Merbau Flooring, House Construction

bigred
post Nov 2 2017, 12:01 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Nov 1 2017, 08:06 PM)
thank you sifu biggrin.gif
Burmese Teak is expensive because the Myanmar Govt has restricted supply of the wood for export. Is the wood quality good for the price currently offered in the market? Not in my opinion.

Malaysian teak is comparable in terms of quality (assuming hardwood flooring and not engineered wood) but at a more reasonable pricing. If you want to determine the "hardness" of the wood, Google the Janka rating of the wood. This will give you a scientific test on the strength of the wood.

Another consideration is teak wood tends to be more "yellowish" / golden brown in colour. It's quite hard to match the colour palette of teak wood to current modern design. Most of the chalets on the East Coast of Malaysia uses teak for their hardwood flooring.

Nevertheless teak has proven to be quite hardy and well suited to tropical weather. Other possible woods to explore are Balau, Merbau and Belian wood.

This post has been edited by bigred: Nov 2 2017, 12:04 AM

0.0184sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:27 PM