I am going for my 2nd interview for a mechanical design engineer post in semicon firm.
Is 3.5k fair for a fresh grad holding master degree from state?
Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys
Jun 15 2011, 11:33 PM
203 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: KL,PJ |
I am going for my 2nd interview for a mechanical design engineer post in semicon firm.
Is 3.5k fair for a fresh grad holding master degree from state? |
Jun 15 2011, 11:38 PM
1,305 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 15 2011, 07:20 PM) Not for his customers, maybe... for the undertaker - earning more is better. It is hard for some people to see and think out of money. Not everything in this world, jobs in this case is ALL about money. QUOTE(r1v3r) teacher / lecturer ( not tuition teacher) Why would a teacher or lecturer be better off earning less?QUOTE(r1v3r) minister As above. What's the upside for a minister to earn less?There are compassion, humanity, social responsibility and personal health problem in the example I gave. Some jobs only see numbers and money. Some have to see the suffering of other people in their jobs. You never see coffin sales and promotion package right? Seeing the suffering of the family. . Will you hope you get new order the next minute? Teacher. This is a passion jobs. Does a teacher see the student as product. More student means more money? Will they go the extra mile to help one weak student? That means time and energy spend without OT claim. This line is over work under paid. Minister. I have nothing more to say. You hear it from last GE. Their own salary create the fall of one minister. This post has been edited by r1v3r: Jun 15 2011, 11:39 PM |
Jun 15 2011, 11:54 PM
6,624 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: singapore & ipoh |
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jun 15 2011, 11:38 PM) It is hard for some people to see and think out of money. Not everything in this world, jobs in this case is ALL about money. You are taking the issue out of context.There are compassion, humanity, social responsibility and personal health problem in the example I gave. Some jobs only see numbers and money. Some have to see the suffering of other people in their jobs. You never see coffin sales and promotion package right? Seeing the suffering of the family. . Will you hope you get new order the next minute? Teacher. This is a passion jobs. Does a teacher see the student as product. More student means more money? Will they go the extra mile to help one weak student? That means time and energy spend without OT claim. This line is over work under paid. Minister. I have nothing more to say. You hear it from last GE. Their own salary create the fall of one minister. My statement was that for anything that you do, getting more money for doing it is always better than getting less. I did not say getting money at the cost of "compassion, humanity, social responsibility and personal health problem" or whatever other irrelevant factor you seek to introduce into a very simple concept. There is no "cost" per se in my statement. I simply said whatever you choose to do, for whatever the reason why you chose do it, it is always better for you if you're paid more rather than less to do it. This was in response to someone asking an equally simple question whether it was better to get paid 2K or 10K. |
Jun 16 2011, 12:14 AM
1,037 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
anyone know any good backpacker hostel and cheap hotel to stay for 1 week in singapore? I intent to stay there for 1 week to find room to rent.
Jun 16 2011, 12:20 AM
4,283 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Vietnam |
QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 15 2011, 04:14 PM) I think I can only day dream that I earning 10k per month, and living luxury life driving imported car. all cars are imported in sg QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 15 2011, 05:28 PM) example i'm currently sort of a hybrid IT/projects/finance line. in order to sit in my boss place, i need experience in running projects and some sort of formal qualification - either PMP or MBA in Proj Mgmt. The former will come naturally in my current role, the latter I need to plan with regards to sacrificing time & money & effort to get that qualification. Then after that it's a matter of looking for opportunities, whether it's within the same company or elsewhere. come join uni of ade QUOTE(IEE @ Jun 16 2011, 12:14 AM) anyone know any good backpacker hostel and cheap hotel to stay for 1 week in singapore? I intent to stay there for 1 week to find room to rent. gave a list a few pages back.. go read ^^ |
Jun 16 2011, 07:11 AM
1,678 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 15 2011, 05:27 PM) For me, i like Red and Green line MRT as compare to Circle or Purple line. Red and Green line MRT is bigger and their air-cond is much cooler. I prefer purple line...in term of space both should be similar but head clearance at the door ren n green line definitely lower(those above 6 feet have to duck in and out) purple line clearance should be around 6'3".the down side is, green and red line is always pack like sardine. But even when u sardine, u can still feel the air-cond nicely. If i were you I might stay in Toa Payoh (hear ppl say a lot good food) or Ang Mo Kio (I love this neighborhood, very complete and have everything we need) area. Purple line air condition is more consistent IMHO. Probably because it's newer?also the seating is 7 instead of 9 per row which u hardly have space to lean. And err..I feel that the average traveling time from station to station is shorter then other. By the way...really love those ntuc xtra. Like the one in amk hub n nex. Very big n well maintained |
Jun 16 2011, 07:50 AM
941 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: ^^Heaven^^ |
I was shopping in kl over the weekend. There is this pao Xiang bah kut teh in 1utama which I find quite delicious. The servings are in ceramic bowls and not the typical claypot. At first it was a turnoff given the norm of serving Bah kut teh in claypot. But it turn out very tasty just on par with all the best bah kut teh you could find in Klang. I requested for a business car from the boss and saw they have a branch in nex mall. Anyone tried it before in nex?
Added on June 16, 2011, 7:54 amThis could be the first bah kut teh in town with using herbs as the soup base. This post has been edited by keelim: Jun 16 2011, 07:54 AM |
Jun 16 2011, 08:15 AM
2,110 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
the pao Xiang in utama is one of the many branch, they have in pavilion kl and centro klang, indeed is one of my top 10. nex one is a 80 percent similiar but i think to suit local taste the herb taste lesser.
some of the best klang bkt actually dun come in claypot. |
Jun 16 2011, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 15 2011, 11:54 PM) You are taking the issue out of context. yes, I am refering to your above statement.My statement was that for anything that you do, getting more money for doing it is always better than getting less. I did not say getting money at the cost of "compassion, humanity, social responsibility and personal health problem" or whatever other irrelevant factor you seek to introduce into a very simple concept. There is no "cost" per se in my statement. I simply said whatever you choose to do, for whatever the reason why you chose do it, it is always better for you if you're paid more rather than less to do it. This was in response to someone asking an equally simple question whether it was better to get paid 2K or 10K. yes, as mentioned some will never see the real cost out of account statement. Not all jobs have the same cost. Some take x% from total deal value, work is still the same but earn much more if the deal is big. For many other jobs, to earn more means you have to take higher REAL risk. There are undertaker that give FOC service to the poor at own cost. There are teacher who put in long hours just for the benefit of a few student. There are doctor,laywer and banker that turn to teaching line to have more time but less money. if you give money to them, 10k is better than 5k lah, if you ask them to earn 10k instead of 5k with the same jobs, they say 5k is good. They have other things in mind. This post has been edited by r1v3r: Jun 16 2011, 10:21 AM |
Jun 16 2011, 09:26 AM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(keelim @ Jun 16 2011, 07:50 AM) The servings are in ceramic bowls and not the typical claypot. At first it was a turnoff given the norm of serving Bah kut teh in claypot. But it turn out very tasty just on par with all the best bah kut teh you could find in Klang. Hmm lots of the the better bkt in klang are served in individual ceramic bowls and not claypot. the ones in klang with claypot are sort of ... just average tasting haha. pao xiang i've tried a few of their branches in kl and ... for klang standard it's just "above average" only. if you have the opportunity, go to the "under the bridge" ones near/around the klang ktm komuter station - those are widely thought of as the best bkts. |
Jun 16 2011, 09:39 AM
2,110 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
flying home tonite my list of food next few day Dry BKT from klang, dim sum in puchong, sang har mee & beef hor fun in KL( wat the name of shop the behind time square), hahah wat else i missing..
Jun 16 2011, 10:02 AM
4,567 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Singapore |
so far the only KL style bak kut teh i tried in SG is the 1 at beach road, opposite Park Royal Hotel.
its not fantastic, but still better than those 'clear' n pepper soup style ones here anyway i prefer Kepong bkt than Klang |
Jun 16 2011, 10:07 AM
3,256 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Mars not Venus Status: In a Relationship |
There is one near Marsiling de. "Relatively" not bad.
Jun 16 2011, 10:16 AM
357 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(washabushi @ Jun 16 2011, 07:11 AM) I prefer purple line...in term of space both should be similar but head clearance at the door ren n green line definitely lower(those above 6 feet have to duck in and out) purple line clearance should be around 6'3". Yes I agree purple line is better!! Cooler and cleaner and newer too.. Efficient & station to station is faster than red line.Purple line air condition is more consistent IMHO. Probably because it's newer?also the seating is 7 instead of 9 per row which u hardly have space to lean. And err..I feel that the average traveling time from station to station is shorter then other. By the way...really love those ntuc xtra. Like the one in amk hub n nex. Very big n well maintained |
Jun 16 2011, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 16 2011, 09:26 AM) Hmm lots of the the better bkt in klang are served in individual ceramic bowls and not claypot. the ones in klang with claypot are sort of ... just average tasting haha. not anymore... standard drop a lot.pao xiang i've tried a few of their branches in kl and ... for klang standard it's just "above average" only. if you have the opportunity, go to the "under the bridge" ones near/around the klang ktm komuter station - those are widely thought of as the best bkts. |
Jun 16 2011, 10:34 AM
1,933 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: ~Universe~ |
Jun 16 2011, 11:03 AM
330 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KL,Malaysia |
planning to get HTC sensation with data plan.
Which telco u all recommend? M1, Singtel or Starhub? Aiz.. just missed the PC fair last weekend. When or where else can I get promo for this? |
Jun 16 2011, 11:10 AM
1,933 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: ~Universe~ |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Court will organize a fair starting today at Expo. Mb u can check from ther? I believe the telcos' will be involving themselves too... |
Jun 16 2011, 11:22 AM
330 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KL,Malaysia |
QUOTE(yiivei @ Jun 16 2011, 11:10 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Court will organize a fair starting today at Expo. Mb u can check from ther? I believe the telcos' will be involving themselves too... How to get to there? Sorry.. may seems noob question, but I am still new in Sg. |
Jun 16 2011, 11:25 AM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 16 2011, 09:39 AM) beef hor fun in KL( wat the name of shop the behind time square) Soo Kee? I ate there a while back and thought the noodles just so-so only. Might as well just eat at the Geylang one, taste better. ![]() QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jun 16 2011, 10:23 AM) not anymore... standard drop a lot. yeah i heard that too. but i didn't grow up in KL so I only last couple of years when working in KL then only go klang eat bkt, so I got no way to compare how good it was last time. |
| Change to: | 0.0251sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:54 PM |