Asus N53SN review, and discussion

tomokomiki
post Apr 10 2011, 12:00 AM

324 posts

was in low yat today. ccom given me the price at RM3,249 + 15pcs gift set.
tomokomiki
post Apr 26 2011, 11:24 PM

324 posts

phew...finally catch up with the last thread. Lots of useful info, managed to fix the top left sound buttons and remove lots of bloatware by reading this threads. It also helped me to determine on upgrading the ram to 8gb.

Lots of confusing threads too since I am not a gamer nor a techie, still am a happy N53Sn owner.

BIG THANK YOU, MUAKZ
tomokomiki
post Apr 27 2011, 11:29 PM

324 posts

today, when i click the shut down button on start menu, it didn't shut down but restart instead. I have tried several times and still the same. At the end i manage to shut down my laptop after i click on force shut down while window prepare to shut down upon exit.

Any idea how to fix this?
tomokomiki
post Apr 28 2011, 12:50 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Apr 28 2011, 12:41 PM)
Asus N53SN-SX043V EOL model officially,new replacement model have to wait utill end of May
hardly you can get this model now
That was fast... Any news release on the replacement model?
tomokomiki
post Apr 28 2011, 03:48 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(DM_PeLe @ Apr 28 2011, 01:31 PM)
owhhh,i c .. yahh,the keyboard is chicket n semm to be annoying when first use it,,..take time lol to comfort with it..hahaha
ya, it feels like my fingers were sewed together on the first 2 days, nearly cramp....
tomokomiki
post Apr 28 2011, 04:25 PM

324 posts

End-of-life (EOL) is a term used with respect to a retailed product, indicating that the product is in the end of its product lifetime and a vendor will no longer be marketing, selling, or promoting a particular product and may also be limiting or ending support for the product.

courtesy of wikipedia
tomokomiki
post Apr 28 2011, 05:21 PM

324 posts

i had this chrome problem in the beginning, no prob after re-install
tomokomiki
post Apr 28 2011, 06:25 PM

324 posts

maybe u can try to use ccleaner to clean your registry before reinstall
tomokomiki
post Apr 28 2011, 11:48 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 28 2011, 11:21 PM)
I experienced it too !! Could it be some kind of bugs ?  hmm.gif
i suspect its the win7 connection issue. still trying to look for solution online....
tomokomiki
post Apr 29 2011, 11:34 PM

324 posts

Hi masters,

do you keep all the cyberlink program? what if my cyberlink is broken?
tomokomiki
post Apr 29 2011, 11:42 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(ping0613 @ Apr 29 2011, 11:37 PM)
if broken, then uninstall it.
for me, i definitely will uninstall it, bloatware .
oh, they arent free? I tot these are free player and free burner given by asus
tomokomiki
post Apr 30 2011, 12:00 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 29 2011, 11:54 PM)
Guys, today i take my N53SN to Asus Service center in KL to check my HDMI. WTF ! It has no problem at all !! It shows up in the service center tv ?? @@ Then the guy told me to plug in harder.

Now back in home which is 300km away from KL, i test it again with my own HDMI, OMG, CANT !! == What prob ?? Is it really Cable prob ?? This cable works fine with my Nokia N8 !!
one stupid question, did you press the button fn+f8?
tomokomiki
post Apr 30 2011, 12:19 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 30 2011, 12:02 AM)
U tot i am stupid user who don know about comp ? == Of course i did ! mad.gif
sori la.. simply ask sje
tomokomiki
post Apr 30 2011, 12:31 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 30 2011, 12:25 AM)
It's ok .. do u have any idea ?? It works just now with the cable of Asus Service center! I read and found out that there are several version of HDMI. Could this be the reason why this cable cant work on my N53SN ? Should i buy a new cable ?
y dont u give them a call and check on their hdmi version...im not too sure. im oso dealing with a couple of issues here....aih....
tomokomiki
post Apr 30 2011, 12:53 AM

324 posts

window reboot instate of shut down everyday when i power down.

i want to try on cyberlink software for dvd burning & player, so that i can reduce on usage of 'ahem' software. Now the software is broken, bz looking for new software to replace...

any good player to recommend?
tomokomiki
post Apr 30 2011, 08:15 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(soap1992 @ Apr 30 2011, 06:39 PM)
Do anyone of you have the DVD ROM of N53SN problem?

Cause after a few minutes I install something from DVD, the install process stop ,or can I say "stuck" and the dvd stop spinning.

Is it my DVD ROM problem?
i guess mine is worse? i try to burn a cd, an the cd came out cracked blink.gif but i believe i didnt insert the cd properly coz i tried with another 2 cds and they turn out ok.
tomokomiki
post May 1 2011, 05:50 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 1 2011, 01:33 AM)
Guys, my HDMI finally works !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hahahaha
Solution ?? I changed my cable !!! I guess it is the cable which is incompatible with my laptop !! haha
congratulations rclxms.gif
tomokomiki
post May 3 2011, 12:22 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Mel C @ May 2 2011, 11:29 PM)
Hi guys, I'm new here. I recently bought an N53SN last week and I'm facing some weird problems. Here are some of the problems:

1) Relatively slow startup time.
2) Takes a very long time to hibernate.(around 1minute)
3) After waking up from hibernation, it becomes really slow and after using it for a while the whole windows explorer hangs.. (This has been happening almost every single time)
4)  Laptop freezes when I open the task manager and "NOT RESPONDING" appears..
5) Windows explorer hangs even when just surfing the net. (Had to force shut down many times).

I'm sorry if some of the solutions to the problems above may have been mentioned before in this thread as I didn't go through the 99 pages of thread. I hope some of the experienced users out there can help to give me some advice on this matter.=) Thank you in advance.
hhmm...
1. I am not after fast boot up as that is not my top priority as i like to press the power button only go turn on my lights / fan / aircond / go toilet / pour water & etc etc. So, when im back it sure load up already.
2. I never use hibernate. Its either turn off completely or leave it on the whole night
3. I tried juz now. Yes, it does go hengki pengki after a while including task bar and every window i opened.
4. yes...because the system seems really super bz for don't know what reason.
5. i don't use internet explorer, coz i find it slow and not reliable...

since you didnt read the previous post. FYI only, most of the N53 owner here will spend sometimes removing the bloatware installed by asus.
tomokomiki
post May 3 2011, 12:46 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(thieflord @ May 3 2011, 12:23 PM)
check what hdd ur using? use device manager or hwmonitor to see.. if the hdd starts with ST, ur doomed xD
owh.. i checked since i saw d post. It ST................................ flex.gif
tomokomiki
post May 3 2011, 02:03 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(thieflord @ May 3 2011, 12:47 PM)
wahahaha.... now wait ur seagate die only.. when die, go replace a wd 7.2k rpm 1.. dun send warranty coz they'll charge u expensive and put another seagate
tqtq sweat.gif anyway, i don game so my st may last a little longer whistling.gif

0.0442sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:15 PM