4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Credit Card v15, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting

TSalexwsk
post Feb 25 2011, 09:51 AM, updated 15y ago

4,092 posts

LATEST UPDATE: New Measures on Credit Cards by Bank Negara

Proceed from v14: Credit Card v14

**Those wishing to get an agent to assist with your credit card application please post your request at the service noticeboard section as this section is about discussion on credit card issues and not for promoting or seeking agent.

Knowing your cards > http://www.bankinginfo.com.my
1. Visa
2. Mastercard
3. JCB
4. AMEX - Charge or Credit Card
5. Diners Club
6. China Union Pay (中国银联)
7. Etc.

1. Annual fee
Annual fee free credit cards :
- CIMB Direct Access
- CIMB Bank
- American Express Green charge card & American Express Gold credit card
- Public Bank (**minimum swipes apply)
- Alliance Bank (**minimum swipes apply)
- UOB Bank (**minimum swipes apply)
- Maybank (**certain cards only)
- EON Bank (**minimum swipes apply)
- Citibank Choice (**minimum swipes apply)
- Hong Leong Bank Essential VISA (**swipe at least twice a month OR spend RM8,000/year)
- AmBank (**certain cards only)
- OCBC (**minimum swipes apply)

2. Credit cards payment methods - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1802980

3. Tap and Go Cards - no signature required

4. Credit Card linked to Petrol
- OCBC Titanium MasterCard <> all petrol stations = 5% cash back
- Citibank Cash Back VISA Platinum <> all petrol stations = 5% cash back
- UOB <> BHP Petrol = 2% cash back (UOB One only), 1% cash back (others)
- Citibank <> SHELL (This only applicable for Citibank Shell, Citibank Cashback Plat applies to all petrol stations)
- Maybank/Maybank Islamic <> PETRONAS = 5x Treatpoints
- CIMB Bank/CIMB Islamic <> PETRONAS = 2% cash back
- Public Bank ESSO/Mobil VISA <> ESSO/MOBIL = 0.5 - 5% (tier-based)
- RHB Travel Money <> all petrol stations = 2% cash back (5% cash back every first weekend)
- AMBank Carz <> all petrol stations = 2% cash back (3% for Gold and 5% for Platinum, provided there is an outstanding)
**All range of American Express charge & credit cards give 2x MR/TP on petrol purchases whilst AMEX Gold credit card and Maybankard 2 AMEX give 5x MR/TP. This applies to all petrol brands.
For more info on pumping petrol using cards, please refer to this thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1798403

5. Standard financial charge (interest rate)
Tier 1 > 13.5% p.a.
Tier 2 > 16% p.a.
Tier 3 > 17.5% p.a.
Cash advance: 18% p.a from the date of withdrawal.
Late payment: 1% of outstanding or RM 5 whichever is higher.
Minimum payment amount: 5% of outstanding or RM 25/RM 50 whichever is higher.
Sample calculator can be found here

6. Complimentary Cards
1) HSBC Premier - deposit and maintain RM200k
2) Citibank Citigold - deposit and maintain RM200k
3) Standard Chartered Priority Banking - deposit and maintain RM250k
4) UOB Privilege Banking - Opening deposit of RM300k with maintenance of RM200k
5) OCBC Premier Banking - Opening deposit of RM300k with maintenance of RM200k
6) CIMB Bank Preferred Banking - deposit and maintain RM150k
7) Hong Leong Bank Priority Banking - deposit and maintain RM200k
8) Alliance Bank Privilege Banking - deposit and maintain RM200k
9) RHB Bank Premier Banking - deposit and maintain RM200k
10) Public Bank Red Carpet Banking - deposit and maintain RM500k or a Mutual Gold customer with a total combined deposits of RM200k in savings/current/fixed deposits.

7. American Express - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1724607

8. International Transactions - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1845691

9. Credit Card Cancellation - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1814307

10. Cash Advance fees

11. Verified by Visa and Mastercard Securecode
Verified by Visa ---> http://www.visa-asia.com/ap/sea/merchants/...vbv_intro.shtml
Participating banks :

MasterCard SecureCode ---> http://www.mastercard.com/au/personal/en/c...code/index.html
Participating banks :

12. Balance Transfer - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1123346

13. RM50 Government Service Tax - Currently STILL IN FORCE
With effect from 1 January 2010, there will be service tax imposed on credit card as follows :
i. RM50 per annum on each Principal Card; and
ii. RM25 per annum on each Supplementary Card
The service tax will be collected on the date the card is issued, or on the completion of each year or on the date of renewal of the card (except HSBC which will be billed 1 month later). This means that the above mentioned service tax shall be levied on new credit card issued effective from 1 January 2010. For existing credit cards issued before 1 January 2010, the service tax shall be levied upon anniversary of card issuance.

14. Airport Lounge Access - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1791878

15. Previous versions

16. Useful information
BNM issued guidelines in 2003 that limits consumer liability in cases of fraud to only RM250. See the actual document here. (Courtesy of tishaban) (thanks awaynoway for the updated link)

Credit information:
CCRIS: http://creditbureau.bnm.gov.my/
CCRIS report - go to Bank Negara yourself and use self-service terminal to get report with MyKard (you need to go as need thumb print).
CTOS: http://www.ctos.com.my/
BRIS: http://bris.com.my/index.html

Swipe Smart with 6E:
http://www.abm.org.my/Swipe_Smart_with_6E_...ffectively.aspx

17. FMB - Financial Mediation Bureau
http://www.fmb.org.my/index.htm

18. AKPK
- An agency set up to provide financial education, financial counseling and debt management
http://www.akpk.org.my/Home/tabid/36/Default.aspx

Link to AKPK thread : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/876712

19. Other Links By Users
A blog about credit cards by Gen-X > My Credit Cards

20. Credit Card/Charge Card Reward Points
Validity of numerous credit card/charge card reward points
1) HSBC - up to 3 years
2) Citibank - reward points are evergreen
3) Maybank - reward points are evergreen
4) CIMB Bank - 3 years
5) Alliance Bank - reward points are evergreen
6) Standard Chartered - 3 years (**SCB VI Choice Points are evergreen)
7) American Express - Membership Rewards Points are evergreen
8) Hong Leong Bank - up to 3 years
9) AmBank - up to 3 years
10) RHB Bank - 3 years for Platinum and 2 years for all cards ranked lower than Platinum
11) UOB - 3 years
12) EON Bank - 3 years

21. Premium Credit Cards and its requirements
1) CIMB & DA World Mastercard/Visa Infinite - Min Income Requirement : RM 200k
Existing HSBC Cardholder with CL RM30k and above OR Citibank CL RM50k and above OR Other banks RM70k and above MIGHT also be accepted, limited time promotion only
2) CIMB Enrich World Mastercard - Strictly by Invitation (those with card usage above RM 500k per annum may be considered)
3) CIMB VISA Signature - Min Income Requirement : RM100k
4) Maybank World Mastercard - Min Income Requirement : RM 240k
5) MBF World Mastercard - Min Income Requirement : RM 200k (By Invitation)
6) Standard Chartered Visa Infinite - Only for Priority Banking customer (RM 250k in deposits)
7) RHB Visa Infinite - Strictly by Invitation Only
8) HSBC Premier Mastercard - Only for HSBC Premier customer (RM 200k in deposits)
9) EON Bank VISA Signature - Min Income Requirement : RM180k

22. Best Credit Cards and its categories - Click on ME
Please note these are just recommendations based on normal spending. High spending or specific usage individuals might want to look at other cards.
1) Classic Card = Hong Leong Essential
2) Gold Card = Alliance Younique / Maybankard 2 AMEX Gold
3) Titanium Card = OCBC Titanium / Standard Chartered Titanium (**product withdrawn from new application)
4) Platinum Card = Alliance Platinum / SCB Business Platinum / Citibank Cash Back Platinum / AMEX Platinum Charge Card (assuming AF is waiveable) / Maybankard 2 AMEX Platinum
5) Visa Signature = EON VS
6) Visa Infinite = SCB VI
7) World MasterCard = Maybank WMC (assuming AF is waiveable)
8) For 1st time CC applicants with Degree: DA (Direct Access @ CIMB)
Looking for recommendations? Please refer to this thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1792023

23. Credit Cards with Complimentary Travel & Accident Insurance
1) All HSBC/HSBC Amanah credit cards
2) All Citibank credit cards (except all co-brand cards, cash back)
3) All Public Bank generic credit cards
4) All Maybank generic credit cards
5) All AMEX charge card & AMEX Platinum credit card
6) All EON Bank credit cards
7) Alliance Bank Platinum

24. OCBC Titanium Credit Card rebates - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1791215

25. Reload Touch n Go using credit cards - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1803385

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Apr 27 2011, 03:02 PM
TSalexwsk
post Feb 25 2011, 10:02 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(babypao @ Feb 25 2011, 09:59 AM)
Damn.. MY OCBC Titanium MC Application is been reject. I called CS, they said need to write appeal letter for the reason why. Do anyone write it before?
write letter oso no use, you'll get it's management decision
if you fully met the requirements, write a letter to appeal, but not guarantee will be successful
TSalexwsk
post Feb 25 2011, 10:17 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(babypao @ Feb 25 2011, 10:10 AM)
Thanks for reply. I meet theirs min requirement.  I submitted 3 month salary slips, EPF 2010, IC, <1 Years CC. The only things is, I'm afraid that sales executive submit my <1 years CC to apply.

BTW, do u mind to to post sample of appeal letter? Thanks in the advance.  rclxms.gif
how about your total credit exposure? meaning total credit limits from all your active cards, housing loan, hire purchase. If it's very high, some banks don't like it. And also some banks don't like to approve new customers with high outstanding balance in other cards.

As for the letter, just google letter of appeal and modify accordingly, just a simple one or two lines letter will do smile.gif
TSalexwsk
post Feb 25 2011, 10:36 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(babypao @ Feb 25 2011, 10:21 AM)
I just only have 1 CC with me. Always full payment before due date. No house loan and hire purchase yet.
that's strange, since you've submitted all your income documents, actually no need to submit ur cc
so, try to fax or mail your appeal letter and see how
TSalexwsk
post Feb 25 2011, 02:10 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 25 2011, 01:38 PM)
p.s. Miles or whomever start the next thread, reserve a post for update after the 1st post. Last time we talked about something like listing all the places we get 5% cash back with OCBC Titanium MC.
totally forgot about that blush.gif
i was waiting for someone to open new thread
TSalexwsk
post Feb 25 2011, 02:51 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Feb 25 2011, 02:33 PM)
how to register pbebank.com online banking if i have their cc only ?
go to bank and fill in the form
repeat the above no matter what account u hv or u want to add to ur online banking doh.gif
TSalexwsk
post Feb 28 2011, 11:52 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 28 2011, 08:58 AM)
Maybe I will work with the thread starter to update the 5% OCBC list.
np, just gv me the list, i'll append at the end of the 1st post for this version
TSalexwsk
post Feb 28 2011, 06:18 PM

4,092 posts

updated at 1st post, waiting for ronnie to post so I can link it instead
TSalexwsk
post Feb 28 2011, 11:26 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 28 2011, 10:59 PM)
Guys ... good job on the first page but IMHO there's a lot of information there and perhaps some creative use of spoiler will make it tidier.

It's incredibly long and I'm not sure as a first timer I want to read all that.
Just an opinion.
done, was looking for that function, but forgot what's the code tongue.gif
TSalexwsk
post Mar 1 2011, 12:03 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 1 2011, 10:58 AM)
Let's do some examples :-

USD1 = RM3.00
Convert RM1 = 200 TP/CP

Spend of USD100
Maybankard2 AMEX charges 2.5% = RM307.50 = 1537 TreatsPoints [RM7.69]
SCB Business VISA charges 1.0% = RM303.00 = 909 ChoicePoints + RM1.52 [RM6.07]

Spend of USD3000
Maybankard2 AMEX charges 2.5% = RM9225 = 46125 TreatsPoints [RM230.63]
SCB Business VISA charges 1.0% = RM9090 = 27270 ChoicePoints + RM45.45[RM181.80]

Somehow, Maybankard2 AMEX still tops !!!
er, how can M2 Amex comes on top? after deducting the rebates from TP/CP, you pay more if you use M2 AMEX, unless you factor in 5% on weekends, but that is up to max of RM50 only
TSalexwsk
post Mar 1 2011, 05:33 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 1 2011, 05:14 PM)
Now I know what is so troublesome for a MBB cardmember who doesn't maintain savings/current account with MBB.

I went to an MBB branch just now. They seem like don't know how to handle my case, because they usually deal with MBB account holders (but I'm not).

She asked me to change PIN number from default 123456 to XXXXXX. I did it. Then I put back the cc, and register a new PIN for M2U account. When I entered FIRST TIME LOGIN page, typed my cc number & the 6digit PIN, the system returned an error message. Tried various PINs but still unsuccessful.

The staff asked me to try again at home :swt:
if all the maybank credit cards come with default pin of 123456, then it's way too dangerous sweat.gif
imagine someone never change the pin and the card is lost shocking.gif

anyway, did you apply the M2U pin for the M2 AMEX only? Wild guess here, all mbb atm/master/visa (debit/credit) has 16 digits, maybe that's the reason?
TSalexwsk
post Mar 1 2011, 06:12 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Mar 1 2011, 05:38 PM)
It is not practical to list down all the merchants which give 5% cash back. We should only highlight those 1) merchants that we think should give 5% cash back but only give 1% cash back instead, and 2) merchants that we think would give 1% cash back but give us 5% casbk back instead.
House + Co (restaurant) in BSC
noted, the list is much shorter now

Added on March 1, 2011, 6:17 pm
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 1 2011, 06:12 PM)
All Maybank ATM/debit/credit cards do come with a default PIN of 123456. However, the temporary PIN of 123456 is only activated when you request for your PIN number.
good to know that, so i assumed you and chemistry did request for the pin
i guess i'm not going to request mine, so no one can make cash advance from the ATM tongue.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 1 2011, 06:17 PM
TSalexwsk
post Mar 1 2011, 10:13 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 1 2011, 09:52 PM)
But i can't see both of my cards under a single login username  doh.gif
another wild guess, did u apply pin for both the cards?

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 1 2011, 10:14 PM
TSalexwsk
post Mar 2 2011, 09:05 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 1 2011, 11:40 PM)
Yes. I did. I signed up for M2U using the Maybankard 2 VISA only and to my surprise, i can only see the Maybankard 2 VISA then. So i called their CS and asked them to help me to link the AMEX to my current M2U. I was told they will try to link it but in case it is still not linked, they ask me to do it at any of their branch. But then, the guy at their branch also told me he can't link it together. Anyway, i am going to open a savings account with them soon.
since chemistry apply pin for only the M2 Amex and register M2U using it, maybe the system assumed you apply pin for both cards, you want to have 2 M2U logins rolleyes.gif
TSalexwsk
post Mar 2 2011, 04:01 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(skincladalien @ Mar 2 2011, 03:56 PM)
wanna ask, can i apply maybank2 using copy of card from another bank hold for more than a year?

didn't see that option at the website.
YES, with min CL of 6k, it's written on the application form

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 2 2011, 04:04 PM
TSalexwsk
post Mar 3 2011, 10:25 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(milentechie @ Mar 3 2011, 07:51 AM)
Got a SMS from Maybankcard informing me about my application has been approved. Surprisingly, I haven't officially submitted any application. I think it's a pre-approved card.

I found out from CS, MB offered me MB2 Gold card. The CL is not attractive, is just 3K more than my current MB Classic card. I think they used my old income record.
If I do not activate the pre-approved card, will MB still charge me the GST?

I am more interested in Platinum. Or, should I just accept it and then apply for MB2 Platinum Master when it is available in April? If I manage to get hold of both cards, that means I can enjoy the max rebate of RM100 (RM50 X 2).

What's your advise?
if u did not apply, you can request to cancel and no GST should be charge
if you can max the RM100 from 2 sets of M2, then go ahead, only you knew whether you can do it

Added on March 3, 2011, 10:26 am
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 3 2011, 08:17 AM)
I got SMS yesterday too.... and they gave me same CL as my Amex Gold CC...
can you post the content of the sms, kinda curious, thx

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 3 2011, 10:26 AM
TSalexwsk
post Mar 3 2011, 01:50 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(milentechie @ Mar 3 2011, 11:13 AM)
RM0.00 Maybankard:We are pleased to inform that your application has been approved.Thank you.
er, received the sms even you haven't applied yet sweat.gif
TSalexwsk
post Mar 4 2011, 10:12 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 4 2011, 06:51 PM)
Many thanks for your valuable advice.
You travel a lot and I trust you smile.gif
depends on the bank
if not mistaken, my scb tit will follow malaysian time while pbb will follow local(foreign) time

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 4 2011, 10:12 PM
TSalexwsk
post Mar 4 2011, 10:41 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 4 2011, 10:20 PM)
oh, got such thing?
Gotta call CS up to get this clarified before going overseas.
seeing ur comments makes me thk again

if physically swipe, should follow local time
hmm.gif , my SCB tit transactions are mostly internet transactions like paypal, so will follow malaysian time
too bad din swipe at local time friday

next time should try out scb tit at local time friday and M2 AMEX at local time sat and sun biggrin.gif
TSalexwsk
post Mar 5 2011, 10:59 PM

4,092 posts

Added on March 5, 2011, 11:00 pm
QUOTE(bingozero @ Mar 5 2011, 07:36 AM)
Enjoy RM50 cash back for all new Citibank Cardmembers.
http://www.citibank.com.my/english/promo/r...gn=RM50CashBack

3. The following persons shall not be eligible to participate in the Promotion:
(a) Permanent and/or contract employees of Citibank and Citibank’s subsidiaries and related companies and their respective immediate family members;
(b) An Applicant who had cancelled his/her Citibank Credit Card(s) within three (3) months before the date of application and is applying or re-applying for any Citibank Credit Card under the Promotion;
© All applicants for supplementary Citibank credit cards;
(d) Present holders of any Citibank credit card(s) whether issued in Malaysia or otherwise (whether such holders have received the same or similar reward(s) offered by any Citibank credit card(s) or otherwise).
er, RM50 enuf to waive the GST only, not interested
and cancelled more than 3 months can qualify oledi, Citi quite desperate oso huh laugh.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 5 2011, 11:09 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:43 PM