Request for a new mod - Credit Card section

TScannavaro
post Mar 25 2011, 02:09 AM, updated 15y ago

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

It's about time someone gets the cc section organized.
Ever since it was opened there have been quite a few redundant threads, e.g.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1804178
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1794477
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1804628
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1805805
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1794283

I'd like to vote for any one of these senior members:

MilesAndMore
Gen-X
hye
Human Nature
post Mar 25 2011, 02:47 AM

- student of human nature -
26,519 posts

It would be good to have someone looking after the section, keeping things tidy smile.gif
Gen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 07:05 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Thank you but I not appropriate for the job.

In my opinion we do need another 1 or 2 Mod at the new sub-section to assist cherroy and b00n. I propose the following persons as Moderator:

MilesAndMore
hye
zenquix

in addition to cannavaro list of threads which I deemed as spams, below is a picture from the threads of some people joining on same day and making a single post and disappear.

Thanks to Admin for agreeing to a new Sub-Section, and all can see that many are benefiting from the sub-section e.g. threads on TnG and Petrol.

As hye mentioned in CC V15 thread, we have come so far, I do not want to see the Credit Card Sub-section become like kopitiam.

And last time we had 2 people spamming like no body business in the stand alone CC thread V12 or V13 to increase their post counts and no actions were taken and one of them we later found out was a conman - i.e. persistence85.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 25 2011, 07:13 AM
CGLegacy
post Mar 25 2011, 09:01 AM

Buka Sos
2,109 posts

sweat.gif really dont have any effort to use the search function in LYN.... if in the early years of LYN... these kinda people already been flamed kaw kaw.... biggrin.gif
wshoh
post Mar 25 2011, 10:27 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 25 2011, 07:05 AM)
Thank you but I not appropriate for the job.

In my opinion we do need another 1 or 2 Mod at the new sub-section to assist cherroy and b00n. I propose the following persons as Moderator:

MilesAndMore
hye
zenquix

in addition to cannavaro list of threads which  I deemed as spams, below is a picture from the threads of some people joining on same day and making a single post and disappear.

Thanks to Admin for agreeing to a new Sub-Section, and all can see that many are benefiting from the sub-section e.g. threads on TnG and Petrol. 

As hye mentioned in CC V15 thread, we have come so far, I do not want to see the Credit Card Sub-section become like kopitiam.

And last time we had 2 people spamming like no body business in the stand alone CC thread V12 or V13 to increase their post counts and no actions were taken and one of them we later found out was a conman - i.e. persistence85.
Aye! MilesAndMore, hye, zenquix...even winner for Mod status, with their consent, of course. The kopitiam-styled posts can be quite amusing (being sarcastic here) but I will rather not have to see them.
hye
post Mar 25 2011, 12:09 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Thanks for the vote of confidence guys.

Whoever will be appointed, I hope it will be done soon as the problem of spamming is getting worse. Just today alone ... just another thread has been opened to ask a question whereas there's a proper thread dedicated to answer the question.

Same modus operandi ... member just joined and begin posting in here asking for the obvious question.
alexwsk
post Mar 25 2011, 02:02 PM

4,090 posts

in addition, I've suggested to PIN a few threads
so there will be no excuse - didn't see the threads
Miracles
post Mar 25 2011, 02:38 PM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

How bout making that section to have certain no. of posts in order to create a thread there? Might reduce the no. of ppl creating new acc just to ask and be gone forevervevervr.
max_cjs0101
post Mar 25 2011, 03:11 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

I think the admins are looking into this and in the meantime kindly advise 'blur' or new members there.
I will try to help out there as well.
aeiou228
post Mar 25 2011, 03:13 PM

5,867 posts

I second MilesAndMore to be the mod for his vast knowledge in banking industry, patient with noob questions, well mannered in writing style and high frequency of online status.
Gen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 03:32 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Mar 25 2011, 02:02 PM)
in addition, I've suggested to PIN a few threads
so there will be no excuse - didn't see the threads
Fully agree.

QUOTE(Miracles @ Mar 25 2011, 02:38 PM)
How bout making that section to have certain no. of posts in order to create a thread there? Might reduce the no. of ppl creating new acc just to ask and be gone forevervevervr.
Fantastic idea notworthy.gif Does this criteria applies to other sections? Is like we need certain number of post before we are allowed attachment and avatar (this rules still apply?).

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Mar 25 2011, 03:11 PM)
I think the admins are looking into this and in the meantime kindly advise 'blur' or new members there.
I will try to help out there as well.

Thank you. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 25 2011, 03:13 PM)
I second MilesAndMore to be the mod for his vast knowledge in banking industry, patient with noob questions, well mannered in writing style and high frequency of online status.
Yah, make MilesAndMore a Mod for Finance section too.

Added on March 25, 2011, 3:46 pmmax_cjc0101

Before I posted above, you only managed to closed 1 thread. I wanted to make known to you of other similar threads that need actions but before I could let you know, you have already closed more threads. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif How about you being a Mod there too or since you are a Staff you can't be Mod?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 25 2011, 03:46 PM
max_cjs0101
post Mar 25 2011, 03:49 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

I will help out as much as i can there.
By the way, i used to work with UOB in their CC dept so i know quite a bit about CCs. tongue.gif
soitsuagain
post Mar 25 2011, 05:41 PM

Let's do it together!
3,801 posts

all three have my full support. rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

they are really helpful and basically knows the ins and out of cc...i would say good customer service brows.gif
MilesAndMore
post Mar 25 2011, 10:51 PM

9,301 posts

I am flattered. But i am not sure if i'm up for the job. It's a huge responsibility. Besides, i kind of enjoy being in the Elite Group tongue.gif

Anyway, both Gen-X and Hye get my vote to be promoted to moderator for the Finance and Investment section. Gen-X is the most senior of the us all and has contributed a lot in the credit card thread. He even has a special blog about credit card which many will definitely find useful.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Mar 25 2011, 11:07 PM
Gen-X
post Mar 26 2011, 12:02 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 25 2011, 10:51 PM)
I am flattered. But i am not sure if i'm up for the job. It's a huge responsibility. Besides, i kind of enjoy being in the Elite Group   tongue.gif
Yah Elite sounds nicer tongue.gif Look like you and me not wiling to take up the responsibilities whistling.gif

zenquix yet to response so I will say that so far most agree that hye is the one smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 26 2011, 12:02 AM
RBR
post Mar 26 2011, 05:56 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

Noted, I'll PM the suggested members.
Gen-X
post Mar 28 2011, 09:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(RBR @ Mar 26 2011, 05:56 PM)
Noted, I'll PM the suggested members.
Mr. RBR, any progress on you appointing a new MOD. Spammer on the loose lah.

I second Miracles proposal that only those with a certain number of post can open a thread.

Or can you just give me authority to temporary close a thread and later MOD can decide if they want to reopen or delete, or move a particular thread. Like I am a PA to MOD.

Added on March 28, 2011, 9:17 pmright after I posted above, this new thread showed up
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1811371/+0#entry41097701

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 28 2011, 09:17 PM
MilesAndMore
post Mar 28 2011, 09:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 28 2011, 09:15 PM)
Mr. RBR, any progress on you appointing a new MOD. Spammer on the loose lah.

I second Miracles proposal that only those with a certain number of post can open a thread.

Or can you just give me authority to temporary close a thread and later MOD can decide if they want to reopen or delete, or move a particular thread. Like I am a PA to MOD.

Added on March 28, 2011, 9:17 pmright after I posted above, this new thread showed up
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1811371/+0#entry41097701
+1. Thing is kind of getting out of control there.

wongpeter
post Mar 28 2011, 09:42 PM

973 posts

I second MilesAndMore to be the mod, not only for his knowledge but more importantly his patience and tact. thumbup.gif
RBR
post Mar 29 2011, 07:26 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

I've sent out a couple of invitations today.

0.0206sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:15 PM