Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys

siberfriend
post Apr 11 2011, 09:36 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(mea05key @ Apr 10 2011, 09:32 PM)
Given two offer options, A,  B and C which which is more eye catching to you?

Option A
Salary: RM6000 pm + 13th month salary+ Performance Bonus
Company: MNC

Option B
Salary: S$ 4500 pm + 3 months fixed bonus
Company: MNC

Option C
Salary: GBP 2,000 pm
Company: Local
beside looking at the salary, u also have to consider the political stability, inflation rate, increment, 'safety', career and promotion.
I will prefer option (B).... political stability (stable), inflation rate (4~6%), increment (4~12%), 'safety' (low criminal rate), career (most of the mnc r regional hq/brighter future) and promotion (oh ya, u have work double hard as u r earning double currency + other competitors from china, india, and phillipines).

If u love to travel a lot, option (B) is a good-to-go and you wouldn't feel pain when u travel to Aus/Japan/US/Euro/etc...^^

siberfriend
post Apr 14 2011, 03:05 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 14 2011, 11:16 AM)
Wawasan Sentosa $1 = RM2.405

http://wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp

The rate i see online now is $1 = RM2.4211
ard 1.30pm, i asked the money changer @ suntec.. offer rate: 2.4
Same money changer, it was 2.395 yesterday.

siberfriend
post Apr 14 2011, 04:58 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Apr 14 2011, 04:08 PM)
Good for those who work in SG and have MY loan to clear. I just transfer some money back last week, now can transfer more.

Better buy your own house (within your means) when you are young, it helps you to cut down your expenses in the long run. It also serve as a good "insurance policy" for your dependent. I really regret that I bought life insurance since my first full time jobs. I should use the money to buy another house instead.

My saving account is always just enough for a month or two but I have several policies that I can cash out if I need more money. so saving account interest rate means nothing to me compare to the BRR rate.
rumah ka KL banyak exp skrg, bang..... ada lobang tak?
siberfriend
post Apr 25 2011, 05:02 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Tiger99 @ Apr 25 2011, 04:24 PM)
i see,thanks for ur useful information. rclxms.gif

u rented the house through an agent or deal with the owner directly??

any useful tips/precautions should b taken while renting a house?
renting 3 rooms + 1.8k include PUB @ TPY central (5 mins walk to mrt)
Owner is from same hometown..
siberfriend
post Apr 28 2011, 10:26 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Apr 28 2011, 09:14 AM)
Either tampines or pasir ris is good. Pasir ris more so since its more quiet and not so crowded like tampines but there isnt much in the way of food stalls in pasir ris.

Added on April 28, 2011, 9:35 am

I used to do contract work in jurong shipyard. As a contractor, working in jurong shipyard is a nightmare due to the attitude that most jurong shipyard employees have which is usually the typical pompous arse arrogrant attitude you typically get from singaporeans in general.

My previous colleague sums up jurong shipyard as "Bring a barf bag when your entering JS since your gonna puke blood all the way and back again!". I've only entered JS twice and i dont my OM im not going to that yard anymore since its just too much of a hassle.

Im currently in the process of attending Nebosh to get my diploma in occupational safety and am looking to be accredited by CSP as well. My uncle used to work as a safety officer for mcdermott and saipem.
where u get ur nebosh? changi/miri?

safety officer can earn big bucks....^^

Added on April 28, 2011, 10:29 am
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Apr 27 2011, 01:54 PM)
Anybody know if the company petzl has a regional branch or supplier for their products in singapore or malaysia since i am interesting in their rope access equipment. or if anybody here has bought products within singapore itself.
rock climber spotted.. haha...u must b safety officer...

u can ask www.allsports.com.sg/ or www.allsports.com.my (Siti)

This post has been edited by siberfriend: Apr 28 2011, 10:29 AM
siberfriend
post Apr 28 2011, 11:41 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Apr 28 2011, 11:03 AM)
I havent even attended the course, just made some enquiries at the UK embassy on the Nebosh certification since i am interested in the diploma for occupational health and safety.

Nah, just enquiring for a fren who is into ice climbing since he needs a replacement for his ice axe and anchors and carabiners.
ooo.. ice climbing.. roxx... believe ur friend can get all the stuffs in allsports..
siberfriend
post Apr 28 2011, 03:07 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Apr 28 2011, 02:43 PM)
Finally, I've gotten my EP after waiting for almost a month. Had a number of issues to get to here, my word, but past is past!

Quick question: in order to open a bank account in SG, do I need to bring 1K SGD in cash or will banker's cheque suffice?
if you open account for salary, you dont need to pay a cent.
you can check citibank stepup interest saving account.
siberfriend
post May 4 2011, 02:51 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(cloudaeris @ May 4 2011, 02:32 PM)
Hi all, im going to start working in sg, n gotta move my stuffs by cars,

could anyone guide me on driving into sg? tried the link on the 1st page but it didnt work.
where u want to go? Or, u can refer to gothere.sg [type "from woodlands checkpoint to XXXXXXX" or "from bke to xxxxx"]
siberfriend
post May 9 2011, 09:42 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ May 8 2011, 12:07 PM)
Correct. All foreigners seeking PRship in Singapore will face severe curtails in obtaining them unless they are are highly qualified, occupy senior management positions and (as a bonus) are Chinese Malaysians.

The Singaporean backlash against India Indians occupying corporate positions have been especially acute.
going to try my luck tomorrow... ^^
siberfriend
post May 9 2011, 02:38 PM

190 posts

quick question: do we need to translate malaysia marriage cert and birth cert into english for spr application?
siberfriend
post Jun 3 2011, 12:54 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jun 1 2011, 05:12 PM)
In short NO. WP holder detonates being non-skilled, non graduate. Y would SG want such rubbish?
they r "non graduate" too...

Mary Kay Ash. The founder of Mary Kay Inc. started a cosmetics business. While she didn’t have a college education or any training, she successfully created a brand known throughout the world. To date, nearly half a million women have started Mary Kay businesses, selling cosmetics. Their appreciation for Mary Kay Ash is unwavering.

Richard Branson. Richard Branson is best known for his thrill seeking spirit and outrageous business tactics. He dropped out at the age of 16 and started his first successful business venture, Student Magazine. He is the owner of the Virgin brand and its 360 companies. His companies include Virgin Megastore and Virgin Atlantic Airway.

Coco Chanel. An orphan for many years, Gabrielle Coco Chanel trained as a seamstress. Determined to invent herself, she threw out the ideas that the fashion world deemed feminine, boldly using fabric and styles normally reserved for men. A perfume bearing her name, Chanel No. 5 kept her name famous.

Simon Cowell. Simon Cowell started in a mailroom for a music publishing company. He has since become an Artist and Repertoire (A&R) executive for Sony BMG in the UK, and a television producer and judge for major television talent contests including American Idol.

Michael Dell. With $1,000, dedication and desire, Michael Dell dropped out of college at age 19 to start PC’s Limited, later named Dell, Inc. Dell became the most profitable PC manufacturer in the world. In 1996, The Michael and Susan Dell Foundation offered a $50 million grant to The University of Texas at Austin to be used for children’s health and education in the city.

Barry Diller. Fox Broadcasting Company was started by a college dropout, Barry Diller. Diller is now chairman of Expedia, and CEO of of IAC/InterActiveCorp which includes Home Shopping Network and Ticketmaster.
Walt Disney. Having dropped out of high school at 16, Walt Disney’s career and accomplishments are astounding. The most influential animator, Disney holds the record for the most awards and nominations. Disney’s imagination included cartoons and theme parks. The Walt Disney Company now has annual revenue of $30 billion.

Debbi Fields. As a young, 20 year old housewife with no business experience, Debbi Fields started Mrs. Fields Chocolate Chippery. With a recipe for chocolate chip cookies, this young woman became the most successful cookie company owner. She later renamed, franchised, then sold Mrs. Field’s Cookies.

Henry Ford. At 16, Henry Ford left home to apprentice as a machinist. He later started Ford Motor Company to manufacture automobiles. Ford’s first major success, the Model T, allowed Ford to open a large factory and later start the assembly line production, revolutionalizing the auto-making industry.

Bill Gates. Ranked as the world’s richest person from 1995-2006, Bill Gates was a college drop out. He started the largest computer software company, Microsoft Corporation. Gates and his wife are philanthropists, starting The
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation with a focus on global health and learning.

Milton Hershey. With only a fourth grade education, Milton Hershey started his own chocolate company. Hershey’s Milk Chocolate became the first nationally marketed chocolate. Hershey also focused on building a wonderful community for his workers, known as Hershey, Pennsylvania.

Steve Jobs. After attending one semester of college, Steve Jobs worked for Atari before co-founding Apple Computers. Now without the “Computers” in their name, Apple includes innovative products such as the iPod, iTunes, and most recently the iPhone. Steve Jobs was also the CEO and co-founder of Pixar before it merged with Walt Disney.

Rachael Ray. Despite having no formal training in culinary arts, Rachel Ray has made a name for herself in the food industry. With numerous shows on the Food Network, a talk show and cookbooks, high-energy Rachael doesn’t slow down. She has also appeared in magazines as well has having her own magazine debut in 2006. She knew she was a success when a website dedicated to bashing her was created.

Ty Warner. Sole owner, CEO, and Chairman of Ty, Inc., Ty Warner is a savvy, yet private business man. Ty, Inc., made $700 million in a single year with the Beanie Babies craze without spending money on advertising! He has since expanded to include Ty Girlz dolls, directly competing with Bratz dolls.

Frank Lloyd Wright. Having never attended high school, Frank Lloyd Wright surpassed all odds when he became the most influential architect of the twentieth century. Wright designed more than 1,100 projects with about half actually being built. His designs have inspired numerous architects to look at the beauty around them and add to it.

av1 has their own capabilities/abilities. nvr look down at each other.. show some respects.
if malaysia is good enough, why ppl bother of working @ foreign land...

from your "yeah, right?"... u must b @ sg loooooooooooong time enough or u must be local..... heard that a lot from SGlian.

siberfriend
post Jun 22 2011, 12:45 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jun 15 2011, 05:00 PM)
Agreed.
When we earn 2k, 10k would look attractive.
However, when we earn 10k, 100k would look attractive while 10k doesn't.
The trend will only continue.
Human greed is exponential.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
i can tell you that 10k isn't that much... when u earn 10k, u spend 10k... same goes to 100k... spend 100k...
most of ppl usually opts for better lifestyle and spend more as they can afford for more exp goods..

unless u can control it..

This post has been edited by siberfriend: Jun 22 2011, 12:46 PM
siberfriend
post Jun 23 2011, 04:01 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Erny Errol @ Jun 23 2011, 02:14 PM)
I don't know how true is it, but my friends told me in Singapore, resume should be 2pages long ONLY.
hmm... my CV is more than 3 pages as I done a lot of projects..... as long as you can organize your CV nicely, it shouldn't be a problem... good luck.

0.0268sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:28 PM