Asus N53SN review, and discussion

TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 01:30 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(Kyozen @ Apr 17 2011, 01:26 AM)
good news for n53sn user who plays HoN, optimus issue is fixed on the recent update with new hero nomad
ehh Kyozen, HoN need beta key right??? or izzit free
I being playin DotA for years and feeling like tryin HoN...u know how to get it??
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 01:31 AM

1,801 posts

Added on April 17, 2011, 1:37 am
QUOTE(sUpErNoVa @ Apr 17 2011, 01:27 AM)
guys, how do you all read the RAM specifications? there's no "1333 Mhz" as claimed to be supplied with the laptop...

i'm using N53SV btw...
667 = 1333mhz
QUOTE(AsusFans @ Apr 17 2011, 01:29 AM)
Hi all, I am new here and have been reading all the stuff u al posted here and have been planing
to buy one Asus N53SN.... All the stuff u all said have been helpful especially from Trance4eva

so a big thank you.

And one thing that probably stop me from buying is this, the one where Trance4eva faced on hibernation

I wonder how many ppl experience this and what is your current remedy? seems not many pple response to this
just makes me worry the extend of this problem in the long run....

Thanks for in advance for any input
about the hybernation thing....i think im the only one having it..i think
Its most prob cause I have AVG???or windows update????or most prob cause i have a crappy/useless Seagate HDD cause most ppl is having a WD

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Apr 17 2011, 01:38 AM
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 01:36 AM

1,801 posts

This prob...i think...appears when ex. i hybernate during AC adapter plug in and wake up during battery use

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Apr 17 2011, 01:37 AM
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 01:39 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(Kyozen @ Apr 17 2011, 01:35 AM)
it used to require beta key, recently can register for free d

<a href='http://hon.flying spaghetti monster.com/index-MYSG.php' target='_blank'>http://hon.flying spaghetti monster.com/index-MYSG.php</a>
broken link sweat.gif
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 01:44 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(AsusFans @ Apr 17 2011, 01:43 AM)
I went to digital mall just now to have a look at NS3SN, the flex keyboard was indeed quite annoying to me....Not very good because the outlook looks so solid, but the keyboard is "fragile"
actually for me the keyboard flex is not a big deal for me. The keyboard is ok as long as i can taip without looking at the keyboard....but the "feeling" is not there. Still it's comfortable
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 01:55 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(Kyozen @ Apr 17 2011, 01:53 AM)
it is annoying to see it flex at first even for me  mad.gif  but after 1 week of usage, i dont even realize it actually flex cause during typing most of us usually look at the screen not keys. it does not flex until your finger can feel like sinking into sands, just normal keyboard feeling although i hope its not so flat tho  sad.gif
+1
soo true rclxms.gif

Added on April 17, 2011, 1:57 am@kyozen
btw i tried to register for closed beta key but it keep redirecting me to http://hon.flying spaghetti monster.com/index-MYSG.php . I already hav a flying spaghetti monster acc btw

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Apr 17 2011, 01:57 AM
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 01:58 AM

1,801 posts

OMG why is G@rena =Flying spaghetti monster!!!!
the mod got prob with G@rena izzit
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 02:30 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 17 2011, 02:24 AM)
I installed boot timer but it don seem to work !! @@ BTW, is Asus LIve update important ? Should i Keep or unistall it ??
hmm must be something got to do with ur windows settings that do not allow programs to simply start...u have to change that settings
As for Asus Live update.....its useless as it is rarely being use. I also heard in secrete its actually a worm that monitors all ur action eg which web u visit. So...just delete it

TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 02:32 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 17 2011, 02:27 AM)
What else i need to unistall ??
if u want faster boot up time, go to the 1st page and read my 1st post/review and scroll to the bottom of that post nod.gif
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 02:42 AM

1,801 posts

Hey guys i juz found something wrong with Nv GPU
When i was playing NFS Hot Persuit, everthing is working fine, then when i alt+tab to other program and alt+tab to NFS again....i can see obvius distortion with the trees and bushes.
I also heard this prob on the Acer 5750g with GT540M.
Anyway, on my previous Lenovo Y560P with Radeon HD6570M...this problem did not occured
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 02:56 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Apr 17 2011, 02:53 AM)
u using nvidia beta 270?
yup...on the previous driver i also actually encounter the same prob
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 03:32 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Apr 17 2011, 03:12 AM)
try play windows mode see haha. i so far no probs with any of my games. i just know on my n53sv cannot play dragon age 2 with very high detail...the framerate drop quite abit.
No option for windowed mode. But i rmb theres a key combination to enabled that....does any1 know???

TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 01:46 PM

1,801 posts

Hey guys,
I just tried to open the back casing. To my surprise, when i look at the back, of the back casing laugh.gif , i saw....fingerprints. Ah ha, now i can identified the person that tempered with my laptop and i have solid evidence icon_idea.gif
Anyway, i saw 2 Elpida ram inserted on the outer left(slot 2) and outer right (slot 1). But when i check CPU-Z, it says slot 2 and slot 4 is occupied doh.gif
So my question here is, is it in dual channel now??

Slot 3(inner left) and Slot 4(inner right) btw
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 02:15 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 17 2011, 01:47 PM)
I'm curious, just got my n53sn ytd. So if i follow the instructions on http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...8&hl=ASUS+U41JF

he says to make the recovery dvd, then reformat.

Reformat means i use another windows or..?

Then how do i go about to uninstall the bloatwares? >.< i've got 93 running processes and i havent installed anything lol.

Please help me..
u dun hav to post twice....
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 02:19 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 17 2011, 02:08 PM)
Hey guys, may i know why my mute, volume up volume down button at top left is not working >?
Just install the ATK driver through e-Driver or dl for Asus web.
If the prob still continues, keep installing. I had to install it twice to get it working

Added on April 17, 2011, 2:20 pm
QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 17 2011, 02:18 PM)
Different topic mah tongue.gif So i thought who can reply me first. sad.gif but i still cant see the option to choose which bloatware to install during recovery...
doh.gif
Just stay at 1 topic....i already replied to u

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Apr 17 2011, 02:20 PM
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 02:59 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 17 2011, 02:55 PM)
Thx , problem solved ^^ BTW, my boot time is still 100++ secs ><
100 secs is not normal.....60 secs is
Did u use BootTimer???
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 11:16 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(sanmiauz @ Apr 17 2011, 10:42 PM)
lol i doubt the police will have free time to find out the person for you.

i just remove both epida ram and slot them into the bottom slot and kingston on one of the top slot.

hmm does dual channel setting really affect that much in performance ?
and also i read some forum on n53sn and found out there is someone selling backlit keyboard for n53sn. forgot the link haha

Added on April 17, 2011, 10:44 pm

better keep the recovery partition as it only take abit of your harddisk space
who know one unlucky day your dvds got damaged or lost due to accident
Dual channel i think give some boost in performance but not that much la.

Anyway, backlit for N53SN drool.gif izzit in Malaysia or other country????
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 17 2011, 11:38 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(sanmiauz @ Apr 17 2011, 11:26 PM)
hmm go see .. is it the same keyboard?
i lazy take out my n53n from my backpack

i do my work at home with dell laptop haha

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-ASUS-N53-N53J-N73-...=item3a6442497d
diff keyboard...
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 18 2011, 12:16 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 17 2011, 11:59 PM)
Hi guys, i've been listening to the speaker of the N53SN.

I must say, the audio is really loud, and somewhat rich  cool.gif 

Okay just curious, anyone of you have this specific? I think the music pic is a bit too high or something, i can hear the speaker somewhat 'sizzling'. If you get what I'd meant, it's like the sharp vibrating sound.

i dont get it often, but i'm listening to this song now http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGsU4vuJAIo, and occasionally the speaker tend to vibrate sharply. The music is still okay, just the speaker vibrates.

Can anyone of you be so kind and help me play this song and listen to it? See if it vibrates too? >.< I scared the speaker is gone jor.. so within 7 days still can claim 1-to-1 unit.

Btw, my volume is 70 when this happens. Or did I put it too loud?  shakehead.gif
I think is the song ur listening now la, quality not good laugh.gif
Anyway the sizzling thing is called sound distortion. This B&O speaker somehow is only suitable with jazz/instrumental songs. Songs with bass...not so good.
To stop sound distortion, open Sonic Master and try to lower to the vocal clarity, Surround, Bass to ur liking. Lower it down could prevent sound distortion.
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 18 2011, 12:38 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(sUpErNoVa @ Apr 18 2011, 12:34 AM)
@sifu lee: i think this question has been posted by someone before in this forum but i couldn't seem to be able to find it now.

how do you set which program to run with Nvidia GPU? which control panel ah?  blush.gif
Right click on the program and find Run with graphic processor, from there u got 2 option, run with Intel or Nv

21 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0384sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:23 AM