Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V8, D5100 announced !

Terbulance
post Apr 5 2011, 04:58 PM

220 posts

Btw, during the Nikon event, no one went to the other fair beside it? They have a runway show also, here are some of my pics tongue.gif

Anyone else went to shoot there?
Terbulance
post Apr 5 2011, 08:56 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Apr 5 2011, 08:19 PM)
the amway one . many leng lui ooo.cz it is skin care one laugh.gif
Yup, so many leng luis drool.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 5 2011, 08:23 PM)
I saw the photos from Turbelence, the stage setup looks better! My friend was the event organizer, he told me about it but too bad I was not at the event sad.gif
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Apr 5 2011, 08:24 PM)
it is big . the stage ..

and the venue , it got 2 side . while nikon fair only one side.
The stage is just like those professional fashion show, really well designed. First time see this kind of runway icon_idea.gif
First time I was there kneeing at the front, with so many photographers rclxub.gif

QUOTE(stsh90 @ Apr 5 2011, 08:37 PM)
fuh. love this shot!
Thanks! blush.gif
Terbulance
post Apr 5 2011, 09:20 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Apr 5 2011, 09:17 PM)
at 1st i tot those was nikon event too..but then after come out from nikon, plan to go there but then notice it was some kind of skin care thing..st8 lost interest..never know there are fashion show inside  cry.gif
I went inside anyway cause still got a lot of time and notice the runway show. It's more of a show to present their cosmetics products than fashion (what they wear) biggrin.gif
Terbulance
post Apr 5 2011, 09:50 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Apr 5 2011, 09:23 PM)
Artistry event ?
Yup!
Terbulance
post Apr 5 2011, 09:55 PM

220 posts

Another one!

DSC_6622 by terbulance129, on Flickr

I really like her wub.gif
Terbulance
post Apr 5 2011, 10:02 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Apr 5 2011, 10:00 PM)
Few friends ask me to do a short video how does the D3s sound when firing at 11FPS. So I shall share with you guys.  tongue.gif

http://vimeo.com/21975441
So fast sweat.gif

It sounds like when you play a game and it hangs, the sound just hangs there and keep repeating itself tongue.gif
Terbulance
post Apr 5 2011, 11:24 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Apr 5 2011, 11:14 PM)
Quick Q

Decided on Nikon over Canon,

New to DSLR,

D5100 or D90?
Care to share what you're using it for and how much is your budget?
Terbulance
post Apr 6 2011, 11:02 PM

220 posts

One is for DX and one is for FX.
Terbulance
post Apr 7 2011, 01:11 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Apr 7 2011, 01:03 AM)
Dear sifus,

Need some advice... can anyone share how to achieve these kind of pictures on my 18-105 kit lens? What setting shall i use? Seems like high F and slow shutter is a good combo but highest F is only 5.6.

I think the lens used in the pic is wide angle. But nevermind that.

To capture pictures like this or landscape, you need to use apertures like f8 - f10, so that the whole picture look sharp. If you're using f3.5 or faster, only the center is sharp and other place is blurred out.

Hope that helps smile.gif
Terbulance
post Apr 7 2011, 01:15 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Apr 7 2011, 01:12 AM)
pump iso  brows.gif
Why pump ISO??
Terbulance
post Apr 7 2011, 01:23 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 7 2011, 01:16 AM)
oh so if wan all things sharp sharp minimum aperture must be F8 or higher? hmm.gif
ohhhh ... okay... last time use my friend 50mm f1.8 i just open wide..duno lower down the aperture till whan value to make whole things sharp...

if photo like this la.... how low i need to adjust to make the 3 people only sharp sharp? (the 3 people are not same distance...)

thanks  notworthy.gif

Added on April 7, 2011, 1:17 am

to make the colour richer?  drool.gif
cannot set to Vivid mode?  laugh.gif
I'm not sure how low you need to go for that picture, you can test and see. The other things you need to consider is where you're focusing, focal length and others. You can learn more about it here. It's called depth of field.

At high aperture (e.g. f1.8), the subject of where you're focusing is shart and the background is blurred. This is called bokeh. Google it and you will learn more. biggrin.gif

ISO is more to light. Higher ISO will give you more 'light', but more noise if your camera doesn't have good ISO perfomance. So when taking picture, higher ISO can achieve faster shutter speed/lower aperture. I don't know how to explain in detail so ask uncle Google to teach you tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Terbulance: Apr 7 2011, 01:27 AM
Terbulance
post Apr 7 2011, 01:46 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Apr 7 2011, 01:34 AM)
well it obvious this is indoor shoot, if want to use F8~F11, wont that person shud have at least pump some iso? unless the room are really bright enough..correct me if i am wrong.. smile.gif
if tripod then different case lar..
hmm.gif Yup, that's true. But if you just say 'pump ISO' someone might not sure what he means. Just want to be more clear blush.gif
Terbulance
post Apr 7 2011, 01:53 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 7 2011, 01:48 AM)
that 2 i already know la  laugh.gif
just techincal setting i not really know haha...

just like we know need flour and egg to make a cake, but now much flour and eggs for 1kg cake?  drool.gif
Oh, now I know what you're trying to say ask doh.gif

I'm not sure bout that so need to test it out. Sorry bro sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Terbulance: Apr 7 2011, 01:53 AM
Terbulance
post Apr 7 2011, 01:58 AM

220 posts

I try to explain more detail cause I met a friend who's uses D40 for don't know how many years and tell me

'What is ISO? I only use it to take picture so I don't know bout all these stuff'

rclxub.gif doh.gif shocking.gif
Terbulance
post Apr 7 2011, 02:13 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Apr 7 2011, 02:08 AM)
talking bout ISO, what is the 'safe' or higher ISO can be used in my D90? which means highest yet give less noise in the picture?
I took this at ISO2000 on my D90, what do you think?

DSC_5900.jpg by terbulance129, on Flickr

Just get your camera and try smile.gif
Terbulance
post Apr 7 2011, 09:58 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 7 2011, 09:11 PM)
ya i forget someone mentioned that...section 14 opposite the TGI friday... the price i got was from digital mall shop...now asking HOYA UV filter price smile.gif
That would be me biggrin.gif

The shop is Miami Photo. The seller sells here in Lowyat Forum, here is the link.
Terbulance
post Apr 7 2011, 10:17 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 7 2011, 10:07 PM)
but his thread seems weird...  hmm.gif
Ya, kind off weird. When I'm really desperate to get my 35mm f1.8 I just pm see whether got the lens. On the same day replied me and went to the shop to get it that night. biggrin.gif

Seller quite friendly and gives a lot of advice. So I think she's a good seller.
Terbulance
post Apr 7 2011, 11:22 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(kayob @ Apr 7 2011, 11:11 PM)
i want to buy nikon D3100. can someone tell me the best outlet that sells at lowest price ??
You can try J one, they give really low price. Got my D90 there. I think now cheapest for D3100 is RM1950 right?
Terbulance
post Apr 8 2011, 12:50 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(ReeNz @ Apr 8 2011, 12:45 AM)
Pics from softball game in my campus yesterday

Nice! biggrin.gif

Using 70-300mm VR to shoot right? One of my target lens drool.gif
Terbulance
post Apr 11 2011, 12:58 PM