Asus N53SN review, and discussion
AlexLai
Mar 27 2011, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Mar 27 2011, 02:49 PM) Added on March 27, 2011, 2:52 pmhey guys i came across some problems with direct X. I ran dxdiag and it says I have directX 11 installed but when i run Black Ops it says d3dx9_43.dll is missing. Is it because there is no directX 9????  It's not really a DX problem. You're just missing that specific file after installation. Just get it from http://www.dll-files.com/ .
AlexLai
Mar 27 2011, 05:11 PM
Normally, I get this problem with the COD games if I transfer it from from another PC.
AlexLai
Mar 27 2011, 05:14 PM
Even at 5400 RPM it's 5.9. Raided will get a 6.X score while SSDs will breach the 7 mark.
AlexLai
Mar 27 2011, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(astria @ Mar 27 2011, 05:15 PM) lol, not that i really care... it doesn't reflect the real performance of my Momentus XT anyway...  It's just for people to feel good about their ePeen.
AlexLai
Mar 27 2011, 11:28 PM
The sinking feel, that's flex.
AlexLai
Mar 28 2011, 06:24 PM
HDD would always remain at 5.9 for the WEI. Only way to boost it is to get an SSD since RAIDing is out of the question.
AlexLai
Mar 30 2011, 05:17 PM
RAM doesn't affect boot time. Your HDD is the deciding factor.
AlexLai
Mar 31 2011, 09:29 PM
Elpida is more of an OEM brand for RAM used by a lot of companies. I was rather surprised that the A42 series used Kingston instead of Hynix or Elpida.
AlexLai
Apr 2 2011, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(springfall @ Apr 2 2011, 12:39 AM) soo far most asus lappie will flex.. my u41jf keyboard flex like crazy even though itz 14 inch.. The support backing under the keyboard isn't that strong.  Doesn't matter what size it is.
AlexLai
Apr 2 2011, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(thieflord @ Apr 2 2011, 09:15 PM) abt the screen scaling.. where to find the option?? to remove the black border for games tat dont support 16:9 were supposed to set scaling to fit to screen right? Use the Intel graphic properties for scaling since Optimus piggy-backs on the Intel HD.
AlexLai
Apr 3 2011, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 3 2011, 06:23 PM) Walao you all upgrade RAM then i also upgrade la. Add 2gb so 3x2gb for triple channel  Like that it won't run in triple channel cuz the system doesn't support it.
AlexLai
Apr 17 2011, 01:04 AM
Or Microsoft Security Essentials.
AlexLai
May 1 2011, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(AsusFans @ May 1 2011, 01:11 AM) Anyone knows exactly when? I need a laptop asap... looks like if next week still no stock, i gonna get some other brand..  Why not go for the A or U series?
AlexLai
May 1 2011, 01:18 AM
LAWL. Guess you're my opposite then. I kinda dislike the N series design.
AlexLai
May 2 2011, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(bulma06 @ May 2 2011, 05:27 PM) Trying to buy Asus N53SN at lowyat this afternoon, out of stock. One of the Merchant said the whole lowyat is out of stock. Need to wait 1 mths for new batch to arrive. Wow so hot meh this model. No other model was this popular since the A42JV came out last year.
AlexLai
May 2 2011, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(thieflord @ May 2 2011, 05:54 PM) Apparently it is.
AlexLai
May 2 2011, 09:38 PM
Your external hard drive giving you problems? Oh mai... this sounds almost like the China HDD scam case. http://blog.jitbit.com/2011/04/chinese-magic-drive.html
AlexLai
May 2 2011, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(nvrgivup @ May 2 2011, 09:52 PM) Of course  Forgotten that most externals are formatted in FAT32. Silly me.
AlexLai
May 3 2011, 01:31 AM
Why not someone performs a clean format and see if that helps with the 'Hibernation' problem?
This post has been edited by AlexLai: May 3 2011, 01:32 AM
AlexLai
May 3 2011, 08:31 PM
My A42JV's Seagate Momentus died in 8 days. Kinda like a record among my friends here.