16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Android Phone Recommendation thread v2, Confused? Torn between two phones?

TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 15 2011, 08:51 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(iamleavingformars @ Apr 15 2011, 07:16 PM)
thanks for the advice , really appreciate it . you think i can get motorola defy for 1.2k ? it's really catching my eye .
AP sets yes. For ori sets i'm not sure. Don't really follow Motorola's products.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 16 2011, 07:28 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(.:Toaster:. @ Apr 16 2011, 12:48 PM)
galaxy sl outrun acer liquid mt on its processor
but galaxy sl doesn't have flash for the camera
is there any other better alternative for acer liquid metal?
Not really. At that price its the best you can get. RM1099 shocking.gif for a phone with Desire Z(RM2299)'s processor.

QUOTE(iamleavingformars @ Apr 16 2011, 05:23 PM)
SE x10 ? whatcha guys think ?
when is it rumoured that the 2.3 gingerbread comes out for x10 ?

Added on April 16, 2011, 5:26 pmand does it lag ?
x10 is good if you use the camera a lot. Gingerbread is confirmed iinm. Lags a little because of the large screen and the bad UI. SE's TimeScape is quite laggy. Its currently recommended for the Gingerbread confirmation and its price.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 17 2011, 11:17 AM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Apr 16 2011, 11:57 PM)
galaxy S and SL different only the screen? not body recommend me galaxy SL, coz everybody keep saying superAMOLED is far better. let me read abit about SL version first.
Not the screen only. Internal memory wise, if i'm not mistaken, the SL has less than its S-AMOLED counterpart, the SGS. And the SL has less ram(384mb) too.
Be informed that the screen is not S-LCD. Its SC-LCD. Please do not mix these two together. The difference is huge.

Added on April 17, 2011, 11:18 am
QUOTE(kanethesun @ Apr 17 2011, 08:14 AM)
I have the same thought like you, hahah,

but I am torning between SE Arc and HTC Incredible S now

the final of 2 after filtering on SE Arc / HTC IS / Samseng Galaxy S / LG Optimus 2X
I'm in the middle of the same dilemma as you. But thanks to the yellow tint below the Optimus 2x's screen and the lack of accessories, i cut it off the finalists. Left with Arc, IS and SGS. SGS has the lag problem which requires a fix and custom modding. Arc and IS is okay.

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Apr 17 2011, 10:58 AM)
SE Arc i dont really like the interface.haha. but it worth as an option.
how much is SE arc? around 2k right? hmmm
Yep. Its either that or the IS around that price. Worthwhile ones.

This post has been edited by xDarkKnightx: Apr 17 2011, 11:18 AM
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 17 2011, 04:29 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Apr 17 2011, 04:02 PM)
1. Brand - prefer HTC (other brands such as SS, LG, Moto can also, but do explain which aspect they excel)
2. Budget - 1.6k-1.8k (2k max)
3. I can wait until mid-May. Any phone that will be launched in May is welcome too.
4. Prefered specs - 800mhz and above processor / RAM higher better / android 2.2 above / screen larger than 3.5inch
5. My current Nokia 5700XM is dying on me. Wanted to be Android-ilized rclxms.gif
RM1999(RM15xx for AP) HTC Incredible S. 4" screen 1GHZ Q8255.768 mb ram(highest available now is 1gb). 8MP camera. Android 2.2 with 2.3 coming in June.
RM1799 HTC Desire S. 3.7" screen. Specs same as above but comes with Android 2.3. But has a 5MP camera.
RM18999 Optimus 2x dual core processor, 512mb ram, 8mp camera but has a few issues. Yellow tint below the screen, sensitivity issues and a few other.

These are the few phones that are currently worth. Not sure if Sensation is gonna cost below 2k.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 17 2011, 07:22 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 17 2011, 05:29 PM)
thats cool.. laugh.gif
Sorry smile.gif
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 18 2011, 03:32 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Apr 18 2011, 02:59 PM)
ah... u got me... tongue.gif
so SGS good deal? smile.gif
I dont wanna turn to iPhone cos Im planning to get iPod Touch... hmm...
For the better GPU yes. I'll recommend the HTC Desire S instead for better future support, the aluminium build and also there is a flash for the camera unlike the SGS. AP sets of the Desire S going for around 1550.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 18 2011, 03:58 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 18 2011, 03:41 PM)

HTC Wildfire wins for having flash support[not full 10.1] in the web browser, Gorilla Glass & HTC Sense UI
but as i said, the low screen resolution will limit the choice of apps
v2.1, ugradeable to 2.2

LG Optimus One, v2.2, ugradeable to 2.3
better screen resolution & newer OS to date [hence got more apps choice than Wildfire]
slightly better proc..
DivX/XviD video support
Wildfire supports CM7(2.3) so i guess that is another upside of it. The flash support thing can be nulled by using Skyfire anyway. Not worth of mentioning unless you mean full flash 10.1 support. The Higher screen reso on the O1 is an upside because the difference is quite significant.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 18 2011, 04:32 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 18 2011, 04:23 PM)
wildfire official upgradeable to 2.3 oso?
eh wad is CM7?  blush.gif

oic...
CyanogenMod. One of the most popular custom roms.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 18 2011, 07:43 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ Apr 18 2011, 06:06 PM)
galaxy SL vs X10... which 1 better ? after root etc and which 1 more all rounded? will SL got 2.3?
x10. Better camera and confirmed to have 2.3 "sometime" soon.
SL has less ram and a camera with no flash. Also has a nerfed GPU. The only upside is the SC-LCD screen.

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Apr 18 2011, 06:36 PM)
when is the coming android phone with dual core reach malaysia?? i dunno i should buy the HTC desire HD or wait for the dual core phone..
LG Optimus 2x but i wouldn't recommend it because it has a few issues. Constant reboot, yellow tint below the screen, and a few others. It is already here btw. Selling for RM1899

QUOTE(iamleavingformars @ Apr 18 2011, 07:03 PM)
personal thought's required on which one would you choose ,

1.motorola defy
2.SE Xperia x10
3.acer liquid metal
Defy for being shock proof, water proof, and the Q7230 with 512mb ram. Stupid Motoblur is present though.
x10. Better camera and confirmed to have 2.3 "sometime" soon. 1ghz snapdragon.
ALM. Sub par camera, Q7230 processor, 512mb ram, Stock android, but has no custom support. Aluminium battery cover.

Performance wise: ALM/Defy
Camera wise:x10
Durability wise: Defy
Custom rom wise:x10
Value wise:ALM
Screen wise: ALM uses an OLED screen IINM/Defy Gorilla glass
Personal recommendation: Defy if you tend to infuse physical damage on your phone frequently. x10 if you tend to use the camera alot. ALM if you're not any of these.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 18 2011, 11:11 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Apr 18 2011, 11:01 PM)
Oh yes, my budget is below 1K...  tongue.gif
Thanks for your recommendation of Acer Liquid Metal, just watched a few videos of this phone on YouTube and it is indeed a very nice phone.

I will do some searching to find out what is bootloader unlocked and how it benefits me, as I said, I'm totally new to this Android thing...  blush.gif
I will keep checking back here to learn more...  laugh.gif
It benefits you how so, your son can learn how to customize his own stuff but in the process there is a chance of him screwing up the whole thing and spoiling it so its not recommended unless you're an enthusiast.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 26 2011, 02:34 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 26 2011, 11:58 AM)
SGA vs SEX10 in terms of:
1) loudspeaker sound quality (not volume)
2) earphone sound quality
3) screen display quality (not size)

x10 wins in every category. BTW sorry for not contributing for the past week tongue.gif i got suspended.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 26 2011, 07:59 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(verilizerz @ Apr 26 2011, 04:03 PM)
hi all sifu masters..  notworthy.gif
im gonna buy new android (ap) but i a lil bit confuse either sgs @ desire @ defy..

at 1st i wan to buy htc desire, but my fren poison me tu buy motorola defy.. i like desire coz it adik dhd.. huhuhu...
i know that defy is tough 1 (durable) but the proc is only 0.8ghz and my fren says that veri susah mau taype sms coz don hav keypad type..
galaxy s, i don know.. what i know is sgs using amoled that is brither than slcd found in desire (correc me if im wrong) but sgs dont hav flash...

1. Brand. (HTC/Samsug/Motorola)
2. Budget. (1k - 1.3k)veri tight budget
3. Specs. (Processor=1ghz/ RAM=doesnt matter/ OS Version=android / screen size=max 4")
4. What you need in the phone (Sense UI=yes, Touch Witz=yes, Battery life=max, Form factor=don care)

plz 4giv me i im wrong.. still newbie.. and this is my 1st android.. b4 this i use nokia 6680, se k850, se c905..  rclxms.gif
Galaxy S has a better GPU while Desire has better build quality and custom rom supports. Both are roughly the same but the gpu's power is significantly different. Galaxy S is known to have lag issues and GPS problems without a custom fix. Desire on the other hand however, is readily usable out of the box. Its up to you but i personally recommend the Desire. And coupled with a slightly smaller screen, graphic rendering is much easier on the GPU.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 26 2011, 10:35 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(clutch31 @ Apr 26 2011, 04:27 PM)
The "information" is obviously in my post in Garage Sales.

In fact, the reason why I kept my post here short and simple is precisely that, to avoid my post from becoming a lengthy advertorial. Now THAT would be inappropriate for this thread. Any lengthy reviews for the DHD should go to where it belongs - the official DHD thread.

For me, I presented one of the most important information for a lot of people, the price, and if someone was interested, they can then follow the link and get more information.

There's just no pleasing everyone yea?

One minute, someone was complaining that I shouldn't have posted here to begin with, the next moment someone says my post wasn't long enough.

Seriously guys, I don't know what's with the butthurt going on here, especially the very first guy who started picking on me.
Phone recommendation thread. Not used phone selling thread. Short and concise. You can link your thread in your siggy but you may not post replies everywhere to sell your phone.

Added on April 26, 2011, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(herofire86 @ Apr 26 2011, 10:26 PM)
hi to all sifus,
between all android phones, which have best sound speakers?
Probably Desire HD or Arc.

This post has been edited by xDarkKnightx: Apr 26 2011, 10:37 PM
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 27 2011, 03:46 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(imranSILVER @ Apr 26 2011, 11:04 PM)

Maybe my "torn between" phones are not so great...but I would love to know which phone has a better performance after being ROM hacked and rooted - HTC Wildfire or Samsung Galaxy Ace?

I am now getting a great bargain on a 2nd hand Wildfire whilst at the same time planning to buy a Galaxy Ace. But if Wildfire is more fun to hack (in terms of speed and performance aftermath) than Galaxy Ace, I would consider to get the Wildfire smile.gif

Thank you all smile.gif
Wildfire has better build quality and it supports CM7 so its definitely a great buy. The proc can be overclocked so its not a big deal. But Ace comes with a factory overclocked 800mhz proc. Not really recommended though. Even though its factory overclocked its still overclocked. Wildfire looks more beautiful IMO. But Ace has higher screen resolution and supports most games, and also a few that Wildfire does not support.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 27 2011, 06:41 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Apr 27 2011, 05:50 PM)
U can go for Motorola, Samsung n SE...the worst speaker is HTC..
Dolby digital surround from DHD. what makes you think HTC's speaker is the worse?
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 27 2011, 06:57 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(bci3000 @ Apr 27 2011, 06:51 PM)
Hello Android Sifus,

Need ur kind advice.  Due to budget constraint at around rm 550-750  I manage to drill Down to 4 used 2n hand android phones at the garage sale section & would like your kind expert opinion on which phone is better for me based on performance and future upgrades.
1. Brand. (Motorola milestone keyboard slide1, samsung ace, Sony xperia x10 mini pro or htc wildfire
2. Budget. (550-750)
3. Specs. (Froyo 2.2 and above and can be upgrade to 2.3)
4. What need in the phone (physical keyboard is nice to have , flash support, screen quality n battery life)

Thank you so much in advance for your time and your advice.

Regards ,

BC
Wildfire and Ace are the only ones who are supposedly upgradeable to 2.3 IMO get Ace if you want a faster processor. Wildfire has better build quality, CM7(A very famous custom mod which utilizes 2.3.3) and a compact and beautiful design.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 27 2011, 09:20 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 27 2011, 08:37 PM)
brows.gif  brows.gif
troll who? or nuke ahwang ah?  laugh.gif

Added on April 27, 2011, 8:42 pm
ori ?
that 1 shud be SGSL [SuperClear LCD + slight weaker GPU/chipset]

Added on April 27, 2011, 8:51 pm
IMO,
its possible, could also impossible

possible because its dual-core era, who want be slowpoke..
especially LG Optimus 2X price are quite threatening [1899 RRP u get DC Tegra2] & those HTC which were famous for bootloader unlock for users' "freedom" are now gone [starts with locking the Incredible S]
so if they dare to throw neo/pro in 1.3k~ budget could kill mid-high end markets  brows.gif

impossible because 99% same spec as Arc [1.8~1.9k?] while ur neo/pro just came in with 1.2k~ price tag somehow offers a videocall camera [pro got keyboard somemore] as well
much like civil betray their leaders  laugh.gif

of course, arc still got what it takes...  brows.gif
the nice sleek design  thumbup.gif
Nah i troll girl's club cuz there was someone looking for 29AA bra so i link to /k/ tongue.gif

Neo/Pro will come in for approximately RM1799
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 27 2011, 10:24 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 27 2011, 09:41 PM)
brows.gif  brows.gif
got include drillz?  laugh.gif
as for neo/pro price, u got cili sos?
estimated price. They probably learned from x10. But they also priced the Xperia Play at $900 sweat.gif Somewhere around 1.7k-2k at most is what i think.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 28 2011, 05:35 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 27 2011, 11:12 PM)
my pricelist by my boss shows that AP Xperia Play @ around 2.1k >.>

Added on April 27, 2011, 11:13 pm
he digging 2nd hand hp ma
sure can find =3=
Really? Cool. Try looking up the price of Desire S for me.

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Apr 27 2011, 11:22 PM)
Dolbydigital surround Is not a speaker dude doh.gif  ..

Added on April 27, 2011, 11:26 pmCan feel thru ear phone only mehhhh...huhu...speaker is more important to produce quality sound..not just software ..please take note..huh
It ENHANCES the speaker. Do you get it?

QUOTE(James_yka @ Apr 28 2011, 04:06 AM)
Is there any BB lookalike for android ? or with QWERTY keyboard...
Aren't many. Motorola has a few designs you can look up.

Added on April 28, 2011, 5:36 pm
QUOTE(whtan @ Apr 28 2011, 02:42 PM)
Hi all..
Between Google Nexus S and Desire S which should i choose??
I got offer on 1700 AP set for Nexus S, should i go for it??
Nexus S has a better GPU while Desire S has better build quality and more ram.

This post has been edited by xDarkKnightx: Apr 28 2011, 05:36 PM
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 28 2011, 08:03 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(moko82 @ Apr 28 2011, 07:50 PM)
hi my budget is around rm1500. can recommend any android phone with good spec??
AP HTC Desire S. High ram, good processor, impressive build quality, good software support.

16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0483sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:54 AM