Credit Cards Places to use MasterCard PayPass and Visa payWave, It's rare indeed

TScannavaro
post Mar 31 2011, 06:10 PM, updated 15y ago

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

MasterCard PayPass
Visa payWave

I fancy paypass and paywave despite knowing the risk behind this contactless payment system. It's really convenient and fast. Unfortunately, not many merchants use it, and even when you see those who do; most of the time it doesn't work! doh.gif

Let's share our experience, or should I say start a list.

PayPass:
TESCO, Mutiara Damansara
-Tried many times, the cashier always say 'rosak'.

New Zealand Naturals, The Curve
-2 successful purchases so far, and that was quite a while back. I'd like to think that it still works.

payWave:
Baskin Robbins, The Curve
-Got to use it only once, during the last 2 or 3 visits however the cashier said the wave terminal is not working

GSC 1Utama/GSC Tropicana Mall, concessionaire counter dedicated for EON GSC card members
-Works all the time! Strangely though the cashier always ask for the card instead of letting you 'wave' it yourself.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 31 2011, 06:48 PM

52,874 posts

Visa Wave:
All Carrefour

chemistry
post Mar 31 2011, 06:51 PM

3,064 posts

Never have done a single successful wave at KFC.
Either offline or rosak.
hye
post Mar 31 2011, 07:33 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

There's a VISA Paywave gate @ KLIA Express in KL Sentral.
Never see anyone use it nor any of my cards are VISA Paywave compatible so can't say anything.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 31 2011, 09:39 PM

52,874 posts

For those holding MBB2 AMEX/Visa, the Visa does not come with PayWave or Visa Wave capability. Cannot try also. laugh.gif

I'm holding my MBB Visa Petronas that comes with PayWave but seldom use that feature also.
Gen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 09:40 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I also have never used the wave feature before. Even at KFC, they would insert my card into the terminal.

Click here to see video on pickpoketting your info from your wave and pay pass credit cards.

whiteteeth
post Mar 31 2011, 10:12 PM

last time i went to singapore Universal studio. the cashier saw my MBB Visa Petronas with payWave, but tried many times and fail.

end up swap with machine.
TScannavaro
post Apr 1 2011, 11:34 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 31 2011, 06:51 PM)
Never have done a single successful wave at KFC.
Either offline or rosak.
I don't see the paypass terminal anymore at the KFC outlets that I frequent to. Even the logo is no longer at the entrance.
Last time I did send them a few complaints via email regarding their paypass issue, but with no positive results.

What about KFC Suria KLCC, do they still accept paypass?
chemistry
post Apr 2 2011, 12:38 AM

3,064 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Apr 1 2011, 11:34 AM)
I don't see the paypass terminal anymore at the KFC outlets that I frequent to. Even the logo is no longer at the entrance.
Last time I did send them a few complaints via email regarding their paypass issue, but with no positive results.

After so many times of frustration, I no more look for PayPass device at counter. Instead I am more concerned with cc acceptance. Many KFC outlets have faulty cc terminals.
wshoh
post Apr 4 2011, 01:31 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Apr 1 2011, 11:34 AM)

I use my DAMC on Sunday for the 5% KFC Sunday rebate tongue.gif
Not the kind of food I would usually eat on weekdays (or frequently) so it suits me.

The Suria KLCC KFC has been relocated to the part of the mall where A&W used to be - still under renovation as of 31/3/2011. Never had success with PayPass when it was located opposite Swatch at the Centre Court area - they always swiped my card.

yflai1
post Apr 5 2011, 05:46 PM

152 posts

This is one dead over-hyped technology that didn't really catch on.
Anyway, the time taken to do the transaction is few seconds faster than slotting into the machine and signing the transaction slip if it ever worked.

For that matter, I just stopped trying even when I see the dongle for it.
wodenus
post Apr 9 2011, 06:15 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(yflai1 @ Apr 5 2011, 05:46 PM)
This is one dead over-hyped technology that didn't really catch on.

It was too insecure anyway tongue.gif

unknowmaster
post Apr 9 2011, 09:06 PM

376 posts

tried to use it at giant a few days back. the cashier said the machine is not for used. they will swipe but not use the machine ...
=.= lol I got this assumptions that the machine is "for displayed only".

yflai1
post Apr 10 2011, 02:03 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Apr 9 2011, 06:15 PM)
It was too insecure anyway tongue.gif
Hence, the limit cap which really beats the purpose of having a CC
MsKeane
post Jun 26 2011, 04:29 PM

14 posts

Sounds good, should try one day with my VISA
celaw
post Jul 10 2011, 10:12 PM

1,263 posts

MasterCard®PayPass™

List of PayPass merchants in Malaysia

Tesco hypermarket
Giant Hypermarket
Starbucks
Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf
MPH bookshops
BhP petrol stations
Secret Recipe
KLIA limousine service

Source: http://www.mastercard.com/sea/personal/en/...d/malaysia.html

This post has been edited by celaw: Jul 10 2011, 10:13 PM
denzuke76
post Jul 15 2011, 12:24 AM

32 posts

Here's a bonus to the benefits of Paywave or near-field RF:
It is possible to program the PayWave card to act as a door access for Samsung keyless door systems.

In Korea, the GS24 card which is used on the MRT, bus, convenience store, and even payphone just by contact.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxL4WAn6bdY
ben83
post Jul 15 2011, 09:25 AM

IT & GADGETS ELITE SPECIALIST
1,602 posts

QUOTE(denzuke76 @ Jul 15 2011, 12:24 AM)
Here's a bonus to the benefits of Paywave or near-field RF:
It is possible to program the PayWave card to act as a door access for Samsung keyless door systems.

In Korea, the GS24 card which is used on the MRT, bus, convenience store, and even payphone just by contact.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxL4WAn6bdY
Yes, I had been using CIMB WMC Paypass feature as my house door access since last year.

This post has been edited by ben83: Jul 15 2011, 09:25 AM
41LY45
post Dec 22 2011, 07:44 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

Any Starbucks or Tea Leaf outlet with Paypass bro?

It's alive again thanks to Google Wallet.
Hamsom
post Jul 21 2016, 01:34 PM

447 posts

5 years later...i think were catching up now.
Banks are changing to paywave or something.
I suppose the same thing?

Anyone tried recently?
ooice
post Jul 21 2016, 06:43 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Hamsom @ Jul 21 2016, 01:34 PM)
5 years later...i think were catching up now.
Banks are changing to paywave or something.
I suppose the same thing?

Anyone tried recently?
You can find Paywave device in most AEON, AEON BIG, Jaya Grocers, Village Grocers and McDonalds stores. Easy and fast.

Currently McDonalds will give free McFreeze if you spend more than $10 and pay thru PayWave.
Hamsom
post Jul 21 2016, 09:10 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(ooice @ Jul 21 2016, 06:43 PM)
You can find Paywave device in most AEON, AEON BIG, Jaya Grocers, Village Grocers and McDonalds stores. Easy and fast.

Currently McDonalds will give free McFreeze if you spend more than $10 and pay thru PayWave.
I had mine slotted in. Thats why im here in the first place. Thanks 4 da info. Wondering when will Android Pay get here. Thick wallets sucks ass.
ooice
post Jul 22 2016, 12:13 AM

112 posts

Visa Paywave Malaysia Location
szb
post Jul 22 2016, 09:53 AM

130 posts

can i use mastercard paypass at paywave terminal? or vice versa
garf
post Jul 22 2016, 02:17 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 31 2011, 07:33 PM)
There's a VISA Paywave gate @ KLIA Express in KL Sentral.
Never see anyone use it nor any of my cards are VISA Paywave compatible so can't say anything.
what is the paywave gate for? do u mean we can pay at paywave gate instead of buy ticket from the counter?
limeuu
post Jul 22 2016, 02:56 PM

12,290 posts

If you take Australia as an example, eventually every terminal will be contactless payment compliant...

In the recent trip, I used wave almost exclusively, in all purchases and meals...
limeuu
post Jul 22 2016, 02:57 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(garf @ Jul 22 2016, 02:17 PM)
what is the paywave gate for? do u mean we can pay at paywave gate instead of buy ticket from the counter?
Yes, no need buy tickets, just like touch n go....I don't use it because I need to have receipts...
asiatrader98
post Jul 22 2016, 03:05 PM

1,485 posts

with aeon big visa card
paid at McDonalds stores the curve
no problem no need to key in the pin

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Jul 22 2016, 03:06 PM
muscaa
post Jul 22 2016, 03:09 PM

1,232 posts

visa paywave - chatime, Aeon, Aeon big

ShaneLim
post Jul 22 2016, 09:54 PM

47 posts

BIG Supermarket - Both Visa paywave & Master Paypass (UOB terminal).
rhodry
post Jul 24 2016, 02:01 AM

292 posts

I know more developed countries are/have implemented these contactless payment systems e.g. UK is a good example for widespread "wave" terminals.

Question is, can our Malaysian-issued CCs with contactless tech be used overseas at their corresponding Visa/MasterCard terminals?
(edit: I'm talking about using the "wave" feature at their terminals. Not just normal payment by pin/signing)

This post has been edited by rhodry: Jul 24 2016, 02:03 AM
limeuu
post Jul 24 2016, 08:31 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(rhodry @ Jul 24 2016, 02:01 AM)
I know more developed countries are/have implemented these contactless payment systems e.g. UK is a good example for widespread "wave" terminals.

Question is, can our Malaysian-issued CCs with contactless tech be used overseas at their corresponding Visa/MasterCard terminals?
(edit: I'm talking about using the "wave" feature at their terminals. Not just normal payment by pin/signing)
Yes...
limeuu
post Jul 24 2016, 12:46 PM

12,290 posts

Duplicate... deleted

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jul 24 2016, 12:47 PM
MF2
post Jul 28 2016, 11:13 PM

188 posts

Last week at midvalley, i already have maybank card with paywave but I'm keen to try the MaybankPay. So, i gave my name to Maybank and they send email to invite. Download the App at Google playstore.

Experience : the cashier look awkward on using paywave with nfc enabled smartphone. After i wave on it. The cashier said " first time , i saw paywave user using smartphone".

Benefits : i can browse the history where i spent. There is a location stated in the history.
aromachong
post Jul 29 2016, 08:35 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(MF2 @ Jul 28 2016, 11:13 PM)
Last week at midvalley, i already have maybank card with paywave but I'm keen to try the MaybankPay. So, i gave my name to Maybank and they send email to invite. Download the App at Google playstore.

Experience : the cashier look awkward on using paywave with nfc enabled smartphone. After i wave on it. The cashier said " first time , i saw paywave user using smartphone".

Benefits : i can browse the history where i spent. There is a location stated in the history.
used paywave at klia2 mcdonalds but not able to go through not sure terminal problem or cashier problem..
kawteem
post Jul 29 2016, 10:18 AM

611 posts

This only work with debit card? What about credit card?
samuraikacang
post Jul 29 2016, 10:43 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(kawteem @ Jul 29 2016, 10:18 AM)
should work with any visa card. check already with them as long as maybank visa card should work with the apps.
kawteem
post Jul 29 2016, 08:49 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Jul 29 2016, 10:43 AM)
should work with any visa card. check already with them as long as maybank visa card should work with the apps.
Cool. Thanks bro!
DarReNz
post Jul 29 2016, 10:11 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 22 2016, 02:56 PM)
If you take Australia as an example, eventually every terminal will be contactless payment compliant...

In the recent trip, I used wave almost exclusively, in all purchases and meals...
Oz has started with ApplePay & AndroidPay. There's also SamsungPay nod.gif
MF2
post Jul 29 2016, 11:09 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(kawteem @ Jul 29 2016, 10:18 AM)
Any cards - charge card, Debit card and credit card. You can add many cards and choose which card , you would like to use on the paywave transaction.

TSOM
post Jul 30 2016, 06:42 AM

2,145 posts

which malaysia banks issue Mastercard Paypass debit card?
iamshf
post Jul 30 2016, 07:18 PM

845 posts

how to use paywave with nfc enabled smartphone?
kart
post Jul 30 2016, 10:28 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jul 30 2016, 06:42 AM)
which malaysia banks issue Mastercard Paypass debit card?
Public Bank MasterCard Lifestyle Debit Card
RHB Debit MasterCard
AmBank Debit MasterCard

limeuu
post Jul 30 2016, 10:44 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jul 30 2016, 10:28 PM)
RHB Debit MasterCard
AmBank Debit MasterCard
Interesting....rhb gave me visa....wonder how they decide which to assign to customers...
aromachong
post Jul 30 2016, 10:57 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jul 30 2016, 10:28 PM)
RHB Debit MasterCard
AmBank Debit MasterCard
wondering why some banks don't implement paywave function?
moonsatelite
post Aug 13 2016, 12:37 AM

737 posts

Anyone had a problem of 'Declined' when paying using PayPass but works if using chip? I tried at McDonalds with my CIMB Debit Card and was declined when wave but worked when using the chip. Is my card faulty or the bank is at fault here?

This post has been edited by moonsatelite: Aug 13 2016, 12:37 AM
Wongchoy
post Aug 13 2016, 01:29 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Aug 13 2016, 12:37 AM)
Anyone had a problem of 'Declined' when paying using PayPass but works if using chip? I tried at McDonalds with my CIMB Debit Card and was declined when wave but worked when using the chip. Is my card faulty or the bank is at fault here?
No problem at all. It is just that they could only accept visa brand contactless card and not MasterCard one.
kart
post Aug 13 2016, 08:28 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Aug 13 2016, 01:29 AM)
It is just that they could only accept visa brand contactless card and not MasterCard one.
That is weird. MasterCard Contactless, Visa payWave and America Express ExpressPay cards are all based on the same ISO/IEC 14443 standard, so contactless card reader should be compatible with any of three types of cards.

kit2
post Aug 13 2016, 10:14 AM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Aug 13 2016, 08:28 AM)
That is weird. MasterCard Contactless, Visa payWave and America Express ExpressPay cards are all based on the same ISO/IEC 14443 standard, so contactless card reader should be compatible with any of three types of cards.
they are not incompatible. it is just that the merchant's bank that chooses to restrict. same issue with sogo. their contactless is provided by rhb and can read both visa and mastercard, but denies mastercard.
kart
post Aug 13 2016, 10:33 AM

1,597 posts

Thanks for your reply, kit2. Do you know the reason why they choose to block MasterCard Contactless card?

It cannot be due to interchange fee, which is the same for Visa and MasterCard card, as per Bank Negara Malaysia's ruling.
Wongchoy
post Aug 13 2016, 01:57 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Aug 13 2016, 10:33 AM)
Thanks for your reply, kit2. Do you know the reason why they choose to block MasterCard Contactless card?

It cannot be due to interchange fee, which is the same for Visa and MasterCard card, as per Bank Negara Malaysia's ruling.
Give them some time. It is achievable just like in Singapore, pay wave, pay pass, and AMEX contactless all in one reader.
leo_kiatez
post Aug 13 2016, 05:42 PM

2,112 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Aug 13 2016, 01:57 PM)
Give them some time. It is achievable just like in Singapore, pay wave, pay pass, and AMEX contactless all in one reader.
Does MC Donald's msia accept AMEX swipe or AMEXcontactless at their terminal?
kit2
post Aug 13 2016, 08:07 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Aug 13 2016, 10:33 AM)

nope. often i dont understand why malaysian banks are doing certain things like this one. smile.gif
alexwsk
post Aug 13 2016, 08:21 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Aug 13 2016, 05:42 PM)
Does MC Donald's msia accept AMEX swipe or AMEXcontactless at their terminal?
amex swipe only
Alec.Yong
post Aug 13 2016, 10:06 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Aug 13 2016, 10:14 AM)
they are not incompatible. it is just that the merchant's bank that chooses to restrict. same issue with sogo. their contactless is provided by rhb and can read both visa and  mastercard, but denies mastercard.
You mean Sogo's RHB contactless terminal only accepted RHB bank paywave and payPass only? Other bank's paywave and payPass not accepted?
Wongchoy
post Aug 14 2016, 12:22 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Aug 13 2016, 10:06 PM)
You mean Sogo's RHB contactless terminal only accepted RHB bank paywave and payPass only? Other bank's paywave and payPass not accepted?
What he is trying to say is that RHB provided Sogo the card reader to process contactless transaction at their counter. While the reader features both Visa Paywave and MC Paypass mark, only Visa Paywave transactions could be process. So basically, all paywave cards are accepted for contactless, and all pay pass cards will have to be swiped, including RHB MasterCard.
kit2
post Aug 14 2016, 03:09 AM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Aug 13 2016, 10:06 PM)
ihe contactless accepts visa only, not mastercard. nothing to do with card issuing bank.
DarReNz
post Aug 14 2016, 02:28 PM

7,496 posts

anyone successfully use the paypass/pawave at chatime ? tried PBB VS but doesn't work there

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Aug 14 2016, 02:30 PM
vin_ann
post Sep 1 2016, 06:51 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Aug 14 2016, 02:28 PM)
anyone successfully use the paypass/pawave at chatime ? tried PBB VS but doesn't work there
I did few payments via my Maybank Visa Paywave.

On another topic, anyone did try MaybankPay app? Let me share my experience.

Last weekend, I downloaded the app, added my Maybank ATM card which have Visa Paywave to MaybankPay app.

First tap & pay at Village Grocer which have Visa Paywave terminal.

Second tap & pay at McDonalds!
vin_ann
post Sep 1 2016, 06:54 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Mar 31 2011, 06:10 PM)
MasterCard PayPass
Visa payWave

I fancy paypass and paywave despite knowing the risk behind this contactless payment system. It's really convenient and fast. Unfortunately, not many merchants use it, and even when you see those who do; most of the time it doesn't work!  doh.gif

Let's share our experience, or should I say start a list.
PayPass:
TESCO, Mutiara Damansara
-Tried many times, the cashier always say 'rosak'.

New Zealand Naturals, The Curve
-2 successful purchases so far, and that was quite a while back. I'd like to think that it still works.

payWave:
Baskin Robbins, The Curve
-Got to use it only once, during the last 2 or 3 visits however the cashier said the wave terminal is not working 

GSC 1Utama/GSC Tropicana Mall, concessionaire counter dedicated for EON GSC card members
-Works all the time! Strangely though the cashier always ask for the card instead of letting you 'wave' it yourself.
Ts, are u still active here??? Can update ur first post?

FYI:

All BHP petrol kiosks in Klang Valley have PayPass ready terminal ! Tried my CIMB CR which have Master PayPass feature and works wonderfully !

ChuanHong
post Sep 5 2016, 01:38 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 1 2016, 06:51 PM)
I did few payments via my Maybank Visa Paywave.

On another topic, anyone did try MaybankPay app? Let me share my experience.

Last weekend, I downloaded the app, added my Maybank ATM card which have Visa Paywave to MaybankPay app.

First tap & pay at Village Grocer which have Visa Paywave terminal.

Second tap & pay at McDonalds!
i failed for the maybankpay app.. i tried in McD.. but failed.. if use the card is okay.. im using Xperia Z5 Premium with NFC..
vin_ann
post Sep 5 2016, 03:58 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Sep 5 2016, 01:38 PM)
i failed for the maybankpay app.. i tried in McD.. but failed.. if use the card is okay.. im using Xperia Z5 Premium with NFC..
Hmmm...

I'm using OnePlus One.

The next thing u can do is tweet @MyMaybank ur situation.

When I had failed transaction at Village Grocer where terminal show "Please select one card" I tweeted @MyMaybank and they asked for my mobile.

Eventually they really called me on Sunday evening when I replied Direct message late.
RainbowTrail
post Sep 5 2016, 04:30 PM

The new MBB VI I have comes with PayWave functionality. anyone tried if is it possible to call them and ask them to replace one without the PW functionality?

This post has been edited by RainbowTrail: Sep 5 2016, 04:30 PM
vin_ann
post Sep 5 2016, 05:21 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(RainbowTrail @ Sep 5 2016, 04:30 PM)
The new MBB VI I have comes with PayWave functionality. anyone tried if is it possible to call them and ask them to replace one without the PW functionality?
You can try.

I saw the Maybank2 card visa also come with visa paywave
RainbowTrail
post Sep 5 2016, 06:37 PM

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 5 2016, 05:21 PM)
You can try.

I saw the Maybank2 card visa also come with visa paywave
even phones can download the reader app and scan cards. sweat.gif

UPDATE:
Customer service says all Visa card with PIN and Pay comes with Visa PW functionality so can't request for replacement w/o it. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by RainbowTrail: Sep 6 2016, 01:27 AM

cybpsych
post Sep 12 2016, 04:48 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

swiped uob vox at Ikea cheras, it asked for pin now smile.gif
kart
post Sep 12 2016, 10:28 PM

1,597 posts

^
At Aeon Supermarket and Aeon Departmental in Quill City Mall, the credit card terminals (from Maybank) also start to request for PIN.

Then again, the cashiers can opt to bypass the PIN, and ask the credit cardholders to sign the charge slips.
DarReNz
post Sep 12 2016, 10:36 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 1 2016, 06:54 PM)
Ts, are u still active here??? Can update ur first post?

FYI:

All BHP petrol kiosks in Klang Valley have PayPass ready terminal ! Tried my CIMB CR which have Master PayPass feature and works wonderfully !

cannavaro can update the first page biggrin.gif
Alec.Yong
post Sep 12 2016, 10:49 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Sep 12 2016, 10:28 PM)
^
At Aeon Supermarket and Aeon Departmental in Quill City Mall, the credit card terminals (from Maybank) also start to request for PIN.

Then again, the cashiers can opt to bypass the PIN, and ask the credit cardholders to sign the charge slips.
It seems that right now the new MBB card teminal aready built in with paywave feature, no more standalone paywave reader needed anymore.

Alec.Yong
post Sep 12 2016, 10:50 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Aug 14 2016, 12:22 AM)
What he is trying to say is that RHB provided Sogo the card reader to process contactless transaction at their counter. While the reader features both Visa Paywave and MC Paypass mark, only Visa Paywave transactions could be process. So basically, all paywave cards are accepted for contactless, and all pay pass cards will have to be swiped, including RHB MasterCard.
I was at Sogo last Saturday and I noticed that they have changed the RHB card terminal to MBB card terminal...
vin_ann
post Sep 13 2016, 10:25 AM

10,912 posts

Sharing my #MaybankPay experience. (using my ATM Debit card Visa Paywave added to MaybankPay app)

Been frequent visit to Village Grocer, and its always rejected !

Then try on Jaya Grocer, its also rejected! Even Aeon One Utama also rejected showing the same message below"
"pls select 1 card"

while yesterday, i was at MV Aeon, i noted the usual old "Visa Paywave" terminal is missing, thus i thought no more Visa Paywave enabled, but when i passed my Visa Paywave card to casher, she just tapped on the machine (like McD type) !

my next visit back to MV Aeon, i shall use my MaybankPay app to pay!
perky
post Sep 13 2016, 10:36 AM

1,949 posts

Just wondering if you have multiple accounts under one card, when u do paywave payment, will they ask for which account to be deducted from the terminal?
deeplyheartbroken
post Sep 13 2016, 10:49 AM

774 posts

Mastercard used to be the first to implement their PayPass here (with CIMB if I recall) years ago but failed miserably. Most terminals with Paypass also gone.

Now Visa tried to revive it with Paywave. Hope it goes well
Alec.Yong
post Sep 13 2016, 11:17 AM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(perky @ Sep 13 2016, 10:36 AM)
Just wondering if you have multiple accounts under one card, when u do paywave payment, will they ask for which account to be deducted from the terminal?
I think it will stick on the primary account..
vin_ann
post Sep 13 2016, 11:24 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(perky @ Sep 13 2016, 10:36 AM)
For MayBankPay ?

Aren't 1 card 1 account?

Ming to enlighten on multiple accounts under 1 card? Tq
perky
post Sep 13 2016, 02:41 PM

1,949 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Sep 13 2016, 11:17 AM)
I think it will stick on the primary account..
I see. No wonder my transaction got rejected cause my primary account has not much balance in it.

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 13 2016, 11:24 AM)
For MayBankPay ?

Aren't 1 card 1 account?

Ming to enlighten on multiple accounts under 1 card?  Tq
I have two accounts which is the online savers account and the normal savings account. Usually at the atm, i can choose which account i want to withdraw my money from.
vin_ann
post Sep 13 2016, 04:40 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(perky @ Sep 13 2016, 02:41 PM)
I see. No wonder my transaction got rejected cause my primary account has not much balance in it.
I have two accounts which is the online savers account and the normal savings account. Usually at the atm, i can choose which account i want to withdraw my money from.
Thanks for explanation

First time got to know this.
Do u have problem when tap at McD?

perky
post Sep 13 2016, 05:54 PM

1,949 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 13 2016, 04:40 PM)
Thanks for explanation

First time got to know this.
Do u have problem when tap at McD?
I've tried at tgv only. Next time I'll try again somewhere else and i will post the result.
vin_ann
post Sep 13 2016, 07:33 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(perky @ Sep 13 2016, 05:54 PM)
I've tried at tgv only. Next time I'll try again somewhere else and i will post the result.
Oh, that mean if I were to use my MaybankPay at TGV, it's will show the same result, "please select account" too.

So far McD terminal is the latest version accept8ng my MaybankPay
alexwsk
post Sep 13 2016, 08:33 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(perky @ Sep 13 2016, 02:41 PM)
you can go to mbb branch and change the main savings/current account tag to your debit card
i changed mine when i replace my debit card last mth
perky
post Sep 14 2016, 10:37 AM

1,949 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 13 2016, 08:33 PM)
you can go to mbb branch and change the main savings/current account tag to your debit card
I see. Either that or I can just transfer the money from the other account i guess.
vin_ann
post Sep 14 2016, 01:16 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 13 2016, 08:33 PM)
About debit card, ur new card is pin enabled?
Recall I just received message below:

RM0.00 MBB: SILA TUKAR KAD DEBIT ANDA KEPADA KAD BAHARU BERCIRI PIN SECARA PERCUMA HARI INI DI CAWANGAN MAYBANK ATAU MELALUI MAYBANK2U. TERIMA KASIH.
cybpsych
post Sep 15 2016, 07:22 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

Win Samsung Galaxy Note 7 with MaybankPay [ Maybank | T&Cs ]
Contest Period: 18 August 2016 - 17 November 2016

Say goodbye to bulky wallets with MaybankPay, the first mobile wallet in Malaysia. Use MaybankPay at any Visa payWave outlets to enjoy fast, easy and safe shopping. Download the app on your Android devices today.

Spend 5x monthly with any amount using MaybankPay to win Samsung Galaxy Note 7. Just use your MaybankPay at any participating payWave merchants

Prizes: Samsung Galaxy Note 7 x 10 winners

Participating payWave merchants:
Aeon
AeonBig
Jaya Grocer
Krispy Kreme
TGV Cinemas
San Francisco Coffee
Mydin
Chatime
Watsons
Mcdonald's

For more participating payWave merchants, visit http://visa.com.my/personal/features/visapaywave.shtml

iwubpreve
post Sep 16 2016, 02:49 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 15 2016, 07:22 AM)

Say goodbye to bulky wallets with MaybankPay, the first mobile wallet in Malaysia. Use MaybankPay at any Visa payWave outlets to enjoy fast, easy and safe shopping. Download the app on your Android devices today.

Spend 5x monthly with any amount using MaybankPay to win Samsung Galaxy Note 7. Just use your MaybankPay at any participating payWave merchants

Aeon
AeonBig
Jaya Grocer
Krispy Kreme
TGV Cinemas
San Francisco Coffee
Mydin
Chatime
Watsons
Mcdonald's

For more participating payWave merchants, visit http://visa.com.my/personal/features/visapaywave.shtml
this maybank wave can use at singapore that have visa paywave merchant?
DarReNz
post Sep 16 2016, 03:45 PM

7,496 posts

is this the exploding battery phone ? whistling.gif
vin_ann
post Sep 16 2016, 04:25 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Sep 16 2016, 02:49 PM)
this maybank wave can use at singapore that have visa paywave merchant?
You may try.
But last time when I was HK, try to use paywave on McD self service machine, it's rejected
Alec.Yong
post Sep 18 2016, 08:57 PM

1,488 posts

Finally tested at Giant Supermarket, their CIMB terminal support paywave..😊👍
MF2
post Nov 16 2016, 01:41 PM

188 posts

Hi. I am making a survey for proximity payment using NFC technology through smartphone. Please click on the google forms link. The respondent should stay inside klang valley and has a smartphone. http://bit.ly/2fTOYbQ

This post has been edited by MF2: Nov 16 2016, 01:41 PM
cybpsych
post Jan 21 2017, 10:17 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

Aeon
AeonBig
Jaya Grocer
Krispy Kreme
TGV Cinemas
San Francisco Coffee
Mydin
Chatime
Watsons
Mcdonald's

Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge with MaybankPay Winners Announcement [ Maybank ]

We are pleased to announce the winners of Win Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge with MaybankPay, which commenced from 18 August 2016 to 17 November 2016.

Click here for the list of winners

Congratulations to all winners and thank you for your support
fly126
post Feb 14 2017, 11:50 AM

Lousy One
4,404 posts

Interesting Reads on Visa Paywave...
Is Visa payWave Really As Secure As They Say?
https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/Credit-Card...18ee1b-83961929
westlife
post Nov 22 2017, 12:13 AM

14,237 posts

which bank actually has credit card that comes with mastercard pay pass function?
SzeMeng76
post Nov 22 2017, 03:49 AM

2,318 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 22 2017, 12:13 AM)
which bank actually has credit card that comes with mastercard pay pass function?
Almost all bank except Maybank. As I know.
boonhan
post Nov 22 2017, 09:38 AM

Reader
1,934 posts

QUOTE(SzeMeng76 @ Nov 22 2017, 03:49 AM)
Almost all bank except Maybank. As I know.
got on their debit.

prs516
post Feb 2 2018, 04:32 PM

300 posts

Can i use my CIMB debit card with mastercard paypass at the same terminal that support visa paywave?
Wongchoy
post Feb 2 2018, 04:48 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(prs516 @ Feb 2 2018, 04:32 PM)
Can i use my CIMB debit card with mastercard paypass at the same terminal that support visa paywave?
That won’t work on all places, but have seen ppl using it at AEON and McD.
yoonyin
post Feb 2 2018, 04:52 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(prs516 @ Feb 2 2018, 04:32 PM)
Well, nowadays all terminal support PayWave & PayPass, as long the terminal have Contactless Payments Symbol~
prs516
post Feb 2 2018, 04:55 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Feb 2 2018, 04:48 PM)
That won’t work on all places, but have seen ppl using it at AEON and McD.
QUOTE(yoonyin @ Feb 2 2018, 04:52 PM)
Well, nowadays all terminal support PayWave & PayPass, as long the terminal have Contactless Payments Symbol~
Thank you.
joevo2
post Feb 20 2018, 04:38 PM

422 posts

Caltex support paywave/paypass now wow
https://motoring-malaysia.blogspot.my/2017/...a-announce.html

wonder when will Amex support contactless :'( wanna use my mbb 2 card easier with contactless so the RM1 sundae cone wont be so awkward LOL
voscar
post Feb 25 2018, 04:04 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(joevo2 @ Feb 20 2018, 04:38 PM)
Caltex support paywave/paypass now wow
https://motoring-malaysia.blogspot.my/2017/...a-announce.html

wonder when will Amex support contactless :'( wanna use my mbb 2 card easier with contactless so the RM1 sundae cone wont be so awkward LOL
Tried on Caltex Subang Jaya using my Aeon Big PayWave credit card, not able to detect anything at all. Tried on next petrol pump still same. You managed to get it detected?
joevo2
post Feb 25 2018, 05:25 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Feb 25 2018, 04:04 PM)
Tried on Caltex Subang Jaya using my Aeon Big PayWave credit card, not able to detect anything at all. Tried on next petrol pump still same. You managed to get it detected?
haha sorry nope, I saw the news and share it here haven't had the chance to use it yet
kilazilla
post Aug 5 2019, 05:56 PM

98 posts

Hi, anyone knows why certain merchants needs the first 4 digit of the credit card and also the last 4 digits if using paywave via samsung pay? it is annoying, and might as well i just use the physical card. normally i keep that card at home and just use the samsung pay. i tried asking samsungpay and they say its up to the merchants system.

cant all the merchants system just use the last 4 digits?

0.0656sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:03 PM