Astronomy Photography, Lunar Eclipse on 4 March 2007

SUSTheVoIP
post Jul 30 2005, 10:06 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

I think the only camera made specialized for astrophotography is the Canon EOS 20Da. But it need to be ordered in advance.

I had seen result from 350D at ISO800 (for astrophotography), which is pretty good (Given the fact the guy dunno much). But I bet the 20Ds can be better.
SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 14 2005, 05:13 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Sep 9 2005, 04:15 PM)
Wow... How come the vigneting shape look like a heart shape? Very romantic picture! thumbup.gif

I hope I can join you guys in shooting some astro related pictures to complete my collection. I have some crazy ideas in my mind.

But few stupid questions here;

(1) Where do you guys shoot around KL/PJ? You go somewhere up hill?

(2) Are you willing to take a picture with exposure of 4~5 hours and most probably will be biten by flies? I hope can shoot together, because 4~5 hours for star trails is a long time... at least can talk...
SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 14 2005, 05:17 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 14 2005, 12:28 PM)
haha..but instead of buying telescope..we can also do astrophotography with
SLR..using 100-300mm lens can give u a nice nebulae or star clusters.
so if u do have slr with telephoto lens can shoot lar. wat u need is buy
the equatorial equipment tat can follow the stars movement..
and later when have budget ca buy telescope lar.. drool.gif
I saw the equatorial tripod-like stuff... very bulky and does not look anything cheaper than RM2k to my eyes.

One question, if our camera can manage to do ISO6400 or even higher with acceptable noise performance, then we need no those tracker, right? If that so, maybe dSLR in few more years already can do that.... And the tracker will be a thing of the past?
SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 15 2005, 01:03 AM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Sep 14 2005, 05:19 PM)
(2) I haven't tried to shoot star trails because my camera can only do 15secs exposure  sweat.gif
Heh man... I think 15 seconds is a great limitation. Minimum must able to use bulb, right? If you are serious, really need to upgrade camera le... at least got excusses to upgrade, right? I believe there are few good used camera around.

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 14 2005, 05:43 PM)
(1)dont think kl/pj will allows any astrophoto. biggrin.gif maybe a day in a month for clear sky.

(2)normally 2-3hrs can get nice star trails olredi. and pray for no interruption. biggrin.gif
must use fresh battery unless u found out ur slr died after 1 hour biggrin.gif
can get the equatorial thing at around 1k. we need those tracker to
get nice still star/cluster/galaxies pics. u will only get a startrail without
it because the earth is moving and we need to move the camera  and pointing
at the target even the earth is moving. those equatorial will help moving
ur camera as the earth moves.
Ok... so KL/PJ will be a real problem... Hope you guys can recommend... Since I am new still to digital, I still yet to know all its extreme technical limitation like battery.. I still remember I can do around 5~6 hours with my EOS A2 with new 2CR5. If worst come to worst, I might even consider DIY with powerful external acid-lead battery pack. I believe as long as the voltage is matched, should be ok.

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 15 2005, 12:26 AM)
No matter how sensitive the sensor is, astrophotography is always pushing technology to the limits. Because we want to capture objects that are extremely dim, long exposures and large apertures are going to be a necessary evil.
A  telescope will always out perform a telephoto lens due to its resolving ability, and not its magnification. The telescope is designed to optimise starlight and non visible light by using special coatings. A telescope must also have practically no chromatic aberration; you would be hard pressed to find a telephoto lens meeting this specification even if you reach the several hundred thousand ringgit level. Normal camera lenses are good for terrestrial objects because this is natural to our eyes but may be quite poor at stellar objects.

CCD/CMOS noise is no longer a such big factor in astrophotography since dark frame processing can deal with it.
I always believe there are few type of photography are always pushing the equipments to its limit; be it sports (outdoor and indoor) as well as astrophotography. Every ISO as well as size aperture do count...

However it is a surprise to hear that a fine tele might not perform as good as telescope. You have your point that telescope is optimise for far distance. But most probablt I will still start with normal tele, and maybe some longer tele primes. Reasons are pretty simple; one lens multi-purpose ma...

Just one little question to my curiosity; Did you ever seen anyone shooting astrophotograph with a laptop connecting to the devices (be it normal dSLR or etc)?
SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 15 2005, 01:03 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 15 2005, 09:33 AM)
if seriously want to do astrophoto have to go somewhere like Mr.LKM's place..
clear sky there.. biggrin.gif Or climb any mountain..
Where does Mr. LKM stay? And how tired will it be to climb the mountain....? sweat.gif Imagine bringing some heavy camera gears, heavy tripod, laptop, cookies and other food... tongue.gif Dun laught laught le.. You need food and water for long hours shot, right?

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 15 2005, 10:16 AM)
Hope i don't sound like i'm preaching. just that when ppl want to talk about my favorite subjects, i lose control....... blush.gif Be free to tear me to pieces anytime.
Don't be modest, your reputation precedes you. Photography is about exploring new territories, noone knows it all; we are always beginners. ha, ha.
I am still pretty new to digital in a sense that compare to what I know about film and my old camera, where almost every technical limitation was predictable. Ya... lots of films (money) were spent of testing and knowing the limits.

Now I yet to know even how bad my dSLR will be doing at 1 minute, 3 minute or 5 minutes exposure. And also battery limitation like how many shots can be taken for each 1~5 minute exposure... Will the camera get hot and spoilt when I approve its limit? Lots of question in my mind left unanswered.

I usually need to know the limit in order to do some planing for the shot.

By the way, I used to do some star trail before... but that was with film... and somehow under-exposed even for 5 hours shot! cry.gif I found film light response is really low for low light. It is one of the thing that I was shocked when I shot a test night shots and found out digital is far more sensitive (consistence in a way) and need much little time for exposure.

We don't actually take astrophotos by pressing the shutter button anymore.......the thousands of frames acquired in a single session would swarm even a 1 GB flash storage device.
It is what I am thinking. In order to capture thousand of frames consistency in dSLR, let's say Canon system. It is not cheap;

(1) One might need to get 8GB microdrive
(2) Those expensive remote control that has interval control

And some more cannot even know the result while being shot. At least laptop allow real-time viewing with some software help.

And most important, I already have the laptop and need no to spend extra. biggrin.gif Just want to save money ma...

BTW, long exposures are a parameter in film based Astrophotography, not so much in Digital Astrophotography. The best CCD/CMOS devices will all suffer from increasing noise levels in a short while, and become unusable.
I heard of that... It is why I am thinking of some solution to overcome this irritating long exposure issues. I hope I can make use of my technical background to get acceptable results and will post the solution on my coming web.

If some technical limitation can be overcome, there will be new possiblity in astrophotography... drool.gif Solve the technical issue, come the new pictures! biggrin.gif

Now i need to go and sulk for a month (because missed the Moon-Venus -Jupiter thing last week). See you during the Mars close encounter in October.

Just in case, plenty of Star Parties going on this weekend, due to the Full Moon/ Lantern Festival. Make sure you go out and join/gatecrash one! deepyu, going to climb which mountain?
Do update us with the events for shooting.

By the way, one of the reason why I ask about laptop shooting is that the basic remote control is sold for RM120, not cheap....

SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 15 2005, 03:22 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 15 2005, 01:43 PM)
5hours and still underexposed?? ohmy.gif i wonder wat setting and equipment u used.
I tried for about 2 hours..with ISO100 slide film and it turn up to be ok..not underexposed. maybe little bit overexposed.. biggrin.gif
I forgot what aperture I used. And that's one of the problem with film where digital already recorded all the detail in every JPEGs. I think around f16 with Kodak profesional PJA-100. It was a slight underexposed, so noise is visible.

I have a feeling that normal film like Fuji 100 that time might have different and stronger exposure despice same 5 hours and same aperture. It was really taking up lots of time to know the limits and character of each films... cry.gif

Can't wait to get my first digital version of star trail. biggrin.gif
SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 16 2005, 01:42 AM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 15 2005, 08:24 PM)
and of course not alone lar biggrin.gif me also afraid of darkness.. sweat.gif
Usually climb alone very interesting one le... can see and hear a lot of 'thing' one le... hahahaha...

Just kidding. Never alone la. I never climb that kind of mountain before... Do you need walky-talky?
SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 22 2005, 12:33 AM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 21 2005, 09:14 PM)
Wow, suddenly everybody's posting Moon shots......I'm in heaven!

i don't want to buy dSLR because i scared my pics turn out no good_then everyone say i'm lousy fotographer. If i get no so good camera, i can blame the camera.....hehe.
I just came back from JB for a wedding shots. I notice that the moon in JB is much clearer compare to what I see in KL/PJ. I think it is super hard to get clear shots of moon in KL/PJ... should be air dirty and too much light polution.

Too bad I did not bring tripod there...

By the way, do you guys think cable release is a must for astrophotography? Basically just need confirmation (and excusses) to spend the money. biggrin.gif
SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 23 2005, 11:38 AM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 22 2005, 10:52 AM)
Since i have the cable release i take all slow-shutter speed with the
release cable to prevent shake.film SLR so dont have any anti-shake lor.. biggrin.gif
Depend on wat pic u want to take if taking some long exposure astrophoto
dont think that cable release is a must. But if taking moon pics maybe
better if u have one..DLSR maybe no need at all..they got the IS.
err..can be a good excuse arr? biggrin.gif
Just tell me getting cable release is a must easier la... biggrin.gif

Anyway, most probably I am getting one la. RM120 is not really much compare to what I had spend. I guess cable release usually will be need with whatever of my shots on my new Manfrotto tripod.

Hope I did not make mistake in getting the 190Pro... Last time (film time) using 055C, no complait about stability. Hope 190Pro can do as good. tongue.gif

When I was testing the tripod at Manfrotto shops, I was wondering how the hell I managed to carry the 055C all the way last time along with my heavy camera bag.... Sometime even can walk about 5~8km. Now I remembered that I has a good friend helping me carrying and watching me shooting pictures... I just call him to thank him... Now no one helping me... must be careful on buying stuff.

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 22 2005, 11:17 AM)
Think of all that air polution is going into our lungs....cough, cough.  sweat.gif
If your fingers itchy to spend then enjoy lah. you should be able to find a use for it somehow. Maybe can use as emergency camera strap?
i think the cable release is a must only if you don't have a mirror lockup function in bulb mode. A bit silly to keep your finger on the shutter button for 30 minutes..... The cable release also may not help if you have a `clunky' mirror though, unless you use the lens cap trick.
I think my current 10D should have mirror lock in one of its custom functions if I remember well... I thought it is a default feature already...

Will get the cable release when I return to KL. Now in the North with only my 10D (no battery grip, so last 2 fingers dunno put where biggrin.gif ) along with my EF50 f1.4. I think I make mistake of not bringing the charger.... Not sure how long it can last...

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 22 2005, 11:29 AM)
haha..completely forgot bout tat! yaya u will need it to lock the shutter..
but tot last time u took for 5hrs? u SLR have the shutter lock up function?
yaya..dont go for EX S500..go for DSLR.. laugh.gif
Yup... It has mirror lock etc on EOS A2 (known as EOS 5 in Malaysia). Worst experinces was beaten by flies all over my body... and nearly (I think already) damaged the car engine by driving to the hills. The grasses are taller than my car. I think I had too much guts that time.

Also too much knocks on the bottom of engine I guess. The black oil was leaking after that and beyound repair... so have to change engine for RM800... Old car la... At least can upgrade that time 1.3cc to 1.5cc, not bad also... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 22 2005, 02:33 PM)
actually tat question is for TheVoIP..sorry to make u misunderstand.. biggrin.gif
yea..u should buy depends on ur need. no point buying without good
reason rite?..but if u double ur budget can get DLSR olredi wat.dont think about
tat 5d lar.. low-end DSLR can also.. drool.gif biggrin.gif
just joking lar..forget my words arr.. biggrin.gif
I agree with you. One should always spend on his needs la. No point over spend. I think I make full use of my gears... Initially ignore my 16-35, but recently use it heavily for most of my friends wedding shots. You know most chinese wedding are in crowded places... and even 50mm hard to use... And will need the 16-35 at least until Christmas... f2.8 is really a great things to have...

Only spend on those you need la... You will feel bad if you buy white elephant sitting there. I still have a expensive Hoya Super C-PL that I had bought RM330 in my drying cabinet.

QUOTE(March05 @ Sep 22 2005, 03:32 PM)
Trouble is u ppl spoil me already.  Low end dslr maybe not good enough to take good pics. A rotten fotographer like me will need help from highest end camera just to be able to take `reasonable' shots (just like playing pc games with cheat modes).
i think i'll start near the bottom (better for my wallet!) with a compact digicam and get the hang of it and see where it leads to. like TheVoIP said, "since i'm still new to digital....." if he's new, then i'm newer than new.
I am really new ma... Just bought my first dSLR in April this year...

I am having so much fun with it. Shooting without film and no need worrying about money/cost is really enjoyable. Some more can change ISO on the fly.... You have to go throught film to really appreaciate that...

If remember well, I met some astrophotography assoc people during a the camera festival. And one of them just bought a used 10D at really good price. I think maybe can get used 10D at less than RM3k? That will be great for value for money. biggrin.gif

Even you buy now... You should be 5 months newer than me only la... Same standard la... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TheVoIP: Sep 23 2005, 11:49 AM
SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 28 2005, 02:39 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Sep 27 2005, 06:09 PM)
Thanks for the explaination. biggrin.gif
Btw this is the andromeda's picture using small telescope.
no need to use HST to take this biggrin.gif
Wow... I am impressed!

Can normal consumer like us can really take this kind of pictures?

What is the equivalents of focal length (in mm) require to get this powerful shots? 200mm? 400mm?

0.0340sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:21 AM