Discussion about watercooling and the results, Version 2

monsh
post Jun 22 2010, 08:33 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

depends on the radiator as well i guess .
well, im not saying that black ice GTX series is not good, but it sure is not the silent operation type .
im using the 480 version and will be paired up with yate loon d12sh12 .
would be good enough though .

anyway, rad has their rated heat dispersion rate .
some has bigger some has lower, but iinm, the black ice GTX series has the biggest heat dispersion rate .

monsh
post Jun 23 2010, 06:47 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

well i think i saw a review last time saying this 480 is capable of handling 800W of heat .

well i chose yate loon because it has better static pressure .
that's a better choice for radiator cooling as well as heatsink .
scythe slipstream is not a very good choice for radiator .
better go with gentle typhoon instead .
its proven, u can google around and see the result ^^,

yate loon is considered reliable fan for radiator alongside with scythe gentle typhoon .

mine is the GTX <-- Gen Two Xtreme .
difference is one is Black Ice Xtreme and 1 more is Black Ice Gen Two Xtreme .

hehe biggrin.gif

oh btw, this radiator is not meant for silent operation .
but i can live with 40dBA .
the sound of gaming will kill the fan noise ^^,

This post has been edited by monsh: Jun 23 2010, 06:48 AM
monsh
post Jun 23 2010, 03:12 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

whatever it is, for me, as long as you're going for good static pressure fan and paired up with any of these rad should be good enough .
black ice gtx is only doing bad with low RPM fans .
with medium rated(+-2000) which i assume most ppl would use, the black ice gtx series already pawning some other rad as well
monsh
post Jun 23 2010, 11:21 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

well, quite hard to xplain static pressure actually .

simply put, its like saying

1CM distance from fan u get 2meter cubic of air per hour <-- good static pressure
1CM distance from fan u get 1meter cubic of air per hour <-- bad static pressure

its something like this laa .
means the fan has good capability of pushing the air further because the fins on the rad is quite restrictive for the air .
so we need a fan that is capable to push good amount of air through it .

about the car water coolant, if its true it contains anti corrosion liquid, means it has more restriction, hence not so good for PC watercooling because it'll make the loop more restrictive and u get less GPM for flow which means less heat dissipation rate .

its my 2 cent .

oh and i've read reviews out there, distilled water is still the best choice because no algae, almost zero restriction .
corrosion will probably happen if u mix materials in d loop .
like alu + brass + copper n such .

nowadays, all copper items so i think not a problem, distilled water still d best ^^,
monsh
post Jun 23 2010, 11:49 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

woot that would xplain it .
haha but yeah i myself oso never use any sort of additive .
and some additive even become some sort of solid thingy after using it for awhile .
would block the flow of the system though .
really scary thing especially on radiator >.<"
monsh
post Jun 24 2010, 02:08 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

that im not sure .
must ask others though ^^,
monsh
post Jun 24 2010, 09:52 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

oh this is great news .
anyway, like those nikel plated waterblock, its only the outer layer is nikel right ?
d inside part is still copper ?
monsh
post Jun 24 2010, 07:51 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

hahaha owikh already said maa .
corrosion will still happen but its d rate of corrosion that's d problem .
we need to minimize the rate .
well, looking at the table, probably its similar to copper as well .

oh btw guys, i got 1 question, is brass = copper ?
cause i tot want to get a T line or Elbow connector .
most shop i ask all say brass wan >.<"
monsh
post Jun 25 2010, 12:29 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

what bout brass ?
normally ppl sell those T lines and elbow connector in brass .

monsh
post Jun 25 2010, 09:33 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

haha of course not .
its meant for some sort of gardening host something like that .
anyway, its the most less restrictive elbow connector i found .
that's y considering getting them .
the plastric elbow connector mostly i found quite restrictive .

monsh
post Jun 25 2010, 02:48 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

yeah dat'll be good thing .
how much is it ?
monsh
post Jun 25 2010, 05:06 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

ahaha biggrin.gif
so i guess using bitspower silver shining compression fitting is a good idea ?
since its silver plated .
monsh
post Jun 25 2010, 08:55 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

okay .
then put a spoon in the reservoir ^^,
monsh
post Jun 26 2010, 11:27 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

naa im a bit lost already .
cause i think someone mentioned that bitspower silver shining is silver plated .
dat's y i mentioned it .

anyway, teaspoon should be nice for replacement thumbup.gif

well, honestly, i dont think there's much point of getting the silver coil thingy ~
i myself will do a full PC cleanup including watercooling system every 6 months .
change the distilled water and stuffs .
its good enough though .

imho, no need d silver thingy ^^,
monsh
post Jun 26 2010, 03:24 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

internal ?
take out d think and use tootbrush with soap or alcohol or something like that laa .
dump it in alcohol for a few minutes and start brushing see if it helps .
best not to use with WD-40 i guess cause it's greasy .
might not be a good thing for the loop later on .
or u could try using WD-40 and give a good rub using toothbrush and then use lots of soap to clean them .
anything is possible dude .
hehe biggrin.gif

monsh
post Jun 26 2010, 05:00 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

hahahahaha joe wat lawak berguna !
but beware, mothers at home will be on rampage if u do this !
monsh
post Jun 26 2010, 08:39 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

yea like i said .
lawak berguna = useful joke .
its quite funny but it is working i guess >.<"
like this can try use the engine degreaser and then wash with soap .
actually since its mechanical stuffs, i guess there's ways to do this right .
maybe dump into clorox for half day ?
haha >.<"
monsh
post Jun 27 2010, 12:11 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

haha dont get lazy when it comes to WC .
need to clean the dust on radiator anyway .
monsh
post Jun 27 2010, 01:56 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

sorry, i suck at chemistry .
anyway, got my rig running .
idle 44 load 59 for now .
havent OC whatsoever .
still learning the bios setting .
really there's a lot of them
monsh
post Jun 27 2010, 07:20 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

cola is acidic right .
it "hakis" the layer .
this type of thing must ask guru d laa .
vinegar can meh ? its acidic pulak >.<"

0.0219sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:51 AM