ASUS Eee Pad, Eee Pad Transformer

mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 09:31 AM

7,044 posts

i remember a checkbox in the transformer settings for installing development tools (or sth like that).

does that mean if i check it, i can do side-loading (if the term is the correct term to use) without needed to root it?

just curious... the theory is... check this box/ option, download and install the apk file instead. would it work? i guess i could try it if i feel adventurous.
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 10:02 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 1 2011, 09:40 AM)
you dont need to check that box to install apk's outside of the market, you just need to check the box "allow unknown sources" (or something similar) in the settings area (cant remember which settings is that, just go through them one by one, not many anyway). Then you can install the apk through the file manager or other 3rd party file managers if you have them.

for the checkbox you're referring to it should be for connecting the android adb to the tablet much like for android phones as well for development purposes. you could push / pull files to / from the tablet but pushing may be restricted to folders that you have permission to (unless you root, you would then have full permissions if i'm not wrong). i havent done much adb lately so do correct me if i'm wrong smile.gif
ya, i remember this unknown sources option now that you mentioned it. it was the one i was trying to refer to.

ok, cool. means i can still do stuff i want without needing to root. i wanna see how long i can last (doing what i wanna do) without rooting. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 10:20 AM

7,044 posts

just sharing this... those who wanna overcome country error problem when trying to download apps from market.

this is from xda (iconia):
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1089183&page=4
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 11:38 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 1 2011, 11:22 AM)
For the few I could not cos " is not allowed in your country" - I go to android.market.com , choose install and it can be send immediately over to the Iconia for download and install
you mean market.android.com, right? smile.gif

i go to the other one and got some weird website.

Added on June 1, 2011, 11:40 am
QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jun 1 2011, 11:37 AM)
then its really random ... haha but glad now my market is working as it should yay !!
ya, its random. some could not d/load anything but i could at least download AB Rio.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 1 2011, 11:40 AM
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 11:53 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(urb7 @ Jun 1 2011, 11:50 AM)
When is Asus going to release the firmware update to fix the Market issue!!
based on what i read and understand... this is probably more a Google issue.
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 12:57 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(urb7 @ Jun 1 2011, 12:22 PM)
Fudge it, I shall just install via apk files.
can share some sites where APK files can be downloaded? sorry if this is newbie Q. i'm assuming GetJar does not provide APK, correct?
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 01:45 PM

7,044 posts

i have resorted to 'spamming' Google blogs, support forum, etc and bugging them to look into this and fix it.

it seems official response for now seems to be "we are aware of this issue and looking into it". and that's like many weeks back! vmad.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 01:50 PM

7,044 posts

i know... just prefer official way... as in, go market, click download, and done. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 02:08 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 1 2011, 01:58 PM)
no wonder proxy wont work... cos my gmail i didnt log out when i try using proxy... hmm.. tonight more market stuff to download liaw... but Dungeon Defenders actually looks just okay compared to Samurai II: Vengeance and Monster Madness
ya, from what i read, best is to turn off everything (GPS, etc) and disable accounts, etc... oh well, tonight i will try. i 'sent' the anycut to transformer. waiting to get home now and try it out! smile.gif

Added on June 1, 2011, 2:09 pm
QUOTE(urb7 @ Jun 1 2011, 02:05 PM)
And I wish they will allow us to purchase apps - what wasted opportunity to the developers, really.
ya, in one of my 'spams', i basically said devs are losing out because of this bug. they are not getting any money from me at the moment. i say its a bug coz same thing is available on other devices.

and yes, i'm willing to fork out some $ for the apps/ games...

Added on June 1, 2011, 2:30 pma silly Q... when i turn on my transformer this evening and get the update, can i leave it idle while it downloads? will it go into standby and stop the download? excited about the update and just dun wanna find out later when i check on it... download interrupted. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 1 2011, 02:30 PM
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 03:29 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Jun 1 2011, 03:19 PM)
For those who have successfully used Any Cut, what did u enter under "Bypass proxy for" ?

Thx!
dun really know what you mean (coz i haven't tried it out myself), but i'd think you should look for something like http or browser.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 1 2011, 03:29 PM
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 03:48 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ZhenMing @ Jun 1 2011, 03:43 PM)
hmmm.. the most important thing to do when I have my Transformer will be:
- Update to HC3.1!!!!
- make the market works!!!!
this is my todo list for tonight! smile.gif for market, will be trying the Any Cut.

Added on June 1, 2011, 3:48 pm
QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jun 1 2011, 03:48 PM)
Dont have to put anything under "Bypass proxy for"

This field is for you to specify if there are any domains that you doesn't want to go through this proxy. For the purpose of fixing the market, u can leave it empty
ooops... ya, just read... bypass. if anything, should not even be what i said earlier... so, paiseh. blush.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 1 2011, 03:48 PM
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 04:33 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 1 2011, 04:24 PM)
mine don have... so have to treat with extra care now...
but honestly.. why no nice game titles like on iOS.... >.<
(not any fanboy statement)

Added on June 1, 2011, 4:26 pm

after update? cos before update i try but i got nothing  hmm.gif
since u mentioned games... heh heh... any nice FREE (legally speaking) RPG game that members can suggest? something like Ultima 5 or FF 7 would be nice. i think for one MMORPG which i will download as well. hope it works -- pocket legend or sth like that.

would be nice if we can have an official thread and the front page updated with things like owners, games, etc

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 1 2011, 04:34 PM
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 04:36 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Jun 1 2011, 04:18 PM)
Huu Huu just got my eeepad from trio.. so everyone here go bare naked? no screen protector?
no SP for me. after all, must test kau2 the gorilla glass reputation. but as i was sharing, wished the edges were rubberised. mine had a slight drop and the paint is chipped off now... sad.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 1 2011, 04:37 PM
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 04:53 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 1 2011, 04:48 PM)
Samurai nice on the big screen... but the gameplay is just ok ok... i wish there's more "Onimusha" elements inside.. more complex systems and stuff...
hopefully after this more and more quality titles will come out
so far the games that i mange to get it run are Samurai II, Dungeon Defenders, Monster Madness... honestly, apart from the pretty graphics on big screen, it doesnt amaze me much... i was hoping games like Chaos Rings or Final Fantasy III to be ported... but if u are saying RPG, free i dunno la, but paid, Zenonia was quite fun
u go Settings -> Device Info, tap on the Android version for a few times
onimusha -- the name just reminds me of the Wii game called Okami. would be nice to see something like that... doing the paint strokes would be really easy! smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 1 2011, 04:53 PM
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 04:57 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 1 2011, 04:54 PM)
Gorilla Glass also can scratch lar... my N8 edi have a few scratches, even iPhone 4 also have....  >.<
better safe then sorry, just spend and put only... at least u wont be replacing the LCD when it get scratches...
technically speaking... we should just be using fingers on the screen. dun think nails will be able to scratch it. phones... chances are higher that a key can scratch it since its in the pocket. but i know some put SP to protect from the smudges.

anyway, i know i won't be using SP for any gorilla glass. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 05:15 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 1 2011, 05:11 PM)
just sayin'... and technically speaking we shouldnt drop iPhones too, but look at how many iPhone 4 shatter case there was.... just saying the 'better be safe then sorry' case and stating out that Gorilla Glass also can be scratched cos there were ppl that die die deny that fact last time on some other threads...
ya, i know... saje kacau u. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 05:22 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 1 2011, 05:21 PM)
lol.. ok... kinda sensitive cos i saw too many times "FFFFUUUU.... scratched my screen!! i tot gorrila glass cannot be scratched? " kinda thing...
another friend of mine keep insist that he tested, and no scratches on his device, but when i show him mine, he was like super shocked like that....
just "Scratch Resistant" mah, not "Scratch Proof".. some ppl got them confused
ya, lots of ppl think scratch resistant = scratch proof. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 10:03 PM

7,044 posts

hmmm... any cut dun seem to be working. probably sth i din do correctly. after remove account, taking very long to add...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 1 2011, 10:06 PM
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 10:15 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 1 2011, 10:07 PM)
you're using any cut to display the hidden proxy settings area right? adding the account takes long because of access through proxy. I've tried a lot of proxy also cannot go thru google servers except:

proxy name: 69.169.145.80
proxy port: 3128

slow but works.
ya... takes long and then it tells me to try again later. sad.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 1 2011, 11:00 PM

7,044 posts

i like 3.1!!! can notice some great improvements...

example 1: can now select files for copy and paste
example 2: now can hold (sth like right click) and open in new tab for browsers

also, saw the movie player app and kindle app.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0315sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:36 AM