QUOTE(Choostar @ Oct 13 2005, 05:29 PM)
Hello, allow me to introduce a group to the members here about the astronomy photography - Astrophotography Group of Malaysia..........
Woooaaa, here come the heavyweights!!!! Make way, make way!Astronomy Photography, Lunar Eclipse on 4 March 2007
Oct 13 2005, 05:47 PM
2,171 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(Choostar @ Oct 13 2005, 05:29 PM) Hello, allow me to introduce a group to the members here about the astronomy photography - Astrophotography Group of Malaysia.......... Woooaaa, here come the heavyweights!!!! Make way, make way! |
Oct 13 2005, 06:36 PM
You can bet I'll be there. USJ is my backyard lah. Can talk-talk plenty star crazy folks!
Oct 13 2005, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 13 2005, 08:36 PM) Mid November 2005? Hooray! March05, let's go together. Ya, we go show how the LYN Astrophoto Group (u lah) |
Oct 14 2005, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(deepyu @ Oct 14 2005, 10:51 AM) Nice to have u here Choostar.. deepyu, you've brought up the classic dilemma for any hobbiest in any field. What equipment to start off with? No single instrument can do everything you would like to indulge in.Mr.LKM....we definitely need the equatorial to do astrophoto and altaz mount alone cant do the job.. and telephoto is needed or not depends on your astrophoto field...... My opinion is a motor driven equatorial mount (reasonably accurate, of course) is the starter kit if anyone wants to do astrophotgraphy with an existing camera (digital or analog, doesn't matter). For those who don't have a camera, then they will need a telescope with motor drive of some sort and at least a webcam to do imaging on a tight budget. After that, the sky is the limit as far as equipment is concerned. Each design has its pros and cons, and the choice will depend on which aspect of astrophotgraphy you want to excel in. When you meet up with the members of the APGM you'll be dazzled by the array of equipment they have.............and enjoy yourself arguing over the selection. |
Oct 14 2005, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 14 2005, 05:12 PM) p/s: This is my longest post since I joined LYN I'm struck speechless, Mr.LKM! |
Oct 14 2005, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(Choostar @ Oct 14 2005, 03:46 PM) In APGM, we try to make the awareness that your existing photographic equipment might surprice you by few steps to snap celestial... in case of your fully understanding of own setup. Choostar, do u think I can catch some nice astropics with my new tiny Casio EX Z750? As u can see from my posts here, I've a long way to go.............my current goal is to capture a respectable shot of the moon with this digicam. Do u think it is possible? Or am I wasting my time? Nice to meeting and chatting with you guys here. Have a nice day. QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 14 2005, 05:34 PM) lol, it is quite hard for me to type so much in a short time because of my suck language. ... Well, u expressed yourself very well there. Obviously you've been doing plenty of research on the latest telescope equipment...... |
Oct 14 2005, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 14 2005, 05:58 PM) Hehe, I plan to invite you guys to observe using my telescope ( will be bought soon ) on the top of the Gunung Lambak at Kluang although it is just 500 metre high. deepyu, mountain climbing time! QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 14 2005, 05:58 PM) Anyone is interested in the plan of Astronomy.MY plan? You got my support. But i don't know how to run website lah. I only know how to kacau kacau. QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 14 2005, 05:58 PM) Don't feel sad with your camera, you can do it! ya, I CAN DO IT!....er i think....... Excuse me, I got to run to join some friends at star party tonight in the middle of KL. If got clouds, we do something else lah... |
Oct 15 2005, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 14 2005, 06:15 PM) STAR PARTY? Sabar sikit....you'll be hosting your own star party soon.......Anyway, last night was not very good for star gazing. Only look at the Moon, very funny, everybody wait for 20-30 minutes, then the Moon break cloud cover so all rush to take quick look through the telescopes for 30 secs, then wait again.......... but got plenty of time to chit chat lah. No chance to see Venus & Mars at all. The party was over at 10.30 pm. Driving back, I saw the Moon shining happily. This Moon lady very treacherous one. |
Oct 15 2005, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(deepyu @ Oct 15 2005, 11:55 AM) March05 wont be able to do close up of the moon. His DC got only 3x opt. zoom. Dat looks like the kind of moon shots i'm going to be limited to....The longest shutter speed will be 60s' rite March? So maybe you can take normal/wide angle shot of the moon..... This is what i can get at max optical zoom 3x (35mm equivalent is 114mm) ![]() plus a bit of digital zoom: ![]() These pics are cropped, no resizing. Obviously i can forget about closeups of the Moon with my Cassie. Choostar, not withstanding afocal photography (which is what i did for the Sun pic with a Solarscope - see post #189) and the common tricks in digital photoediting, are there any techniques favourable to compact digicams for astrophotography? Right now everyone is going great guns on DSLRS....... It seems that Astrophotography is only for the rich or for the Astronomy expert! QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 15 2005, 02:00 PM) I hope that you all can criticize me as much as you can to correct me... Sure can ah? u won't shoot back? |
Oct 15 2005, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 15 2005, 05:39 PM) I will use M16 to shoot back Aiyoyo, kena M16 eagle strike, i finish wor.Okay, Mr.LKM, no more digital zoom (bad boy, March05, bad boy), get very bad image. |
Oct 15 2005, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 15 2005, 08:09 PM) bad boy or play boy? u spy on me again ah? Tonite no Moon lady, rain rain so much. I'll catch up on my sleep instead......dream about 16" telescope. |
Oct 16 2005, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(Choostar @ Oct 15 2005, 11:47 PM) M16 in fact is not harmful at all -- M16 is a Messier Object with a popular name of Eagle Nebula! So no worry.. hah! ya, the M16 will blast u into a nebula...very dangerous. Stay away from Mr.LKM, our next 007. QUOTE(Choostar @ Oct 15 2005, 11:47 PM) March05, where shall I access to see your Solar pict?...... See page 10 of this thread, post #189 QUOTE(Choostar @ Oct 15 2005, 11:47 PM) The photographer applied a DCL28......... I obviously can't fit the DCL28 on my Cassie, no thread on the lens. But while i have been exploring afocal photography (mainly for terrestrial objects), my main interest is really to see how far i can go wih a compact digicam without using any adapters - just the integrated lens. |
Oct 16 2005, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 15 2005, 09:50 PM) Before you dream about 16" telescope, do you have enough place to put this giant? I also got a palace in my dreams, can put this giant on one of the towers. U all can stay with me anytime, got 100 rooms for guests............hope i don't get a nightmare, instead turn into a haunted castle |
Oct 16 2005, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 16 2005, 06:19 PM) .....You have so many dreams...... u know the song......"to dream, the impossible dream"....... QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 16 2005, 06:19 PM) The M16 I said is not the nebula |
Oct 17 2005, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Oct 16 2005, 10:02 PM) The sky is so cloudy.... i had nothing to do with it, so don't shoot me, ok? 30th October is rapidly approaching! |
Oct 17 2005, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(CompMac @ Oct 17 2005, 02:37 PM) There's an eclipse of the moon tonight at moonrise. Hey right on, bro.Only a small part of the moon will be in the umbra, though, so I guess most ppl will not even notice the event. Are you going to do some shooting tonite, CompMac? U're our resident Moon photographer! deepyu, can u think of any hill in KL with a clear viewpoint of the East Horizon to try some shooting? We only have about 3.5 hours to prepare loh! |
Oct 17 2005, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(CompMac @ Oct 17 2005, 03:41 PM) .....I'm keeping my fingers crossed... no, no, don't keep them crossed, keep them on the shutter button! Mr.LKM. are u ready down in Kluang? |
Oct 17 2005, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(wKkaY @ Oct 17 2005, 05:23 PM) Sky's looking really good here in Melbourne.. I'll try to get a shot. Way to go, wKkay. Now we're international!Any luck yet, anybody? Silly me, everyone's outside now except me, still stuck in the office..... |
Oct 17 2005, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(wKkaY @ Oct 17 2005, 09:03 PM) During a partial eclipse, is the EV of the moon lower? Crap. I think so. My photos should be underexposed then. The moon was in the penumbra during the height of the eclipse, so definitely the EV is lower. Maybe you can ask the shop to push the film a couple of stops for you. But then the rest of your shots will be over......It was beautifool from here, the weather suddenly changed for the better at about 7.30 pm, the moon came out from behind the clouds and put on a jolly good show! Even Venus came out to see what the fuss was all about! How did you do in Butterworth, CompMac? I fear deepyu & Mr.LKM may have missed the action; they were last online at 10 plus this morning...........still no sign of them now. |
Oct 17 2005, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(wKkaY @ Oct 17 2005, 09:59 PM) Ahh yes, and Mars was peeking from below Didn't notice Mars, had no view of the horizon.......my right contact lens fell out as I was rubbing my eye. ...... Did you recover the lost contact? Hope it was a disposable type...... Anyway, here are my shots:- First, how the eclipse would appear to the naked eye: ![]() Eclipse at 8.08 pm in Klang Valley. ![]() Almost out of the Umbra at 8.48 pm ![]() Eerie Moon ![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0335sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:19 AM |