Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V8, D5100 announced !

-kytz-
post Apr 7 2011, 08:04 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Apr 7 2011, 04:18 AM)
hahaha.. I suppose to finish by the end of the year. hopefully thing goes well.
I am a software developer too.  wub.gif
Adobe Flex developer, hehe...
One is for DX and another one FX.

Man... siggy 30mm 1.4 Poisoned me rclxub.gif

Wait till my Siggy 30 comes back from calibration, then i post poison kao kao wub.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 14 2011, 10:38 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(hsienming @ Apr 14 2011, 10:06 PM)
N8 sure no detail 1 when zoom to 100% colours looks more saturated then the D70 thats all I for sure pick the D70 image cleaner and colours nicer!  thumbup.gif
Camera phones and compact cameras colours all saturated one laa. It's like make up to an ugly face tongue.gif tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 17 2011, 09:28 PM

12,573 posts

How's the AF performance of the D7000? smile.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 17 2011, 11:40 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Apr 17 2011, 11:36 PM)
Hey guys, really need some suggestion on either to get a 16-35mm f/4 or an uwa like 14-24. I would like to get something that could shoot for landscape and minor food photog. But if i get a 16-35mm, i guess it will be useless on a dx dslr since they got crop factor but im planning to upgrade to fx in the future like probably when d800 release. So which lens should i go for? Thanks!
What do you mean? Crop factor applies to both lenses what smile.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 17 2011, 11:41 PM
-kytz-
post Apr 17 2011, 11:52 PM

12,573 posts

I think you should go for the 14-24 since you might go FX. I hear it's a brilliant lens smile.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 18 2011, 09:33 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Apr 18 2011, 09:32 PM)
is this lens Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G appropriate for shooting toys, portraits and landscape?
Depending on how you use it, I suppose? Some people even use 85mm focal lengths, some use UWAs smile.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 19 2011, 12:24 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 18 2011, 11:38 PM)
ya, all of that are night scene...><

how to make it sharp? boost up iso at the same time smaller aperture and faster shutter speed? unsure.gif  icon_question.gif

public transport ar... err... i know if you take LRT to Asia Jaya... then go to millennium square... in front of that got a free shutter van can go to digital mall or you can walk to there...short distance only...err around 20 minutes...

google map here
35mm in DX format is 52mm  rolleyes.gif
terbulance recommended me one haha...RM750 ><

Added on April 18, 2011, 11:42 pmi find out my DSLR monitor colour quite vibrant compare to my monitor...

and gotta need time to experiment exposure bias...what is that if i change the setting to +1?? anything affect like shutter speed?
Exposure +1 = Shutter goes down by 1 stop smile.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 19 2011, 01:29 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Terbulance @ Apr 19 2011, 12:37 AM)
This one nicer blush.gif

The slightly overexposed background looks pretty good, but the bokeh is somewhat distracting(like what Kai said) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 19 2011, 01:30 AM
-kytz-
post Apr 20 2011, 01:55 PM

12,573 posts

I think he meant the mini softbox lol

-kytz-
post Apr 20 2011, 02:06 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 20 2011, 02:02 PM)
if i was going to use one, i would save up and get something better like some of the lumiquest ones - eg. http://www.lumiquest.com/products/softbox-iii.htm

those cheap ones might work, but u have to see the effect for urself and see if it wont be any better than just using the diffuser that comes with ur flash.
Ppl go lastolite already la tongue.gif

About USD100+ though whistling.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 20 2011, 02:16 PM

12,573 posts

Yeap. You can use it on a tripod anyway.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3i2BrTBVN9s#t=4m25s

http://www.lightingrumours.com/lastolite-g...-speed-lite-735
-kytz-
post Apr 20 2011, 02:27 PM

12,573 posts

Agito damn lazy fella. PP oso lazy tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 20 2011, 03:53 PM

12,573 posts

Buying a laptop JUST for a "better display" is rather pointless. You're better off spending a fraction of that $$ to get a decent IPS monitor.

Sames goes to those who buy a phone JUST for the camera lawl.
-kytz-
post Apr 20 2011, 04:06 PM

12,573 posts

Dell IPS monitors:

user posted image\

Simply put, IPS monitors are a step above "normal" monitors in terms of colour accuracy and reproduction
-kytz-
post Apr 20 2011, 08:38 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Apr 20 2011, 04:22 PM)
IPS really that good? more expensive than the Samsung LED
They're not even "LED" panels to begin with tongue.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 20 2011, 04:33 PM)
RM609 for a 23" IPS monitor?! Think I can consider one... still using a TN monitor at the moment sad.gif.
Pretty much bang for buck eh? biggrin.gif

Been eyeing them for quite some time now, since last year biggrin.gif But can't seem to force myself to get it sad.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 20 2011, 11:52 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 20 2011, 11:32 PM)
haha i was joined nokia n8 thread photography there, went to putra to join them shoot with phone and DSLR (if got)
it is like a class for photography tongue.gif with sifu aspire2006
i missed last weekend class, that time sifu andy was there. sad.gif
thanks sifu  notworthy.gif
Got street photography, why no invite me??? sad.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 21 2011, 01:05 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Apr 21 2011, 01:00 PM)
Hello Guys. I'm planning to get a Nikon D7000 with the 18-105mm Kitlens.
Going to get an additional Prime for it too. I need advise on which one to get, I'm considering the Nikon 35mm or the 50mm as my main prime. Being a DX Body, we need to multiply by 1.5, is 75mm too narrow for street shooting ?
Focal length preference is a personal one. Some like it super wide, some like it exactly like what we see and also some like to go "sniper".

So it's really up to you, there's no rule on which Focal Length is a must for Street Photography smile.gif

p/s: Why not get the 18-105 lens first? You can always set the Focal length mark on let's say 35mm and 50mm. Shoot for 1 full day on either focal lengths, and see which suits you best? smile.gif

-kytz-
post Apr 21 2011, 01:50 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Apr 21 2011, 01:27 PM)
Alright. So, I'll get the 18-105 with it and try out both focal length 1st. Still tempted to go for 18-200mm. But, that's an extra RM2.6k. My budget only around RM5000. What do you guys think ?
It's "and" NOT "to" biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 21 2011, 05:07 PM

12,573 posts

35 f/1.8 got ugly bokeh tongue.gif

*runs*
-kytz-
post Apr 21 2011, 10:49 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 21 2011, 10:46 PM)
???
lowest iso is of cos better...unless u mean higher iso like 1600...
but then in bright sunlight who goes to that high iso?
1/8000 SS tak cukup pun tongue.gif

0.4571sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:13 AM