6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Android Phone Recommendation thread v2, Confused? Torn between two phones?

piumiu
post May 26 2011, 11:09 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(limpek1991 @ May 26 2011, 11:43 AM)
hw much have u paid for the desire S?
btw piumiu, this is the first time i trying to get a droid phone i wanted it to be little bit more user friendly and build quality and better battery life and lastly (front facing camera is preferable as i might do some video call sometimes), however i saw different kinds of rumors in the internet, eg, Samsung SGS SL spec is worse from the previous Samsung Galaxy, Incredible S is having some sort of quality issue .. i seriously don know what to get..
btw joelucas91 and piumiu thanks for you help  thumbup.gif
Welcome. Check in their user forum here and get some feedback from experience user.
From there better user experience can be gain.
piumiu
post May 26 2011, 03:46 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(redevil @ May 26 2011, 04:22 PM)
I am planning to get an Android phone for my wife. Here are my key requirements :-

Budget :- RM2k and below
Camera :- At least 5MB
Internet :- 3G supported
Video :- HD recording

Thanks in advanced
Women will love the Arc. 1950 original with
Free additional accessories worth RM 429 : HDMI cable, HiFi Wireless headset with FM radio MW600, AN401 car charger, 1 extra USB cable, Screen protector
Standard accessories : Sandisk 8 gb micro SD card, wall USB port charger, handsfree kit, USB cable, 1500 mAH battery

It fits all your stated requirement.

piumiu
post May 26 2011, 11:02 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(Thermal_Blaster @ May 26 2011, 11:16 PM)
smile.gif  may i know the ori set all shop come with the accessories u mention above?
Yes. it is. Bought 2 set from them.
piumiu
post May 27 2011, 08:57 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(HeWasOnly3 @ May 26 2011, 09:10 PM)
Hey Android gurus Im actually cant decide between Samsung Galaxy S, Nexus S and HTC Incredible S. Which one is better? Im still new to android TBH.
I still advise you to take IS. There is no perfect phone but the best and does not need any modification.
Accessories like hard case is already available and its a good all rounder. If my budget is limited or Arc is not available I would choose IS.
Build quality also very good to me.
piumiu
post May 27 2011, 12:33 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ May 27 2011, 11:38 AM)
what the cheapest touchscreen phone with touchscreen/at least Froyo excluding CSL?
for my wife
Galaxy mini with 2.2. RM560.
piumiu
post May 28 2011, 11:44 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(!zAcK @ May 27 2011, 09:03 PM)
1. Brand. (samsung galaxy mini s5570 / nokia e5)
2. Budget. (around RM600)
3. Specs. (wifi , 3.5mm audio jack )
4. What you need in the phone (messaging and a little media.?)

hey guys im a final year eng student planning to buy a phone. bt im confused between nokia E5 AND SAMSUNG GALAXY MINI.( anything equivalent to this should be good) rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
nokia e5 looks solid bt it runs on symbian which im not a fan of(used my dads e63 before)
samsung galaxy mini looks great with capacitive touch and android but im afraid coz the last time i gt my touch scrn SE g900,the touch spoiled after 1 yr.(want a  phone to last atleast 2years without any prob)
So i would like suggestions on the best phone i should get based on my requirements.
smile.gif  smile.gif
Replies are very much appreciated smile.gif  smile.gif
Was planning to buy this to replace my x8. Lower screen resolution compared to x8 even bigger screen size. So get either x8 which is a good phone or save to get x5. Stay away from mini.
piumiu
post May 28 2011, 01:27 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(41LY45 @ May 28 2011, 01:29 PM)
Garage sales lol. 
Can't remember where.  Most sell at 850 la.
I search few times and cheapest is 850.

Added on May 28, 2011, 1:29 pm
QUOTE(faisal_redknap @ May 28 2011, 01:00 PM)
Hi guys,

Can you recommend a good android phone for my mum. Been using iphone so I have zero knowledge on android.

1. Brand-open to any suggestion
2. Budget-around RM1.5k
3. Specs- No idea
4. What you need in the phone-good battery life, media, front camera. open to any suggestion.
Get Samsung SGS SL. Screen is large enough. Front camera and good battery life.
But I rather take Incredible S as the HTC Sense is very nice no need a genius to customize anything.

This post has been edited by piumiu: May 28 2011, 01:29 PM
piumiu
post May 28 2011, 11:11 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(kayro @ May 28 2011, 07:52 PM)
Hello there, i wanna buy new phone around 1000-1200 but the problem is i dunno which phone hav good specs. Desire z hav hinge problem, motorola defy hav locked bootloader which i cant flash custom rom, sgsl dun hav camera flash, easy to say la i wan phone that cynogenmod support and hav camera flash.. thx.
SE Xperia X10?Good spec. Tons of custom ROM and 2.3 update is coming. RM1050 AP only.

Added on May 28, 2011, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(shredder90 @ May 28 2011, 07:35 PM)
owh..
ok..
i'll checkout later..
Its ori set RM850 and RRP is 899. See above for link for 829 only.
Nillkin hardcase and screen protector is available for gtorwa.

This post has been edited by piumiu: May 28 2011, 11:13 PM
piumiu
post May 30 2011, 12:27 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(limpek1991 @ May 30 2011, 01:22 AM)
sorry here i am again.. is it worth waiting for the dual core phone to come...? lol
Optimus 2x is already on the market 1899 ori set.
SGS2 and atrix available in AP 2.4K.
piumiu
post May 30 2011, 11:46 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(Thermal_Blaster @ May 31 2011, 12:42 AM)
just come back from beer session,
hehe.... finally flame my friend “ eight of them using Ifon "

took out the my new SE ARC to play Talkbox app aka walkie talkie ,
then they all look like this  blink.gif
" SO ‘L' Slim oooo  ur fon "
rclxm9.gif  wow feel really good coz last time 1 of them flame me to get iphong hahaha

thanks to all who suggest me this phone no regret, the screen size nice  thumbup.gif
after this i can wait for my dual or quad core 7” tablet

thanks  notworthy.gif
I also do that to all the iphone user. Arc rules.
Slim, better design, bigger screen, excellent camera and its android.
piumiu
post May 31 2011, 09:25 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ May 31 2011, 09:49 AM)
A question,

Can Acer Iconia Tab or Asus EEE pad able to play Facebook flash games smoothly?
Or any other android tablets which is able to do that?

Geting my 1st tablet.

Both able to do that as both is dual core.

piumiu
post May 31 2011, 02:16 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(shredder90 @ May 31 2011, 03:02 PM)
hey guys..
my friend wants to buy android phone..
but he don't know which one to choose..

1. Brand don't mind.
2. Budget around rm500-600
3. Specs using android os
4. Have good design...
Not much choice. X8 is the best rather than Samsung mini and Galaxy 5 due to screen resolution but running on 2.1.
Suggest your friend to increase the budget to get a proper android for Huawei X5.
piumiu
post May 31 2011, 03:53 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

Better delay and save 100 more. Ideous X5 is cheapest ori set is 850. RRP is 899. Best android phone below 1k.

Its a huge leap from X8 and galaxy mini and ace.
piumiu
post May 31 2011, 05:49 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(specialpromo @ May 31 2011, 06:37 PM)
samsung galaxy ace available for rm850. please contact 0123389190. location in kl
Even at 850, X5 is still a major improvement over spec an speed over ace.
My recommendation is still at X5.
piumiu
post Jun 1 2011, 09:21 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ May 31 2011, 08:58 PM)
Planning to buy SE Arc for my gf. She uses a lot of mp3 and prefer good music (mp3). Also counting on GPS from time to time.

Is this a good choice?
It comes with a Bluetooth stereo headset, great for listening song.
Sound is good as I listen to it everyday at work. Its a good choice.
GPS is a breeze after installing papago inside. Use it sometimes when I am lost or confuse of the route.
Been using for 2 months and so far happy with it.

Added on June 1, 2011, 9:22 am
QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 1 2011, 09:52 AM)
Don't think SGS is an iPhone look-alike.  The SGSII, yes.  Also, IS doesn't have unibody metal frame.  That's the Desire S.
But iPhone also has Talkbox.  Regarding design, iPhone4 is a 1-year old model... so it's not surprising Arc looks better, right?

Maybe I missed something?
For me iPhone is over rated. Smaller screen, lousy camera, boring IOS and or course the design.

Added on June 1, 2011, 9:26 am
QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Jun 1 2011, 09:09 AM)
Nesus S with the lack of a microSD slot are really a turndown >< ~!

hurmm going to spend a few weeks more to decide ...

SGS
Pros
-SAMOLED ( way better in term of sunlight legibility plus )
-Higher GPU than IS
-Plenty of Custom Rom
-Bluetooth 3.0
-Battery are excellent
-Thinner Lighter than IS
-Higher data capacity 8gb/16gb
Cons
- GPS Issues ? (guess need to get the newest stock)
- Ipong look alike ><
- Plastic build
- No Camera Flash

IS
Pros
-Good Build quality ( unibody metal frame )
-Higher data speed at 14mbs
-More Ram than SGS 768 vs 512
-Look stylish and way cooler ><
-Excellent web browser
-HTC Sense 3.0
-Higher resolution Camera
-Higher Screen Pixel compared to SGS
Cons
-Battery life is shorter ? some say ok ... some say ... no ... dunno which one is right @_@ ..... can some IS user comment on this ...
-Sunlight legibility (really worse or not ... I do not watch vid or surf under the sun .....just accepting calls...)
-lower data capacity @ 1.1gb

if ... wrong pls do correct me ><
From here, IS seems far better overall choice and ready for use.
You can always buy car charger and also keep 1 usb charging cable in the office in case battery runs low.

This post has been edited by piumiu: Jun 1 2011, 09:26 AM
piumiu
post Jun 1 2011, 03:06 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jun 1 2011, 01:48 PM)
I notice that Digi offers both the Incredible S and the Desire HD. The Desire HD seems to have a slightly bigger screen. Is there any reason why you recommend the Incredible S over it?

EDIT: Ah, I see from reviews that the Incredible S is newer and better despite its slightly smaller screen. Weird why it's priced lower by Digi than the Desire HD.
HTC IS also gets my vote. Ready to use all rounder.
piumiu
post Jun 2 2011, 01:42 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Jun 2 2011, 02:42 AM)
Wow guys.. now I'm thinking, moto atrix or nexus S. The moto atrix is currently 1799 cheapest at LYN forums and would go down even more when the 2 giant dual core beast release. Which should I go for?
2 difference categories phone. what you want to look for both phone?
piumiu
post Jun 2 2011, 01:47 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

tested optimus 2x is also very smooth as well.
moto is quite famous for laggy stock os android phones.
piumiu
post Jun 2 2011, 01:53 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

QUOTE(SihamZhai @ Jun 2 2011, 02:50 AM)
I despise LG. Once again they never fail to stop the phone restart problem. Maybe you are lucky to hold a LG OX2 without restarting, but there are many complains as shown in LG singapore's facebook wall. :S I'll go for nexus S
Nexus S is quite a good phone. You can try but only prob for me is no SD card.
Pricing is only around 1400 for AP. How bout infamous HTC IS?
piumiu
post Jun 2 2011, 11:42 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

Correct. Dont think too much on the spec.
Just go and a have feel on the phone and try the speed of the software.
So far all you listed are quite good phones.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.6577sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:20 PM