Android Phone Recommendation thread v2, Confused? Torn between two phones?

EmeraldKeng
post Apr 30 2011, 11:09 PM

14 posts

any brand (better in SE, nokia, samsung, LG , HTC and any other popular brand.. no CSL pls)
budget: better below 1k if possibe if not could be around 1k-1.5k (better not 1.5k )

camera:decent
autofcous: must!
flash: have as possible

touchscreen
gorrila glass
multitouch(if possible)
fm radio(if possible xD)
flash support(if possible)

no lag,SOD,bootloader problem issue (if possible) LOL..

anyway.. somebody mention SGSL same spec with LG OBlack? what's the price for LG OBlack? ( i baru went to see its spec.. its camera is better than SGSL [it got led flash+ 2mp FF) but still same 5mp cam)

anyway again:
between SGA, SGSL, LG black, SEx10(i pick SE cause of it's beautiful timescape.. other than tat, SUCKS big time) + any phone recommendation. thx

P.S good battery life..

my main aim is on galaxy SL o.O is it's battery good?
anyway u got any other phone u could suggest. THANK YOU GUYS biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by EmeraldKeng: Apr 30 2011, 11:21 PM
EmeraldKeng
post May 1 2011, 09:15 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 1 2011, 01:39 AM)
Nokia don't have Android OS devices

[/SPOILER]LG Optimus Black is not released yet...no clues about its price though
SGSL & Optimus Black basically runs on the same 1GHz TI OMAP 3630 Processor
SGA is out from your choice because no flash & people say it got possibility of SOD occurs

the cheapest choice would be SE XPERIA x10/Acer Liquid Metal S120 [around 1k+]
but they dun hav gorilla glass though..
x10 is probably the best cameraphone to date with in Android [yes it is, before Arc arrive]
promised 2.3 official update[hopefully will bring full flash support], mediascape UI will be replaced by the SE latest UI for 2.3 though
source for x10 getting 2.3: http://www.gsmarena.com/sony_ericsson_xper...r-news-2450.php
however, x10 got bootloader locked, but i heard the XDA Dev team just bypassed it?

Acer Liquid Metal is officially 2.2, there's full flash support ready, but the camera is sub par [below average o.O]
unlocked bootloader, but seems like not much ppl supporting this device?

u might as well consider DEFY if u want something tough & can even go bath with your phone, record video under water  brows.gif

if u consider SGSL, u can get SGS/captivate/vibrant AP set though which has Super AMOLED
why Super AMOLED?
SGSL has SCLCD [not SLCD], its quite decent but not as good sunlight legibility/battery efficient as Super AMOLED
also, SGSL is noticed for the much heavier weight compare to SGS & slightly weaker GPU/chipset

Added on May 1, 2011, 1:59 am
for HTCs, you got Desire S, Incredible S & Desire HD as choice
3 of them are pretty much the same except...
Incredible S got bootloader locked(Desire S also?) but better battery, much compact than DHD also has S-LCD
Desire S is comes with 2.3 while Incredible S comes with 2.2 & wait for update
Desire HD for those who like superb big screen but just LCD display (4.3"), unlocked bootloader but much weaker battery, heavier/bulkier than DS/IS
camera 5mp/8mp AF+LED Flash
so after all, its back to own preference between those 3

but i will choose SE XPERIA Arc > HTC IS/DHD/DS
reason: best cameraphone in android + best low-light camera performance, good outlook - SE XPERIA Arc with the Exmor R sensor + BRAVIA Engine display
arc runs on the same 1GHz snappydragon processor, comes with 2.3, better camera & screen display, nice outlook, slim & light weight
got HDMI port etc.

not really possible for all phones to always able to get the latest version [can get custom ROM though if official don't provide]
as hardware will get better & better, then will start to have hardware limitations
even you got the latest version, some feature might not available
like android 2.2 full flash support, has a hardware limitation [at least VGA, 550MHz dedicated Cortex A8 processor etc.] & the HTC Sense 3.0 UI needs dual core or [1.5GHz single core for the HTC Flyer tablet]
dude thx very much. double thumbs up for you! thumbup.gif hehe
anyway. could you list out "all" those phone price for me? sweat.gif
i need to reconsider x10
x10 cons which i very very very understand it.
no multitouch (even thought i hear there is a update for it?)
no fm (that's ok, i guess)
support flash in 2.3?
very bad battery (i heard)
but but but i very very very love timescape. best UI ever i think

anyhow, price of x10 (acer liquid metal [i dunno about this]) is higher than SGSL. 1399 over 1299(i could get for 1199 , sen heng promotion happy.gif) [every sen counts by the way. haha (or could you confirm the price for me of x10? )

thx thx thx very much again in advanced.

This post has been edited by EmeraldKeng: May 1 2011, 09:17 AM
EmeraldKeng
post May 1 2011, 03:48 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(mellovicious @ May 1 2011, 03:14 PM)
hai guys. plis help me rekomen me a budget android device for mah fren smile.gif

1. Brand. i dont care
2. Budget. under rm750
3. Specs. priority=performance > screen size > others
4. specific features : i dun care

plis help~ ^^
xperia 8 happy.gif or wait until june or july get walkman 8.. it's same as xperia 8 jst that is in walkman version ( NICER cause it available in orange, red , blue ) it's rrp 799. [x8 is about 500-600

Added on May 1, 2011, 3:52 pm
QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ May 1 2011, 10:28 AM)
Acer Liquid Metal. RM1060 with 3 years warranty from SenQ.

Flash support with Q7230 processor, 5MP camera, FM radio present, multitouch 4 points.

Has an option to enable stock FroYo. There's been a leaked Gingerbread rom circling around recently. Possible that it might get Gingerbread in a few months.
HTC Desire S. Only 3.7" but the battery is much better if compared to the IS. Comes with 2.3.3. 1ghz Q8255.
acer good?

liquid metal or SGSL? o.O hmmmmm rclxub.gif

Added on May 1, 2011, 4:01 pm
QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ May 1 2011, 10:28 AM)
Acer Liquid Metal. RM1060 with 3 years warranty from SenQ.

Flash support with Q7230 processor, 5MP camera, FM radio present, multitouch 4 points.

Has an option to enable stock FroYo. There's been a leaked Gingerbread rom circling around recently. Possible that it might get Gingerbread in a few months.
HTC Desire S. Only 3.7" but the battery is much better if compared to the IS. Comes with 2.3.3. 1ghz Q8255.
why in the spec it said no radio [and yes i saw some comment, got users said it has radio. lol stupid spec info gsarena ==" )
it's 800mhz but in a review a guy said it's abit faster than some 1ghz processor =="
it has 14.3 kbs ><!!!
anyway i'm at your command. buy which? acer/samsung

This post has been edited by EmeraldKeng: May 1 2011, 04:22 PM
EmeraldKeng
post May 1 2011, 04:39 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ May 1 2011, 04:31 PM)
Hmm. Under 750. If possible try asking him to get a 2nd hand Ace. If not, get a new LG Optimus One.
The Ace has a higher clocked processor and a better camera while the O1 has more ram and better build quality
SGSL has less ram and inferior build quality but a better camera(without flash though). The GPU is also nerfed. SGX530=Adreno 200 while ALM has an Adreno 205.

Acer has more ram, better build quality, high chance of getting gingerbread, and if you buy from SenQ, 3 years warranty will be provided and the price is lower than the SL.
so... acer better acer better??!?!? any issue happened on acer?

i do like its notification light on the top. (battery, email, signal) but its camera.. i saw the sample really sucks. (phonearena) price good le..
1060 vs 1199..
how to said inferior build quility and ALM better? (aluminium vs plastic?)
The GPU is also nerfed?

Adreno200 vs 205 how big is the difference?

is there chances in SGSL to get gingerbread?

Added on May 1, 2011, 4:47 pm
QUOTE(EmeraldKeng @ May 1 2011, 04:39 PM)
so... acer better acer better??!?!? any issue happened on acer?

i do like its notification light on the top. (battery, email, signal) but its camera.. i saw the sample really sucks. (phonearena) price good le..
1060 vs 1199..
how to said inferior build quility and ALM better? (aluminium vs plastic?)
The GPU is also nerfed?

Adreno200 vs 205 how big is the difference?

is there chances in SGSL to get gingerbread?
please help me confirm this few spec
SGSL: no support GPS? only A-GPS?

Acer: no front cam?

super clear LCD or TFT better?

4' vs 3.6' tongue.gif

This post has been edited by EmeraldKeng: May 1 2011, 04:47 PM
EmeraldKeng
post May 1 2011, 05:10 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ May 1 2011, 05:06 PM)
SCLCD is better but the TFT on the ALM is quite nice too. Pixel density on the ALM would be higher while the SCLCD will display more vibrant colours and often saturated colours.
so..
pixel density higher = more good?
display more vibrant colours = good?

Added on May 1, 2011, 5:11 pm
QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 1 2011, 05:08 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1782444 theres a tip on sgsl GPS
SCLCD is obviously better than ordinary TFT LCD
ALM no front camera but can make videocall

it does not come with FM radio itself
the hardware is capable to support, but its locked...
after custom ROM/update, its good to use
kk. thx for the info rclxm9.gif

how come i din't notice that in the first page sweat.gif

This post has been edited by EmeraldKeng: May 1 2011, 05:13 PM
EmeraldKeng
post May 1 2011, 08:13 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ May 1 2011, 07:16 PM)
Pixel density higher = good.

More vibrant colour = good but if its saturated then no. Like i said.
i'm totally reconsidering acer due to its build quality + processor.

i'm just wondering what will AML get in 2.3 update?

EmeraldKeng
post May 1 2011, 08:21 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ May 1 2011, 07:20 PM)
I have both.  On stock firmware, Ace UI is faster, more responsive.  If you want the X10 and can find a good 2nd-hand one (price now less than a new Ace), it's totally worth it, especially with official 2.3.3 coming soon.

X10
- must tweak / flash ROM, stock 2.1 is very laggy
- better in games, screen, camera and watching unconverted videos (just copy and play)

Ace
- good usability out of the box, with 2.2 goodies
- bad battery
i only heard people complain x10 about battery. ace? never o.O (this is a new to me xP)

Added on May 1, 2011, 8:22 pm
QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ May 1 2011, 08:20 PM)
could you briefly tell me about motorola defy? (what's the price now by the way)?

This post has been edited by EmeraldKeng: May 1 2011, 08:22 PM
EmeraldKeng
post May 1 2011, 08:45 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ May 1 2011, 08:30 PM)
Defy is on an ARMv7 processor and the proc is clocked at 800mhz hence allowing flash on it. If it weren't for the GPU i would recommend it more oftenly. Its an Adreno 200 too. Even thought the Adreno 200 is a dealbreaker, it IS waterproof, shockproof and also very durable. Gorilla glass + FVGA(854*480) resolution on a 3.7" screen. 1k for AP sets. 1.4k for original ones.
so.. summaries it would be something like this

resolution,camera = galaxy sl
processor speed,ram =acer
tough guy = defy

ya?
price
acer =cheap
galaxy sl= moderate
defy= ex

but still good deal acer cheap + good processor crispy text. hmmm.. but i hate its UI ==" seriously. haha i think i can't live with it.. that's mainly my personal opinion.

defy : i felt bulky from watching a video of it.

galaxy sl : camera better. processor boleh tahan.. UI boleh tahan.

(actually AML UI is quite nice(the home screen) but some part is their own design abit awkward from others, felt tak biasa with it so.. lol sweat.gif )

anyway

thank you ,xDarkKnightx
very very very very very very much. you being very helpful. thumbup.gif thank you happy.gif

acer internal memory is how much(did they free any sdcard?)

This post has been edited by EmeraldKeng: May 1 2011, 08:45 PM
EmeraldKeng
post May 1 2011, 09:15 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ May 1 2011, 08:49 PM)
Lol the Acer's screen reso is same as the SL too. You can enable stock froyo on the Acer

enable stock froyo on the acer? means? rclxub.gif

i meant err.. super clear lcd vs TFT tongue.gif

can acer play hd games? 3d games?
EmeraldKeng
post May 1 2011, 10:35 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ May 1 2011, 10:10 PM)
3d games? sure. HD also yes. Stock froyo is vanilla android. Android with no customization like Touchwiz, Acer Shell, HTC Sense or anything. Basically the purest form of android. Like the ones used in Nexus 1 and Nexus S
this is the little summary i told my fren in fb..

1) acer better build quility (alunimuin vs plastic)
2)acer more cheap
3) better processor + higher ram
4) higher PPL (crisper text when browsing web)
5) nice deisgn very nice
6) 3 geng notification light on the top
7) nice UI (i like only the homescareen, others looks weird but still ok)
but 1st reason is cheaper and i could get all of these.
and and and oso.. its upgrable to 2.3 android

1) bigger screen 4' vs 3.6'
2) better display (super clear lcd vs TFT)
3) better cam
4) better UI

then i dunno edi ==" haizz.. go for acer?

sweat.gif rclxub.gif sweat.gif rclxub.gif
EmeraldKeng
post May 2 2011, 02:00 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 2 2011, 03:58 AM)
shakehead.gif

think simple:
display ain't that important, important is screen resolution that will affect the limits of apps compatible with your device, since both are WVGA, so this problem is out.
now talks about UI, its back to own preference, some like vanilla[purest form of Android]

so just move your butt to some store & try the phone out & you will know what to get

Added on May 2, 2011, 4:01 am
hmmm...
se arc?

or u prefer sgs/samsung nexus s which got big community base of support & oledi got tons of  rclxub.gif custom ROM choices rclxub.gif , so got any problem oso easier to solve bah?
sgsl will get 2.3 gingerbread right? (galaxy s plug [a upgrade version of galaxy s] came out as 2.3 straight out of oven)

anyway.. so if i want cam.. i choose galaxy sl if want speed choose acer. sweat.gif

can acer cam be improved? (somehow )
EmeraldKeng
post May 2 2011, 03:30 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 2 2011, 02:43 PM)
sgs got 2.3 officially, but i not sure it applies the same way on sgsL or not

basically, yea cam=sl, acer = speed...
actually x10 is better in camera compare to SL/ALM, proc can comparable to sgsl, 2.3 coming soon, [and XDA Dev team just bypassed the bootloader?]

i just saw a benchmark comparison review..the Desire Z which share the same proc with ALM pawned Nexus One
but if CPU speed, 1ghz won, but 200mhz diff aint that big, benchmark performance gap difference is bigger!
*note that Nexus One runs on Adreno 200 GPU which is equal to PowerVR SGX530, so this proofs ALM is a speedy thing & explained why some say 800mhz better than 1ghz

if the lens ownself is good, maybe is software problem can fix thru update, but i think ALM issue is its lens is low quality 1  blush.gif
lol.. i tot galaxy sl just variant from galaxys could update oso to 2.3 ==" kinda down. cry.gif

actually my budget is 1k below was suppose to buy SGAce but promotion of sgsl then hear from xDarkKnightx about acer. then reconsidering. haha x10 good cam + i love timescape ALOT! . but its 1399.. i just asked ytd. its 400 more than my budget
anyway. can replace it's lens? XP. haha somehow?

EmeraldKeng
post May 2 2011, 05:04 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(piumiu @ May 2 2011, 04:26 PM)
x10 apset is only 1040. Can try BBS apset. No issue with my X8 from BBS so far.
haha thx for the info. but i'm a ori fans. xP

anyway, i hear camera in AML improved in a update firmware o.O? + how much internal memory in AML.

somebody said SGSL only have 1.5gb space available to users. even though spec puts 4gb? (just like 1gb internal memory in x10, only 512mb available.)
EmeraldKeng
post May 3 2011, 04:46 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 2 2011, 07:58 PM)
taken from official thread outside ----------------->
maybe you should just tutup mata & get acer liquid metal  laugh.gif
*x10 & sgsl - invisible mode on*
haha >< later tutup mata pick wrong le.. later pick tio 3310. sweat.gif

Added on May 3, 2011, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(EmeraldKeng @ May 3 2011, 04:46 PM)
haha ><  sweat.gif

hey i can galaxy sl phone shake to switch music? i just found out AML can  shocking.gif
This post has been edited by EmeraldKeng: May 3 2011, 06:06 PM
EmeraldKeng
post May 3 2011, 07:53 PM

14 posts

if u really need large large large screen
Dell Streak [5"], galaxy tab [7"], ipad [nearly 10"][/spoiler]

[/quote]

LOL!

Added on May 3, 2011, 7:54 pmhey i can galaxy sl phone shake to switch music? i just found out AML can

This post has been edited by EmeraldKeng: May 3 2011, 07:54 PM
EmeraldKeng
post May 4 2011, 05:27 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 3 2011, 09:03 PM)
i unsure/dunno so i didn't reply  blush.gif
paiseh
haha kk. never i'll ask this question in sl thread. smile.gif

EmeraldKeng
post May 4 2011, 06:33 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 4 2011, 06:04 PM)
SE xperia x10,SGS L ~
SGSL still no confirmation of 2.3, x10 have already.
EmeraldKeng
post May 4 2011, 06:45 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 4 2011, 06:38 PM)
mayb will got is soon bah
coz SGS got already mar ~
hope so sweat.gif rclxms.gif
EmeraldKeng
post May 5 2011, 05:05 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 5 2011, 04:57 PM)
all android phone with android 1.6 and above is able to play angry birds
dun worry about
so samsung galaxy ace is ur choice,or SE xperia x10
SGS is the only phone that u wan was able to update to 2.3
SGS x10 SGA can upgrade to 2.3

SGS x10 confirmed
SGA got leaked roms
EmeraldKeng
post May 6 2011, 10:30 PM

14 posts

hear from people. Nexus S multitouch is not accurate, pretty messed up. but there may be a update to fix it in the future =)

Added on May 6, 2011, 10:38 pmpick sl if you like camera
pick ALM(acer liquid metal) if you don like camera that much. upside of it is higher GPU, 2.3 GB in future confirmed, better build quality + more unique design (some hate it) , cheaper than SL that's what you want. xP. (go for ALM just + rm60 then you get a higher class phone than ace.)

This post has been edited by EmeraldKeng: May 6 2011, 10:38 PM

0.0490sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:49 PM