Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys

stereokumonomu
post Apr 11 2011, 07:05 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(moonielistic @ Apr 11 2011, 03:21 PM)
got anyone interested to share a common room in bugis?
5 minute walk to mrt.
im not sure about all these common rooms, what do you mean by common rooms? can have some pictures?
I will be working in singapore starting june, but not sure about details living in singapore,
stereokumonomu
post Apr 14 2011, 09:38 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Apr 13 2011, 10:30 AM)
Anyone interested to rent the whole HDB (fully furnished) unit with me?

I'm looking to rent a 2+1 unit and will be taking the master room. Location wise, I'm targeting central i.e AMK, Bishan, Toa Payoh, to Commonwealth, and Aljunied.

PM me, we can discuss further.
Hi, i will be doing my internship in sg starting june till december, and the workplace will be in Shenton Way,
still looking around for a place to rent that would be accessible to go to work and move around,
there will be me and my colleague, so its 2 of us,

how much is the rent sharing?
stereokumonomu
post Apr 23 2011, 01:54 PM

606 posts

I was thinking of buying a Macbook. but since ill start working sg by june, should i buy now in Malaysia or buy it in sg?

or is it no different to the price in Malaysia?
stereokumonomu
post Apr 25 2011, 10:21 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(moonielistic @ Apr 24 2011, 05:38 PM)
tumpang thread..helping my friends looking for two males roomate in Bugis...please pm me if you are interested.
this, what kind of room is it? near to mrt?
me and my colleague gonna start working in sg in june,

stereokumonomu
post May 3 2011, 11:03 PM

606 posts

im going for internship in sg
just submitted the Training Employment Pass Application to my host company

hope that my TEP will be approved,
maybe after this can meet fellow malaysians and get some guidance,

stereokumonomu
post May 3 2011, 11:37 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 3 2011, 11:25 PM)
hi,
1) Are u currently studying in Malaysia university?
2) when u apply for the TEP, does there stated how long is ur internship period? How long is ur internship?
3) and what are the documents needed to apply for TEP?
4) your employer help you to apply or you apply yourself?
5) Mind to share which field you are in? How much Singapore company pay for internship student?

Pls share..

bcz i wanted to have my internship in Singapore too.
Till now still no company want to hire me.
well i already replied u in pm, biggrin.gif

1) yup
2) well, you download the form from sg MOM, my internship is 7months, so i applied for 7 months
3) passport scan copy, degree cert, resume,
4) my employer help me apply
5) im doing IT, they pay me SGD1250 only...

glad if i could help some more, but im also new to this.
what company u applying to?
stereokumonomu
post May 4 2011, 12:05 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 3 2011, 11:56 PM)
hi. realy thanks for your advice.

I am in engineering field. Think that it is very hard to get the engineering company to hire malaysia uni internship student.
I have applied many companies but still no news yet.
My internship period is this sept-dec. 4 months. and I hope that i can find a job in Singapore to do internship 4 months and continue with permanent job position there since internship is my last degree semester.

Btw,
1) Since u still need to do internship, how come u have degree cert? For my case, internship is my last semester of degree. So I dun have degree cert yet. What to do?

2) When will your internship starts? So now u waiting for the TEP to be approved? Sorry..touch wood, but what if TEP still not approved and the internship period starts?

really thz a lot for your reply.
Need help and I am eagerly wanted to work in Singapore.
im not sure should i reply here or in pm. since u sent both.
but heres my double reply. maybe could help others also

even after my internship, i still need to go back to uni and finish my fyp for the last 8months.

anyway,

1) well its not really the graduation scroll, or per say the degree cert when u done with the study. its actually an academic transcript that indicate how many sem you have done, what course have you taken, and the result for the previous sem. maybe could ask ur uni to provide that, for me, it took a week for that particular document to be released my the uni

2) im starting this 6th june. well not that i didnt want to go to sg, but the deal with my host company is, its an MNC, so it does have HQ here in Malaysia, while waiting for my TEP to be approved, im still gonna work with them here. but travel to sg periodically as the rest of the developers team working in the lab there. they even allowed me to have same amount of salary here in malaysia,

might be different case here since, different field. but ill try to help on what i know.

@alaskanbunny,

thanks, really hope could get it approve, heard that its gonna be hard to be approved,
stereokumonomu
post May 6 2011, 10:27 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(mea05key @ May 5 2011, 11:44 PM)
Thats a lot of pay for an intern! as least when compared to malaysia. I was only paid Rm400 a month. I am sure its one of the big mncs that you ve got into.
im not sure if thats a lot, since the living cost here cost a bomb.
back in malaysia im sure 800-1000/month is common for intern?

Not that big if u give a thought on my friend who is working with microsoft as intern earning 2500sgd for internship,
stereokumonomu
post May 6 2011, 06:49 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ May 6 2011, 01:45 PM)
the top company like Accenture only pays $1300 for biz student (and must be cream of the crop). microsoft is being very generous here already.. so as is your company.

it is kinda suprising to me that IT students earn that much.
looking at the 10 hours of interview done just for an internship. its pretty much describe how many seats they give in for a year.

weird that they look the talents in malaysia rather than singapore eventhough their hq is in singapore.

stereokumonomu
post May 6 2011, 10:40 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ May 6 2011, 07:47 PM)
Pls la intern in Microsoft above 2k. Wah Lau eh. Nei Yao mou chui Sui oh.

I don't know how the company is keeping itself as a going concern with an allowance of 2k. It must be good to even work in a clerical position. For your info, the greatest pay for interni have encountered was only 1.5k with housing allowance.

Added on May 6, 2011, 7:52 pmShe was also an undergrad from a us top school who failed to secure an internship in the us office. That was also a change of strategy from the us office to tap us grad Asian to focus on china/Asia ex Jp market. And this happened post lehman

Added on May 6, 2011, 7:58 pmAnd above anything else, interns are not ethically bounded in dis losing their allowances. This is backlash.
im not sure what are you saying, but its true, microsoft pays sgd2500 for their interns to MACH program.

stereokumonomu
post May 10 2011, 01:44 PM

606 posts

guys, is there any lowyat-look-alike forum for sg?

just want to read stuff about the lifestyle and everything,
stereokumonomu
post May 10 2011, 11:25 PM

606 posts

since i will be working flexible hours from monday to friday, would it be possible to have side jobs during the weekend?

any idea of what kind part-time job can be done?
was thinking maybe work for cafe's or restaurant or something.
stereokumonomu
post May 11 2011, 12:55 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ May 11 2011, 10:17 AM)
Anyone looking for a common room? PM me.

Brief details:
Blk 207 Toa Payoh.
Nearest MRT Braddell, less than 5 min walk from door to door.
No owner.
Approved unit and fully furnished.
It is a 2+1 unit, 2 identical bedrooms and 1 bath room.
$600-700 excluding PUB.
this kind of common room can occupy how many person?
is there any other current tenant?

me and my colleagues is still looking around for room rental,
stereokumonomu
post Jun 3 2011, 11:54 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(aVexRikuu @ Jun 3 2011, 10:32 PM)
Hi guys,

Just wondering if any of you guys plays futsal in SG.

Would love to join in if possible

Cheers,.
this makes me wonder too, what sports is around?

will be leaving Kl tomorrow by train, Kl sentral 11PM to singapore, expected to arrive 7AM

for the time being, i guess im just gonna crash at my friend place for few days,
still have no idea how to look for room to rent other than flatsdb and other equal websites,

stereokumonomu
post Jun 4 2011, 10:35 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jun 4 2011, 07:46 AM)
look for newspaper if ur here already, buy NST better. only NST, not the othe malay mail lookalike type.
Internet good for price reference, but a lot times outdated. they just repeated their posting sometimes, or most iof the times.
thanks! appreciate this, will need to be looking around for a place as soon as possible
stereokumonomu
post Jun 5 2011, 05:53 PM

606 posts

sad, have been looking around whole day for room to rent, but still havent found any yet, most the ads in the websites are outdated and unavailable,

i guess need to settle with an agent then
stereokumonomu
post Jun 5 2011, 08:59 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 5 2011, 07:55 PM)
where and when? budget? female or male? sharing? pets?
anywhere with access to EW line MRT would be great, since im working around the tanjong pagar MRT.
this week, 2 males (me and my colleague) around 700-800 (for both), maybe with allowed cooking

do you know anyone?
stereokumonomu
post Jun 6 2011, 11:37 AM

606 posts

is there any way that i can use my cimb or maybank card to withdraw my money in malaysia account into sgd?

or is it the only way for me to have the money in sgd is by, go to JB then withdraw from bank in RM, then go to money changer to convert into SGD.

and how can i get to JB from, say Tiong Bahru or Tanjong Pagar? Where can i get a bus to JB?
stereokumonomu
post Jun 7 2011, 12:23 AM

606 posts

yay, i finally found a place to rent, its either in tanjong pagar or tampines,

im working in tanjong pagar tho, axa tower, not sure which to pick, anyone can help me with the pros and cons?

tanjong pagar = $1k
+very convenient, everything is around
+walking distance to office
+let me sleep a bit more in the morning
+owner allow friends to come along
+light cooking
+aircon
+everything is provided, tv, internet, fridge, washer, dryer, f/furnished
+private owner, no agent fee
+owner friendly, (first impressions count)
-hurt a lot on first deposit, about $2k+ iinm
-will not left much amount of saving
-sometimes need to behave or on curfew since owner got little daughter
-basically the negative side is only on money

tampines =$650
+this is cheap
+able to save more money
+can cook whatever
+wireless internet
+fridge, washer, dryer
+can enjoy shopping later on
+MRT will be near to Changi, easier flight, but im not really a frequent flyers,
-a bit far from MRT, 20 minutes walking, but accessible by bus
-a bit far from convenient store, some even open till 10pm only
-+its a flat, so friendly neighborhood, quite crowdy, acceptable
-need to pay agent fee half the rent price
-house owner not really 'that' friendly, so im gonna feel weird around a bit

those are some of the pros and cons i listed out, will be staying for 6-7months only, hopefully fellow forumers can help me to pick.

money first, or convenient the best? will be working weekdays 9am-6pm tho
stereokumonomu
post Jun 7 2011, 10:41 AM

606 posts

@tailtwist, @paranoid

Thanks!,

by the way, is aircon really a need? or fan would be sufficient?
the one in tampines is non-aircon, only provide wall fan.

though i will be working most of the time, but maybe on weekend will spend time in room, so is tampines area will be hot? or acceptable like malaysia? very subjectives really,

0.0451sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:20 PM