(WTA) Help me to decide please, Ps3 or xbox 360

TSeazea1
post Apr 2 2011, 02:58 PM, updated 15y ago

Hello guys/gals...Could u plse help me to decide which console should i buy...ps3 or xbox 360..b4 this i used to own a xbox 360 for 2 years until my wife sold it bcoz my son was taking Upsr lol i enjoyed a lot of their games, and the controller is great foi fps games...ps3 i never own yet but like their exclusive games franchises such as gt, killzone, uncharted, motorstorm etc...but the major drawback is the ds3 controller is not comparable to 360 when playing fps (knew this bcoz used to own ps2)...actually the issue of ds3 is the major factor that make me undecided otherwise i would definitely go for ps3

This post has been edited by eazea1: Apr 2 2011, 03:02 PM
Nam226
post Apr 2 2011, 03:06 PM

110 posts

With this adapter, your problem is solved! tongue.gif http://gear.ign.com/articles/955/955499p1.html
TSeazea1
post Apr 2 2011, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(Nam226 @ Apr 2 2011, 03:06 PM)
With this adapter, your problem is solved! tongue.gif http://gear.ign.com/articles/955/955499p1.html
Thanx bro, thats a great info but where do i find one in m'sia and how much ? also got to find a wired xbox 360 controller too
SUSsuperTB
post Apr 2 2011, 03:24 PM

109 posts

what so special about xbox controler?
TSeazea1
post Apr 2 2011, 03:32 PM

QUOTE(superTB @ Apr 2 2011, 03:24 PM)
what so special about xbox controler?
Its more suited to fps games due to its egornomically design/analogue thumbsticks placement/trigger buttons...at least frm my points of view bro but i understand that different people has different preferences smile.gif
SUSsuperTB
post Apr 2 2011, 03:34 PM

109 posts

cool...
where to buy that adapter!!!!!

hope it will improve my black ops skill

cannavaro
post Apr 2 2011, 05:22 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Get a PS3 since you already experienced the 360.
Personally, the controller is a petty issue.
RAMChYLD
post Apr 3 2011, 01:26 AM

1,715 posts

Get both! biggrin.gif

Seriously tho, here's the question I normally ask back to people asking me which is better to buy:
- What are the game genres you like best?
- Which console has more exclusives that you are thinking of playing?

And here are extra questions for you:
- Do you miss or have nostalgic thoughts of your old 360?
- Do you still have your old games, even just one?

If answer 3 or 4 is yes, then go for 360.

If not, Q1 and Q2 are research questions. Find which consoles have exclusives that you feel is more worthy to you or have more games in the genre you want, then go for it. Although they're tricky since most games are now multi-platform and available for both 360 and PS3 (hence the joke platform PS360). The only difference between them is that PS3 online multiplayer will not be able to see 360 players and vice-versa. So research carefully before you make your move.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 3 2011, 01:29 AM
GNPlamo
post Apr 3 2011, 09:12 AM

i owned a PS3 and i can say you wont regret it.PS3 exclusives such as GOD OF WAR 3 is da BOMB i tell ya.
but if you can really afford it, buy both for the ultimate experience! LOL
afag
post Apr 3 2011, 07:12 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 3 2011, 01:26 AM)
Get both! biggrin.gif

Seriously tho, here's the question I normally ask back to people asking me which is better to buy:
- What are the game genres you like best?
- Which console has more exclusives that you are thinking of playing?

And here are extra questions for you:
- Do you miss or have nostalgic thoughts of your old 360?
- Do you still have your old games, even just one?

If answer 3 or 4 is yes, then go for 360.

If not, Q1 and Q2 are research questions. Find which consoles have exclusives that you feel is more worthy to you or have more games in the genre you want, then go for it. Although they're tricky since most games are now multi-platform and available for both 360 and PS3 (hence the joke platform PS360). The only difference between them is that PS3 online multiplayer will not be able to see 360 players and vice-versa. So research carefully before you make your move.
then, go get wii too tongue.gif
RAMChYLD
post Apr 4 2011, 12:25 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(GNPlamo @ Apr 3 2011, 09:12 AM)
i owned a PS3 and i can say you wont regret it.PS3 exclusives such as GOD OF WAR 3 is da BOMB i tell ya.
but if you can really afford it, buy both for the ultimate experience! LOL
Or do what I did - buy one (almost) every year and don't splash money on all games. Got my Wii in early 2008, my PS3 in late 2009, and now I got my 360. But I only have three games for the Wii, two games for the PS3 (actually 4 - another two were PSN downloads) and now three for 360.

QUOTE(afag @ Apr 3 2011, 07:12 PM)
then, go get wii too  tongue.gif
thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 6 2011, 10:43 AM
diversity
post Apr 5 2011, 02:47 AM

1,184 posts

I used to be like you, indecisive, but I chose PS3 and have never regretted before. D3 is quite good for me, just a matter of getting the hang of it.
wcliang
post Apr 5 2011, 12:40 PM

585 posts

get xbox360 and kinect. so can enjoy and play together with family! ^^
qudeenz360
post Apr 5 2011, 12:42 PM

5,761 posts

buy 3ds
gundamalpha
post Apr 5 2011, 02:49 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

When people asks which one should get for RPG then you'll hear "PS3! 360 is a FPS machine". When people ask about which one to get for FPS then you'll hear "PS3! DS3 is much better, and so many FPS including Killzone". When people asks about which one have better choices in general the you'll hear "PS3! 360 sucks and I can do real sports and play hardcore games rather than on the Wii". When people asks about motion sensing games then you'll hear "PS3! You won't regret!" So basically PS3 wins hands down no matter what you are asking.
PhoenixByte
post Apr 5 2011, 05:54 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

TS, ask ur kids la what they want to play smile.gif
emy_xvidia
post Apr 6 2011, 05:56 AM

2,735 posts

^Old man gotta play too. sleep.gif
RAMChYLD
post Apr 6 2011, 09:58 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Apr 6 2011, 05:56 AM)
^Old man gotta play too.  sleep.gif
Us old men's gotta lepas stress too bro rclxms.gif

And of course, not all games are for kids. You wouldn't want to let your kids play Catherine, would you? drool.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 6 2011, 09:59 AM
chalabala
post Apr 7 2011, 01:37 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 6 2011, 09:58 AM)
Us old men's gotta lepas stress too bro  rclxms.gif

And of course, not all games are for kids. You wouldn't want to let your kids play Catherine, would you?  drool.gif
true that~
GNPlamo
post Apr 7 2011, 11:25 PM

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 4 2011, 12:25 AM)
Or do what I did - buy one (almost) every year and don't splash money on all games. Got my Wii in early 2008, my PS3 in late 2009, and now I got my 360. But I only have three games for the Wii, two games for the PS3 (actually 4 - another two were PSN downloads) and now three for 360.
thumbup.gif
bro..i like your style la cool2.gif rclxms.gif
PhoenixByte
post Apr 8 2011, 11:52 AM

798 posts

if u suck at fps...u suck..ctrller is only ur mind making excuses smile.gif
jinlive
post Apr 8 2011, 11:19 PM

mind i ask, what is the market price for ps 3 160gb and 320gb? I would like to compare the price between MY and AUS.
Cheers,
Nawar
post Apr 10 2011, 09:21 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Apr 5 2011, 02:49 PM)
When people asks which one should get for RPG then you'll hear "PS3! 360 is a FPS machine". When people ask about which one to get for FPS then you'll hear "PS3! DS3 is much better, and so many FPS including Killzone". When people asks about which one have better choices in general the you'll hear "PS3! 360 sucks and I can do real sports and play hardcore games rather than on the Wii". When people asks about motion sensing games then you'll hear "PS3! You won't regret!" So basically PS3 wins hands down no matter what you are asking.
hmm... sounds bias to me... this is the 2nd time if im not mistaken
chekyo
post Apr 10 2011, 10:23 AM

257 posts

PS3 bro! haha
airtincoke
post Apr 19 2011, 10:22 PM

QUOTE(wcliang @ Apr 5 2011, 12:40 PM)
get xbox360 and kinect. so can enjoy and play together with family!  ^^
yup..if you are a family man (what I mean is to hang out with ur family often in the living room, it's better for u to have xbox360 + kinect..It's real fun..you will get sweat as well bro..I owned both and I do prefer to play XBOX with kinect, unfortunately games still not many in the market. The color was awesome and it will be much more better if u owned HDMI tv which I'm sure u r affordable to have one. nod.gif

When you selecting avatar for family members, from there you can laugh to death..LOL (I remembered our time thumbup.gif )..We tried as hard to make sure the avatar looks alike we are..It was fun bro.. rclxms.gif

Just to share my opinion. thumbup.gif
aiyish
post Apr 19 2011, 11:53 PM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

Go home and be a family man.
neogeocdz
post Apr 20 2011, 01:53 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Apr 5 2011, 02:49 PM)
yawn.gif

Added on April 20, 2011, 1:53 pm
QUOTE(Nawar @ Apr 10 2011, 09:21 AM)
hmm... sounds bias to me... this is the 2nd time if im not mistaken
No wor, sounds like biblical truth to me

This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Apr 20 2011, 01:53 PM
lilko
post Apr 20 2011, 03:49 PM

95 posts

I dun think we shud let kids play game these days though... it limits their imagination.. lol..like what kazuma said in yakuza 3... bring thm go park and play instead...but y u sell xbox? just lock it away ma.. haha..

anyway i think xbox controller really is better than the DS one.. yala ur skill is important but if u are newbie it really helps or ur xbox player since the start... u will feel its more stable and firm... DS tends to be abit loose.. hard to aim.. it takes quite some time taking use but i still dun really like it... The gamepad is actually more suitable for RPG and others.. Definitely not shooting.. but Xbox pad is too firm for fighting games... finger pain...

graphic and everything is omost same unless u using SD Tv where PS3 performs better.. well, i own both to play all their exclusive games..

This post has been edited by lilko: Apr 20 2011, 03:55 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 21 2011, 12:49 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(lilko @ Apr 20 2011, 03:49 PM)
I dun think we shud let kids play game these days though... it limits their imagination.. lol..like what kazuma said in yakuza 3... bring thm go park and play instead...but y u sell xbox? just lock it away ma.. haha..

anyway i think xbox controller really is better than the DS one.. yala ur skill is important but if u are newbie it really helps or ur xbox player since the start... u will feel its more stable and firm... DS tends to be abit loose.. hard to aim.. it takes quite some time taking use but i still dun really like it... The gamepad is actually more suitable for RPG and others.. Definitely not shooting.. but Xbox pad is too firm for fighting games... finger pain...

graphic and everything is omost same unless u using SD Tv where PS3 performs better.. well, i own both to play all their exclusive games..
I agree that the 360 controller is better for fighting games. The layout is much more natural.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 21 2011, 01:01 AM
krazee_k
post Apr 21 2011, 07:43 AM

255 posts

just decide based on exclusive games on each system, easy peasy. its all about the games anyway, specs are overrated.

Side note. As a responsible parent n if u have kids around, go for a wii for safer content, hehe. Don't want them to talk nonsense n learn adult things based on the games u play right?

This post has been edited by krazee_k: Apr 21 2011, 08:59 AM
johniee
post Apr 21 2011, 05:37 PM

I prefer PS3, its powerful than xbox360 and I like more the ps3 controller. smile.gif
PhoenixByte
post Apr 22 2011, 04:46 AM

798 posts

bring them to the park..give them a ball or a bike biggrin.gif
nakata101
post Apr 22 2011, 06:19 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(johniee @ Apr 21 2011, 05:37 PM)
I prefer PS3, its powerful than xbox360 and I like more the ps3 controller. smile.gif
PS3 is powerful than xbox360? U just register a new acc to post a message like this ???
krazee_k
post Apr 22 2011, 08:55 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Apr 22 2011, 04:46 AM)
bring them to the park..give them a ball or a bike biggrin.gif
While ur at it, teach them to fly a real kite and play konda-Kondi too! Hmmm.... The good old days when we didn't need a Wii to get fit whistling.gif
PhoenixByte
post Apr 22 2011, 08:59 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(krazee_k @ Apr 22 2011, 08:55 AM)
While ur at it, teach them to fly a real kite and play konda-Kondi too! Hmmm.... The good old days when we didn't need a Wii to get fit  whistling.gif
then ask the wife to look after them playing while u go back home n play those video games u bought laugh.gif
sagenaruto
post Apr 22 2011, 09:25 PM

Ps3 ftw. For fps, get wireless keyboard and mouse for ultimate experience. But, hardly to ignore it's also BR player capable which I love so much watching HD movies on my Bravia.
ExCrIpT
post Apr 23 2011, 02:30 AM

1,672 posts

most of the fps games are available for both consoles anyway so one can no longer say if u like fps go for xbox.

personally there's more console exclusive games for ps3 so i'll say go for ps3.

u like fps, ps3 can play those games too
iguana_dude_619
post Apr 23 2011, 08:53 AM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

QUOTE(johniee @ Apr 21 2011, 05:37 PM)
/ktard greeting
sup dupe yawn.gif

Added on April 23, 2011, 9:00 am
QUOTE(sagenaruto @ Apr 22 2011, 09:25 PM)
Ps3 ftw. For fps, get wireless keyboard and mouse for ultimate experience. But, hardly to ignore it's also BR player capable which I love so much watching HD movies on my Bravia.

PC also can do all of that whistling.gif
so
PC FTW!!

This post has been edited by iguana_dude_619: Apr 23 2011, 09:00 AM
ExCrIpT
post Apr 23 2011, 12:08 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Apr 23 2011, 08:53 AM)
/ktard greeting
sup dupe  yawn.gif

Added on April 23, 2011, 9:00 am

PC also can do all of that  whistling.gif
so
PC FTW!!
did you not read the title before posting?
Modernwarfare2 Nooblet
post Apr 23 2011, 12:46 PM

179 posts

Depends. Like my area I need to travel 60km to a store that sells xbox games.....so I got ps3 since I juz go Sony center buy.
nakata101
post Apr 23 2011, 08:48 PM

2,423 posts

Get Xbox360, PS3 PSN server down 2 days ad..... whistling.gif laugh.gif
sjneow
post Apr 24 2011, 10:45 AM

82 posts

And pay RM200 a year to play online biggrin.gif
nakata101
post Apr 24 2011, 03:02 PM

2,423 posts

QUOTE(sjneow @ Apr 24 2011, 10:45 AM)
And pay RM200 a year to play online biggrin.gif
No no...u have been chop!!Price around rm150 only now... tongue.gif but better service than PSN+ which also have to pay for around rm130. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nakata101: Apr 24 2011, 03:03 PM
ExCrIpT
post Apr 24 2011, 09:45 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Apr 24 2011, 03:02 PM)
No no...u have been chop!!Price around rm150 only now... tongue.gif but better service than PSN+ which also have to pay for around rm130.  laugh.gif
?? PSN have to pay? i don't remember paying for anything for playing ps 3 online except for buying games..u sure?
xxboxx
post Apr 24 2011, 10:23 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

PSN and PSN+ is different service, i presume..
y3ivan
post Apr 25 2011, 02:51 PM

502 posts

PSN is free
PSN+ is paid service ~ RM130-140 (bundle discount)

XBL silver is free
XBL Gold is paid service ~ Rm 150 (sales 60% to 70% off)
wcliang
post Apr 25 2011, 05:36 PM

585 posts

wat happened to PSN?
nakata101
post Apr 26 2011, 09:26 AM

2,423 posts

QUOTE(wcliang @ Apr 25 2011, 05:36 PM)
wat happened to PSN?
PSN hacked!! Hacked by professional HACKER!!! laugh.gif
PhoenixByte
post Apr 26 2011, 11:40 AM

798 posts

dun tok tok too much..nanti this thread kena lock @_@
gundamalpha
post Apr 26 2011, 12:02 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

PSN is not hacked, PSN IS NOT HACKED!
azsace
post Apr 29 2011, 06:36 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Apr 26 2011, 12:02 PM)
PSN is not hacked, PSN IS NOT HACKED!
Dude.. the truth is.. PSN was compromised and hacked... read it here

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/games...twork-hack-sony

Anyway, just get the PS3...

terryfu
post Apr 29 2011, 09:31 PM

514 posts

Well hack or no hack, get PS3.
eyedeal
post May 1 2011, 09:22 PM

107 posts

wanna ask here.. in terms of long term expenditure.. which one would be the better choice? wii or ps3?
sjneow
post May 1 2011, 11:10 PM

82 posts

if you are not interested in playing new games, you can get wii. there will be barely any game coming out for it now, nintendo is announcing their next console.
eyedeal
post May 1 2011, 11:14 PM

107 posts

and wanna know what's the difference between modified wii and the original version? is there any PS3 modified set?
smokymcpot
post May 2 2011, 01:25 PM

1,171 posts

Get a PS3 and get this ( http://www.product-reviews.net/2010/09/20/...eyboard-mouse/)

This adapter let's you use your keyboard and mouse to play with your PS3 biggrin.gif

Another reason to get a PS3 is at least the games have second hand value unlike the Xbox... In Malaysia, there are more people having PS3 than xbox.... As you can see in the games section in the garage sales, not much people sell xbox stuff as they are not much people using it.... And also one thing, playing online is free biggrin.gif
azsace
post May 2 2011, 01:52 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(eyedeal @ May 1 2011, 11:14 PM)
and wanna know what's the difference between modified wii and the original version? is there any PS3 modified set?
Nowadays.. wii, xbox360 n ps3 got modified...

Y u wanna get wii... since wii 2 HD is out next year (2012)...

Get PS3... just play ori laa...

If u wanna buy now.. ps3..
if u wanna buy in 2012.. get nintendo 2 HD.. heheheh

This post has been edited by azsace: May 2 2011, 02:00 PM
iguana_dude_619
post May 2 2011, 03:51 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(smokymcpot @ May 2 2011, 01:25 PM)
Get a PS3 and get this ( http://www.product-reviews.net/2010/09/20/...eyboard-mouse/)

This adapter let's you use your keyboard and mouse to play with your PS3 biggrin.gif

Another reason to get a PS3 is at least the games have second hand value unlike the Xbox... In Malaysia, there are more people having PS3 than xbox.... As you can see in the games section in the garage sales, not much people sell xbox stuff as they are not much people using it.... And also one thing, playing online is free biggrin.gif
how to play if the server is still down whistling.gif whistling.gif
eyedeal
post May 2 2011, 04:35 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(azsace @ May 2 2011, 01:52 PM)
Nowadays.. wii, xbox360 n ps3 got modified...

Y u wanna get wii... since wii 2 HD is out next year (2012)...

Get PS3... just play ori laa...

If u wanna buy now.. ps3..
if u wanna buy in 2012.. get nintendo 2 HD.. heheheh
thanks!!

still pondering on the continous budget needed after purchasing.. kinda nice to have original all the time but dont think can sustain for long.. huhu.. budget maa..

nway yup2 now thinking of ps3 rather than wii..
iguana_dude_619
post May 2 2011, 05:34 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(eyedeal @ May 2 2011, 04:35 PM)
thanks!!

still pondering on the continous budget needed after purchasing.. kinda nice to have original all the time but dont think can sustain for long.. huhu.. budget maa..

nway yup2 now thinking of ps3 rather than wii..
buy PC la.. games on steam is very cheap when promo time
60-90% discount shocking.gif shocking.gif price $5.99-15.99 ~ RM19-50
console games where can get that cheap hmm.gif
just need to blame TM for slow internet service mad.gif

but starting budget to building a gaming rig is RM2000 doh.gif
+ servers won't go down very long unlike console, nanti hackers antar viruses. dont pissed off the beasts until devs KO sweat.gif
++ all games bought on steam are cloud based
smokymcpot
post May 2 2011, 05:52 PM

1,171 posts

But, pc games you got to consider about the ping and connection as it is not as stable compared to console network.

0.0386sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:48 PM