Android Phone Recommendation thread v2, Confused? Torn between two phones?

banshee87
post May 7 2011, 11:06 AM

145 posts

Okay... Need some recommendations for an android phone...
I'm getting my first android phone (currently using SE w810i... and wanna upgrade since i really nid GPS)

1. Brand => anyone would do...
2. Budget => around 700-1k (is this too low?)
3. Specs. => I wanna get the most out of what I pay... but I'm not sure what specs I can get...
my fren told me not to get android 2.1, since it only allows user to install apps on local memory...
I would prefer if it's a newer OS with OS update option (to a newer OS)
For screen size... hmm... around 3 inch would be gud i guess
4. Features:
- Gud battery life... can last a full day of usage without charging...
- Multi-Touch screen which is sensitive enuff
- 3~5 MP camera, with flash and auto-focus (am I asking for too much from this low budget?)
- Wi-Fi

I guess that's all at the moment...

Thanks in advanced for your recommendations... Sorry if it's too lengthy...

banshee87
post May 7 2011, 03:11 PM

145 posts

oic...

Thanks for the recommendations everyone...

Hmm...

So, if it's between Samsung Galaxy Ace and Acer Liquid Metal...
Which 1 would be a better choice? and why?
Seems like lota ppl suggesting SGA...

Added on May 7, 2011, 4:37 pmoh ya....and hw abt flash support?

This post has been edited by banshee87: May 7 2011, 04:37 PM
banshee87
post May 7 2011, 09:03 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ May 7 2011, 04:39 PM)
ALM can run flash 10.2 but Ace cannot.

Build quality on the ALM is better. Ace has a better camera though.

RAM wise, ALM wins too with 512 vs 384
Screen resolution wise ALM wins again with 800x480(WVGA) vs 480x320(HVGA)
Both ALM and Ace are getting Gingerbread though.
oic... thx... but is flash essential?

Camera is really essential for me, as it'll be digital camera replacement for me... but from wat i read in review, the video capturing is really bad...

Hmm... maybe i should up the budget to get sth even more decent? Cz i rly hope can get sth tht last for at least 3 years...
banshee87
post May 8 2011, 08:46 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ May 7 2011, 10:55 PM)
Flash is essential if you play videos directly from your browser instead of playing it through a medium like Skyfire or YouTube(application). Its recommended but you don't have to have it. It also has a better GPU so it might help with gaming. Ace's camera is still not good enough to be a digital camera replacement. I recommend you buy the Xperia x10 instead. Its a good digicam replacement. 8mp led flash cam. Or you can opt for the Motorola xt720 which also has a 8mp camera but instead of using a LED flash, it comes with a Xenon flash. Much better than LED flash. xt720 is less recommended because of the stock 720mhz processor and it is stuck at 2.2
oic...
My fren oso recommended Xperia x10 to me...
I'll hav a look at it then...

Thanks!

0.0410sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:09 PM