Asus N53SN review, and discussion

AsusFans
post Apr 17 2011, 01:29 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 12 2011, 11:15 PM)
Hey guys...i just recently "wake" my laptop from hybernation....AND ITS DAM ANNOYING  vmad.gif
My whole windows just lag like sh** and nothing is running. Restart also taking almost 5min.
This already happened a few times.

Just wanna know if any of you guys also experience the same thing????
Hi all, I am new here and have been reading all the stuff u al posted here and have been planing
to buy one Asus N53SN.... All the stuff u all said have been helpful especially from Trance4eva

so a big thank you.

And one thing that probably stop me from buying is this, the one where Trance4eva faced on hibernation

I wonder how many ppl experience this and what is your current remedy? seems not many pple response to this
just makes me worry the extend of this problem in the long run....

Thanks for in advance for any input
AsusFans
post Apr 17 2011, 01:43 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 16 2011, 09:51 PM)
Btw guys, i just visited some laptop shops juz now, and i realize the N53SV got a slight diff design than the SN le. The surface got a diff design. Looks like the texture u see from wood but dark brown. Although the feel is same but diff surface design  hmm.gif . Also the keyboard feels diff hmm.gif  And i check device manager.....also got Seagate Momentus  tongue.gif
Oh yea, i also tried almost every Toshiba and Lenovo laptop there and i realize something.......the N53 keyboard lose to them la doh.gif . IMO those laptop keyboard i tried eg Thinkpad, Toshiba Satelite dam nice feel wei. Make the N53 keyboard feel like crap. But we still beat the Dell XPS keyboard...that wan really not nice even though got backlit 
Sry arr just stating out the facts biggrin.gif

Added on April 16, 2011, 10:03 pm
congratz and welcome to the club rclxms.gif

I really think we should start our own thread  hmm.gif
Anyone care to start?? tongue.gif
I went to digital mall just now to have a look at NS3SN, the flex keyboard was indeed quite annoying to me....Not very good because the outlook looks so solid, but the keyboard is "fragile"

AsusFans
post Apr 18 2011, 08:16 PM

43 posts

wanna ask, what do you guys think about the extension of warranty offered by some shops in digital mall and lowyat?
this extension of warranty is not by asus but by the shop selling it, as they claim they will send it to asus for repair once the 2 years
global warranty is over...
is it true and is this reliable? what do you guys think?
AsusFans
post Apr 18 2011, 09:10 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 18 2011, 08:51 PM)
My bluetooth also cant connect == WTF !!!!
I think your driver got problem
Try to reinstall and see. another few times at least
AsusFans
post Apr 18 2011, 11:52 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(AsusFans @ Apr 18 2011, 08:16 PM)
wanna ask, what do you guys think about the extension of warranty offered by some shops in digital mall and lowyat?
this extension of warranty is not by asus but by the shop selling it, as they claim they will send it to asus for repair once the 2 years
global warranty is over...
is it true and is this reliable? what do you guys think?
nobody got anything to say bout this?
or maybe nobody knows there is such a thing
AsusFans
post Apr 19 2011, 12:17 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Apr 19 2011, 12:06 AM)
I personally won't recommend this to you, unless it's provided under the laptop company itself, an example, a friend of mine who bought the extended warranty that offer from the company, they claim it includes the software and hardware support, but when problem occurs they say this that, and afterwards just throw back to you without doing anything, so in my personal opinion don't purchase this kind of extended warranty.
well thanks for that, that clear my mind a bit. coz stupid me is considering.... lolz tho i heard from ppl regarding this also
AsusFans
post Apr 21 2011, 07:53 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(kelvinclyap88 @ Apr 21 2011, 12:03 PM)
does you mean N43?? tongue.gif
but N53SN still in the April-May cataloge, http://event.asus.com/my/2011/productguide/PG_May_April.pdf
so fast phase out??  hmm.gif
Does Asus ever roll out new product before showing its catalogue?
I mean like does June to July 2011 product out in May?
Have anyone notice such?
AsusFans
post Apr 21 2011, 10:23 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(zacc89 @ Apr 21 2011, 10:14 PM)
Evernew? good service? n i wanna to knw the warranty all also 2 years from asus? got wat free gift whn u bought?
Yeah i wonder why Trance4eva recommend Evernew??
They do offer 'extended' warranty
dunno if it is reliable
AsusFans
post Apr 24 2011, 02:42 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 24 2011, 12:37 AM)
5 or 6. cannot rmb  tongue.gif
I have been wondering.... If the laptop is new, shouldn't it be at factory setting when u first bought it?
Why you need to reformat it to the factory setting?

And can anyone tell me how annoying it is if i don reformat it to factory setting?
what are disadvantages?
I mean does the boot up time takes more than 5 minutes?
Does it afffect performance like everything go slower?
AsusFans
post Apr 24 2011, 03:48 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 24 2011, 03:11 AM)
It is set to factory settings with a few added programs. Reformat to factory settings get rids most of them.
And no it does not take 5 mins to boot up. Thats crazy. Only around 2 mins without reformating it and thats not normal. 60 sec is normal

Anyway if u want a more accurate answer.....get the laptop then u will know  biggrin.gif

Added on April 24, 2011, 3:12 am
and why is that???
I wanted to but no stock.....
The thing is i wonder is it worth getting because there were these sort of things happen to me where when i buy something, surely there wll be something even more worth it comes out after my purchase

that was what happen last time when i bought my duo core laptop, just shortly after that, core 2 duo came out.... #@#$%^&*
AsusFans
post Apr 24 2011, 09:06 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 24 2011, 04:59 AM)
Lol actually i thought u were referring that generally WD HDD are better than Seagate.
Still i have to agree laugh.gif
Seagate SUCKS! rclxm9.gif  cause it failed me twice....

Added on April 24, 2011, 5:03 am
Lol, samething also happened to me what. Ex, other ppl got WD HDD and instead I got a slower Seagate HDD doh.gif
Anyway, if your worried then u can go for the Hp Dv6. Until now no reported prob by the users....yet. From what i know HP= Heat Porblems. But also im not sure if that applies for the new DV6.

Well....no laptop is perfect  laugh.gif
are you talking about DV6-3027TX?
That is about RM1000 more expensive than N53SN dude
I think already exceeded my budget....
AsusFans
post Apr 24 2011, 10:31 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Apr 24 2011, 09:15 AM)
We were talking about dv6-6001tx, spec even higher than n53sn and price rm100 cheaper.
Is it available in Malaysia? lowyat? digitalmall?
Why didn't you all buy then?
AsusFans
post Apr 24 2011, 10:45 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Apr 24 2011, 10:32 AM)
Its available in Malaysia.
It just recently available..
and reevephon did bought it tongue.gif
Oh really?
Tell me more reevephon
where u bought it?
A look at hp website the retail price is RM3999

How it could be RM100 cheaper than N53SN
AsusFans
post Apr 24 2011, 01:38 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Apr 24 2011, 12:05 PM)
HP has deducted the price to RM3699 with free Beats Solo Headphone or RM3199 without the Beats Solo Headphone, you my get it from Marcus or the HP retail shop that locate at lowyat plaza.
I was at PC fair also, didn't see this model at all
Anyway, the headphone worth RM500??

That's unbelievable... Did u get the headphone as well reevephone?
AsusFans
post Apr 24 2011, 04:13 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Apr 24 2011, 02:26 PM)
Were you meant DV6-6001TX? I bet HP was the biggest booth in the PCFair among all laptop brand, if you really can't see it, then I've no comment, either you have sight issue or probably your eyes were keep catching the show girls.  drool.gif
Yeah possible that the show girls were blocking.....
Anyway i went there to see Asus only, not paying much attention to any other brand...

I wonder how is your DV6-6003tx graphic card fair compare to the N53SN GT550?
I think DDR5 i much faster and better performance right?
AsusFans
post Apr 27 2011, 11:50 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(zacc89 @ Apr 27 2011, 10:26 AM)
I had asked my IT friend. The stock will arrive in this few day... xxx....who else need this lappy fast booking le...cause everytime they come jus few unit...
I want one, but so many problem reported here... scary
AsusFans
post Apr 27 2011, 11:55 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 27 2011, 10:19 PM)
i dun think it got anything to do with the mobo...does it???
well BSoD always related to hardware thingy.... wah, i still havent buy this laptop yet, should I or not?
Asus is thought to be reliable leh.... Now looks like not very
AsusFans
post Apr 28 2011, 12:01 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(rickycheang @ Apr 27 2011, 11:55 PM)
y now the price become higher? 1 week b4 i bought at lowyat without free gift juz 3150 now become 3180?
Well the price never become higher, actually is all up to the generosity of the promoter or even the boss of the shop....
They also wanna earn commission for selling laptop
So what happen is that they try to give you a good price up to a certain limit, so high that they still earn something and so low that you buy it...
so is all up to them...
AsusFans
post May 1 2011, 01:11 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(zacc89 @ May 1 2011, 12:35 AM)
still haven come yet the stock.. sienzz...
Anyone knows exactly when? I need a laptop asap... looks like if next week still no stock, i gonna get some other brand.. sad.gif
AsusFans
post May 1 2011, 01:16 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(thieflord @ May 1 2011, 01:13 AM)
i bet he disliked the design xD
wow, hands down.... [standing ovation, clapping]

0.0444sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:34 PM