> "university" name very important to be the best?, latest "university" world ranking 2010 News

SUShack3line
post Mar 25 2011, 03:54 AM, updated 15y ago

29 posts

actually what does it takes to be the best in higher educational institution.. is "university" name just enough?? unsure.gif

source : http://grad-schools.usnews.rankingsandrevi...igence-rankings

source : http://grad-schools.usnews.rankingsandrevi...theory-rankings

source : http://grad-schools.usnews.rankingsandrevi...cience-rankings

source : http://grad-schools.usnews.rankingsandrevi...ystems-rankings

source : http://grad-schools.usnews.rankingsandrevi...amming-rankings

source : http://www.timeshighereducation.co.uk/worl...ing-and-IT.html

source : http://www.timeshighereducation.co.uk/worl...n-rankings.html

source : http://www.timeshighereducation.co.uk/worl...11/top-200.html

related
MIT and Malaysia gov to create world-leading, education supply chains center (News)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1804479

"Malaysia's forward-thinking government has laid out powerful new academic and research initiatives making it the ideal location for our newest partnership. We look forward to joining Malaysia in this next phase of their evolution." - official statement by MIT

user posted imageuser posted image

MIT didn't change their name to "university" but always in top 5 ranking in this world?? rclxub.gif

actually what does it takes to be the best??

based on the research done before, what Malaysia really lack behind is the good educational researches done in the local universities. sad.gif

1/2 of Malaysia oversea students not return home!, Malaysia universities ~ 6.66x lack researches compared to developed countries (News)
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1625828&hl=

MIT and the government of Malaysia sign long-term agreement
http://web.mit.edu/newsoffice/2011/mit-malaysia-0322.html

This post has been edited by hack3line: Mar 25 2011, 09:05 PM
evolution120
post Mar 25 2011, 03:57 AM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

why not apiit ucti? Staffordshire Uni?
fazco85
post Mar 25 2011, 04:08 AM

210 posts

MITis an ol skool education center.....plus got many R&D projects with US gomen done there....thats why so popular
figuremeout
post Mar 25 2011, 04:14 AM

~In another life, I would make u stay~
890 posts

Colombo uni?
StarScream01
post Mar 25 2011, 04:18 AM

73 posts

sad............ my university is not in the top 10 ranking
SUShack3line
post Mar 25 2011, 04:20 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Mar 25 2011, 03:57 AM)
why not apiit ucti? Staffordshire Uni?
look here, this guy is a MIT student showing very awesome Artificial Intelligence 6th sense technology

he show how he got the idea.. ohh brilliant! notworthy.gif

MIT Students Turn Internet Into a Sixth Human Sense

LONG BEACH, California — Students at the MIT Media Lab have developed a wearable computing system that turns any surface into an interactive display screen. The wearer can summon virtual gadgets and internet data at will, then dispel them like smoke when they’re done.

Pattie Maes of the lab’s Fluid Interfaces group said the research is aimed at creating a new digital "sixth sense" for humans.

In the tactile world, we use our five senses to take in information about our environment and respond to it, Maes explained. But a lot of the information that helps us understand and respond to the world doesn’t come from these senses. Instead, it comes from computers and the internet. Maes’ goal is to harness computers to feed us information in an organic fashion, like our existing senses.

The prototype was built from an ordinary webcam and a battery-powered 3M projector, with an attached mirror — all connected to an internet-enabled mobile phone. The setup, which costs less than $350, allows the user to project information from the phone onto any surface — walls, the body of another person or even your hand.

Maes showed a video of her student Pranav Mistry who she describes as the brains behind the project. Mistry wore the device on a lanyard around his neck, and colored Magic Marker caps on four fingers (red, blue, green and yellow) helped the camera distinguish the four fingers and recognize his hand gestures with software that Mistry created.

The gestures can be as simple as using his fingers and thumbs to create a picture frame that tells the camera to snap a photo, which is saved to his mobile phone. When he gets back to an office, he projects the images onto a wall and begins to size them.

and then guess.. who take his research.. it's Bill Gates and Microsoft!

Microsoft show this demonstration of future computer technology.. actually it was based on MIT student research! shocking.gif

This post has been edited by hack3line: Mar 25 2011, 04:29 AM
SUSDvDex
post Mar 25 2011, 04:31 AM

85 posts

who cares about the name as long youre getting education. even sekolah pondok can go to the list if they offer degree programs and create many reputable engineers.
SUSsoundsyst64
post Mar 25 2011, 05:18 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

Just accept the FACT that Oversea uni/college > malaysia uni/college.

nasonex
post Mar 25 2011, 05:34 AM

51 posts

last time my lect. told me that every single student who graduated from MIT in mechanical engineering are able to design n build engine by themselves. that's how the quality of MIT's gradute.
thesoothsayer
post Mar 25 2011, 05:38 AM

954 posts

You are right.

If ITM didn't change to UiTM, they'll be ranked no. 1 in the world.
StarScream01
post Mar 25 2011, 05:53 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(nasonex @ Mar 25 2011, 05:34 AM)
last time my lect. told me that every single student who graduated from MIT in mechanical engineering are able to design n build engine by themselves. that's how the quality of MIT's gradute.
sometimes I wonder. Is this because the teaching is good, or the quality of the students is good? or both?
RoyMcAvoy
post Mar 25 2011, 05:58 AM

Going to be a grand wizard next year
1,732 posts

it's all about R & D which sadly our universities is severely lacking
XtraSpicy
post Mar 25 2011, 06:43 AM

22 posts

and student are good enough to leave a firetruck on their dome or program their lift to greet out whenever someone walk in.

someone from caltech exchange over to my uni for a semester and he told us, for his first year, his project is to design an oscilloscope, im stuck with a simple radio.
JunWisewar
post Mar 25 2011, 07:26 AM

45 posts

MIT is femes because Big Bang Theory movie is about the life of a bunch of dudes that doing research in MIT. With some Cheesecake Factory gal. Herp derp~
SUSsoundsyst64
post Mar 25 2011, 07:27 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

QUOTE(JunWisewar @ Mar 25 2011, 07:26 AM)
MIT is femes because Big Bang Theory tv shows is about the life of a bunch of dudes that doing research in MIT. With some Cheesecake Factory gal. Herp derp~
no movie yo
debbierowe
post Mar 25 2011, 07:47 AM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

butthurted cap ayam uni ppl will say not important
Alviano
post Mar 25 2011, 08:06 AM

138 posts

Why people have to go to cap ayam uni?
arsenwagon
post Mar 25 2011, 08:17 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

why nobody mention london school of economics? school only leh.
StarScream01
post Mar 25 2011, 08:18 AM

73 posts

why nobody mention imperial college london? college only leh
arsenwagon
post Mar 25 2011, 08:20 AM

2,227 posts

^ college is > school, dipshit.
NINJIAO
post Mar 25 2011, 08:24 AM

214 posts

so, u got 1st ranking uni so wat?

Who is driving all the ferrari n bentley?

Not u, not me.

And they come out from cap palang uni/kolej. hahahaha.
StarScream01
post Mar 25 2011, 08:24 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Mar 25 2011, 08:20 AM)
^ college is > school, dipshit.
I did it for the lulz tongue.gif
arsenwagon
post Mar 25 2011, 08:28 AM

2,227 posts

^dun give excuse .
robertngo
post Mar 25 2011, 08:33 AM

4,027 posts

MIT is femes because Big Bang Theory movie is about the life of a bunch of dudes that doing research in MIT. With some Cheesecake Factory gal. Herp derp~
fail man, that is caltec not mit
arsenwagon
post Mar 25 2011, 08:39 AM

2,227 posts

caltech say mit lose. mit say caltech lousy.

but they duno thrs 1 uni in india where rejects go to MIT, caltech
robertngo
post Mar 25 2011, 08:42 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Mar 25 2011, 08:39 AM)
caltech say mit lose. mit say caltech lousy.

but they duno thrs 1 uni in india where rejects go to  MIT, caltech
no IIT have every develop as much new techonolgy as MIT or UCLA or CALTECH or Harvard
arsenwagon
post Mar 25 2011, 08:44 AM

2,227 posts

rankings are important , but not everything.
no need to go around bragging bout ur ranking or graad from oberc whatever, especially if u just tumpang the uni reputation, lolz.......

if rankings in THES are anything to go by, then someone i know , grad from queen's wanna brag to me coz i study locally only. too bad she didnt check the rankings out. but of coz i didnt say anything la coz i know how karma works i can brag to her but those above me can brag to me as well.
Kimichi
post Mar 25 2011, 08:45 AM

140 posts

even if U have any degree from any Uni, as long as U still work under people..
U wil always be kuli..

lycaphim
post Mar 25 2011, 08:46 AM

137 posts

If you listened/watched MIT OpenCourseWare lectures, you'd be surprised how crowded and noisy the average classroom is.

I guess it's the fact that MIT attracts the best students that makes it good, and not exactly the learning environment, which from the lectures look only average.
arsenwagon
post Mar 25 2011, 08:49 AM

2,227 posts

but facilities important also.
Scar_face
post Mar 25 2011, 08:50 AM

522 posts

Y U NO MENTION UNIVERSITY TENAGA NASIONAL?
arsenwagon
post Mar 25 2011, 08:50 AM

2,227 posts

environment? hmmmm..... if u go to uni full of brainiacs u will kena peer pressure or locally called kiasu syndrome. but if u have discipline that wont matter
Ichibanichi
post Mar 25 2011, 08:52 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Mar 25 2011, 08:44 AM)
rankings are important , but not everything.
no need to go around bragging bout ur ranking or graad from oberc whatever, especially if u just tumpang the uni reputation, lolz.......

if rankings in THES are anything to go by, then someone i know , grad from queen's wanna brag to me coz i study locally only. too bad she didnt check the rankings out. but of coz i didnt say anything la coz i know how karma works i can brag to her but those above me can brag to me as well.
Did u ever see UITM grad brag he's from UITM??

Even one of my colleague who study there don't tell others he from there. He more happily to tell everyone he grad from Japan uni
papabear
post Mar 25 2011, 08:52 AM

78 posts

u need a backing from the "people's money" to study there. a lot of it
arsenwagon
post Mar 25 2011, 08:56 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Mar 25 2011, 08:52 AM)

Even one of my colleague who study there don't tell others he from there. He more happily to tell everyone he grad from Japan uni
lol probably he went to japan as exchange student, uitm if im not mistaken always send their students to japan , etc.
but maybe he inferiority complex so he tumpang the japan uni name lor.
papabear
post Mar 25 2011, 08:58 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Mar 25 2011, 08:52 AM)

next time any uitm students brag, just tell them that u never heard of uitm
SanosukeSagara
post Mar 25 2011, 09:13 AM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

That is CalTech yo.. cool2.gif
debbierowe
post Mar 25 2011, 09:16 AM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Mar 25 2011, 09:13 AM)
That is CalTech yo..  cool2.gif
lol... derp got herped back
arsenwagon
post Mar 25 2011, 09:19 AM

2,227 posts

i know someone go cambridge under Di pertuan agong scholarship ( >90000x better than JPA, MARA, etc) balik msia open law firm. richer than many ppl. but still not like damnnnnnn rich. richest is local uni grad like mahatiew and bijan (from nottingham , not top 10)

This post has been edited by arsenwagon: Mar 25 2011, 09:27 AM
fix24311
post Mar 25 2011, 09:34 AM

139 posts

how many malaysians enrolled to MIT? hmm.gif
last i heard it was so hard to enter that only one malaysian managed
debbierowe
post Mar 25 2011, 09:36 AM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Mar 25 2011, 09:34 AM)
how many malaysians enrolled to MIT? hmm.gif
last i heard it was so hard to enter that only one malaysian managed
my batch of scholar 1 indian girl got in. she now doing phd in uni of chicago
beatlesalbum
post Mar 25 2011, 09:42 AM

1,711 posts

MMU is world class
keown83
post Mar 25 2011, 09:44 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Mar 25 2011, 09:19 AM)
i know someone go cambridge under Di pertuan agong scholarship ( >90000x better than JPA, MARA, etc)  balik msia open law firm. richer than many ppl. but still not like damnnnnnn rich. richest is local uni grad like mahatiew and bijan (from nottingham , not top 10)
i dun understand...so going to uni is all about getting rich...???

u graduate from Uni & get rich, u success
u graduate from Uni & not get rich, u phail

is that how we indoctrinate our youngsters....???
SUSHidan
post Mar 25 2011, 09:44 AM

330 posts

Egyptian unis the best.
beatlesalbum
post Mar 25 2011, 09:48 AM

1,711 posts

My MNC director is only 33 graduate from MMU earning 30k a month.. pwn u all from ranking schools.
At the end of the day, whatever Uni you go to, free or otherwise, what you make of it later is what matters. Dont need to be envious
malaos
post Mar 25 2011, 09:51 AM

108 posts

aiyo...
Aim@n
post Mar 25 2011, 09:52 AM

QUOTE(keown83 @ Mar 25 2011, 09:44 AM)

u need to understand that all they can think of is money, money, money.

keown83
post Mar 25 2011, 09:53 AM

172 posts

hmm....no wonder our country are sooooo farked up

the mentality "graduate from Uni ----> getting rich/highest income ----> success" is too strong...no passion for knowledge, just money driven & that is all matters

haih

This post has been edited by keown83: Mar 25 2011, 10:00 AM
XtraSpicy
post Mar 25 2011, 10:00 AM

22 posts

my uncle studied in MIT, haha.. tunggang glamour...

ok.. inb4 ada aku kesah.
robertngo
post Mar 25 2011, 10:00 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(keown83 @ Mar 25 2011, 09:53 AM)

the mentality "graduate from Uni getting & rich/highest income ----> success" is too strong...no passion for knowledge, just money driven & that is all matters

haih
yes, MIT are a good school not because of how many of its student become rich, but because the university have always been in on the cutting edge of technology and science development. countless new innovation in physic, engineering, computer science have come out of the MIT over the years.
beatlesalbum
post Mar 25 2011, 10:03 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(keown83 @ Mar 25 2011, 09:53 AM)

the mentality "graduate from Uni ----> getting rich/highest income ----> success" is too strong...no passion for knowledge, just money driven & that is all matters

haih
thats how asians are usually rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
roronoa_zorro
post Mar 25 2011, 10:04 AM

41 posts

who made the stat? it obviously bias haha
Bombgen
post Mar 25 2011, 10:04 AM

967 posts

It's famous bcoz Tony Stark enter MIT at his 6 years of age.
keown83
post Mar 25 2011, 10:05 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Mar 25 2011, 10:00 AM)
yes, MIT are a good school not because of how many of its student become rich, but because the university have always been in on the cutting edge of technology and science development. countless new innovation in physic, engineering, computer science have come out of the MIT over the years.
+9999999999

the simple sentence is;

PASSION FOR KNOWLEDGE & SKILL

they do it because they love it, they love their profession, they love the knowledge, they have the passion, they will possibly do it for free, not because there's a big carrot tangling in front of their eyes

thats why they are what they are now

meanwhile in Malaysia.........

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
ahhoe80
post Mar 25 2011, 10:06 AM

409 posts

ayam butthurt.. why no UiTM in the list?? FUUUUUUUUUuuuuu
arsenwagon
post Mar 25 2011, 10:06 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(keown83 @ Mar 25 2011, 09:44 AM)

i didnt say not get rich is phail also. i look up to people who can come up with innovations and inventions too. in fact, u can be successful without entering university. like lim goh tong, he was a successful businessman.the point i was making, success can come even if you are from a lower ranked uni or whtever.

besides, success can be measured in different ways. no doubt, financial wealth is one of the parameters. u go to the west, if u peole hear u r the boss of big company they also will say u r successful. same case here.

phail country producing phail mindreaders.

This post has been edited by arsenwagon: Mar 25 2011, 10:09 AM
terradrive
post Mar 25 2011, 10:10 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

keown83 obviously never lived in poverty before. $$$$ = SUCCESS, that's all.
n0t_mYSeLf
post Mar 25 2011, 10:11 AM

well..

tongue.gif
robertngo
post Mar 25 2011, 10:11 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(Bombgen @ Mar 25 2011, 10:04 AM)
It's famous bcoz Tony Stark enter MIT at his 6 years of age.
more fictional student of MIT

Ellie Arroway, Contact - SETI researcher (in Carl Sagan's novel, Ellie Arroway is a Harvard graduate)
Emma, No Strings Attached (film) - Protagonist is an MIT graduate, played by Natalie Portman
Stanley Brack
Mike Cannon, Las Vegas - "MIT graduate degree"
Ben Chapeski, Orgazmo - "MIT graduate"
James Clayton, The Recruit - CIA trainee, degree in "non-linear cryptography"
Darcy, Secretary in The Loop
Dilbert-has a MIT degree in Course VI-1, electrical engineering
Alex Doonesbury- character in the comic strip Doonesbury, daughter of Mike Doonesbury and J. J.
Tobias Fünke, Arrested Development, completed his fellowship in psycholinguistics
Benjamin Gates, National Treasure
Gordon Freeman, Half-Life - Degree in theoretical physics
Invisible Woman, The Fantastic Four
David Levinson, Independence Day - Manager at NYC cable station, degree in computer science
Harvey, from Allan Sherman's song parody Harvey and Sheila ("He went to MIT and got his Ph.D.")
The man who ran the computer in the The Brothers Four song, "John Henry, The Thinkin' Man"[18]
Will Hunting, Good Will Hunting - Savant on-campus janitor
James O. Incandenza, "Infinite Jest" -Played tennis as an MIT student, optical expert
Black Mass (comics) was a physicist at MIT before he was granted powers by the Overmaster
Tim McGee, NCIS "has a Masters in Computing Forensics at MIT"
Bullwinkle J. Moose, "The Rocky and Bullwinkle Show" - With a degree in Toe Dancing
Rebecca Miyamoto, Pani Poni Dash!
Otacon, Metal Gear Solid
Mei Ling, Metal Gear Solid
Jim Rhodes, Marvel Comics' Iron Man
Reed Richards, Mr. Fantastic Marvel Comics The Fantastic Four
Rockhound, Armageddon - Geologist with two MIT doctorates in Chemistry and Geology
Tony Stark, Marvel Comics' Iron Man
Ed Straker, commander of SHADO
Richard Sumner, Desk Set - A "PhD from MIT in Science"
Tim Thomas AKA Ben Thomas, Seven Pounds - studied engineering at MIT
Howard Wolowitz, The Big Bang Theory - Masters in Engineering

robertngo
post Mar 25 2011, 10:12 AM

4,027 posts

the real MIT students are even more impressive

Many of MIT's over 120,000 alumni and alumnae have had considerable success in scientific research, public service, education, and business. Twenty-four MIT alumni have won the Nobel Prize, forty-four have been selected as Rhodes Scholars, and fifty-five have been selected as Marshall Scholars.[255]

Alumni in American politics and public service include Chairman of the Federal Reserve Ben Bernanke, MA-1 Representative John Olver, CA-13 Representative Pete Stark, former National Economic Council chairman Lawrence H. Summers, and former Council of Economic Advisors chairwoman Christina Romer. MIT alumni in international politics include British Foreign Minister David Miliband, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, former U.N. Secretary General Kofi Annan, physicist Richard Feynman, and former Iraqi Deputy Prime Minister Ahmed Chalabi.

MIT alumni founded or co-founded many notable companies, such as Intel, McDonnell Douglas, Texas Instruments, 3Com, Qualcomm, Bose, Raytheon, Koch Industries, Rockwell International, Genentech, and Campbell Soup. The annual Entrepreneurship Competition has led to the creation of over 85 companies that have, in aggregate, generated 2,500 jobs, received $600 million in venture capital funding, and have a market capitalization of over $10 billion.[256] A 2009 study claimed that the combined revenues of companies founded by MIT affiliates would make it the seventeenth largest economy in the world.[11]

Prominent institutions of higher education have been led by MIT alumni, including the University of California system, Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, Carnegie Mellon University, Tufts University, Rochester Institute of Technology, Northeastern University, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Tecnológico de Monterrey, Purdue University, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and Quaid-e-Azam University.

More than one third of the United States' manned spaceflights have included MIT-educated astronauts (among them Apollo 11 Lunar Module Pilot Buzz Aldrin), more than any university excluding the United States service academies.[257]

Noted alumni in non-scientific fields include author Hugh Lofting,[258] Boston guitarist Tom Scholz, The New York Times columnist and Nobel Prize Winning economist Paul Krugman, The Bell Curve author Charles Murray, United States Supreme Court building architect Cass Gilbert, and Pritzker Prize-winning architects I.M. Pei and Gordon Bunshaft.

This post has been edited by robertngo: Mar 25 2011, 10:13 AM
arsenwagon
post Mar 25 2011, 10:15 AM

2,227 posts

u guise seem to disagree with financial wealth as being one of the parameters of success. then tell me how u define success.

yeah , i can go as far as to say a garbage collector is a successful person if he manages to keep the city clean.
Aim@n
post Mar 25 2011, 10:16 AM

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 25 2011, 10:10 AM)
keown83 obviously never lived in poverty before. $$$$ = SUCCESS, that's all.
money is not everything in life. success is based on what you think is successful.

but in a capitalistic society, yes
fix24311
post Mar 25 2011, 10:16 AM

139 posts

wow...
actually i only know about MIT bcoz of news few years back that they're working with DARPA to create crysis-like-suit.
other than that about MIT, i dunno at all sweat.gif
really great.its great to have been enrolled there.
most students must be crazy one...

SPM can be use to apply directly there or not? unsure.gif
keown83
post Mar 25 2011, 10:30 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Mar 25 2011, 10:15 AM)
u guise seem to disagree with financial wealth as being one of the parameters of success. then tell me how u define success.

yeah , i can go as far as to say a garbage collector is a successful person if he manages to keep the city clean.
one of parameter, YES...

but the trend now is, "ITS ALL ABOUT MONEY"

Proof;
QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Mar 25 2011, 09:48 AM)
My MNC director is only 33 graduate from MMU earning 30k a month.. pwn u all from ranking schools.
At the end of the day, whatever Uni you go to, free or otherwise, what you make of it later is what matters. Dont need to be envious
if the garbage collector doing his job well & keep the city real clean, why not say he is successful..??? what, garbage collector is sucks..?? then who want to collect your garbage..???
Faidzal
post Mar 25 2011, 02:52 PM

240 posts

I iz sadding nobody mention UTM.

0.0282sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:03 AM