Android general questions thread, Ask anything here!

apisfires
post Dec 1 2011, 02:20 AM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(BoonieTan @ Dec 1 2011, 01:33 AM)
Hi everyone,

I need some advices here, as i search throught the nets, i find no cyanogenmod for galaxy gio running on android 2.3.4, my question is, any cyanogenmod that is compatible with the galaxy gio? If yes, is there any sites i can refer to?

Thank you.

Sorry if I asked in the wrong thread or inappropriate question here as im rather new to this android phenomenon.
no, gio not famous enough to have ported cm7...
in future if want to buy any phone, make xda and cyanogenmod as reference.. icon_rolleyes.gif
apisfires
post Dec 14 2011, 11:07 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(pingping86 @ Dec 14 2011, 02:59 PM)
Hi guys... Im a new android user
I got a question here, recently i just bought a Samasung Galaxy W
Every time when i try to sign in for the google to access android market
It says Cant establish a reliable line. I even create a new google acc and tried to sign in.
End up the same, wat is the problem?
My phone or my account?
try ask shop guy try help you.... maybe account problem, wifi enable or not?

Added on December 14, 2011, 11:09 pm
QUOTE(sonejason @ Dec 14 2011, 05:17 PM)
hey guys,
jus recently run out of internal memory of my arc s and I start to move my apps to to sd card.
Then I find out one thing:
Why does an app that is 20Mb in internal memory become only 1Mb when I move it to sd card?
It happens to most apps. The thing is that they still consume internal memory although I have moved them to sd card. I just can't move them completely.
not all apps can transfer to sd card...
some apps use internal memory as base because they have widget or must keep running when you boot your phone..
when your phone boot, it will run through internal memory first...

This post has been edited by apisfires: Dec 14 2011, 11:09 PM
apisfires
post Dec 18 2011, 06:17 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(Laier @ Dec 18 2011, 04:02 PM)
Hiya bros,this might sound stupid,but how do you update the phone's OS from,say a froyo to a gingerbread? How to know there's an update for your phone in the first place? Is it done on the phone?
Thanks!
what kind of phone you use? i will give any link for you... smile.gif
apisfires
post Dec 18 2011, 06:28 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(Laier @ Dec 18 2011, 06:21 PM)
Thanks bro! Im using an LG Optimus Black. Kinda confused,don't all high-end LG phone now supposed to come with Gingerbread? Im just on Froyo. 2.2.2 Froyo to be exact. Thanks!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1304512

In response to numerous requests received, LG has tried to speed up as much as possible the release of Gingerbread for Optimum BLACK declaring its readiness to start this week.

We regret, but there are problems with imperative that forced us to delay the release of Gingerbread for Optimus in BLACK.

LG's goal is indeed to ensure the highest quality releases on sw. We are confident to release the update in the coming weeks.

We apologize for the inconvenience and we thank all users of Optimus Black for your confidence.

apisfires
post Dec 18 2011, 06:35 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(Laier @ Dec 18 2011, 06:33 PM)
Wow! Thanks bro apisfires and Cyberkewl! So,if the update does come out,how do I download it and install in it my phone? How do I get notified? Do I check it myself online or will there be a notification on my phone?

Thanks heaps bros!
try check that link next month.... smile.gif
because now ics out for nexus s, maybe you will got it january or february...
apisfires
post Dec 18 2011, 06:43 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(Laier @ Dec 18 2011, 06:40 PM)
Really? Thanks for the information bro! So,how do I update my phone's Android system if it does come out? Via PC or just download using my phone? Thanks!
if got automatic On The Air (OTA) update through phone...
if update manually through PC..
manually update mean if malaysian region not got any update yet but another region got, you can manually update it... so you must go to xda forum and check it every week if got any update... smile.gif
apisfires
post Dec 19 2011, 04:36 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(mooney @ Dec 19 2011, 04:17 PM)
Is it possible to MAKE your own update? Like if a new update come up for android. And your phone manufacturer don't wanna update for your phone. Can you make your own android update for your phone model?
yes, but you phone must have very good developer support, what kind phone you use?
some region got update and some will got it later...
if you want to buy any phone take samsung because they device have very good dev..
but best of all of course google phone itself, nexus line model...
apisfires
post Dec 19 2011, 06:58 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(mooney @ Dec 19 2011, 06:35 PM)
I thought samsung galaxy W has 1.4 Ghz? while nexus S has 1 Ghz?
the chip and processor is different... but in the update thing, nexus s got it because it is google phone..
apisfires
post Dec 20 2011, 12:48 AM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(mooney @ Dec 19 2011, 10:05 PM)
So nexus S should be better?
yes...
apisfires
post Dec 20 2011, 03:09 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(mooney @ Dec 20 2011, 01:51 PM)
Thanks. What is AP phone?
AP phone is not manufacture or officail release warraty, usually if AP phone got problem, shop repair not manufacture.. Better buy original set, if got problem professional service from official manufacture.
apisfires
post Dec 20 2011, 07:31 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(mellovicious @ Dec 20 2011, 07:28 PM)
help~!

i tried to downlod apps from market

but when i downlod it say insufficient space on device~

but my phone still got lots on space~!!!!!!!!

phone: SGS
change your language phone setting, if you use US english now, take UK english...
apisfires
post Dec 21 2011, 12:09 AM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(Chechack @ Dec 20 2011, 09:25 PM)
guys,is there any apps that can be used to replace from using power button to unlock screen?im using Xperia Play and i kinda dont like using the power button in order to unlock the black screen
https://market.android.com/details?id=com.k...enofflock&hl=en

the best ever, try it, make sure when setting read carefully... smile.gif
apisfires
post Dec 21 2011, 05:26 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(Chechack @ Dec 21 2011, 12:19 AM)
ok,im missing something here,sorry,i tried the app,can lock by pressing the icon,but how to unlock without pressing the power button?sorry for being a noob  sad.gif
oppss, sorry, if you dont want to press on off button, just use home button can wake it up...
apisfires
post Dec 22 2011, 02:32 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Dec 22 2011, 11:09 AM)
new user here migrated from Blackberry.
(1) want to find out on my email setting (hotmail). I did it through Social Hub (Galaxy W). Not sure how email works in Android. I do not get notification on new email in Hotmail until I go in to refresh. Is that the case? I know cannot compare to BB as its a push mail but I thought Android is a pull where after certain period of time, it will pull the email over automatically?

(2) Which FB apps to use? I can do it via Social Hub or download from Market. I did try both initially. I can say both are not the same and which one is better off?

Really having a hard time getting use to the keypad biggrin.gif
about email just use k9 mail, try download it at market.. smile.gif
apisfires
post Dec 22 2011, 06:33 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(@lowyat @ Dec 22 2011, 02:36 PM)
Hi guys,

Got a question here regarding the version of Android. I'm interested to get a Garmin Asus phone due to its powerful GPS function. Currently I'm using WM6.5 phone with GMXT, so Garmin interface is preferable for me.

But the problem is that currently Garmin Asus phone is running on Android 2.1 and there's no update available as both the companies already terminated their partnership. So I would like to know is it OK to live with 2.1? Are all the current apps now require 2.2 or 2.3 already? Basically I'm using the phone just for the phone, organiser, GPS, and occasionally for browsing. Not going into heavy gaming or modding etc.

better buy standalone GPS, nowadays GPS is cheap...
better dont buy Garmin Asus, if got problem in android not many can help you...
and for you information, if their partnered is finish better dont buy, cant find new accessory or not got update is any bug..
apisfires
post Dec 24 2011, 08:30 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(taiko2005 @ Dec 24 2011, 10:25 AM)
hi can i ask..can someone give comparison samsung s2 with nexus S.. i planned to get new hp
http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...0&idPhone2=3621

their price have big different nexus s 700-1000, galaxy s2 1500-1800.... but you must know, now galaxy s2 have G version, different hardware from non G, if you want to flash any kernel or root your phone, make sure your phone can use it properly.. read more if dont understand.
apisfires
post Dec 29 2011, 05:57 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(donhealyou @ Dec 29 2011, 04:36 PM)
hey guys not sure whether this is the right place to ask this question...

iphone 4s 16gb rm2200

with this price rm2200 what android phone can i buy ?

will the android phone be better than iphone 4s? (price rm2200 below)

pls help... thanks..
galaxy note and galaxy nexus..
apisfires
post Jan 11 2012, 06:32 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(apiapi @ Jan 11 2012, 08:28 AM)
I got a message from 62003 "message format not supported". Has anyone got this before? What is it? Could it be an app in my phone trying to send out a message to the short code but the format is not support therefore got a reply from it? So many apps have permission to send sms.
that spam better dont use that apps anymore..
apisfires
post Jan 13 2012, 04:17 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(apiapi @ Jan 13 2012, 11:51 AM)
If that's the case, I don't even know which app is the one sending out the sms.
go to anroid market, google air push detector, check what apps make it out.. smile.gif
apisfires
post Jun 27 2012, 01:58 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(simpletraveler @ Jun 27 2012, 01:33 PM)
I am new to mp3 or downloading songs into computer or handphones.

I just bought a Galaxy S3, how do I start to download songs ?

Someone said I can go to a mobil phone seller to get them downloaded, but will they have all types of Chinese and English old songs ? How much will it cost to do them ?
Can anyone recommend where I can do it in KL ?

Tq advance.
bro, just ripping yourself lah, if cant, ask friend give some mp3, choose your favourite mp3 song through pc, if you buy shop doing it for you, you will slaughtered like cow

0.0576sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:04 PM