Asus N53SN review, and discussion

TSTrance4eva
post Apr 5 2011, 05:08 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(8u8u @ Apr 5 2011, 04:15 PM)
yesterday duno y suddenly my graphic driver crash after i restore from sleep mode@@
Which driver you install la, desktop or mobile version......
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 5 2011, 05:45 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(Kyozen @ Apr 4 2011, 05:15 PM)
seriously,
1) go do backup dvd

2) reformat (can refer how to do backup and factory reset in asus manual book)

3) delete useless bloatwares http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus/38068...ware-guide.html

optional ( do backup registry file and clean error registry entry by using CCleaner)

4) uninstall ATK and reinstall back (dunno why some fn key will nt work after uninstall some bloatwares, after reinstall working fine again)

5) use msconfig to unable some useless startup

6) install 'Windows Performance Tool
Download WPT: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/performance/cc752957
Instructions from sarf2k4 (at the bottom): http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1606856/+1940#entry40319554

7) Use Asus Fast boot to delay some program startup

then you could enjoy around 2X ~ 4X sec boot up time

ps. thx to all sifus in this forum who share and guide to achieve fast boot up time

Congratz on your lappie rclxms.gif
Here, follow this few steps

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Apr 5 2011, 05:47 PM
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 5 2011, 10:51 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(aquest @ Apr 5 2011, 10:39 PM)
was told that asus has revised downwards the prices of n53sn/v and a53sv by rm200 effective monday, 4/4/11. so the rrp of n53sn and n53sv r now rm3299 and rm2599 respectively. after further discount, the n53sn should be able to get it for between rm3150 and rm3199.
shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
Where did you get this info????
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 5 2011, 11:17 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Apr 5 2011, 11:07 PM)
no regret! i'm loving my n53sv so far. technology is like dat, u never know when drop price.
for sure it will drop price but the thing is, it wont drop that tremendously and they just change the price at early march.....
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 6 2011, 04:07 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Apr 6 2011, 02:29 PM)
well nothing can do bout it, what is purchased is purchased.
Don't cry over spilt milk laugh.gif

Added on April 6, 2011, 4:08 pm
QUOTE(springfall @ Apr 6 2011, 12:19 PM)
yay me!!..  cheaper price for me!
go buy at PC Fair???

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Apr 6 2011, 04:08 PM
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 6 2011, 09:12 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(empire177 @ Apr 6 2011, 06:07 PM)
omg guys! Today i went to my school for laptop configuration. Alot of softwares had been installed... like symantec endpoint protection( seems like a super old antivirus program that i used in 2004), autocad 2010 and a bunch of other stuffs.. Then i restarted my laptop and realise that my boot time was around 2 mins?! Is there like any ways to solve this problem...
its definitely something wrong with your AV
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 6 2011, 09:53 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 6 2011, 09:46 PM)
Undecided between N53SN and Dell XPS 15 MLK... sad.gif
The Dell you getting FHD or the normal screen.....
Just to help you, JBL on the XPS is better than B&O on the N53SN

Added on April 6, 2011, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(empire177 @ Apr 6 2011, 09:42 PM)
dunno sia... before the configuration they wanted ask to uninstall our antivirus.. not like i have any anyway...
Uninstall the old AV la. Database sure useless. You wan all kinds of virus/worms/malware/spyware enter you laptop meh. Get a free AV also good d. But don't get McAfee...if they still exist cause they been bought over by Microsoft......

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Apr 6 2011, 09:55 PM
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 6 2011, 11:47 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 6 2011, 10:22 PM)
Yea i recalled it looked like a...uh, some weirdly designed box that looked like some rushed work. rofl

But ASUS (except G series) doesnt have backlit sad.gif
Ya although N53SN dun have backlit but when I tried the XPS keyboard....it "feels" weird......not right...
Anyways, it all depends on your choice, you wan a better GPU?? Which Speaker you wan???? Design????? Keyboard????Price reasonable????These are the factors that you need to consider
GPU >>> N53SN is better
Speaker >>> XPS got subwoofer i think. Many reviews said JBL on XPS.....best speaker....for a laptop. 2nd I think is B&O. But do not expect too much from laptop speakers, any normal 2.1 channel speaker can beat them any time. Thats why i bought a Sonic Gear Tatoo Duo 3 (Duo BASS!! drool.gif )
Design>>> Definitely i will pick N53 cause of the curvy design on the side...it gives you this kind of "harmonic" feeling as if the line does not stop there (dun ask why). Compared to the XPS, IMHO...i really hate the design (whoever owns a XPS pls dun flame me biggrin.gif )
Keyboard>>> Up to you la you wan backlit or not. Keyboard all can get use to...it just need time but, for me la, XPS keyboard "feels" weird.
Price>>>I think N53SN is more reasonable IMO. The design & specs is worth the bucks $$

Just helping you to pick la. But if you ask me if I prefer N53SN or XPS 15....i prefer N53SN. Im not being bias, i tried my friends XPS 15 b4 and it does not "attract" me at all.
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 7 2011, 12:23 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(xplay88 @ Apr 7 2011, 12:11 AM)
guys my N53SN wei is 5.8 haha just below 1 from normal...how come can be like that ar???
mine is 5.6 le....you dun need complain dry.gif
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 7 2011, 12:30 AM

1,801 posts

windows update la your wan. Most prob it change your WEI
As for mine....i have no clue doh.gif
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 7 2011, 03:36 PM

1,801 posts

I also have not update my warranty laugh.gif
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 9 2011, 10:05 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(chc @ Apr 9 2011, 09:47 PM)
i just bought today with 3299 smile.gif
gratz rclxms.gif

really decrease price leh doh.gif
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 10 2011, 12:52 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Apr 10 2011, 12:34 AM)
to N53SN owner, is Shift 2 Unleashed and Crysis 2 playable on GT 550M? If yes at what fps, resolution and details?

I'm dying to know this, been googling alot about this today but failed to find much detail information on these 2 games.  sweat.gif
Dun worry, sure cannot put in highest settings laugh.gif . Jk la, im not really sure...maybe can put. If highest settings sure FPS around 10-20.
Have to lower down the settings to enable smoother play
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 10 2011, 11:05 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(nvrgivup @ Apr 10 2011, 01:14 AM)
shift 2 i not sure...cuz din play...crysis 2 in gamer setting 60fps...if hardcore 18--20fps....bt better stick to gamer setting...cuz really the same...oh ya 1 thg...i play crysis 2 the temp of cpu is about 75--80....bt prototype almost reach 85 >.<
izit ok???cuz almost reach 90degree...very worry...
u only have to start worrying when it reaches 100C

Added on April 10, 2011, 11:06 am
QUOTE(ineser @ Apr 10 2011, 08:05 AM)
How's the temp like? Feel very hot at the palm rest?
Not really that hot, but hot till it can make your palm sweat....unless ur in an air con room then it wont.

Added on April 10, 2011, 11:07 am
QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Apr 10 2011, 09:44 AM)
thanks man, thats give me the idea how the gc performed.  notworthy.gif
highest details and still get >30 fps?  drool.gif  thanks man
Wait for DV 6 or just grab the N53SN right now?  doh.gif
Recent price slash looks quite a deal to me.
Grab one now and enjoy earlier drool.gif

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Apr 10 2011, 11:07 AM
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 10 2011, 11:33 AM

1,801 posts

HP = Heat Problems
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 10 2011, 07:26 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(sUpErNoVa @ Apr 10 2011, 05:59 PM)
guys, any ways to check the RAM specifications installed inside the laptop? i tried searching for it in device manager but can't find it... hmm.gif
Download CPU-Z or another better way is....open up the casing and see the sticker on the RAM laugh.gif
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 10 2011, 09:05 PM

1,801 posts

shocking.gif the new DV6 release in Malaysia d????
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 11 2011, 02:04 AM

1,801 posts

Weird.....even my N53SN also starts up around 50sec
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 11 2011, 10:21 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(sUpErNoVa @ Apr 11 2011, 09:44 AM)
My N53SV start-up time around 35-40s after configuring "msconfig startup", installed all games and applications, defragment hard disks once and did recovery CD already (just last night). so far very satisfied with the laptop...  thumbup.gif

Another satisfied N53 user thumbup.gif
Ain't this laptop just awesome laugh.gif
TSTrance4eva
post Apr 11 2011, 12:27 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(sUpErNoVa @ Apr 11 2011, 11:24 AM)
noob question of mine, since I'm a first time owner of a laptop, is the GPU upgradable in the future?  hmm.gif
Nope cause its soldered to the motherboard. Only for certain laptop can be upgrade

21 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0444sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:33 AM