper are made in Japan by Koito. BUT sadly not all..this morning I saw this... [attachmentid=2211953]  Where is that bro ?
devinz
May 16 2011, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(is2rck @ May 16 2011, 08:33 AM) Will try after reset to full tank. The tyres are cheaper down central Msia. I would give thumbs up to my new sets of tyres because it took off all the rattling sound from the car. Breaking are still the same feeling, hope it does not have any effect on my ABS because of the overall dia. increased by roughly 0.1~0.2mm. The speedometer may be slightly 0.44% slower which means if I run at 100km/h, the correct speed would be somewhere 102km/h. Previously my tyres vibrate so badly that my rear view mirror are making me headache because I can't focus to see the cars behind of its rattling. Now no more issue with it. So you guys face the vibrating rear view mirror as well?
cabalerro
May 16 2011, 01:08 PM
as far as i know...no...mine is ok i guess..no vibration..
infinitium
May 16 2011, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(devinz @ May 16 2011, 01:00 PM) So you guys face the vibrating rear view mirror as well? my rear mirror only vibrate when I play Ah Beng trance music on my new ICE... hihihi....
TSSteadyPana
May 16 2011, 01:38 PM
n00b123
May 16 2011, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(iphone @ May 16 2011, 01:32 PM) My previous car using Michelin Primacy LC, fantastic grip and comfort. Worth every penny. Now this Insight came with Bridgestone Turanza, I gotta agree with you guys, kinda stiff and causes rattling/vibration occasionally, am running them at 210/200 psi front/rear. Also rear view mirror sometime shaky, headache. Glad to hear this can be solve by changing to Michelin or other softer tires.  In the honda insight manual book, the recommended the front/rear tire pressure is 230kPa.. shall we follow this standard? coz personally I think its too high
is2rck
May 16 2011, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(n00b123 @ May 16 2011, 01:39 PM) In the honda insight manual book, the recommended the front/rear tire pressure is 230kPa.. shall we follow this standard? coz personally I think its too high The thing I suspect that cause my tyre to crack could be the tyre pressure which is too HIGH.
watonk
May 16 2011, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(n00b123 @ May 16 2011, 01:39 PM) In the honda insight manual book, the recommended the front/rear tire pressure is 230kPa.. shall we follow this standard? coz personally I think its too high I think front 33psi and rear 32psi as recommended is ok. Even with 33psi, the front tyre looks quite flat with tyre walls bulging like its underinflate.
mazda6mps
May 16 2011, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(psyeo @ May 16 2011, 10:37 AM) normally a new thread will be created once this thread reaches 2500 post. now only 1987  wow....so many threads.....wonder if toyota prius have so many write-ups by forumners...?
infinitium
May 16 2011, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(SteadyPana @ May 16 2011, 01:38 PM) oh yeah!! ASOT rocks man. Love ATB (i actually used ASOT 2011 CD to test my new ICE @ accessories shop - the uncle was wondering WTF i was playing haha)