Which gadget to buy? iPad or iPhone? , Discussion Thread

TSAntwanBolieu
post Apr 8 2011, 10:06 AM, updated 15y ago

What is the difference between an iPad and an iPhone/iPod touch?
To me, the iPad seems just like a giant iPod touch. How are they different? Does the iPad have different capabilities? I already have an iPod touch, so would it be a waste to get an iPad?
joshting
post Apr 8 2011, 11:04 AM

126 posts

To some extend, iPad does look like and functions like a giant iPod touch. And there is a market for giant iPod touch, with more real estate, long battery life, add 3G and hence there is iPad, which becomes a new category of devices.

Having said that, iPod touch is primarily a mp3 player and secondarily other stuff (surf the web/play games etc). However, when it comes to web experience, I believe you should know that sometimes its a bit of a pain with that small screen. Plus so many things you can do on iPod touch, it just does better on a bigger screen (minus the pocketability).

So if you have an iPod touch as mp3 player primarily, then you don't need an iPad. But if you use a lot of Safari, emailing, social network apps, some amount of gaming and wish to upscale that experience (and have room for its size and weight), then by all means go for the iPad. In that case, iPad will totally replace your iPod touch. But if you want a bit of both worlds, no one will stop you from having both. Waste? It depends on how you use them.
Wifi_One
post Apr 8 2011, 11:31 AM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

Nicely explain jotting,,

But I do wanna add some differences bgwm these 2 devices. I have been an iphone user for quite sometime,,, (turn off phone feature mer iPod lor lol) and recently acquired iPad...

Knowing what u want to achieve out of the devices are important factors when deciding whether to go iPad.. Here r my reasons..

Used to surf net on iPhone, it was convenient,,.. But it eats up juice when on wifi/3G. My 2 fingers now very efficient when zooming in out..lol.. Viewing PDFs and working office documents ( excel n word) is basically too difficult...

Jump to iPad, apart from music, the user experience is difference. Equip with the right apps such as docstogo or image editors and chats, u can achieve much more ( provided u need those apps to actually do work and not have for the sake of owning it..)

It cannot replace your desktop/notebook necks it cannot run windows based apps but it give you mobility and apps that can compliment your existing workflow ifnyour primary work involves loads of excel, word ,PowerPoint, simple image editors.

Nowadays I don't even touch much of my notebook unless I need to. I can do most office work via iPad ... And with great batt live compared to notebook without the charger...

To me, It's how u use iPad to yr benefit to save time, weight and power... Plus some class to lah.lol
WhatMan
post Apr 8 2011, 12:17 PM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(AntwanBolieu @ Apr 8 2011, 10:06 AM)
Uh..the size? brows.gif
SUSDarkConfidant
post May 23 2011, 04:27 AM

71 posts

Okay the situation is this, my current phone is 2 years old so I was either thinking about getting an iPhone 4 to replace it. ALTERNATIVELY, i could get an iPad 2 with the money instead. What do you think I should do?

I saw my friends iPad and I like that you can subscribe for magazines on the app store to read anywhere. But, is an iPhone able to do the same thing?

Oh, and one more thing 3g or no 3g?
zXJaMeSXz
post May 23 2011, 07:27 AM

670 posts

If you don't mind carrying two product at the same price...
Get iPad2... Because the iPhone's battery drains pretty quickly if you use a lot....
froggy982
post May 23 2011, 07:47 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(DarkConfidant @ May 23 2011, 05:27 AM)
Okay the situation is this, my current phone is 2 years old so I was either thinking about getting an iPhone 4 to replace it. ALTERNATIVELY, i could get an iPad 2 with the money instead. What do you think I should do?

I saw my friends iPad and I like that you can subscribe for magazines on the app store to read anywhere. But, is an iPhone able to do the same thing?

I have both iphone3Gs and ipad2. The main reason I bought ipad is becoz the screen is bigger and easy for reading stuff and light editing. You can also do that with iphone but it will strained your eyes in the long run..Of course you need iPhone first than ipad. U can live without an ipad but cant go around without an iphone.

My suggestion. If you cant get both iphone/ipad than get a decent hp and ipad2 with 3G. If you have iphone, u can tether and just buy ipad (wifi).

samlee860407
post May 23 2011, 07:51 AM

4,631 posts

the MAIN reason i love and want the ipad is to read my RSS, read/subscribe magazine, manga, surf the net

all because due to the BIG screen.

Besides, i can also use it for some work, bigger screen = easier to read excel/word file

IMO, i can sorta live now without my iphone (as in i am just using 3310) with my ipad2.

Although my iphone is still good when i find that the ipad2 is too big to bring around
jimmykhoo
post May 23 2011, 08:12 AM

81 posts

b4 ......i used to think of buying iphone but dont know how end up buying ipad2 n with no regret as after use ipad ,it as if u r having 40 inch tv instead of 20 inch....;P

This post has been edited by jimmykhoo: May 23 2011, 08:12 AM
SUSgogo2
post May 23 2011, 09:30 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

I last time think like that. buy iPad vs buy iPhone.

in the end, I just buy ipad 2 and iphone 4 because both are different thing.

Added on May 23, 2011, 9:33 am
QUOTE(DarkConfidant @ May 23 2011, 04:27 AM)

To me, RM400 is worth it for 3g.

3g version better because:

a) got sim card slot in case you want.
b) got GPS. can use offline map. No need to onine to use GPS. Big screen for GPS is a must for travelling.
c) location service for games and application can work better because got GPS.

Overall, less headache with 3G version.

This post has been edited by gogo2: May 23 2011, 09:33 AM
acbc
post May 23 2011, 11:34 AM

9,050 posts

Haha. I carry 4 items with me every day to work.

iPhone 3GS for backup line, Dell Venue for primary line, iPad 3G for reading mags & games and my trusty hp mini 311 netbook for everything else. Heavy as hell but at least I can do my work anywhere, anytime.
fluffy6640
post May 23 2011, 11:23 PM

647 posts

Like gogo2 said, get 3G model.don't be like me.regretful cos I got the wifi alone sad.gif
kaikon
post May 24 2011, 10:13 AM

60 posts

I too pondered quite a while on the merits of the extra RM400 for the 3G edition. Just cant get myself to pay the extra.

1. Yes it is more convenient but at the rate of RM38-68 per month subscription, annually is do add up to alot of money.
2. tethering to an already existing data on handphone seems more logical and cost effective to me at least.
3. When outside of the home or office, I dont think I would be spending more than 1 hour online, let alone 10hours.
4. I got a dedicated garmin 255w and nokia garmin mobile XT.

iPad for me at least, stands inbetween a notebook and smart phone. Good entertainment during long flights and stay in airports.

Or something to fiddle with while waiting for the kids to come out of classes in the car.

QUOTE(fluffy6640 @ May 23 2011, 11:23 PM)
Like gogo2 said, get 3G model.don't be like me.regretful cos I got the wifi alone sad.gif
SUSgogo2
post May 24 2011, 10:31 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(kaikon @ May 24 2011, 10:13 AM)
I too pondered quite a while on the merits of the extra RM400 for the 3G edition. Just cant get myself to pay the extra.

1. Yes it is more convenient but at the rate of RM38-68 per month subscription, annually is do add up to alot of money.
2. tethering to an already existing data on handphone seems more logical and cost effective to me at least.
3. When outside of the home or office, I dont think I would be spending more than 1 hour online, let alone 10hours.

iPad for me at least, stands inbetween a notebook and smart phone. Good entertainment during long flights and stay in airports.

Or something to fiddle with while waiting for the kids to come out of classes in the car.
You keep on harping only on 3G and forgot the GPS and location service.

Also, unlimited internet is RM28:
http://www.u.com.my/prepaid-packages/unlim...mobile-internet

Annually is not a lot of money.

kaikon
post May 24 2011, 10:36 AM

60 posts

Location service works for iPad wifi that is connected online.

I did not forget about GPS as I have said I got garmin on dedicated and on the phone.

not everyone is living in KL and enjoying u-mobile dude.

QUOTE(gogo2 @ May 24 2011, 10:31 AM)
You keep on harping only on 3G and forgot the GPS and location service.

Also, unlimited internet is RM28:
http://www.u.com.my/prepaid-packages/unlim...mobile-internet

Annually is not a lot of money.
Wifi_One
post May 24 2011, 11:43 AM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

U have the luxury of owning multiple devices. Not all of us have that privilege. With that said, u be probably better off with just iPad wifi.

For those who don't own so many decices, iPad 3G will be a good start. Tether is a good option, but mar fan.

U will drain iPhone when tether or using gps... Hence compromising your batt during work time assuming u are out all day and worry about batt life. Lol

iPad 3G is a good gps backup with big screen compared to iPhone assuming u don't have dedicated gps.

kaikon
post May 24 2011, 11:55 AM

60 posts

Yes that is why I opted for the wifi only, anyway there are reasons why apple puts the 3G as another model.

I would say if you feel your wallet can handle the extra cost, why not. I am but a poor man cry.gif

QUOTE(Wifi_One @ May 24 2011, 11:43 AM)
U have the luxury of owning multiple devices. Not all of us have that privilege. With that said, u be probably better off with just iPad wifi.

For those who don't own so many decices, iPad 3G will be a good start. Tether is a good option, but mar fan.

U will drain iPhone when tether or using gps... Hence compromising your batt  during work time assuming u are out all day and worry about batt life. Lol

iPad 3G is a good gps backup with big screen compared to iPhone assuming u don't have dedicated gps.
pierreye
post May 24 2011, 01:24 PM

1,308 posts

Location service on Ipad2 Wifi work through tethering to Iphone4. It will utilize Iphone 4 GPS data.
SUSgogo2
post May 24 2011, 01:30 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(kaikon @ May 24 2011, 10:36 AM)
Location service works for iPad wifi that is connected online.

I did not forget about GPS as I have said I got garmin on dedicated and on the phone.

not everyone is living in KL and enjoying u-mobile dude.
Wifi is not accurate. Real GPS is more accurate. Sometimes location service won't work if the wifi is not updated in the database.

Just get someone to buy uMobile from KL and use in your kampunglah adui. Umobile = Celcom la dude.

QUOTE(Wifi_One @ May 24 2011, 11:43 AM)

U will drain iPhone when tether or using gps... Hence compromising your batt  during work time assuming u are out all day and worry about batt life. Lol

big screen GPS, something that WiFi version people think they don't need. LOL

QUOTE(kaikon @ May 24 2011, 11:55 AM)
Yes that is why I opted for the wifi only, anyway there are reasons why apple puts the 3G as another model.

I would say if you feel your wallet can handle the extra cost, why not. I am but a poor man  cry.gif
You poor guy buy iPad 2? Poor guy should just stfu since you're misleading people.

QUOTE(pierreye @ May 24 2011, 01:24 PM)
Location service on Ipad2 Wifi work through tethering to Iphone4. It will utilize Iphone 4 GPS data.
But its still a hassle to hook up to iPhone 4 just to get location.

Let's say you have apps that needs your location. You need to find WiFi or need to tether to iPhone 4. So marfan.

You no money dun buy iPad. else, get iPad 2 3g.
yusvogue
post May 24 2011, 03:42 PM

64 posts

you can tethering iPad2 with 3gs? anyone?
kaikon
post May 24 2011, 03:59 PM

60 posts

Yes you can. Personal Hotspot bluetooth instead of wifi.

QUOTE(yusvogue @ May 24 2011, 03:42 PM)
you can tethering iPad2 with 3gs? anyone?
yusvogue
post May 24 2011, 04:28 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(kaikon @ May 24 2011, 03:59 PM)
personal hotspot bluetooth? hmm.gif
kaikon
post May 24 2011, 04:46 PM

60 posts

3gs's personal hotspot works on bluetooth and not wifi. Bluetooth your ipad over to 3gs if need be.

QUOTE(yusvogue @ May 24 2011, 04:28 PM)
personal hotspot bluetooth? hmm.gif
yusvogue
post May 24 2011, 05:22 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(kaikon @ May 24 2011, 04:46 PM)
3gs's personal hotspot works on bluetooth and not wifi. Bluetooth your ipad over to 3gs if need be.
wait up.. let me get this clear..
3gs can do hotspot using bluetooth? how? hmm.gif
kaikon
post May 24 2011, 05:28 PM

60 posts

Go to setting, there be an option called personal hotspot. enter that menu and slide it to "On"

If you dont see that menu in your setting, either you are not on 4.3 or have not subscribe to data plan.

QUOTE(yusvogue @ May 24 2011, 05:22 PM)
wait up.. let me get this clear..
3gs can do hotspot using bluetooth? how? hmm.gif
This post has been edited by kaikon: May 24 2011, 05:29 PM
aeiou228
post May 24 2011, 06:11 PM

5,871 posts

Aiyo, you guys off topic liao la... is Ipad vs Iphone not Wifi vs 3G.

Before buying idevices, I was torn between Iphone4, Ipad2 wifi and Ipad2 3G.

I ended up decided on Ipad2 wifi due to the following personal reasons
:
1) Iphone4 is too pricey RM2,xxx + mthly data plan.
2) Excellent for web surfing, reading books/newspaper, internet banking.
3) Ipad2 wifi save RM400 over 3G model and maybe save from paying monthly 3G data plan.
4) Tech gadgets depreciate in value/obsolete very fast when new models released. I'll buy the cheapest devise that serve my current needs to minimize depreciation loss in future resell.
5) If I buy 3G model means I need to pay a monthly data plan in order to enjoy the full 3G benefit or else what for pay extra RM400 right ?
6) To bring the no-so-portable Ipad 3G for on-the-go 3G "convenience" is not convenient. It is so marfan because I can not put in the pocket and need to keep an eye on it and carry it at all times when outing.
7) Already own an old N95 8GB that serve my garmin navigation and mobile internet needs. Or do occasional wifi tethering if I need to.
8) I don't want to cut my SIM card to micro sim size because I want to switch to Samsung Android phone.
9) Location service ? I never use it and really bother about it, I wonder how come my Ipad2 wifi can automatically pinpoint my house location on google map perfectly.
10) With the RM400 saving, I can top up another RM500++ to get a mid priced Android phones such as Samsung Ace or SE X10i AP and experience the best of both Android and iOS.
11) Oh yes, I recently turned my Ipad2 Wifi to a big size Iphone4 with YES Life. I can call and sms like Iphone4 liao.
12) I also off topic abit liao... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 24 2011, 06:22 PM
kaikon
post May 24 2011, 06:30 PM

60 posts

Haha off abit ok la. All your 12 points valid and close to mine except point 11. Everyone have thier reasons and it is put across.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 24 2011, 06:11 PM)

:
1) Iphone4 is too pricey RM2,xxx + mthly data plan.
2) Excellent for web surfing, reading books/newspaper, internet banking.
3) Ipad2 wifi save RM400 over 3G model and maybe save from paying monthly 3G data plan.
4) Tech gadgets depreciate in value/obsolete very fast when new models released. I'll buy the cheapest devise that serve my current needs to minimize depreciation loss in future resell.
5) If I buy 3G model means I need to pay a monthly data plan in order to enjoy the full 3G benefit or else what for pay extra RM400 right ?
6) To bring the no-so-portable Ipad 3G for on-the-go 3G "convenience" is not convenient. It is so marfan because I can not put in the pocket and need to keep an eye on it and carry it at all times when outing.   
7) Already own an old N95 8GB that serve my garmin navigation and mobile internet needs. Or do occasional wifi tethering if I need to. 
8) I don't want to cut my SIM card to micro sim size because I want to switch to Samsung Android phone.
9) Location service ? I never use it and really bother about it, I wonder how come my Ipad2 wifi can automatically pinpoint my house location on google map perfectly.           
10) With the RM400 saving, I can top up another RM500++ to get a mid priced Android phones such as Samsung Ace or SE X10i AP and experience the best of both Android and iOS.
11) Oh yes, I recently turned my Ipad2 Wifi to a big size Iphone4 with YES Life. I can call and sms like Iphone4 liao.
12) I also off topic abit liao... tongue.gif
yusvogue
post May 24 2011, 06:34 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(kaikon @ May 24 2011, 05:28 PM)
Go to setting, there be an option called personal hotspot. enter that menu and slide it to "On"

If you dont see that menu in your setting, either you are not on 4.3 or have not subscribe to data plan.
oo thanks so much for the info.. I have yet update my device to 4.3... will do immediately hehe..
thanks ya! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif such a big help!
samlee860407
post May 24 2011, 06:39 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(kaikon @ May 24 2011, 03:59 PM)
Huh I dint see the personal hotspur function at iPad 2 eh
andrekua
post May 24 2011, 06:47 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(AntwanBolieu @ Apr 8 2011, 10:06 AM)
To me, the iPad seems just like a giant iPod touch. How are they different? Does the iPad have different capabilities? I already have an iPod touch, so would it be a waste to get an iPad?
The names says it all. Besides, its not like you never try one. You tried and yet still ask? Pretty lame you know...
SUSgogo2
post May 24 2011, 06:49 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Good points. But some correction. iPhone 4 is rm1599 with plan.
And pinpoint on google map is using wifi database of Mac address.
A lot of points not relevant bcoz buying low end android phone is unusable. Lag.

Also, rm400 dun need to think so many excuse not to get it. With gps u can have offline map. U won't know how awesome it is.

:
1) Iphone4 is too pricey RM2,xxx + mthly data plan. RM 1599 only la brader
2) Excellent for web surfing, reading books/newspaper, internet banking. Same as 3g
3) Ipad2 wifi save RM400 over 3G model and maybe save from paying monthly 3G data plan. True
4) Tech gadgets depreciate in value/obsolete very fast when new models released. I'll buy the cheapest devise that serve my current needs to minimize depreciation loss in future resell. Normally resell, if a buyer want 3G, u can't sell at all
5) If I buy 3G model means I need to pay a monthly data plan in order to enjoy the full 3G benefit or else what for pay extra RM400 right ? Rm348. But u dun have to. But in case u need.
6) To bring the no-so-portable Ipad 3G for on-the-go 3G "convenience" is not convenient. It is so marfan because I can not put in the pocket and need to keep an eye on it and carry it at all times when outing.    then u should buy iPhone rite?
7) Already own an old N95 8GB that serve my garmin navigation and mobile internet needs. Or do occasional wifi tethering if I need to.  Map on iPad is worth rm400.
8) I don't want to cut my SIM card to micro sim size because I want to switch to Samsung Android phone. You can always stick back. U dunno meh?
9) Location service ? I never use it and really bother about it, I wonder how come my Ipad2 wifi can automatically pinpoint my house location on google map perfectly.            use wifi
10) With the RM400 saving, I can top up another RM500++ to get a mid priced Android phones such as Samsung Ace or SE X10i AP and experience the best of both Android and iOS. you mean experience the worst side of android? Since it'll lag like hell
11) Oh yes, I recently turned my Ipad2 Wifi to a big size Iphone4 with YES Life. I can call and sms like Iphone4 . Why u need to do that? I tot u got n95?
12) I also off topic abit liao... tongue.gif yes
This post has been edited by gogo2: May 24 2011, 07:48 PM
' or 1=1 --
post May 25 2011, 02:41 AM

ayam sadding
1,443 posts

Who uses the iPad for gps? Where do u mount it? Phone gps already more than enough. Just follow the arrow. Not that hard.
DrPolo
post May 26 2011, 01:47 PM

39 posts

ipad for gps? i need to look for a place to hook that ipad on! and if i found one, i probably get a head on collision for missing a big spot on the windscreen! hahaha
cheehing
post Jun 7 2011, 12:22 PM

891 posts

Iphone 4 or Ipad 2 ??

currently i'm an Android user and wish to get a new device but as there r no new Iphone 5 or Iphone 4gs in the WWDC 2011, now make me headache to choose either this 2 device.

pls help.....

Added on June 7, 2011, 1:51 pmIpad2 can be setup as a personal hotspot?

This post has been edited by cheehing: Jun 7 2011, 01:51 PM
engrfeez
post Jun 8 2011, 02:06 PM

Ironman
316 posts

go for ipad2 wifi becoz of this reason;

Tech gadgets depreciate in value/obsolete very fast when new models released. I'll buy the cheapest devise that serve my current needs to minimize depreciation loss in future resell.

aberrant80
post Jun 8 2011, 03:50 PM

269 posts

Extra points to consider.

:
4) Tech gadgets depreciate in value/obsolete very fast when new models released. I'll buy the cheapest devise that serve my current needs to minimize depreciation loss in future resell. The cheapest model tend to have the least resell value biggrin.gif
6) To bring the no-so-portable Ipad 3G for on-the-go 3G "convenience" is not convenient. It is so marfan because I can not put in the pocket and need to keep an eye on it and carry it at all times when outing. A small backpack or sling bag is not very marfan le. If you think it is... then just get iphone lor
7) Already own an old N95 8GB that serve my garmin navigation and mobile internet needs. Or do occasional wifi tethering if I need to.  then might as well save 2k and not buy anything new biggrin.gif
8) I don't want to cut my SIM card to micro sim size because I want to switch to Samsung Android phone. got adapter mah... that's you get a separate data plan then don need to cut loh
9) Location service ? I never use it and really bother about it, I wonder how come my Ipad2 wifi can automatically pinpoint my house location on google map perfectly. it uses your wifi location
raytee84
post Jun 9 2011, 05:52 PM

48 posts

iphone 4 ..guarantee no regrets!

Easy to carry = FTW!!

This post has been edited by raytee84: Jun 9 2011, 05:57 PM
fluffy6640
post Jun 9 2011, 06:07 PM

647 posts

eyepad!
Confession
post Jun 10 2011, 11:37 PM

729 posts

can papago works without 3g and wifi connection for navigation?
merchant9
post Jun 11 2011, 12:32 AM

628 posts

Both if you can. iPhone if you have to choose. Reason, it's a phone which you can bring to anywhere with you.

0.0269sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:55 PM