Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys
crazy25kid
Apr 21 2011, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(Semper Fi @ Apr 21 2011, 09:43 AM) For Citibank, written thr >> minimum annual income of S$30,000 << but dis is for PR or Sporean oni laaaaaa... I have a citibank credit card...in fact, 2 and I am not a PR, just an epass holder. My wife have 3 cards.  I asked the person who processed my application what is the minimum requirement and that was the answer I got.
Semper Fi
Apr 21 2011, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Apr 21 2011, 09:54 AM) I have a citibank credit card...in fact, 2 and I am not a PR, just an epass holder. My wife have 3 cards.  I asked the person who processed my application what is the minimum requirement and that was the answer I got. Hey hey,r u kiddin me?!!! I went into Citibank website jz nw wor...datz wat written thr wor... Which Citibank card u hv? M referrin to da Platinum actuali.  Datz oni for PR n Sporean.
crazy25kid
Apr 21 2011, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(Semper Fi @ Apr 21 2011, 10:11 AM) Hey hey,r u kiddin me?!!! I went into Citibank website jz nw wor...datz wat written thr wor... Which Citibank card u hv? M referrin to da Platinum actuali.  Datz oni for PR n Sporean. I hold the platinum cards. SMRT and world rewards. My wife have an extra for the dividend one.
Lester1987
Apr 21 2011, 10:38 AM
i heard OCBC can get CC even u are not a PR or Singaporean with 30k income. regarding the medical check, normally company HR will give u a company letter to go to specific clinic to do those check. regarding debit card, i got no issue getting a DBS debit card with a S pass. annual income also less than 30k. and regarding the dependent pass, some people wants to bring their wife/children down together, so only e pass can apply a dependent pass for them. and the number of dependent pass you can apply depends on what type of e pass u are taking.
perkinsonline
Apr 21 2011, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 21 2011, 10:38 AM) i heard OCBC can get CC even u are not a PR or Singaporean with 30k income. regarding the medical check, normally company HR will give u a company letter to go to specific clinic to do those check. regarding debit card, i got no issue getting a DBS debit card with a S pass. annual income also less than 30k. and regarding the dependent pass, some people wants to bring their wife/children down together, so only e pass can apply a dependent pass for them. and the number of dependent pass you can apply depends on what type of e pass u are taking. Do the companies pay for your medical examination?
Semper Fi
Apr 21 2011, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 21 2011, 10:38 AM) i heard OCBC can get CC even u are not a PR or Singaporean with 30k income. regarding the medical check, normally company HR will give u a company letter to go to specific clinic to do those check. regarding debit card, i got no issue getting a DBS debit card with a S pass. annual income also less than 30k. and regarding the dependent pass, some people wants to bring their wife/children down together, so only e pass can apply a dependent pass for them. and the number of dependent pass you can apply depends on what type of e pass u are taking. Oh...Epass oso got few types?? Got rankin as well? Added on April 21, 2011, 11:01 amQUOTE(perkinsonline @ Apr 21 2011, 10:53 AM) Do the companies pay for your medical examination? Datz wat m askin. They asked me to drop by to da ofiz n get da medical chit to go their panel doc for chck-up.So i suppose itz all paid? This post has been edited by Semper Fi: Apr 21 2011, 11:01 AM
rickysim84
Apr 21 2011, 11:05 AM
yup, all paid by ur company
bellion
Apr 21 2011, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 20 2011, 10:17 PM) My decision was a no brainer. Stay in KL, I can buy a nice house in PJ and a little sports car but I would be burdened by the loans practically until I retire. Come to Singapore and work for 10 years, I can go back to PJ, pay cash for that house and car, and then continue working with no loan commitments and total financial freedom. There's also the psychological factor for many urbanites in Malaysia to keep up with the Joneses i.e. they feel compelled or pressured to be saddled with loads of debt just to be able to afford a continental car or a nice link house in Bandar Utama while they are struggling with the real essentials e.g. paying for quality education and college fees for their children. Malaysians working in Singapore typically aren't subject to such compulsion as they did not grow up in Singapore.
r1v3r
Apr 21 2011, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 21 2011, 01:34 AM) It's a figurative statement that I could earn in 10 years in Sg, what would essentially take me a lifetime to payoff in KL. But to answer your question, the key is rental. If you can rent it out, then out makes sense to take a loan and buy now. But if for whatever reason, you are unwilling to rent out or don't think you will be able to rent out continuously over the entire loan period or don't want to risk being screwed by a bad tenant ie. the rental income will not be forthcoming - then the interest burden will usually be significantly more than the capital gain. Secondly, highly liquid investments like stocks also pay a dividend return as well provide capital gains. Lastly, the value of having the cash freedom to take advantage of (or in fact defend yourself against) unexpected events is grossly underrated. Thanks seantang. Given the lower BRR and higer rental return here, if one rent a place in SG for long term should consider buying the place for self-occupant when there is a chance for him/her to do so. Unfortunately, it is much difficult to do so now due to the new HDB ruling. Added on April 21, 2011, 11:25 amQUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 21 2011, 07:08 AM) nope, after shell, u go down the bridge, turn right and the the money changer is on ur left. its next to a motor shop. oic, I usually go down the 2nd bridge after the Shell then drive straight to NSHW. This post has been edited by r1v3r: Apr 21 2011, 11:25 AM
perkinsonline
Apr 21 2011, 11:39 AM

QUOTE(bellion @ Apr 21 2011, 11:17 AM) There's also the psychological factor for many urbanites in Malaysia to keep up with the Joneses i.e. they feel compelled or pressured to be saddled with loads of debt just to be able to afford a continental car or a nice link house in Bandar Utama while they are struggling with the real essentials e.g. paying for quality education and college fees for their children. Malaysians working in Singapore typically aren't subject to such compulsion as they did not grow up in Singapore. As I always remember....follow the herd and u will always step in sh*t
L7Awesome
Apr 21 2011, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(bellion @ Apr 21 2011, 11:17 AM) There's also the psychological factor for many urbanites in Malaysia to keep up with the Joneses i.e. they feel compelled or pressured to be saddled with loads of debt just to be able to afford a continental car or a nice link house in Bandar Utama while they are struggling with the real essentials e.g. paying for quality education and college fees for their children. Malaysians working in Singapore typically aren't subject to such compulsion as they did not grow up in Singapore. If we keep up with the Joneses, it will tied us up when opportunity arises. I would say that being a husband and a dad to my kids, the reason I can come over to Singapore and give it a try is that I am having some savings that sees me through. The initial investment in coming to SG is not a joke. Say if we start here. The initial room downpayment + agent fees + a few weeks or maybe two months without initial salary + Daily expenses + travelling + RM to SG, it can be quite heavy. If I am in debt or heavily committed, I would think twice, thrice before making that move. So I think prudence in spending is always important no matter if we are in SG or MY. Also if we got savings and there's the economic downturn, we have all the bullets ready. It's also easy to be tempted in SG too since every branded stuffs are si beh cheap here.
bellion
Apr 21 2011, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Apr 21 2011, 11:47 AM) If we keep up with the Joneses, it will tied us up when opportunity arises. I would say that being a husband and a dad to my kids, the reason I can come over to Singapore and give it a try is that I am having some savings that sees me through. The initial investment in coming to SG is not a joke. Say if we start here. The initial room downpayment + agent fees + a few weeks or maybe two months without initial salary + Daily expenses + travelling + RM to SG, it can be quite heavy. If I am in debt or heavily committed, I would think twice, thrice before making that move. So I think prudence in spending is always important no matter if we are in SG or MY. Also if we got savings and there's the economic downturn, we have all the bullets ready. It's also easy to be tempted in SG too since every branded stuffs are si beh cheap here. Interestingly enough, I noticed that Malaysians residing in Singapore tend to save and invest more (in spite of the attractive branded bargains in funan, etc) compared when they were in Malaysia. Also, the option of NOT having to fork out large amounts of money to buy a car is a big plus due to a highly efficient public transport system. One can save lots in Singapore just from not having to maintain a set of wheels.
Lester1987
Apr 21 2011, 01:39 PM
QUOTE Singapore General Election Voting Day 2011
The polling date has been declared to be on Saturday, 7 May 2011 which is also set as a Singapore public holiday.
As this day falls on a Saturday, it will be observed as a replacement holiday for the Singapore site employees.
HR just send an e-mail to all employees. got 1 free PH for us.
L7Awesome
Apr 21 2011, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 21 2011, 01:39 PM) HR just send an e-mail to all employees. got 1 free PH for us.  So in this case, 9th is a public holiday for you guys? Also, going back to KL tonight? Drive carefully and have a safe trip back. :-) Added on April 21, 2011, 2:04 pmQUOTE(bellion @ Apr 21 2011, 12:47 PM) Interestingly enough, I noticed that Malaysians residing in Singapore tend to save and invest more (in spite of the attractive branded bargains in funan, etc) compared when they were in Malaysia. Also, the option of NOT having to fork out large amounts of money to buy a car is a big plus due to a highly efficient public transport system. One can save lots in Singapore just from not having to maintain a set of wheels. Yes, I believe that's why we are here. Or at least myself. However, on and off, I do drive into SG from JB (staying there) when I am busy and on Monday. However, like a lot of forummers said in here that working in SG can really helps to increase our savings. This post has been edited by L7Awesome: Apr 21 2011, 02:04 PM
mercury8400
Apr 21 2011, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Apr 21 2011, 11:47 AM) If we keep up with the Joneses, it will tied us up when opportunity arises. I would say that being a husband and a dad to my kids, the reason I can come over to Singapore and give it a try is that I am having some savings that sees me through. The initial investment in coming to SG is not a joke. Say if we start here. The initial room downpayment + agent fees + a few weeks or maybe two months without initial salary + Daily expenses + travelling + RM to SG, it can be quite heavy. If I am in debt or heavily committed, I would think twice, thrice before making that move. So I think prudence in spending is always important no matter if we are in SG or MY. Also if we got savings and there's the economic downturn, we have all the bullets ready. It's also easy to be tempted in SG too since every branded stuffs are si beh cheap here. But there is also always a inherent risk of employment when u come to SG. It is very unlikely to get fired in Malaysia. However, it is a diffrerent ball game in SG. Ppl get hired and fired in a blink of an eye. No recourse. So yes u can save. But then again all yr savings gone when u get fired. Don't forget yr still a foreigner in SG and the gov couldn't give a *^%& about u and would only be happy to see you go back.
perkinsonline
Apr 21 2011, 02:38 PM

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 21 2011, 02:14 PM) But there is also always a inherent risk of employment when u come to SG. It is very unlikely to get fired in Malaysia. However, it is a diffrerent ball game in SG. Ppl get hired and fired in a blink of an eye. No recourse. So yes u can save. But then again all yr savings gone when u get fired. Don't forget yr still a foreigner in SG and the gov couldn't give a *^%& about u and would only be happy to see you go back. It really depends on how you see it. I think this is not a bad thing, its actually good. You are forced to be the best you can be. Dividing the Wheat from the Chaff....
totti 10
Apr 21 2011, 06:25 PM
ya loh wanna be the practice becoming the best kiasu have to go to kiasuland leh
haha
seantang
Apr 21 2011, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Apr 21 2011, 06:25 PM) ya loh wanna be the practice becoming the best kiasu have to go to kiasuland leh
haha Wah, you got go to school or not? With hailat english like "wanna be the practice becoming..." also want to make fun of people?
perkinsonline
Apr 21 2011, 07:36 PM

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 21 2011, 07:30 PM) Wah, you got go to school or not? With hailat english like "wanna be the practice becoming..." also want to make fun of people? LOL.....I think our friend here is just speak colloquial English.....I am sure its not a true representation of his/her language ability; right?
bellion
Apr 21 2011, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Apr 21 2011, 06:25 PM) ya loh wanna be the practice becoming the best kiasu have to go to kiasuland leh haha As opposed to staying in bolehland and becoming the most "boleh" person one can be? Or perhaps becoming the most "ketuanan" person around? (only eligible to one race)