Astronomy Photography, Lunar Eclipse on 4 March 2007
March05
Sep 7 2006, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 7 2006, 06:32 PM) What time will you start your observation tonight? The Moon is up, the sky is hazy after the evening shower here in Subang Jaya, but it's better than having an overcast sky! Will start observation at 12:30 am. But I intend to do a trial run with the camera at 11.00 pm - it's on the charger now. Keeping my fingers crossed. Good luck, guys!
March05
Sep 7 2006, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Sep 7 2006, 09:47 PM) If you are, please take a photo from 12:40 and then every 5 minutes. I will only start mine at 2.15AM.  Will do so if the weather holds. Meanwhile, my test run is okay. Sky still hazy, but I'm getting pretty good resolution anyway. Check this out:
My streamyx connection is acting up again........
March05
Sep 7 2006, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 7 2006, 11:32 PM) What equipments do you use again? Info's in the EXIF. Unfortunately, LYN has stripped the data as usual. I'll try to put a pic on photobucket instead. But the streamyx broadband is now narrowband (worse than dialup); curses!
March05
Sep 8 2006, 12:17 AM
Finally got it uploaded to photobucket. Took more than 30 minutes to log in! http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b349/Mar...41hrs060907.jpg
March05
Sep 8 2006, 02:12 AM
Starting of Penumbral at 0052 hours.
Eclipse becoming visible at 0139 hours.
March05
Sep 8 2006, 02:28 AM
The haze is playing havoc with the exposures......
this one at 0212 hours.
March05
Sep 8 2006, 02:36 AM
The eclipse is now very evident to the naked eye. And we're even not at umbral contact yet! Mr.LKM, it is not easy to keep shooting at regular intervals......  The haze and clouds are interfering...
March05
Sep 8 2006, 03:24 AM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 8 2006, 02:54 AM) Yeah the interval thingy....I've since set my cam on intervalometer mode. Will go down later to check the shots. I'm shooting these at 7.2 MP and downscaling them to 800x600 (that's 0.48 MP). The problem I'm facing is getting the exposures correct. The haze keeps changing the lighting levels and I have to constantly fiddle with the speed and ISO settings to get it consistent. This means I can't concentrate on the interval.... Near the time of greatest eclipse....0249 hours.
BTW, I'm getting all messed up with the clock. In my post #941 (2:36 am), I said we were not at umbral contact, but umbral contact was already over at 2:05 am. My bad.
March05
Sep 8 2006, 04:05 AM
Last post for tonite (or before dawn). Out of the umbra at 3:37 am.
Saying goodbye to the biggest Full Moon of 2006.......
March05
Sep 9 2006, 01:48 AM
Finally got my eclipse sequence done:
Sorry, no time to add in the time of each frame. This post has been edited by March05: Sep 9 2006, 01:55 AM
March05
Sep 9 2006, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 9 2006, 02:33 AM) Nice one March. Would love to see the bigger sized pic. I tried to upload a medium sized one but both LYN and photobucket bounced me out. Only 6000x400 pixels also cannot. Imagine if I tried to upload the full sized one.......... Need to find another free image host. Any suggestions or introductions, please?
March05
Sep 9 2006, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 9 2006, 12:16 PM) imageshack? Would really like to keep a copy of that sequence. Thanks! Done, didn't know that it was so easy.
March05
Sep 9 2006, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(blueye @ Sep 9 2006, 03:46 PM) me will be here reading until i can get a better stuff... There will always be better stuff.....the idea is to do your best with what you have, and to enjoy the process of photography (in my case, plus feeding the mosquitoes as well!) BTW it is possible to shoot with binoculars using an adapter, but I think not much point due to the limited aperture and short focal length. Binoculars are meant to be a portable, direct eye viewing aid.
March05
Sep 10 2006, 12:02 PM
I've reworked the orientation of the frames to approximate the path of the moon moving across the Earth's shadow.  BTW,the moon moves right to left...... Mr.LKM, the original full resolution shots are rather large for me to upload - over 260Mbs (~90 frames) and frankly, quite crabby before correcting for color, and contrast - no thanks to the haze.
March05
Sep 10 2006, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Sep 10 2006, 02:04 PM) I am too lazy to do that animation now.  May I be granted the use of both of the lunar sequence images? Can lah.  But I think there are much better shots out there...... QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Sep 10 2006, 02:04 PM) How did the Earth shadown move on Moon? This simulated animation by Larry Koehn of Nashville, Tennessee can explain better: As shown on www.spaceweather.com
March05
Sep 13 2006, 02:15 PM
blueye, the binoculars are very useful in astronomy because it is not as limited in viewing angle as a telescope. Take a look at the Pleiades through it, and you will enjoy it better than through most telescopes. Likewise, a lot of other star clusters are more impressive with binoculars than through the limited view of a telescope.
And if you want to do some comet hunting, binoculars are better.
Think of it this way. Binoculars are similar to the wide angle lens on your SLR camera. Just because you have a 300mm telephoto lens does not mean you don't need the 28mm lens anymore.
I will never go out star gazing without my binoculars, even though I sometimes go without a telescope.
The CCD is merely an imager, and with new developments in CCD/CMOS technology, we will change our methods in using them for astrophotography. But nothing beats seeing astro objects with your own eyes. Like seeing a real sunset, compared to looking at a picture of it.
March05
Sep 14 2006, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(DAViS @ Sep 14 2006, 01:58 PM) Not advertising dude, most likely an information to the hobbyist which appreciating this stuff that they have asked me to bring in. Do you know what CCD chip it uses? Unless it has a much improved sensor over the 840K it would not be worth trying out. On paper, the 99 fps does look impressive.......
March05
Sep 15 2006, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Sep 14 2006, 11:02 PM) Once I got my soldering tool, I will modify my 840K. Do you guys have any idea what type of soldering gun is good enough? If you just plan to do this one project, I guess any cheap soldering iron/gun will do. I just picked up one from the new MYDIN hypermart in USJ for RM12.90. But have you got all the components for the mod yet? I'm curious about the 99 fps versus the 60 fps of the old 840K. This could be quite good for reduction of blurring due to upper atmospheric turbulence. But is it at the expense of higher noise levels? The specification for low light sensitivity unfortunately still seems to be the same @<1 lux - which could mean it's the same CCD with a different DSP. Any recommended links, DAViS?
March05
Sep 15 2006, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(DAViS @ Sep 15 2006, 12:18 PM) This website said is the same thang... I wonder where I read is not the same. It's the same CCD (Sony ICX098)with different DSP to enable the higher fps. Check out the link here: http://www.astrovid.com/prod_details.php?pid=50However, the eyepiece adapter for this seems to be slighter cheaper than for the previous 840K. For those who are still looking for the discontinued 840K, this will be the new model to acquire. Your problem is, DAViS, you have been TOO successful in selling the 840K in LYN. I think everyone who really needs this Philips Webcam has already bought one from you! Maybe blueye and julchin_09 might be interested? This new Philips is an extremely good webcam for the money!
March05
Sep 16 2006, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Sep 15 2006, 10:08 PM) March05, could you help me to make a adapter for 840k?  You still don't have one yet? I thot you got it already eons ago.