125 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys

Argiope
post Jun 28 2011, 07:21 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(kurt99909 @ Jun 28 2011, 11:49 AM)
hi guyz....just wanna ask regarding bank account in SG...
how am i suppose to open one?
just show them my EP and open one or Show them my EP and bank in $500 to open the account...
EP, passport, account opening form and $500 (for OCBC and DBS).
Jurlique
post Jun 28 2011, 07:30 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jun 28 2011, 07:19 PM)
According to my friend who work as Agency in SG before, what he said is that the field like IT, Accounting and Engineering would be the easiest to find job in SG even though you are a foreigner this does include Malaysian.
Yup i agreed but ppl still prefer Singaporean or PR, this is why I ask him/her to try to search around Tuas Comapnies, there are tons of companies and opportunities in this area.

Otherwise his/her resume got to have something wrong or his/her reason for leaving his/her previous company is not strong enough.
kurt99909
post Jun 28 2011, 07:38 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Jun 28 2011, 07:21 PM)
EP, passport, account opening form and $500 (for OCBC and DBS).
owh...coz my fren told me just show our EP and can open account d.. hmm.gif hmm.gif
means i have to ready $500 for me to open a bank account...thanks sis..

This post has been edited by kurt99909: Jun 28 2011, 07:38 PM
seantang
post Jun 28 2011, 08:24 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jun 28 2011, 06:11 PM)
hi...I have applied many Singapore companies by jobstreet, jobdbs, and company web site..

My experience and qualification also okey.

but there is no call for interview at all? what is my problem?
Who says your experience and qualifications are okay? Okay for what and in relation to what?
francisbacon7
post Jun 28 2011, 08:25 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jun 28 2011, 07:02 PM)
@francisbacon7

i am not sure what's your field of studies or areas of expertise is.

It is regretted to say most of the employers nowadays will give priority to Singaporean or PR residents first before considering Malaysians.

Meanwhile, is your applications all based in city or downtown area?

Maybe you could try to apply to companies based in Tuas, Changi or Woodlands areas as most city jobs will normally be taken-up by Singaporeans or PR itself.
audit line...i though this field need a lot of man power, i saw many of my ex colleagues or friend can get offer easily.

will take on ur suggestion, thanks alot smile.gif

Added on June 28, 2011, 8:27 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 28 2011, 08:24 PM)
Who says your experience and qualifications are okay? Okay for what and in relation to what?
2 years+ experience in top ten accounting firm in M'sia, degree holder, 2 papers left for professional cert.

This post has been edited by francisbacon7: Jun 28 2011, 08:27 PM
seantang
post Jun 28 2011, 08:56 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jun 28 2011, 08:25 PM)
2 years+ experience in top ten accounting firm in M'sia,
Only the top 4 matters. The others will not get you shortlisted unless it's an employer that cannot attract Big4 leavers. I've been in finance my whole career and I can't even name the 5th largest firm (global, Malaysian nor Singaporean) without Googling. If I can't tell, my secretary or HR partner (who will shortlist resumes for me to see) definitely will not.

QUOTE(francisbacon7)
degree holder
More than 70% of this generation of Singaporeans have a tertiary education. 100% of those Singaporeans you're competing with with have a degree or better. 100% of those foreign immigrants that you're competing with have a degree or better. 60% of the 50 accountants in my company's accounting service center in Singapore have a professional qualification. 40% of have a Masters degree. 25% have a Masters and a professional qualification or better.

QUOTE(francisbacon7)
2 papers left for professional cert.
You're not qualified yet. You can't be a little bit pregnant. Either you are, or you aren't.

To be frank, your profile does not stand out.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 28 2011, 08:58 PM
francisbacon7
post Jun 28 2011, 09:15 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 28 2011, 08:56 PM)
Only the top 4 matters. The others will not get you shortlisted unless it's an employer that cannot attract Big4 leavers. I've been in finance my whole career and I can't even name the 5th largest firm (global, Malaysian nor Singaporean) without Googling. If I can't tell, my secretary or HR partner (who will shortlist resumes for me to see) definitely will not.

QUOTE(francisbacon7)
degree holder
More than 70% of this generation of Singaporeans have a tertiary education. 100% of those Singaporeans you're competing with with have a degree or better. 100% of those foreign immigrants that you're competing with have a degree or better. 60% of the 50 accountants in my company's accounting service center in Singapore have a professional qualification. 40% of have a Masters degree. 25% have a Masters and a professional qualification or better.

QUOTE(francisbacon7)
You're not qualified yet. You can't be a little bit pregnant. Either you are, or you aren't.

Probably u dont understand audit line..or probably i am not that outstanding, yes, i applied some smaller firm as well..

I just wonder, even my friends which is much more not that "outstanding", they are manage to get an offer. of course, they get offer frm smaller firm n salary range 1.8-2.3k
Jurlique
post Jun 28 2011, 09:45 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7)
degree holder
Hi bro, are you in the banking line? Seems your company has alot of accountants.
crazy25kid
post Jun 28 2011, 10:29 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jun 28 2011, 09:15 PM)
Probably u dont understand audit line..or probably i am not that outstanding, yes, i applied some smaller firm as well..

I just wonder, even my friends which is much more not that "outstanding", they are manage to get an offer. of course, they get offer frm smaller firm n salary range 1.8-2.3k
I say most probably you do not understand what he is saying.
You being not local already placed you in a disadvantageous position.
2 years of experience is actually nothing.
Heck, they just need the phrase "no local experience" and can you counter that?
Top 10 in Malaysia does not mean they will be recognized in Singapore.
You may be famous in Malaysia, but that does not mean you will automatically be in another place.
I have colleagues in IT field who does not even know Dell even though they are using a Dell desktop.

You have a degree so?
Like seantang said, everyone you are competing with has one (some may even have two !!!).
So what makes you different?

2 more papers left to professional certification?
Until you complete it, you are still not there.

So in the end, you are just another applicant which probably doesn't really stand out.

Yes, I am definitely not from audit line and do not understand your field.
However, I definitely understand what seantang is saying.

Job application whether you like it or not, requires some luck if you do not have connections.
So the most you can do is be patient, gather more experience and complete the 2 remaining papers that you have.
Still, that will not guarantee you a job, but it does help you stand out a little more than where you are now.
SUSMaterazzi
post Jun 28 2011, 10:37 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jun 28 2011, 09:15 PM)

Seriously, why don't you apply big 4 malaysia? 4k ringgit is better than 1.8k sgd. In sg, 1.2k is minimum to live well.
francisbacon7
post Jun 28 2011, 10:44 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jun 28 2011, 10:37 PM)
Seriously, why don't you apply big 4 malaysia? 4k ringgit is better than 1.8k sgd. In sg, 1.2k is minimum to live well.
Cant really survive in Big four, their workload is crazy. it is not a long term job. that why I only applied for small medium firm.

honestly, RM4k < SGD2.8k...life of living in KL is high, criminal is high as well.
beyond86
post Jun 28 2011, 10:50 PM

1,956 posts

who working at globalfoundries, this company good or not?
crazy25kid
post Jun 28 2011, 10:55 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jun 28 2011, 10:44 PM)
Cant really survive in Big four, their workload is crazy. it is not a long term job. that why I only applied for small medium firm.

honestly, RM4k < SGD2.8k...life of living in KL is high, criminal is high as well.
But won't most small medium firms likely not accept your pay demands?
Not quite sure about the workload, but from what I hearing, accounting/audit/finance line seems to have extensive working hours in Sg.
Well, you can't really listen to just what I say about this, right? laugh.gif laugh.gif
You might get lucky with a firm who does not have such scary workload and pays good.
SUSMaterazzi
post Jun 28 2011, 10:58 PM

1,569 posts

Do you know some companies in sg the local one even worse. My friend has to do unpaid OT and her salary is only 1.8k. And my cousin has 4 yrs exp in HP and huawei, ccnp holder got 2.7k. And you with unknown company and 2 yrs exp expect 2.8k. No wonder they don't look at your resume

Added on June 28, 2011, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jun 28 2011, 10:55 PM)
But won't most small medium firms likely not accept your pay demands?
Not quite sure about the workload, but from what I hearing, accounting/audit/finance line seems to have extensive working hours in Sg.
Well, you can't really listen to just what I say about this, right?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
You might get lucky with a firm who does not have such scary workload and pays good.
my cousin's friend has worked at Kepiemji for 1.5 yrs , and she can't make it at big 4 sgapore, and was offered 2.3k by small audit firm in sg, then she rejected it la.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jun 28 2011, 11:18 PM
magiclover
post Jun 28 2011, 11:42 PM

285 posts

Sometimes you need the 'pull' factor also...
SUSkockroach
post Jun 28 2011, 11:54 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

1. Can't really survive in big four.
2. Define long term in the context of working with a small medium firm.

Jurlique
post Jun 29 2011, 12:42 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jun 28 2011, 10:58 PM)
my cousin's friend has worked at Kepiemji for 1.5 yrs , and she can't make it at big 4 sgapore, and was offered 2.3k by small audit firm in sg, then she rejected it la.
wat did u mean by worked at KPMG but cant made it into Big4?

I tot KPMG = one of the Big4
wseng
post Jun 29 2011, 06:51 AM

270 posts

I think he mean KPMG in Malaysia but cannot make it to Big 4 in SG .
Erny Errol
post Jun 29 2011, 09:28 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jun 28 2011, 08:25 PM)
audit line...i though this field need a lot of man power, i saw many of my ex colleagues or friend can get offer easily.

will take on ur suggestion, thanks alot  smile.gif

Added on June 28, 2011, 8:27 pm

2 years+ experience in top ten accounting firm in M'sia, degree holder, 2 papers left for professional cert.
Why don't you call them up? Or email them?
I just got in one. And recently heard other friends who just secured an interview.
mercury8400
post Jun 29 2011, 12:24 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7)
degree holder

QUOTE(francisbacon7)

Seantang,
Maybe her definition of outstanding and yr definition of outstanding is different. Maybe a outstanding company that she intends to join is ah pig and ah cow pte ltd as a one-leg kick position with min pay amdn max workload. If that's the case then its not hard to find.....

125 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:07 PM