Apr 26 2006, 08:16 AM
264 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
Current setup of my WC rig...
![]() ![]() If ur wandering y the tubing to the radiator is long its because i wanna place it at the casing fan outlet later on, like this : ![]() Things i will and want to do to improve the temp of the WC now: 1. shorten the tubing (but if i shorten it i can't place it at the casing fan outlet 2. use a better cfm fan 3. try distill water or maybe battery water, for comparison... Also to be noted the bleeding is done (no more bubbles+no more splashing sound+shacking the radiator to check for air bubbles), and the temp decrease by 1C now...meaning at OC loading at 325fsb at 1.408v the loading is around 43-45C average at 44C,compared to last time it was at at average of 45C. This post has been edited by DaBaD: Apr 26 2006, 08:32 AM |
Apr 26 2006, 11:20 AM
1,924 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
@dabad : fan pun tak cukup rempit tu.....kasik pm sama itu alngap angkat 38mm punya
Apr 26 2006, 05:00 PM
480 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras, Kuala Lumpur |
@dabad
yeah man...i think a powerful fan will help. that radiator looks really fat oh btw, it might help if you put a fan close to the pump to cool it down. it will reduce the heat dump into your loop by the pump . This post has been edited by Shah81: Apr 26 2006, 05:01 PM |
Apr 26 2006, 05:48 PM
1,526 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Between Those Legs Position : Missionary |
QUOTE(Shah81 @ Apr 26 2006, 07:00 PM) @dabad U mean, it wud be good to have a fan cooling down the pump ??yeah man...i think a powerful fan will help. that radiator looks really fat oh btw, it might help if you put a fan close to the pump to cool it down. it will reduce the heat dump into your loop by the pump . what about the pump we put near the intake fan of the system.... Wud it be ok, ? |
Apr 26 2006, 08:18 PM
2,295 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
hi there, currently got the nirox p2800 from metalzone, i got a thermaltake m3 water tank, can it be used like reservoir??? i mean using the water tank to refill the system... or i do need another reservoir??? sry i am noob in water cooling...
Apr 26 2006, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(zahri @ Apr 26 2006, 05:48 PM) U mean, it wud be good to have a fan cooling down the pump ?? this is a quote from almostthere tips & trick thread:what about the pump we put near the intake fan of the system.... Wud it be ok, ? QUOTE(Tips and tricks for watercooling users) Lastly, give the pump proper ventilation so that heat is properly dissipated from it. It'll help extend it's lifespan. i guess that would be ok as long you got some ventilation going on.hope this helps This post has been edited by Shah81: Apr 26 2006, 08:41 PM |
Apr 26 2006, 09:53 PM
1,526 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Between Those Legs Position : Missionary |
QUOTE(lichyetan @ Apr 26 2006, 10:18 PM) hi there, currently got the nirox p2800 from metalzone, i got a thermaltake m3 water tank, can it be used like reservoir??? i mean using the water tank to refill the system... or i do need another reservoir??? sry i am noob in water cooling... Yeah U can use the water tank as a reservoir , but u need to fit ur pumps with 1/4 fittings too.. or get a converter.... like the one thermaltake sells...if u are planning to use some other tube sizes. This post has been edited by zahri: Apr 26 2006, 09:57 PM |
Apr 26 2006, 10:35 PM
6,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: World Wide Web Status: Banned |
Apr 26 2006, 11:41 PM
2,515 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh/KL |
DaBaD...
Yeah the rad's a kinda airflow restrictive. I measured it at 17.5 FPI (Fins per Inch)... which is essentially the same as the BIX, both of which has a core thickness of 40mm. Therefore, based on that assumption, I believe it has very similar characteristics to the BIX. Therefore, that push pull config definately has to stay. What fans are those? QUOTE(uzairi @ Apr 26 2006, 10:35 PM) Ouch... thats tough news. Found a new mobo? |
Apr 27 2006, 12:04 AM
3,593 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: ***Penang*** |
QUOTE(DaBaD @ Apr 26 2006, 08:16 AM) Things i will and want to do to improve the temp of the WC now: aiya, those fan cant do the job well, pressure not big enough1. shorten the tubing (but if i shorten it i can't place it at the casing fan outlet 2. use a better cfm fan 3. try distill water or maybe battery water, for comparison... Also to be noted the bleeding is done (no more bubbles+no more splashing sound+shacking the radiator to check for air bubbles), and the temp decrease by 1C now...meaning at OC loading at 325fsb at 1.408v the loading is around 43-45C average at 44C,compared to last time it was at at average of 45C. CFM is not the important thing here, pressure more important |
Apr 27 2006, 12:08 AM
Apr 27 2006, 12:15 AM
Apr 27 2006, 12:17 AM
Hopefully. But that thing is the square ones. Not the rounded ones(capasitor). I might change the transistor later.
Apr 27 2006, 12:48 AM
3,773 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Anywhere lah...as long got Kopi-O |
Don't use push pull, a waste of time. Done my experiments already. A good cfm/pressure fan will sort that out. Best choice is those Japan Panaflo H series or kalau tak mampu sangat, NMB's or Delta's
Apr 27 2006, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(almostthere @ Apr 27 2006, 12:48 AM) Don't use push pull, a waste of time. Done my experiments already. A good cfm/pressure fan will sort that out. Best choice is those Japan Panaflo H series or kalau tak mampu sangat, NMB's or Delta's uh push pull really no use? H1A damn loud weh. Two slightly lower CFM/Pressure fans wont do justice?Ps... pm me ur test results, wanna check it out. This post has been edited by MetalZone: Apr 27 2006, 12:54 AM |
Apr 27 2006, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(MetalZone @ Apr 27 2006, 12:53 AM) uh push pull really no use? H1A damn loud weh. Two slightly lower CFM/Pressure fans wont do justice? No as it only allows at best a more constant average temp, not lowering of temps. I've tested with 2 delta triblades and that's how I came to taht conclusion. Wanna minimise noise? Go for a pull setup. Sorts it outPs... pm me ur test results, wanna check it out. This post has been edited by almostthere: Apr 27 2006, 01:08 AM |
Apr 27 2006, 01:20 AM
QUOTE(almostthere @ Apr 27 2006, 01:07 AM) No as it only allows at best a more constant average temp, not lowering of temps. I've tested with 2 delta triblades and that's how I came to taht conclusion. Wanna minimise noise? Go for a pull setup. Sorts it out Hmm... you tested with a BIP right? The BIP being a low airflow resistance rad probably doesnt benefit much from a push-pull setup. I think it would do more justice for a HE or BIX perhaps? |
Apr 27 2006, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(MetalZone @ Apr 27 2006, 01:20 AM) Hmm... you tested with a BIP right? The BIP being a low airflow resistance rad probably doesnt benefit much from a push-pull setup. I think it would do more justice for a HE or BIX perhaps? Nope, same principle itself. You're just ensuring that the airflow is equivalent before and after it passes thru the rad. So overtime as dust accumulates in between the fins, the temps do no deteriorate. 2 fans != improved temps. |
Apr 27 2006, 01:42 AM
264 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
The fans that i use are Delta fans each have 80+ CFM...I just checked the coding on the fans and they are indeed 80+ CFM fans.
Also i tried using 2 fans, 1 fan that pulls, and 1 fan push... All gave the same result...but using a 1 fan push gave slightly stable results e.g. at OC settings the temps fluctuate from 44-45C rather then other fan configs that fluctuate from 44-46C. But all in all they have the average same temp results. Now using battery water...bleeding haven't finish yet, the temps are slightly better maybe 0.5C drop like that but no confirmation yet as the bleeding is not finish... Next will try and shorten the tubings...after done testing with battery water... |
| Change to: | 0.0294sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:58 PM |