Android Phone Recommendation thread v2, Confused? Torn between two phones?

kennethbta
post May 7 2011, 12:36 PM

197 posts

HUAWEI IDEOS X5 U8800 vs Acer Liquid Metal...
which one is better?in terms of
(1)price
(2)spec
(3)build quality
(4)developer support
(5)availability of accessories
(6)battery life
(7)known hardware,software problems??
need some suggestions here...thanks in advance...
personally doesn't fancy much of china brands...does this manufacturer's android phones are problematic history??

Added on May 7, 2011, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(banshee87 @ May 7 2011, 11:06 AM)
Okay... Need some recommendations for an android phone...
I'm getting my first android phone (currently using SE w810i... and wanna upgrade since i really nid GPS)

1. Brand => anyone would do...
2. Budget => around 700-1k (is this too low?)
3. Specs. => I wanna get the most out of what I pay... but I'm not sure what specs I can get...
     my fren told me not to get android 2.1, since it only allows user to install apps on local memory...
     I would prefer if it's a newer OS with OS update option (to a newer OS)
     For screen size... hmm... around 3 inch would be gud i guess
4. Features:
    - Gud battery life... can last a full day of usage without charging...
    - Multi-Touch screen which is sensitive enuff
    - 3~5 MP camera, with flash and auto-focus (am I asking for too much from this low budget?)
    - Wi-Fi

I guess that's all at the moment...

Thanks in advanced for your recommendations... Sorry if it's too lengthy...

acer liquid metal, HUAWEI IDEOS X5 U8800, samsung galaxy ace(not recommended)

This post has been edited by kennethbta: May 7 2011, 12:39 PM
kennethbta
post May 8 2011, 12:04 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(EmeraldKeng @ May 7 2011, 01:46 PM)
WTF SGA(not recommended?) are you kidding?

anyway pick SGA out of all of those. i was gonna buy SGA but then it's out of stock and i hate waiting so now gonna buy SGSL soon.. (SL is just +200 you can get a better + higher spec) but since your range was from 700-1k.. i guess SGA would be just nice enough for you. it got all the spec you have just mentioned.
shocking.gif SGA fanboy?
with the similar price ALM and huawei X5 specs simply outrun SGA...not to mention SGA wifi+SOD problem
do some research before u recommend to others lar bro..
ur preference on SGA doesn't mean that it's a good choice for others doh.gif

This post has been edited by kennethbta: May 8 2011, 12:11 AM
kennethbta
post May 9 2011, 11:17 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(AhPang92 @ May 9 2011, 09:22 PM)
To request recommendation, what u need to post:

1. Brand.
    a) Acer Liquid Metal b) Huawei Ideos X5
2. Budget. around 900
3. Specs. I think it's same between these 2
4. What you need in the phone
    Just wan the best phone between these 2... and please give me advise if there's any ex-user of these 2 phones~~
im wondering between these two phones too since they have similar specs...
but ill go for huawei since it's cheaper and ALM accessories seems hard to get (they even have to bulk order only can get the case doh.gif )
whereas huawei comes with sp and case by one of the lyn seller...
kennethbta
post May 10 2011, 01:34 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(binjai @ May 10 2011, 01:17 PM)
appeciate any recommendations for below:-

1. Brand - no specific model

2. Budget -  ~rm600

3. Specs. - must have gps

4. Others - non touch screen also ok/wifi/etc

cheers
samsung galaxy 5 or galaxy mini brows.gif

Added on May 10, 2011, 1:35 pm
QUOTE(murv90 @ May 10 2011, 01:33 PM)
budget around 1.2-1.3k. any suggestions?
read up previous posts smile.gif
samsung galaxy s captivate brows.gif
or samsung galaxy sl like the lady below brows.gif

This post has been edited by kennethbta: May 10 2011, 01:51 PM
kennethbta
post May 10 2011, 04:08 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(spekitam @ May 10 2011, 03:46 PM)
Yesterday I went surveying phone price and find out Samsung galaxy s i9000 only rm1200 4gb (ori)..

Is it true this phone already reach this kind of price?

And how do i know phone manufacture date?

since i do not want to get cheated
galaxy s got 4gb?should be SL blink.gif
kennethbta
post May 12 2011, 11:50 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(kuados @ May 12 2011, 09:47 PM)
Basically i want a stable phone with a good price range.SGA is just right at first but after almost everyone has SOD problems i don't this it would be suitable.As for screen size does not matter much.A good camera is a plus and also good resolution.With my budget i know i can't have it all.I was wondering is the Acer liquid metal worth to get?So far that phone is within my budget and also can compare to SGA and might be better since it supports flash and none of the SOD.But i never see anyone use an ACER phone before so i was wondering how reliable is it.I just want a realiable phone that does not lags, hangs just basically dun give me headaches in the run long.
huawei edeos x5 u8800 rm800++ similar spec as acer liquid metal icon_idea.gif
kennethbta
post May 13 2011, 11:23 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 13 2011, 05:36 PM)
second to post above me,
Huawei IDEOS U8800 X5 [around 800-900] / Acer Liquid Metal [around 1k] is probably the best bang for bucks in <1k budget...
preloaded with Android 2.2 with Full Flash support, 3.8"[x5] / 4"[ALM] WVGA screen, the same processor used on Desire Z [800 MHz Scorpion processor, Adreno 205 GPU, Qualcomm MSM 7230 chipset]...
besides, X5 got 2gb/4gb internal storage yo, so its a quite good deal for such low price

yea, u probably cant really c any ppl using these out there...but they do hav supports...
X5 got its home @ XDA...CM7 is developing, oledi can overclocked to 1.8ghz biggrin.gif
ALM got custom rom to 2.3 [if im not wrong]

ALM VS "adios~" X5 http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...e2=3519#results

for open source OS like android, community support oso important, so if u wan big community..
get something x10 etc.
800MHz can OC to 1.8GHz???!!! shocking.gif
how come my defy with 800MHz can only OC to 1.1GHz max?? rclxub.gif
kennethbta
post Jul 15 2011, 04:09 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 14 2011, 11:33 PM)
samsung galaxy s2 or htc sensation
vanilla UI??

This post has been edited by kennethbta: Jul 15 2011, 04:11 PM