Android general questions thread, Ask anything here!

TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 6 2011, 05:47 PM, updated 13y ago

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

To prevent threads from being created for the sole purpose of asking a question, I'm here to create a thread for all you curious peoples.

This post has been edited by xDarkKnightx: Apr 6 2011, 06:00 PM
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 6 2011, 05:59 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 6 2011, 05:54 PM)
Don't spam. Post deleted.
Thread pinned.
xDarkKnightx, please update this thread.
Will help out whenever possible.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 6 2011, 06:52 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(nders @ Apr 6 2011, 06:39 PM)
wow just in time for a question: how to disable the default screen lock? I want the pattern screen lock but don't want to unlock 2 times zzz (first time is the default slide to unlock, 2nd is the pattern lock i set...)

and please, don't ask me to google. I did, and browsed alot, none helped (what nolock, antilock, lockbot.... ) these just disabled everyting all together (including the pattern lock)
What phone are you using? I'm positive that there is a setting in your Privacy tab that changes your unlock type. Should have pattern/none
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 6 2011, 06:53 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Apr 6 2011, 06:07 PM)
no screen shot for android? i mean the official way. like pressing several buttons at once.
Sadly, none as far as i know. Only apps downloaded from the market allows you to.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 6 2011, 07:56 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

Rooting is like Monopoly's get out of jail free card. You can use it anytime you feel locked up. Rooting to me however, doesn't really serve any purpose. I flashed my phone so i didn't bother to not root it. Since flashing already voids my warranty, why not root it too?
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 10 2011, 01:53 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(notystar_exe @ Apr 10 2011, 12:04 PM)
hello everybody..been googling around and none of them talking the question bared in my mind

im a in a jump from windows mobile phone to an android phone..

as far as i know, BBM requires that you are connected to a blackberry internet service (BIS).do android phones support BIS to get BBM?

and do they need special 'hardware' integrated in it? scared if it need to ' hardwarely upgrade' before BBM can be functioned..so its better to have a WAIT for that phones instead of buying android now..

p/s>> and i know, we can use a cross-platform chatting application like Whatsapp that works the same way as BBM.
As of now we can't answer you. Future announcements will clear this up.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 12 2011, 10:08 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(ahtiong @ Apr 12 2011, 08:55 PM)
may i know how to active whatsapp in android?

i neen tried.. after 15 mins then nth...i already get the code frm email... but i cant any option to enter code... jus keep show me the page of active via sms:(
Do you have any friends using Whatsapp? Try asking them if they can see you or not.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 15 2011, 09:04 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

Anyone knows where can i get the LG Optimus 2x and the HTC Incredible S besides DiGi/Celcom in Ipoh? hmm.gif Getting my phone next week and i don't know where i can find them.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 17 2011, 11:05 AM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 16 2011, 11:28 PM)
find LYN seller that deals by postage?
Naww i prefer face to face deals for phones and stuff. At least they can't argue if its an AP set and i decide to not buy it.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 28 2011, 05:33 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(robeng @ Apr 28 2011, 04:38 PM)
hello guys...im using hero 2.1..anyone know how to do a reverse tethering on this device? is it possible to do it? i want to use my office internet via hero. thanks in advance.
I'm certain theres an app for it. Wifi something. Try searching for WiFi on the market.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 28 2011, 10:46 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Apr 28 2011, 09:34 PM)
dude...search wifi what??.. doh.gif ..his asking abt ad hoc mehhh..

Added on April 28, 2011, 9:36 pmi already explained in this forum how to use adhoc ..just use the search button...
I'm not sure reverse tethering is ad-hoc. I said i remember the app's name. It starts with WiFi. Thats why i asked him to search for WiFI on the market.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 29 2011, 04:14 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(robeng @ Apr 29 2011, 09:27 AM)
what i mean is connect to pc's internet via usb cable. my office using wired connection. not wireless. so how to make enable ad hoc..?  sweat.gif
What you mean is to use your PC to enable internet on your phone right? That is reverse tethering.

http://blog.mycila.com/2010/06/reverse-usb...android-22.html

This should help you.
TSxDarkKnightx
post May 3 2011, 05:55 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(bzz @ May 3 2011, 05:39 PM)
Hi

Now im using HTC. Back to the time when Malaysia telco still not approved by Android. So unlucky for me, no Android Market Apps in this phone.

So wanna ask, if I buy AP Phone from LYN (not the original or from telco), will I be able to go into Android Market. Im using CELCOM. Hate to say, i need to torrent for an apps... sad.gif
AP phones or not, they're still Android phone. As long as its an Android phone, you can use the market. The same cannot be said for tablets though.
TSxDarkKnightx
post May 14 2011, 08:49 AM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(lovelysa @ May 13 2011, 10:17 PM)
i can't connect my google acount. "can't establish reliable data connection to the server. this could be temporary or your phone may not be provisioned for data service."
HELP ME!!!
i did the factory reset thing but not working.
Are you connected to a data network? Like over Wi-Fi, or using a data plan?
TSxDarkKnightx
post May 16 2011, 12:54 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(lovelysa @ May 14 2011, 11:24 AM)
i used the wifi in my college. y? is it connestion problem? should iu try used other place's wifi?
I recommend you use your data network if you're on DiGi since its only RM5 for a day to try out. If not, go to a place like Starbucks and login from the browser first then proceed again.
TSxDarkKnightx
post May 22 2011, 09:28 AM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(Kva @ May 21 2011, 02:38 AM)
anyone got solutions to APPLICATION NOT INSTALLED PROBLEM when sideloading?
been seatrching high and low for one to no success
I face it sometimes on my Incredible S. Waiting for someone to answer this.
TSxDarkKnightx
post May 22 2011, 08:30 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(mellovicious @ May 22 2011, 06:35 PM)
hey guys.

i wan to connect through my university punya network using proxy (with password)

i edited using the advanced network config.

it does work but onli for stock browser.

anyway to make it work for other browser as well as apps?
Connect through network with wi-fi right? It doesn't work for other browsers?
TSxDarkKnightx
post May 23 2011, 09:32 AM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

Guys can i please know how to use a full size 800x480 wallpaper on my Incredible S?

Mello i'll answer your q later.
TSxDarkKnightx
post May 23 2011, 08:28 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(colt45 @ May 23 2011, 04:03 PM)
sifu..
how does we share contact using sms?
n why if a nokia send us business card using sms.. we cannot read
using LG optimus 1 with froyo on board
I have no idea. I'm receiving business cards just fine.

I think you have to configure your SMS app's settings.
TSxDarkKnightx
post May 26 2011, 01:40 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(Arii02 @ May 25 2011, 11:56 AM)
Hey, I was wondering if anyone here can help me out.. I got a LG Optimus 2X. The problem is, how do I exit programs/apps on the phone? Some of them don't have the exit buttons..

For example, the music player, if I played a song and now I want to go back to my home screen, do I just press the home button? or back button?

I've come across something about android phone will shut down the apps after a while.. Is that true?
Just stop the song, and press back. it'll auto shut it down.

QUOTE(AbsolutWayne @ May 25 2011, 09:44 PM)
Just wonder the android market can be purchased via debit card?
If i'm not mistaken, yes.

0.0210sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:21 AM