Sound Cards [WTS] T-muso USB DAC, Pure Sounding DAC~ not sharp sounding!
Mar 8 2012, 07:34 AM
248 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Hi boss... I bought one few weeks back from a forumer here...Just wondering...what are those green and red led suppose to indicate?
Thanks |
Mar 10 2012, 12:07 AM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
T-MUSO PCM2074 USB DAC IMPRESSON
Just want to say thanks to Slevin Sent for lending me the Tmuso for a couple of weeks… (could be longer lol). In return he wanted me to do an impression about this DAC. I was a bit reluctant since I am not really good in doing reviews, further more I am not that well for the week due to flu. Non the less I guess I owe him a review. Picking a pen and paper for sometimes and jog down every single thing that I think its good or bad is kindda mind boggling lol. I’ll make this a simple review and try compare with some of the songs I’m familiar with. So first, let’s start for my setup, I’m using: Foobar 2000+ Asio4all+ Tmuso USB DAC+Grado SR80i for DAC only And; Foobar2000+Asio4all+Tmuso DAC+Corda Stepdance ( 9V settings)+Grado SR80i DAC+Amp *P/S: Now for all of you guys who don’t know me, I love bright sound signature and this may affect my impression a bit. So I selected a couple of songs that I’m familiar with. The songs in non alphabetical order: • Andy Mckee- (Joyland 2010) Everybody wants to rule the world (256kbps mp3) • AC/DC – (High Voltage -1976) TNT (FLAC File) • Bob Marley and TheWailers - (Natty Dread) No Woman No Cry (FLAC File) • Adele – (19) To Make you feel my love (orginal by Bob Dylan) (256kbps mp3) • Alexandra Stan – Mr. Saxobeat (320 kbps mp3) Alright let’s go to the initial impression shall we? Andy Mckee- (Joyland 2010) Everybody wants to rule the world (256kbps mp3) I love Andy Mckee songs. Every songs he played is from his experience and his dedication on the art he does the best; fingerstyle. I chose this particular songs because I like watching Powerpuff Girls (I’ll get there in a minute, hold ya horses lol!) and if you guys watch it too, you remember an episode where he was fed up with world conquest and had gave up, the song he sing is this particular songs. This is a cover from the band Tears of Fears. But Mojo was the main reason I love this song so much… Hahahaha! Without Amp: • Sounded neutral and detailed with added bass . • Not as bright as I like it and feels a bit dry when comes to plucking sound of the strings eventhou its sound bassy • One thing I notice is the soundstage is small and all sounds like cramping together • The sound is also a bit softer and not as sharp as I would like (I am being bias here) With Amp: • The sound are more refine. I can clearly hear Andy plucking his USD 20,000 Martins guitar with authority. The blurriness of the plucking when with DAC alone were solved using amp. • The music separation feels a bit better thanks to the amping. Feels a lot enjoyable than just DAC alone AC/DC – (High Voltage -1976) TNT (FLAC File) What more I can say to this band? Epic is the only word I can describe with this band. Sadly I get to know them when I played Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3 on PS1 (or was it on PS2 I can’t remember much lol!). I fell in love with its raw and energetic sounds. Still remain as one of my favorite songs of all. Without Amp: • The sound feels natural thou I have to crank up the volume a notch to get into that TNT mode. Sounded soft as the guitar flick is not as energetic as I remembered it. • The instrument separation is small. Its still good to listen but for myself I feel its all cramped in one place. • The weird thing is I noticed the bass is kindda flat with this song. Im not sure why lol. • I would say this DAC is not meant to play hard, fast pace rock songs. Its listenable but to some extent the song seem not enjoyable to listen anymore thou to the lack of clarity and brightness that I desire. With Amp: • Now this is what I’m talking about! Rock on bebeh! I feel like the singer sings in front of me lol! • Sound feels more dynamic with the guitar flick, drums and bass are more energetic than DAC alone. • Instrument separation can be felt and feels more enjoyable than just using DAC alone Bob Marley and TheWailers - (Natty Dread) No Woman No Cry (FLAC File) Just love this song. Bob Marley sings like he’s high on weed and what weird is its sound really good. Thou I’m not familiar with reggae music but I thought the music arrangement are quite catchy and enjoyable. Without Amp: • Yeah I can feel the reggae music is what the DAC needed. Its slow and the reggae sounds works well with the DAC alone. • The details are pretty good, could be better but its really enough to get that reggae groove moving in my veins. • In bass department I could hear adequate amount of bass. Just nice for reggae music • The instrument separation feels ok. Overall I’m grooving with the sound of Bob Marley singing this song. With Amp: • Hey Bob Marley singing infront of me lol! That’s what my 1st thought when I listened it with amp. I do expect this since Corda StepDance do tend to bring the sound forward • Well if im grooving with Tmuso DAC only, pairing with amp makes me feel like in Jamaica and smoking weed with Bob lol! The instrument separation are more refine and detail than just the DAC alone. • What did caught me off guard is the cymbal sounded more realistic than using the DAC alone. Totally blow my mind! Adele – (19) To Make you feel my love (orginal by Bob Dylan) (256kbps mp3) This lady is the BOMB! And I mean it in every way. Back before she’s famous for her song “Rolling In The Deep” I always thought she will go somewhere with her voice and I was right! This is the song that for me is the best from Adele from all of her albums ( she released 2 albums which is 19 and 21). The voice from this song is simply… and I mean simply the best I have heard in years. Without Amp: • The piano sounds almost real, pretty good with that bassy-ness from the piano felt and it felt good. • Adele’s voice sounds like she had a mild cold and she’s sound a bit sharp than usually I heard this song before. • Overall the sound so soft and a tad bassy thanks to the piano. Love the bassyness that came from the piano. Absolutely nice! With Amp: • Sounds more airy and lively than using DAC alone. The piano that sounded good from just using DAC alone transformed to heavenly sounded, just wanted to make you listening to it over and over again. • Now that’s what I’m talking about! The voice from Adele sounded more refine and controlled than just using the DAC alone • Lovely is all I can say for this combo, I just couldn’t stop listening to it. Got to reap the replay button all over again! Alexandra Stan – Mr. Saxobeat (320 kbps mp3) I guess I’m a sucker for catchy beats and Mr. Saxobeat is a catchy up-tempo Eurodance song with house elements. This song can get me into the mood in no time at all and the reason for me to use this song as a test to TMuso is because of its fast bass tempo and its details. Without Amp: • Sounds neutral and a little bassy , a bit soft and overall the sound is a bit digital. • The detail is there but just barely heard. I’m not jiggy with the songs lol! • For fast tempo, T-Muso DAC alone is not really a good choice. The song sounded a bit chaotic with small instrument separation. • Cymbals sounded so digital with using DAC alone. With Amp: • The song feels more alive! And I feel like I can jiggy with it lol! • The instrument separation is quite obvious than DAC alone. • Fast tempo? No problem with this combo. The feeling of chaotic gone and the instrument separation feels good. • Cymbals sounded more realistic than DAC alone. Conclusions: Without Amp: Overall the sound feels neutral and a bit of added bass but I noticed that I need to crank up my volume a bit than normal to achieved that desired volume that I wanted. I do feel the DAC alone is more suitable with slower genre such as jazz, reggae (I kindda hooked with the sound coming from the DAC alone) ballads, etc. And if you have a bad recording it will reveal it like nobody business. Which for me is a good thing for me but may be bad news for some. With Amp: I would say the DAC will work well with amp combo. The sound feels more refine, details are awesome (well depending on your amp as well) and you can control the volume from the amp itself not from the player. Like I said over and over again the instrument separation with amp are wider (and again depending on your amp). With the DAC your amp will show its true potential. Verdict: • A great and must have for someone who wants to venture to the world of audiophile but do not want to spend too much on DAC. • It’s a must have if you want to challenge your amp potential • The DAC itself is actually pretty good enough just listening to it alone • What can I say for a cheap but works for this DAC? Simply fantastic. |
Mar 10 2012, 02:00 AM
51 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
nice review bro..this so damn good i end up buy another one after sold it haha
Mar 10 2012, 01:52 PM
1,175 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: part of html code Status: Online |
its so good that i dont even bother trying to upgrade into other pricey dac yet
Mar 10 2012, 03:51 PM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Mar 16 2012, 01:50 AM
5 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Hey, any stock available? please pm me with the pricing. Thanks!
Mar 16 2012, 07:50 AM
Mar 16 2012, 09:49 AM
193 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Pls PM me if stock is available
Mar 17 2012, 09:27 AM
51 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Mar 19 2012, 07:38 AM
Mar 19 2012, 03:10 PM
347 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
i just bought this today, and what i can say ... WOW
Thanks bro ... |
Mar 19 2012, 08:51 PM
10,859 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
tried it with my temporary speaker x-mini II, i can say it is fuking HEAVEN AND HELL DIFFERENCE compare to using my asus lappy. It sounds like a proper speaker man.. no muddy bass, and the clarity is there, totally awesome. WHen i plug back to my lappy jack, i was like, wtf is this shit.. this DAC is really a must buy
Apr 2 2012, 10:12 PM
851 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: USJ |
still avail?
Apr 3 2012, 08:14 PM
161 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Shah Alam |
Hi.... Slevin,
stock still available ? interested here... for t-muso oscon 330uf this dac came with casing ?? PM me the price and COD at sunway Added on April 4, 2012, 9:03 pmYeah... just meet-up and received T-muso from Slevin... tryout and the sound simply fantastic then onboard sound card Many thanks to Slevin This post has been edited by niesma84: Apr 4 2012, 09:03 PM |
Apr 8 2012, 02:09 AM
5 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Pm me the price if still avalable
Interested in both mod of the dac, in sound clarity n base. I can swicth the dac when i listen to music or watching movie Post to pg |
Apr 11 2012, 04:19 PM
94 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
bro...still got stock? pm me best price pls
Btw...just asking opinions from sifu here...by using this DAC, does it necessary still to purchase those 300++ earphones/headphones for it or just those normal stock earphones that comes in stock with iphone will do? hehe |
Apr 11 2012, 07:42 PM
2,271 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: :ɰoɹℲ |
UGPM
Apr 12 2012, 09:56 AM
347 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(ky_guy @ Apr 11 2012, 04:19 PM) bro...still got stock? pm me best price pls if u want clear sound, more wide then by using usb dac, it will be much better than stock sound card Btw...just asking opinions from sifu here...by using this DAC, does it necessary still to purchase those 300++ earphones/headphones for it or just those normal stock earphones that comes in stock with iphone will do? hehe Added on April 12, 2012, 3:14 pmbro, since after having your usb dac, then i purchase cmoy bb amp, now upgrade my headphone from my current beyer dt 231 pro ... do u have this... the cap nichicon fine gold? "great dac btw, when i googled up the capacitors. it turned out to be a high grade one. nichicon fine gold. great clarity and better bass out of it. compliments well with the JDS labs CmoyBB" This post has been edited by mrlonely78: Apr 12 2012, 03:14 PM |
Apr 13 2012, 12:56 PM
40 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Mars |
hi bro, please pm me best price including usb wire + postage. tq
This post has been edited by I_buntu: Apr 13 2012, 12:59 PM |
Apr 15 2012, 04:24 PM